Bangkok

sabrinalai

we have confirmed on Arnorma hotel. May i know where can I book the spa and massage? Read from previous thread, we can book via hotel counter?

dazednconfused

sabrinalai,
Where do you intend to go for your massage and spa treatments? If you're thinking of Healthland, you can probably ask the staff at the Reception Desk to help you by calling them to make an appointment.
Be sure to check out the Healthland website for their contact number!

sabrinalai

L.s.,
i am not very familiar with the spa locatin in bangkok..only heard abt heartland from this previous thread..Do u know the spa and jacuzzi places in bangkok? izzit clean? because i worry some places a bit old and dirty...

lingling2

Hi moo,

sorry for the late reply...besides,this is my new nick ;p.

read from your previous postings that you had stayed in samran place. is it far from platinum mall?
--->> Yes, i stayed in samran Place the other time and I will be staying there again when i am giong BKK next yr =). Hmm...if by walking, its about 20-30minutes lor. You won't feel its bery far cos there are thngs and stalls along the way so u feel bery fast u reach liao =).

i heard from my friend that if we go to the weekend mkt, we hv to haggle for the price but not for the malls. is it true?
--->> Hmm...u mean the weekend market, Chatuchak? You need to buy more to get cheaper price, like the price of one dress could be $15 but if u buy 3 pcs, it cost abt $6 each...Its more worthwhile to buy more than 3 pcs...

Yes, all the other Malls can't really bargain unless in Platinum Mall cos they are the wholesale Mall lor...Its the same, buy more, its cheaper =).

Actually, if you are on budget, then samran place is good cost only $30+ per nite, but no buffet bf though. But their bf notbad, those set meal type. If u have abit more to spend, Anorma hotel is just opp Plantium mall...bery convenient too =).

dazednconfused

sabrinalai,
There're PLENTY of spas in BKK! It's a spa haven! Healthland is a very NICE spa! Service is fantastic. Very clean. Great ambience. Prices are good too! You must make an appointment before you go as they are very popular! And give yourself lots of time to get there as traffic in BKK can be a nightmare sometimes. It's situated along N. Sathorn Rd. Take a taxi there from your hotel. I think there is a BTS Station nearby, but I'm not sure which one. There are also other spas of course. Though I'm not too familiar with them. Every time I go to BKK, it is Healthland!

icebaby0

hey,

anyone flag taxi and then go to Dreamworld?

Paiseh..this time around I bring both my kids. Thought that flagging a cab will be cheaper than their package!

scobido

hi ger2

is our 1st time there, will we get lost if we stay in samran?

u will recommend anorma hotel then? how much per night?

lingling2

HI moo,

It was also our 1st time there lor...1st time staying in samran too cos its within our budget and read lots of gd comments abt this hotel...Won't get lost one cos its near to a BTS, tink its rachaewi...U can take this BTS to the wkend market, Chatuchak, the station is "Mo-Chit"....U can get the map from the airport, or from the internet....Quite straight forward lor...

Most of the time, we walked to MBK, Pratunum market,Platinum Mall, Siam Paragon etc...Only took cab to chinatown...and BTS to chatuchak...

Anorma hotel seems convenient too but most ex...prehaps u can check it out in the internet...cos i haven stayed there before so can't advise you the cost....=)...

sereneli

Sounds quite bad and it's those area that tourists will visit

BANGKOK : Two people were killed and 36 injured, including nine foreigners, in a wave of mysterious bombings that forced Thailand to cancel its New Year celebrations, officials said on Monday.

Festivities were called off in Bangkok and the northern city of Chiang Mai after six explosions ripped across the capital within about an hour from 5:20 pm (1020 GMT), killing two and wounding more than 20.

Another two blasts exploded shortly before midnight near Central World Plaza where Bangkok's main celebrations were to have been staged, injuring 11 more people including nine Westerners.

The attacks capped a year of political turmoil in Bangkok and were the first violence since a September coup toppled the government of prime minister Thaksin Shinawatra.

There was no indication who was responsible but police said they believed the bombings were linked to the political situation, although they bore the hallmarks of insurgents in Thailand's Muslim-majority south.

Separatist militants along the southern border with Malaysia often coordinate small bombings across the region, but have never attacked Bangkok.

Prime Minister Surayud Chulanont, who was installed after the coup, called an emergency meeting with senior military leaders and the interior minister.

"We believe some group has created the situation," government spokesman Yongyuth Mayalarp said after the meeting, but said they needed more information and would hold another meeting Monday before drawing any conclusions.

The health ministry's information centre said that two men aged 36 and 61 had been killed in the first wave of attacks. At least 36 were injured, with at least 21 in hospital.

Two Britons, two Serbians, one American, and two Hungarians were among those hospitalised, while two other Hungarians were treated and released, according to medical officials.

Britain and the United States both urged their citizens to avoid travelling around the city.

"The bombs were to scare people during the New Year festival," national police spokesman Ajiravid Subarnbhesaj said.

Thousands of people had gathered at a plaza outside a shopping mall in central Bangkok to watch musicians and actors count down to 2007 before the bombings forced festivities to be cancelled.

The first blast hit downtown Sukhumvit Road, one of Bangkok's main arteries, at 5:20 PM (1020 GMT), and five more followed within about an hour.

The worst attack was at the Victory Monument in central Bangkok at 5:30 pm (1030 GMT), where at least 13 people were injured when a device exploded at a bus stop.

Other blasts hit two police traffic posts in the north of the city and a Chinese temple in downtown Bangkok, while another device went off behind a department store in an eastern suburb.

Then minutes before midnight, another bomb exploded in a telephone booth and along a canal near the plaza where New Year would have been celebrated.

Police spokesman Ajiravid said the bombs were triggered by a timer, and investigations had so far proved that four of the attacks were by the same group.

Coup leader and military chief General Sonthi Boonyaratglin - currently out of the country - ordered the mobilisation of soldiers in Bangkok, his assistant General Anupong Paochinda said.

"Soldiers are around Bangkok, particularly in crowded areas," he said.

Surayud had warned earlier this week of possible large-scale attacks by Islamic militants during the New Year holidays.

However, that warning was for the nation's restive Muslim-majority south, where an ongoing insurgency has killed 1,700 people since January 2004.

An intelligence source told AFP that the attacks were likely politically motivated.

"The bombs are not involved with southern unrest... it is a political issue, it is undercurrents," the source said, but did not elaborate.

There has been relatively little public resistance to the recent coup, with small protests ignored by the ruling junta despite the fact that martial law remains in force three months after the putsch.

Former premier Thaksin was in New York when the military overthrew his twice-elected government. Since then, he has been living in self-imposed exile abroad and is currently staying in Beijing.

He has expressed a wish to come back to Thailand, but the military fear his return may galvanise support in his north and northeast stronghold and spark protests. - AFP/de

listan

Right, I was about to copy the news snippets out but Serene has done that.

Sabrinalai, when are travelling to BKK again? If you have decided to go ahead with the trip, do remember to get travel insurance, cos in case of flight cancellation or whatever reason, you are likely to be covered. Do check out the various insurer, although I have a preferred one.

Girls, maybe we try to keep track of the news and we can post the updates here whenever we have them.

I am going BKK on 01 Feb, so friends are also worried about my trip.

Fingers crossed..

sereneli

Hi Lissy,

Yeap, I actually plan to visit Bangkok again yesterday and now with these news, I was glad that I didn't go ahead with my plans.

Anyway, my cousin who's there said that she didn't even know of the bombing though she's in the Siam area. And I am also worried cos my brother is due to fly there on wednesday for a business trip and he's staying at Ambassador hotel which is in Sukhumvit area

listan

sabrinalai, this is extracted from my booking:

- JETSAVER FARE RULES
- 1.1 This Booking is non-refundable. Customers who do not check-in for their booked flight within the required time* will forfeit the entire fare paid.
- 2.1 Subject to availability and payment of all applicable amounts, changes can be made to your Booking as follows. Changes to the origin and destination of travel are not permitted.
- 2.2 Your new fare will be at least the amount of the fare you originally purchased, and may be more. At the time your Booking is changed you must pay the difference (if any) between the fare you originally purchased and the fare available on the date of the change. This will apply to all date, time and name changes.
- 2.3 Date, time and Passenger name changes may be made by telephoning Jetstar Telephone Reservations (see http://jetstar.com/contactUs/ for contact details), but must be completed at least 24 hours before the original scheduled departure. A change fee* is payable for each change, for each passenger flight segment changed. An additional charge will apply to your new fare booked over the telephone, unless your original fare was purchased through Jetstar Telephone Reservations. You must re-book onto an available Jetstar flight.
- 2.4 If your original fare was purchased on the Jetstar internet site at jetstar.com, time and date changes may be made on jetstar.com but must be completed at least 24 hours before the original scheduled departure. A change fee* is payable for each change, for each passenger flight segment changed on jetstar.com.
- 2.5 d) Date, time and Passenger name changes may be made at any Jetstar counter at an airport but must be completed at least 24 hours before the original scheduled departure. A change fee* is payable for each change, for each passenger flight segment changed at the airport.
- *Current Jetstar fees and a summary of fare types can be found at jetstar.com/faretypes.html. For International travel, all amounts must be paid in the currency in which you made your original Booking.

listan

hey serene, I guess I may register my travel before leaving home to bangkok, if i have decided to proceed by then at http://www.mfa.gov.sg/internet/eregister/eregister.html

This is what it does:
eRegister allows you to register with our Singapore Missions overseas when travelling
abroad. This form may take you 10 minutes to fill in. You will need the following
information to fill in the form:

Travellers Personnal Particulars

Travel Details including Accommodation, Contact information and duration of stay

Contact Person's particulars in case of emergency

In times of emergency, we would be able to provide you with consular
assistance.

See if you want to do that for your brother and cousin. I think that would kind of help us get the first hand info (even abroad) if any emergency is taking place in that foreign land, as the mission office will be able to contact us and probably give appropriate advice. What do you think?

Honestly, I think it's important we keep our ears up over these few days, see what our government advises. I will be checking on govn sites too to check on updates, and keep you guys updated, especially those travelling soon.

listan

Hi, serene, another snippet for you, see if it's useful, I am sure if you are in touch with your cousin, you will not need this hotline.

MFA hotline for Singaporeans over Bangkok bombings
Posted: 31 December 2006 2245 hrs

SINGAPORE : Singapore's Foreign Affairs Ministry said it was aware of the situation in Thailand, following a series of bombings in the capital Bangkok.

When contacted, an MFA spokesman said it was now in touch with the Thai government.

In response to media queries, a Foreign Affairs Ministry spokesman said the ministry has received over a hundred calls from concerned Singaporeans asking about the situation in Thailand.

However, there are no reports of Singaporean casualties to date.

Singaporeans who are concerned about relatives and friends in Bangkok can contact the MFA duty hotline at 63798800 or 63798855. - CNA/de

In case anyone may find my posts overly focused on this bombing, anyone who is concerned, you may browse http://www.channelnewsasia.com/asiapacific/index.htm for updated news.

sereneli

Hi Lissy,

Yeap, I guess you are right about registering your travel with them first.

Thanks for your help. I am in contact with my cousin and have also advised her to avoid crowded areas if possible and to return to the hotel earlier for the night.

miralyn

during norm times, do u buy travel insurance when gg bangkok? which insurer offer is gd?

Is it better to change currency in Sin/bangkok?

Abit worry abt my trip aft CNY since this bombin targeting festive season...

sabrinalai

i think for singaporean (man) who go oversea must notify tru mindef, so i think in any emergency cases, they will able to contact us..
just read the news that the thai gov suspect still have several bombing in the next few days..

for the jet saver, change of destination is not allowed
(

listan

HI Miralyn

Normally I buy travel insurance whenever I travel, even to M'sia. I feel safer to get travel insurance, nowhere is very safe these days. Most importantly, medical expenses for foreigners are usually very high, some countries such as USA will not treat patients if you are not insured.

I normally purchase AIG, as the coverage is better, I used to purchase NTUC income travel ins. for my mgrs and engnrs when I was working as secretary to CEO, it is cheaper in premium, but we did encoutner with problems when came to claims. This is personal encounters though, so.... please do not sue me..

Travel ins. covers flight cancellation, baggage damage/loss delay, and also illness in foreign land, even within 7 days upon return to Singapore (i am only referring to AIG, please check with your other insurer abt the terms).

Normally I change the currency here in Singapore, but we noticed it is alright to change more in BKK when we run out of baht.

I always urge people to purchase travel ins. when they travel. I have many stories to tell about travel accidents etc etc, but I shall save you gals the details.

sabrinalai

lissy,
may i know how much is the AIG ins u r refered to? coz i am going to bkk on 12 jan, thinking of buying..

i read news yest, i think some of the ppl in bkk even do not know there was a bomb attack, until some relative in sg contact them.

zoeanne27

hi friends
Sorry for being KPO..

I just msn with my friend who is a local at BKK..

She told me that there are 22 bombs exploded N it rather dangerous...

Better check if it is possible to proceed still..

I happened to be at BKK when Sept COUP was on. Same, i did not know until my mum called me from SG.. Apparently, govt there did not really broadcast the situation about the COUP. News blackout.

Not sure abt the situation in BKK now..

Take care everyone..Good Luck

listan

Hi sabrinalai,

you can go to this site (there is a link from jetstar also) https://www.aig.com.sg/AIGAssist/aigformpage1-1.asp, you will see the various plan.

I normally get the cheapest one (oops), the classic plan for individual, per trip plan, for BKK 4 days plan it's around S$27. You can use that page to do the quote first, payment via credit/debit card, and then you will get the confirmation. You see download the brochure at the homepage http://www.aig.com.sg/aigassist/aigassist.asp. Then read about it first. Remember to print out a copy of the confirmation, and there is a hotline stated there in your confirmation. Bring the confirmation along, I normally keep it with me throughout the trip, so that in case I need to call to check on some matters I can quote the reference right away.

worry

Hi all, just to share...we just came back yesterday.
We live in arnoma during the bombing period. The plaza mentioned in the news sippet is Central World and is opposite Arnoma Hotel. The New Year celebration is called off and we are evacuated from Big C (we were going to eat dinner then). My aunt didn't slept that night though and heard the blasts but according to her, not a big bomb. We woke up next day and the plaza is still intact in one piece. Life also proceed normally :p
Other than that, nothing and airport security as per normal. Big C is also open the next day.

sabrinalai

don know wana to procees or nt. my HB said see how in the nxt few days, coz we goin next friday..but read from news tourists shrug off bkk bombing..

Me also booked Arnorma hotel..

Anyone who just came back fr bkk? can update us the situation at bkk?

hoshi5

Hi sabrinalai,

me too!!.. don't know whether want to proceed or not.. my in-laws say don't want... but me already paid already.. and if don't go.. very wasted.. somemore jetstar don't have any refund right?..

sigh....

so sad.. somemore it's my first trip out to bangkok...

sabrinalai

hoshi,
yalo, the jetsaver only allow to change flight date and time, not allow to change destination. My HB wana to proceed, he said wait n c these few days,coz we goin on not peak period (12 jan)..i also think very wasted to cancel the trip..
u also staying in arnorma hotel rite? i also very worry leh..i thk we at the same hotel and same flight, if u don mind, can u update me whether u wana proceed or not..

listan

Hi hi..

Reading the news, there is nothing much going on, and I think sabrinalai you are right to just keep watch over the next few days, actually you guys can decide to change the flight time and date (charges applicable), and if you have booked hotel via asiarooms, you may want to decide to postpone or cancel the date in prior to 7 days of your arrival, there will be US$ 15 applicable, otherwise, it will be one night stay imposed if cancellation is made after 7 days earlier.

If that worries you too much (about the bombing or the present situation of BKK), then you may want to postpone the trip, of cos, if you are getting the promo fare rates, the new fare price will apply.

We are also in KIV for our trip, since our trip is right after our wedding (right after lunch reception, we are going to airport for the 5.35pm flight), and have developed a backup plan. By the latest (7 days before departure) we will decide if we are going ahead, or to make necessary changes to the present bookings, then we may see if we are going another place besides Thailand for honeymoon instead, then keep the BKK trip for say months later.

Keep the updates coming though, if any had gone to BKK. Thanks S for sharing, that helps me think that situation is calming down.

sabrinalai

hoshi,
yalo, the jetsaver only allow to change flight date and time, not allow to change destination. My HB wana to proceed, he said wait n c these few days,coz we goin on not peak period (12 jan)..i also think very wasted to cancel the trip..
u also staying in arnorma hotel rite? i also very worry leh..i thk we at the same hotel and same flight, if u don mind, can u update me whether u wana proceed or not..

sabrinalai

HI,
anyone here know that does asiaroom allow us to change hotel (from bangkok to Hong kong),coz if worse case, we change plan to hong kong, and postpone bkk plan to later time (jetsaver allow to change date up to a year)

pinkbunny

hi guys sorry to butt in. i was also supposed to go on the 5th, come back on the 8th, stay at arnorma hotel. supposed to go 3 people, but one pull out cos of the situation, so i think we are postponing our trip to early feb.

from what i know: arnorma hotel will charge one night's stay if you amend OR cancel your booking. i'm also flying jet, so can amend the date, but must pay like $30 admin charge or something, and pay the diff in flight price. just so you girls know

hoshi5

Hi sabrinalai,

ya lor.. we on the same flight, same hotel... still haven't decide, coz I've got kids and babies with me too... My colleague say the situation there quite bad coz total got 22 bombs, and only 9 went off, found a few more... but there are some more bombs not found yet...

We also thinking of changing to HK leh... hehe..

I don't know...

But if postphoned to another date, need extra admin charge... then if that date something happen again then how?.. change again?... like tat very jia lat also leh...

worry

hi lissy,

welcome. just sharing the situation at the point i left bkk.

The situation there when i left, looks like under control and there are more police doing security checks at the airport and shopping centre. This is all happening in the City and I am not sure about other areas.

sabrinalai

if postpone also need another date,and i won't gurantee will nt happen again
(.

2nite have to call asiaroom to ask abt changing hotel destination..

listan

sigh.. I have 3 other groups of friends going to bkk around my trip time also, some can't attend my wedding, cos they leaving one day before my wedding, so we planned to meet up there.

Now we are all watching closely to the situation. I may just try to contact one of the friends and check with her on the situation there. Her sibling lives there, so she may get more info on the actual situation. Keep you gals posted eh....

jasermine

gg to bkk on 26th this month. kinda of worry abt the bombing incident. hopefully, tis will be over by then. keep fingers crossed. taking tiger airways..same as jet if change of flight date ned pay $35 for admin fee and top up the fare difference. rather mafan...keep up the updates if any...thks...

mocha_lover

need some help, iam in a fixed on my accomodation place. could someone pls help me? Those who stayed in the hotels stated can give me some feedback in terms of location to the Siam area & BTS, and quality of the room? Would appreciate ur help.

1) First Hotel
2) Samaran Place
3) Bangkok City Inn
4) Baiyoke Suite

Thanks again.

sabrinalai

i have called asiaroom,for Arnorma hotel, any cancellation or modification of the hotel must be make within 9 days not 7 days..if less than 9 days, u have to pay a nite stay charges..

hoshi5

Nowadays seems not much news on Bangkok already...

How how??

Sabrinalai, think today ours is just nice 9 days... so how??... still proceeding??...

sabrinalai

no, yest was 9 days

so it doesnt matter change now or few days later, as long as not ard 3 days before check in.

below i extracted from somewebsite:
Urgent: Bomb-like object detected at Major Cineplex Rajayothin

04-01-07
A bomb-like object was detected inside the Major Cineplex Building, Rajayothin branch at 5:30 pm.

Bomb disposal police were checking the object.

The Nation

Deserted backpack creates bomb scare in front of Central World

A deserted backpack inside a public telephone booth in front of Central World created bomb scare Wednesday afternoon.

Police said a foreign tourist spotted a backpack left inside a public telephone booth so he alerted a security official of a nearby hotel. The official in turn alerted police.

Police rushed to the scene and seal off three traffic lanes on the Rajdamri road at 3 pm while bomb disposal officers checked the bag.

Police found only a clothes and towel, a pack of tobacco and a magazine inside. Police did not know who owned the bag, but suspected that it might be intentionally left them to create bomb scare.

The Nation

hoshi5

So scary...
But from all reports, seems like most of the bombs are planted OUTSIDE the shopping areas...
So, if we stay in the shopping malls, shld be relatively safe right?...

Then once outside, faster rush back to the hotel... hehe...

But to go on a trip that keeps u on ur toes also not enjoyable leh....

But wat to do??...
I told my hubby.. take plane go there one round is better than wasting the entire $$ right?.. since no refunds on both hotel & airplanes...

worry

My neighbour just went BKK yesterday. she also worry of the bomb news. she say since already pay for everything, just go there and see. But i think if you are going there, stay on the alert.

listan

hi S, that's a nice forum to boost our confidence to go ahead with the plan. Guess our asian concerns are really with our parents who are more worried.

Guys though, have less concerns, my FH is not exactly affected with the bombing, but he is giving me the liberty to get worried as a woman..haha.. We are likely to go ahead with our plans.

worry

Hi Lissy,

if given me i will also worry cos we are after all not locals who stay there so we dunno of the situations there.

but anyway, i think this forum got some other info. can surf ard and find other details.

sabrinalai

hi, the below news i extracted from website:

Bomb-like object left outside Lotus Superstore Charansanitwong

A box, which was apparently made to look like a bomb, was placed outside Lotus Supserstore Charansanitwong branch late Thursday night in what police believe to be attempt to create disturbance.

The Bang Plad police station was alerted about the box at 11:15 pm.

Police found that the box had two wires left outside and it was wrapped in black insulation tape.

Police opened the box to find it was empty, except some small amount of white powder.

The Nation

mocha_lover

hmm seems like no one response to my post..

Anywyays want to check, what is the standard rate that a taxi will charge if take from hotel to airport?