Bangkok

mocha_lover

trip there is great, weather is cool, it's like there's always cool breeze whenever i left the hotel.

Spa was good, went to Leyana Spa for oriental massage. was great, so relaxed, but then it was only for that moment,now back in office. stress again.. haha
Stayed in Samran, only bad point is the breakfast, not nice. but then i always look forward to lunch and my coffee from Black Canyon!!

listan

Hellllooo. I am home!!!!!

Didn't meet up with friends (incl. felicia) eventually....hahaa. guess we can meet up in Singapore, but save the rest of time in bkk for shopping!

Eastin b/fast is wonderfully wide ranging, and we love the food that we ordered several times room services in the nights.

Talk again tomorrow, just finished unpacking.. got to do laundry now..

mocha_lover

did 1 foot massage near Samran Place too.

Yah bought 5 pairs of shoes though, couple of necklaces, ear-rings,clothes for CNY and office wear, facial stuffs, bags, did my nails too. haha sound like a lot though, but hor i see my luggage like so little...

mitzi

I stayed Samran Place before.. it was rather worth it I find..

Btw, any one stayed at White Orchid before mah? Cos that's the only affordable hotel near Chinatown~

foreverhappy

this time round i stayed at PJ watergate for 3 days & asia for 1 day.

PJ watergate overall ok not that bad the only thing is the paint on the bath tub is coming off. very near to pratunam market.

As for asia to my surprise its llok better than what i expect so next time i will not hjesitate to take any of this 2 hotels

I never stayed in white orchid before and i feel that there is nothing much on that place that i can go dhooping so i did not chose hotel around that area.

lingling2

I also stayed at Samran place b4, nice place,worth the $$...most important, good location. Can walk to many shopping ,malls, near to BTS station also..

mitzi

my hubby likes the food in Chinatown, so we staying at white orchid for a night, then change to other hotel after that which are nearer to shopping malls

ohstrawberry

Hi, just to share my experiences.
I had stayed in Samran Place for the past 3 trips (Nov05, Jan06 and Feb07)to BKK. My friend also stayed there in Dec06, comments from them also good. Their rooms are clean and service is good, although it's a small hotel but it's really value for $, their location also good. Their breakfast very few varieties though, but pancakes and fried rice is nice, can try. Near the hotel(left from the main entrance), there is A&W, you can have your breakfast there if you miss their waffles. FYI, there is a new massage shop which the boss can speak teochew and mandarin, foot and shoulder massage is 200Baht.
I really enjoy shopping in Chatuchak weekend market, Saphan Poot Night market and Pratunam day market and also Platinum Fashion Mall, don't miss out these places when you in BKK.
Enjoy your stay in BKK, it's safe to travel there, dun worry.

dawn45

hi ohstrawberry

Like to chk if samran place allow early or late check in /out?can we leave luggage at their recept? Lastly how do u walk to pratunam or platinum ah ? wats the taxi fare like from airport to samran?

mocha_lover

Hi dawn,

Samran does not allow late check out, but checking in is ok. I remem i reached at abt 12pm and i went to check in, they processed my reservation and i managed to check in.

Yes u are able to leave ur luggage at recept, i left mine there as my flight was an evening one, so i cant be pulling my bag ard with me for last min shopping

Platinum mall/Pratunum area is easily accessible from Samran, from the entrance of the hotel, turn right and walk all the way straight, that's all, very, very simple.

Taxi fare from airport to Samran is standard, 400BHT.

mocha_lover

agree with ohstrawberry that this hotel is value for money, the room is clean, the toilet is clean and has a bathtub. i booked a superior room and it is a big room.

the massage shop beside the hotel is also a must go, only 200BHT for 1 hr, it's worth the money.

at night, just cross the overhead bridge further up the hotel and u can find nice food stalls, the duck rice stall is a must try, the duck is so soft and the gravy is delicious, furthemore it's cheap!

if u need to see pics of the room, let me know..

snowbells

hihi..

so excited.. flying to bangkok this thurs..

any recommendations on where to dine n shop?

i have yet to do up my itnerary.. =<

ms_tigress

Just came back from BKK, just to share my experience.

(1) My stay at Asia Hotel was quite unpleasant. The hotel staff smile sweetly at Caucasian but not too friendly to Asian. Limited spread for buffet breakfast. You have to tell them to fill up ur cup with coffee or tea, if not the staff won't come near ur table. (unless u look like Caucasian). No kettle in hotel room, and they charge $35/litre for hot water request. They dun top up liquid soap when making the room, u have to ask for it. Checking in &amp; out is extremely slow. There are other better choice of hotels that are reasonably priced, so think twice before booking Asia Hotel.

(2) Most taxi &amp; tuk tuk drivers are out to con your money. Even if u ask for meter, they will switch off the meter half way and demand for more money. Some taxi or tuk tuk will insist that u drop by some shops so that they can earn some commision. Try to travel in groups and do not board the taxi or tuk tuk that soliciate outside the hotel. Call 1155 to report such drivers.

(3) A lot of shops at Platinum Shopping mall close as early as 5PM. So try to be there early.

I've been to Thailand almost 10 times, I realize that it's no longer country of smiles. Maybe b'cos too many Singaporean "spoil the market", Thai ppl are not as friendly as before.

listan

oops, Tigress, sorry to hear the unpleasant experience.

Personally, I think it could be isolated incident of yours, and one leading to another, which caused the very unpleasant opinion you developed towards Thailand.

We have just returned from BKK trip, and we had very pleasant trip. The previous trip we went, we stayed with Asia, and were very pleased with their service. Bed was made daily, and soap changed. We drink from bottled water, so not sure of the kettle or water. Checking-in/out was a breeze too.

I do agree though, that discrimination exists everywhere. Sorry you just met one in Asia hotel.

We stayed with Eastin this time round. Extremely pleased with the hotel service, buffet spread and superbly friendly staff. Perhaps you would like to try out Eastin the next time.

listan

oh my.. I actually liked Asia (count myself lucky then, that we opt for Eastin this time). Hmmm... think will then think think twice, thrice before staying with them again.

Will also check out asiarooms reviews, to see what others say. Sad thing to know lor. tsk tsk tsk

mocha_lover

i guess the only good thing at Asia is it's closeness to the BTS, no need to walk so far to a BTS, esp when u need to drop of ur bag, it's so convenient. then going out again for more shopping is also a breeze coz walking to the BTS is such an easy task.

junior22

Hi Fellicia &amp; lissy

Can share with me if you happen to noe any massage shop around baiyoke suite.Thanks

foreverhappy

HI jen not sure abt the massage shop around baiyoke suite but near indra square there is a few but not that cheap. If u really want to get a cheap one then u can consider go to the message near PJ watergate.

150 for foot massage. 150 for thai body massage.

bloomiey

Hi apple,
Welcome back...

jen: There are a few cheap massage shops along Baiyoke Suite. I remembered i went to one of them located on the 2nd floor. THe first floor looks like a cheap hotel lobby. There is a Foot signage hanging perpendicular to the wall. The shop abit ulu, but massage skill quite good.

ohstrawberry

Hi, dawn

My taxi fare to Samran Place from Airport is abt 250B by meter, including toll way fee.Taxi fare shouldn't exceed 300B. The journey took abt 30min. The taxi fare to airport is abt the same.

ohstrawberry

Hi, snowbells

Japanese food in BKK is really cheap, worth trying. Can try ZEN Japanese restaurant in MBK 3rd floor(near Swensens), or Fuji Japanese restaurant in MBK 7th floor/ Siam Center. DON't go to SUMO Japanese restaurant in MBK, food not nice). Swensens is much much cheaper there, can relax and try the ice-cream. Try the street foods too, it's nice but if you got weak stomach, then better not. I love and ate all sorts of street foods, so far no problem for me.

I usually shop at Chatuchak market(Sat to Sun only, loves this market the most but get hot and stuffy in the afternoon),
Pratunam area(including Platinum Fashion Mall, open till abt 5pm daily-similar to our Far East Plaza),
MBK(though their prices are marked slightly higher, but alot of shoes and bags shop selling @199Baht),
Central World Plaza for the bras and Levi's in ZEN and NARAYA ribbon bag @1st floor,
Suam Lum Night market(prices also higher, must bargain, like Chatuchak but more organised and only at night, thus more comfortable to shop there).
My newly found night market-Saphan Poot night market(only by cab), it's a long stretch of roadside market selling alot of funky items and clothings for young ppl, opposite is the flower market.
And also Siam Square-like Bugis Street, lots of shophouses selling interesting things too. At Soi 3 got 1 Japanese store Daiso selling everything at 60B each.
Enjoy shopping in BKK, you will go crazy!!!

foreverhappy

Hi ohstraeberry

wow long time never see you le. wow got daiso in BBK also but the price seems more ex in sg after conversion of 60B.

Yan ling did you go BKK recently?

My cabfare from the new airport to PJ water gate is 250B include toll fee &amp; surcharge. But when i return from Asia hotel to the airport it cost more 220 plus 65 highway fee. But we did give the taxi some tip so total it cost 310B

wish you all a happy chinese new year.

listan

Hello girls.. Happy New Year eh!!!

The main diff between the before and after marriage...
1. 2 reunion dinners (no wonder married women puts on weight more easily)
2. Offer help to ILs for dinner preparation (ok. I don't used to need to do that at all..spoilt hor)
3. Give ang bao

obaesom

Hi ohstrawberry,

Can you provide more info on your new found market - "Saphan Poot night market".

Wishing you "Gong Xi Fatt Chai".

lingling2

mitzi,

Hows the chinatown "WHite Orchid" hotel?Where is it near? Hows the hotel? Which type of room u stayed, Deluxe?

All,
Anyone here stayed at any hotels at chinatwon before?

ohstrawberry

Hi, all sisters and brothers
Happy new year to you all!!! Wishing you happiness, good fortune and continued success!!!

Obaeseom,
Saphan Poot/Phut night market is actually recommended by my Thai friend, thus you seldom find foreigners in this night market, alot of Thai youngsters there. I took a cab there from Samran Place (about 20min journey), the market is located near Memorial bridge Pier at Saphan Poot area, must tell driver :Saphan Poot night market, if not they dunno where to stop cause Saphan Poot area very big. You will find the opposite street is a Flower wholesale market. I think this place also called Pak Khlong Talat too. The roadside stalls stretched out the whole street, watch the traffic, cause cars still go in and out of this street. Also go there with filled stomach, cause very few food stalls there, mostly selling clothings, shoes, bags and accessories. Prices are reasonable too.

erikbecker

Hi Everyone, Gong Xi Fa Cai...

Gg to Bkk soon in march with a group of friends. think ohstrawberry found a new nite market which i'll definitely explore. I'm thinking of staying at apartment(budget nt more than S$100/nite) instead of hotel so that 4 of us can squeeze into one room. Can anyone advise? 7-12 March. Cheers

obaesom

Hi ohstrawberry,

Thanks alot for the info, heard about the Memorial Night Market but couldn't find it. Will put it in my itinerary for my next trip.

Erik,
You may want to try out Samran Place, the superior room is big enough to cater 4 persons comfortably. I too stayed there during my last visit after ohstrawberry recommendation. It is cheaper to book thru agent ( eg. asiarooms ) and not direct thru Samran.

http://www.samran.com/

http://www.asiarooms.com/thailand/bangkok/samran_place.html

sarzy

Hi Erik,

I stayed at Evergreen apartment when I was in BKK 2 weeks ago. Its located right next to Asia hotel and 5 mins walk to the nearest BTS station. We booked thru the internet and they offered some discount for internet booking (the prices on internet are before discount). I booked a room with 2 bedrooms for ard S$150 but they dun include breakfast. They also have single bedroom unit for cheaper price. Checking in and out was a breeze and they provide housekeeping every day. There's also a kitchen with microwave oven, full size fridge, kettle and all utensils if you feel like cooking. I've stayed at Asia hotel before and I must say I also didn't enjoyed my stayed at Asia at all. From the lousy service to the oily and tasteless breakfast. Checking in and out was also a nightmare as average waiting time is ard 15 to 20 mins. You may want check out www.evergreeenapartments.com for reference.

ohstrawberry

Hi, Erik
Actually it will be wiser to stay in 2 rooms if u considering Samran Place. Cause 2 Standard rooms total cost only abt S$80.
If you want apartment, you can consider The Residence Rajtaevee, they have family suite(2 bedroom) for 4 paxs, 1 room is twin bed and the other is double queen size bed, the location is good as well, check out here: http://www.residence-hotel.com
The room rate is abt $100per nite if you booked thru www.asiatravel.com, i had booked thru them before, they are reliable. Actually I had ever consider trying this hotel but after emailing the hotel, they informed me family suite only 1 bathroom, i got no choice but to drop the idea as all my girlfriends dun wanna waste time on waiting for the only bathroom.
So the choice is yours, good luck!!!

miralyn

I'm so excited, gg BKK on fri 23 feb.

this thread really useful, gathered alot info here ;)

hear alot that metered is cheaper bt great difference?
I tink @ airport metered shld b ez, bt travelling around is it difficult to get?

Booked on Royal President Svc Apts, pics looks great, hope svc &amp; breakfast is gd too.

hi miralyn,

cabs are in abundance in bkk.. its the haggling part that could be irritating cos some taxi drivers are out to 'tok' tourist by quoting a lump sum when the actual cost can be only 50baht.

Chatuchak has alot of adidas stuff.. got cheong one got 2nd hand one... u gotta hunt for them at the clothes section...

heard from my frens who juz been to bkk say now sporeans r not welcomed in thailand...issit true? they said its due to the telco issue..
my frens was asked to 'go back hm' when he trys to bargain prices for some stuffs he want to buy..they simply refused to entertain him.

miralyn,

not sure exactly where he go but is within bkk lor...he is indian leh..not even chinese. but he can sense tat once they knew he is from sg, they immediately gv black face.

got some speculations say its due to singtel want to buy over their local telco company...n the thais think tat we sporean can evesdrop their phone conversations becoz of tat haiz.

erikbecker

Hi Midas,

my friend just came back from bkk and said thailand is still the same. I think maybe your friend did something unknowingly that irritated them or just plain unlucky that 1 out of 100000 to meet a anti-singaporean. haha. Anyway gg to bkk on 7mar07. Shall keep my finger cross that everything is fine.

Thanks to Obaesom, June n Ohstrawberry for your kind advice. I've stayed in Eastin, Dma, Bangkok City Inn, Samran plc and this time wanted to venture new hotel at Silom Trinity which is near to Patpong.

hi erik,

thks for the assurance
maybe is juz a handful of anti-sg pple there not the majority...

do keep us posted on ur experience k? enjoy ur trip

joxue

I am going to bangkok in July. Any places to recommend to visit? I heard that the weekend market is undergoing some renvo and some parts are already closed down?

I will be there for 8 days. Any nice place for spa? I be staying in Eastin Hotel.

Anyone going in July?

listan

Hi, have you gals heard/watched the news last evening on the Bangkok situation? I wasn't watching wholeheartedly, but I heard vaguely that the situation is pretty tensed, and the respective embassies have issued travel advice.

Please remember to register with MFA if you are still travelling there. That could allow you to be notified of any emergencies first hand if there is any situation.

i heard many countries like japan n australia hv issued travel warning of likely terrorist attacks in bkk...in the news over the wkend.

mahjongfreak

Hi friends,

i have been reading alot from this forum and i think its time for mi to contribute. below is my summary.

1st day - Went to pray at 4 face buddah
Platinum Fashion Mall: die die muz go, basically got everything that is available in chatuchak except table lights. Ate lunch at 5th storey, Tom Yam Soup is the best i have tried. Forget wats the shop name but the tel. is 0818502102.
Had massage at king and I Spa - Very Very Shiok - Must try Oil massage (1200 for 2hrs) or Royal Thai Massage(1000 for 2hrs).Traditional Thai Massage (500 for 2hrs) - quite good also
At night went to Suan Lum Bazaar for dinner and shopping. Things are Slighty more expensive.

Day 2 - weekend Chatuchak - Very big. Things are the cheapest over here but i rather pay 10-20baht more to shop at the air conditional Platinum Fashion Mall.
Siam Paragon - have lunch at Fuji Restaurant. Must try the garlic rice - yummy yummy. Prices are cheap, food is good, atmosphere is great. Die Die must Try okie.
A good place to shop for bra(cheaper by almost 50%) also.
Went massage at Healthland Spa. although prices are cheaper here but i still prefer King and I as the service are much more better.
Have dinner at Silom Seafood. Very expensive, food not nice. PLEASE DON"T GO.
Went to Patpong to see see look look. alot of Shows and pubs over here. u may bring ur hubby to walk walk. with u ard, Can see cannot touch...haha
Day 3 - MBK, Siam Square, Central World Plaza, Robinson, massage at King and I. Lunch at MBK. nice food also. the restaurant got hong kong atmosphere. you may want to try, won't regreat. Dinner at chinatown.
Executive shirts for guys are having 50% at robinson. it cost ard 500-600baht.

Day 4 - Platinum Fashion Mall, do some last min shopping.

Security checks at most of the shopping center.
quite safe and normal at bangkok. dun seem like terroist going to attack leh.