Bangkok

tingie

i am going on 7th Mar too erik... which hotel are you staying? actually i haven't book hotel yet, torn between an apartment at Lumphini (mrt) and Arnoma Hotel and Samran....

lingling2

tingie,
Samran is a convenient hotel...If you are on budget kind, this Samran is good =)....Bery easy to get to MBR,pratunum etc...

hi sweetheart!

remember me?

if u plan to go to the common areas like mbk, siam paragon, prathunam, then siam beverly is abit far and not walking distance...its cheap but u gotta taxi taxi everywhere leh..

asia is about twice the price but its near the BTS.. convenient lor..

hi sweetheart,

welcome.. if you dun mind the extra walk, u can stay in samran.. its about 1/2 the price...

else, my frd recommended me krit thai mansion.. same price as samran and outside national stadium BTS... he said its cheap and good..

http://www.kritthaimansion.com/

miralyn

Im back fr Bkk & all is fine der...except security checks @ major shoppin ctr & mrt lines but not in-depth checking.

Went alot plcs except Chinatown bcos cabbie say Mon no street selling, Govt cleaning day & send us to "Govt shop" alot jewellery, the tourist items mostly differs fr Chatuchak/JJ, Suan Lum typical tourist shops. Warned by cabbie to hide the shoppin bag/place in hotel 1st as attracts thiefs, gd selling price as supposedly better quality.

Was disappt by Platinum Mall as alot cheap clothing bt meant for wholesale thus no dressing rm, cant try. Saphan Poot/Phut was long stretch (start fr 9pm) bt again clothing etc typical like Pratunam, infact more expensive for items like caps duno if bcos we're tourist. Saw tourist coaches der but t-shirts range & price best. There are abt 8-10 potraits artist @ 1 end corner, price reasonable.

Our interest not in shoppin ctr/night mkt as feel typical same items. Fav 2 plcs were infact the Ratchada Night Bazaar (Like Sungei rd but much much better, b prepared for sudden lights off, happened 2x) & Siam Square Soi 1-3, Fri Student Mkt (Which regretfully didnt buy anytin, tot sat will hav, went back on Mon also don hav). bcos cheaper & very creative! Alot self-made stuff, u can c students in the midst of sewing/assembling.

Taxi fare fr Airport was very exp, toll 80 (suspect hacked) & meter 240 (jam) + surcharge 50=370. Back trip honest cabbie, Toll 25 + 210 (jam also) =230 only! aft cabbie disc 5 baht. Fr 1 Feb airport tax is 700 baht (raised 200), luckily we hav extra cash.

Travelled fewx in tuk-tuk, asking for almost same rate like cabs but we jux pay cos my hb like. Not so ez to baragin for more discounts, as mostly their attitude was next tourist will com along. My hb liked 1 shirt, was quoted 1200 in 1 street shop, aft disc 800. Chatuchak cheapest quote 700, aft disc 450! other plc standard 800 bottom line. Som stall/eatery owners wasnt very friendly before we even bargain so didnt bother to patronize.

Overall experience impressed by Thai's creativity in handicarfts & arts, but next visit not so soon....

miralyn

Hi, its btw Ratchadapisek and Lard Phrao stn...is open space so alight @ either stn. We tried asking local bt not all of em knw.

pkum

hi people, what is the airline that you guys usually take to go bangkok?

the last time i tried is SIA, SQ.

I am thinking of gog by budget airline this time, any suggestion?

mocha_lover

hi pk, would recommend jetstar too, the timing of arrival/departure usually is accurate, unless there are some unavoidable delays.

Seats i felt is quite cramp, but it's only approx 2hr 10min ride, so can live with it.

N u get to shop at T1 instead of the budget terminal, at least u can still take sky train to T2 and shop too.

xiaohei

hi pk, Tiger Airways is cheap and good but the only problem is free seating so u need to be early to grab ur seats.

henkitty

hi miralyn,
Wow..a few places i havent went b4
like the Saphan Poot/Phut night market,Big Wheel, 'La Roue de Paris'.
will like to go there..can u let me knw the address..

Thanks for sharing

miralyn

Hi Kitty,

Big wheel is inside Suan Lum Mkt, so its ez to find cant miss it, can go by mrt (Very near,c directions @ stn)/cab.

Saphan Poot we went by cab, its along Memorial Bridge/Pier? Its near the Flower wholesale mkt, can quote s ref if driver duno.

We buy map 99 Baht (Siam paragon, bside foodcourt toilet) use for navigation, as 1st time in bkk. It is very useful & cheaper den fr airport terminal

hi ger,

i'm afraid not.. i will travel mostly by thai airways or jetstar....yeah i think for tiger, you have to go first come first served basis... too early no point cos the gate will be opened at a certain timing only ah....

miralyn

hi ger2,

i went by tiger last mth. 1st com 1st serve basis, so alot ppl rushing in2 gate once lcd shown gate #, b prepared. For my trip der was lik 3line q & we're @ 2nd line head, so still gt gd seating.

Infact my flight 2 BKK was delayed by 2hr 20mins, didnt check online b4 leaving hm, so best check can save som taxi $ & time if rushing.

lingling2

Hi minssy,
tks for the infor...hope flight won't delayed..

miralyn,
tks for the info too... Can't imagine if we paid for the airfare and can't get the seats we wan, so frustrating hor...

Really? flight delayed for so long?? hmm...

Kitty,
U saw frm news huh?

homeangel120

Hi..can i know if cathucak weekend market is still ard there? As i heard from my frens that it was closed down for renovation sometimes ago. Also, does anyone here knows where we can buy nice chandelier in bangkok? Or any place that we shaop shop to get household items...Appreciate any comment or input? Thanks.

henkitty

ger2,

yes I saw frm the news..

Shirley,
chatuchak market is still open..my frens juz came back frm there last week..& im flying there tmr...yeah..

flipfreak

hi shirley. jj mkt still open for biz as usual. u shld try to be there earlier to avoid the crowd.

u can try looking for home stuff at discovery centre or paragon or emporium.

shice

I'm interested to go bangkok, and i've never been there. Looking at 3D2N.. is it enough? or 4D3N?

Anyone has a good itenary to share? Can pm me?

Really appreciate any comments. Thanks!

lingling2

Hi shice,

3D2N not enough for me cos there are Alot of places to shop...4D3N is okie =)...Normally if i go BKK< it will be 5D4N =)...The best is to spend your wkends there so that u can go to Chatuchap market...=)

shice

ger2,

wah.. 5D4N? i also wanna go bkk to shop one.. hearsay that chatuchap market gg to close down end of the yr.. die die must go see see look look shop shop.. keke.. got a rough itinery to send me? just a guide/reference..

henkitty

hi shice,

juz back frm BKK.. went on 4D3N..time is juz right..cathucak weekend market going to close dwn??really?? din heard &amp; knw this news at all..

henkitty

hi deathstar,

the situation there is ok..there r security guards on big shopping mall..

the haze has affected there but not too bad..shopping still carry on..keke

shice

hi kitty,

u seems like u had fun shopping.. haha.. but how much did u spend for the whole trip for 4D3N? if i budget $800 per person (accomodation sharing with friend or bf - see whoever wanna go with me.. heh..) enough??

henkitty

hi shice,

yes..i love shopping..went there every half a year..my airfare &amp; stay is abt $300 per pax &amp; i bring abt $500 to shop ,so spend abt $800
and for my meals is sponsor by my hubby..keke..

so I think should b enuff..

shice

half a year once? not bad eh! heh.. some more ur hubby go with u.. my fh dun like shopping and i dun wanna bring him.. but he wun let me go with a group of gers..

I'll make my holiday plans for May or June.. hopefully can go see see look look..

lingling2

Hi shice,

I dun have any itinerary cos went F&amp;E lor...hee..

But like wat kitty has mentioned,$800 for you should be enough cos my airfare is abt $130 + $150 for hotel , then rest of the $$ for shopping =)...

U must go Chatuchak market, bery crowded and popular there...Do go there earlier, if not, when the sun is out, it will be BERY hot...try to wear something causal and comfy =) But be prepared to sweat it out there...hee

Kitty,
Which hotel u stayed in?

henkitty

hi ling,

i stay in baiyoke sky hotel..everytime i go BKK i will stay there is very convenient..day time theres whole sale market &amp; nite theres nite market so shop the whole day..keke..how abt u?

ya..ling was rite..dun hv go Chatuchak market too early cos i reach abt 9 plus not all shop open yet..I think u can go abt 10 plus..

mocha_lover

Yah $800 is more than enough to shop and for accomodation. Airfare by budget airline reasonable, esp when they have promo, and the accomodation, if you stay at budget hotel. total i spent for airfare and accomodation is $261.

So remaining for shopping and meals is more than enough.must also go to Platinum Mall too, so many clothes and accessories!!

flipfreak

hi shice. if its your first trip to bkk, i suggest you don't go for too many days because there is no way you will cover everything even if u go for one week.

i brought my wife there in feb and i went again this mth. and i still havent finish going to all the interesting places. and i am not a shopping fanatic.

depending on your agenda and budget, i would suggest asia hotel if u just plan to shop and shop.

otherwise, scout out hotels at sukhumvit for better hotels at lower prices.

i will probably go down in may or june again.

shice

wow.. is there really so much things to see for a guy? my bf been there and he's bored.. or rather he dun like the place..

flipfreak

depends on diff ppl i guess. for starters, i guess chatuchak mkt, suan lum night bazaar and the chinatown is a must. of course don't forget the shopping area.

panthip plaza for IT stuff. erawan shrine for the 4 face buddha. try the river cruise if u can. rca if you are a clubber. ekawat area if you are a high end clubber. patpong for fakes and raunchy shows.

lots of places to get a good massage. if money is not an issue, go to bangkok oasis spa. brought my wife and friends there. spent abt $500 for a 3-4hrs massage with body scrub and facial.