Bali

sharlene

Meow,
Enjoy ur trip

mexx

Just came back from bali.

just a quick tip, change money in bali instead of here in singapore. the rates are much better there. however, do be careful when you count the money they give you when you change money, some may shortchange you by a few notes.

if you are in kuta/legian area, do check out kafe warisan. Food is fantastic and it's cheap (3 course for about S$20-30 per head). Food at the much publicised Kudeta is so-so.

meowie

Hi everyone, i'm back.

Sarah, so sorry i didn't manage to walk all the way up to Mecure. It was further up than HRH. Anyway, i asked my driver for you the difference between the hotel i stay in and yours. Mecure is a new hotel of 2yrs and the style is something like HRH. But it is only a 4 star hotel. In fact staying there i feel its ok. As long as its near the shopping district can liao. But i can say those shops in Kuta selling clothes are very ex. If possible, walk up to Pasar Seni (Art centre). The clothes they sell is very much cheaper. Basically i bought those wrap shorts for about 20,000rp which they normally asked for 90,000rp. Those near starbucks, their starting price is already 120,000rp. There's one place in Kuta which is like a warehouse which they did a lot of packaging. Those very nice wooden surf boards for display they sell 45,000rp which i bought mine at Pasar Ubud for 100,000rp after bargaining. Even the key chains are very very cheap.

Have you found a driver? If not i can recommend mine to you. His service was good and he charge me 200,000 for 8hrs but i negotiate and he charge me additional hrs only after 9hrs.

sarahtan

Hi Meowie,

Thanks for the update!

Where did the driver bring you to for the 8 hrs? Sorry for so many questions and the trouble about checking the Mecure hotel ... really appreciated!

Wah ... I am itching to go ...but hubby still quite tied up with his project at work. Haiz.

meowie

Sarah,
When i reach Bali, it was noon, the driver was engage with someone else but he asked me to go Kuta by ourselves and we ended up at HRC and HRH to survey the price and places. Then we went to Sharkey for dinner, all our dishes are grilled. Even the prawns. Should had asked for live ones as its only 30,000rp diff. Its not fresh lor as compare to live ones.

Day 2 Dewa(the driver) brought us to one of the village temple. We thought of going to the mother temple but he say all the same so we jus go and take photos lor. Anyway, mother temple is a scared place. Not everyone can go in too. I think need a guide as well. Follow that we went to Celuk (silver), Mas(Wood carving) and those painting house. The things there are very ex, i asked for a big painting and they charge me 1.5million but can disc. He gave me up to 70% but its still too ex liao. Those stalls in Pasar Seni starts from 600,000rp or less and still can bargain some more.

After that we travell up to Mt Kintamani and took our lunch there. He drove us to Holy Spring temple but we didn't went in cos not really much to take and need to pay as well. Then we requested to go to see a waterfall. But the waterfall was pretty small. He mentioned that there's 2 waterfall, the big one is too far. Then after that, we went to planet hollywood and to Legian to take a look.

Day 3 we went to Nusa Dua thinking of going to the turtle island. But hor, both my friends didn't prepare any shorts or sandals so we jus stay for a while and went to Ubud. The distant was very far, think we took close to 3hrs to reach there. Then we shop for about 1hr at the pasar Ubud and went to Tanah Lot. From Ubud to Tanah lot is another 2hrs. There's a number of traffic jam that day. Think its because its a weekend. Then we went to DFS to take a look, then went back to HRC again to buy more T-shirts and passby the bomb site in Kuta and back to hotel again. I think that's about all. Maybe i've left out something too.

Day 4, we spent 6hrs shopping and walking in Kuta. Places that we've miss on day 1. Had a great time bargaing with the owners. It was fun, and my friends was surprise the way i can bargain so low. Hee...those printed T-shirt(thin quality) only 15,000rp and T-shirts only 30,000rp. So happy.

For a guide, T-shits from HRH with one side printing cost about 125,000rp, printed on both side is 150,000rp and HRC polo is about 185,000rp, T-shirt is 140,000rp. Be sure to bring some Sin currency if you think you'll spent more. My $400 isn't enough for me and i've to borrow 100,000rp from friend.

sharlene

Meow,
FInally u are backed
U never try any spa ah?
Which part of Nusa Dua u went to? From Nusa Dua to Ubud only abt 1.5 hrs leh. Udud alot of nice and cheap restuarants. I did went to the holy Spring temple inside. Water was really clean and clear.

meowie

Sharlene,
I was with two guys leh. They not really bothered with all these beauty stuffs.
Maybe my next trip in future with my hubby to Bali then i'll try it out. Hopefully by then my figure still ok. I jus went to the beach that's all. The exact location, then i'm not sure. When i went to Ubud that day was a saturday, maybe that's why the trip took longer, well i was sleeping all the way. I think you were right. I took 1.5hrs. Now then i remembered. Sorry.

Oh i did went to try the dirty duck restaurant. The food was great, we bought babi Guling(20,000rp) to try too. Yum Yum....nice.
In dirty duck restaurant, the ambience was great and its cheap. We spent 70,000 per person for a wonderful meal.

Well, i brought too little cash to Bali liao. Maybe we were tired too. Cos its pretty small lor for the holy spring temple. Well, must save some trip to go back to bali mah.

sarahtan

Hi Meowie,

Thanks! Seems like Bali is also a nice place to look around too!

Can I have the driver name/contact from you?Probably will consider about it.... thanks ya.

Ok, now I know roughly how much cash I need for the the HR Tees ...

Gosh ...I love to shop leh ... :p

meowie

Sarah, you can go to his website www.baliexplore.com under "contact us" to get quote from him (Dewa). Tell him you're friend of Cathy. Definately he'll remember me since its only few days later.

Yeah, Bali is nice and can bargain more as compare to Thai. Nowadays thai dun allow us to bargain so much liao. So sad. Even shop owners in Bali scared of me since i bargain so low. If you like the surfboard and wants to know how to get there, let me know. I try to guide you to the place. Sorry, didn't get the namecard. But that place really sell them cheap.

meowie

Sarah,
Its not really surfboard. I also dunno how to surf. Its for deco. There's many sizes, even for keyrings. Only have painting on the cute little surf boards. That's all.

sarahtan

Oic. :p Sorry didn't read your post properly.

Yeap, got what you mean.

I have one small one - approx 15cm in length mounted on a small wooden base ... quite cute lah, didn't really fancy it but dunno why I buy ... bought it in Malaysia. :D

Maybe the keychains would be great to buy back for friends as souvenirs.

sharlene

Meow,
Ya, good thing u went to Dirty Duck as recommended to u earlier. Food was cheap and great rite
Ambience also very nice.

meowie

Yes Sarah, that's the one. Oh Malaysia also have ah? Me haven't seen it in JB yet. Maybe other places i guess. You want to know where the shop is? One packet of 20pcs only for about 40,000rp. Its in Kuta, walking the back of Mathri(dunno how to spell, but its a big shopping centre) which is near the basement carpark, walk along the lane for about 5-10mins, close the a junction and there's a shop very big and spacious and you see 2-3gals there packing souvenirs.

Thanks Sharlene, it was really great lucky i got write down the info and bring there. I love the setup. Its was nice and fun.

meowie

Shirsweetiepie,
Kuta Paradiso is nice. Near shopping district too. Hardrock is a bit old liao.

Yes Sally that's right. Along the way, there's not much shop lor.
But the next street, there's plenty too. I still feel like clothes and such, jus go to Pasar Seni can liao.
How i wish i can go again. This time round, i'll bring more money.

sarahtan

Meow,

Then you better start saving up for your next trip to Bali!

I am counting my $$$ for my shopping spree ...hee...

Wow, the keychains are really cheap!

So this Matahri is a big dept store?

Thanks for all the tips!

meowie

Yes Sarah, Matahri is a big departmental store. There's 2 in bali. One near DFS and the other in Kuta. But i'll rather buy things from outside than those places. Bear in mind, as long the shop has air-con, then you can't bargain. I hope you can find the shop for the keychain. When will you be going?

I may not be able to go to Bali so soon. I think i'm pregnant. Tested twice using clear blue and now waiting for KKH to confirm 1st Sept.

sarahtan

Hi Meow,

Really? Congrats!

Take care.

I am not sure, because hubby still tied up with a project at work, supposed to end next mth but looks like it's gonna delay.

meowie

Shirsweetiepie,
If i didn't remember wrongly, Dynasty is jus beside my hotel(Ramada Bintang). That time i also can choose between these two but i decided on Ramada. Maybe i prefer its room as compare to Dynasty. Anyway, its going to be about 20mins walk from Dynasty to HRC. They are still constructing the road so please be careful. Else you can choose to walk along the beach to the shopping area too. At least there aren't too much dust.
I'm not sure about the time you'll reach there with GA. I went with SQ and reach bali at my hotel about 1pm. The distant from airport to your hotel is about 5-10mins only.

Sarah,
dun be upset. Its better to be delay than not to go right? I really feel like flying off right away.
Maybe at a latter stage than i can go there and shop for bb clothes.
Personally, i prefer to shop at Bali than BKK. Maybe its because BKK dun allow me to bargain so much.
My mom actually asked me to go BKK end of the yr, see how lor. See i can physco her to Bali instead and if she allows me to travel.

sharlene

Meow,
I opposite from u. I think Bali nothing much to shop and buy, most things are the same. Prices not that cheap, almost equivalent in Spore. I prefer BKK for shopping though, coz more variety. In Bali, except for home accessories, almost nothing to buy. My personal point of view lah.

meowie

Sharlene,
I do agree all the shops sells the same things unlike BKK. Maybe i didnt buy enough things for my home.
But i do miss the soto ayam there.

nihonjin

Hi everyone, I am planning my honeymoon in Bali sometime in early Jan 05. However, I was told that it clashes with the monsoon season and I am a bit worried that the rain would spoil my holiday plans.

Has anyone been to Bali in Jan? What is the weather like and are there really thunderstorms during that period?

Appreciate if someone can enlighten me. Thanks!

tweety

can anybody advise if it's easy to get a metered cab (blue) while staying in nusa dua area in order to visit kuta?

alternatively, is it advisable to arrange 2 nites at kuta followed by 2 nites at nusa dua? we intend to extend another 2 nites (after taking the first 3D 2N package) and wonder if the tour agency will give a good room rate at another hotel? or is it cheaper to book via the internet ourselves?

would appreciate it greatly if any of you gals who had such an arrangement to advise me urgently.

many thanks in advance ;)

jan_jan

Would like your advice. Does Bali sell those very nice sarong and kebaya I see in the mags? Their kebayas look very different from the usual Peranankans. Any one knows where they sell in Bali and does anyone knows how much they sell usually? Thanks for your help.

sybil

Hi, If any of you are planning to go to Bali, please do not stay at Villa Forte in Kerobokan!

The villa is nicely done in a mix-Balinese-Mediterranean style. We had the two bedroom villa and shared it with my sis-in-law and her husband. It's owned by a British ex-designer and her Italian partner. The villa is nice, but the owner is not, and she made our holiday hell. Here's why...(long story coming up)

First she insisted that payment be in US currency. That's fine, but when we gave her the money, she complained that it was the 1996 series, not the 2000 series, and that they were small notes (USD20/50, not 100s) and that she would get less after the conversion. She had neglected to mention any of this during her online and telephone exachanges with my sis-in-law (who made all the travel arrangements and payments) so none of us brought any more USD. In the end, she accepted what we had grudgingly. Money is money, after all.

Second, my sis-in-law had asked her to help us book a driver for our first day there. She did. When the driver was taking us around, we asked him if he'd be able to drive us around the next couple of days, or if he was contracted to the villa. He said no, he's a freelance driver and the van belongs to him, so we booked him for the next day.

The villa woman found out and accused us of being "unethical" (her words) and going behind her back (her description) to "tempt" (her word) the driver with money. She insisted that he belonged to the villa and that we should not have hired him without asking her. She found out that he had charged us less than what she would have, and wanted to charge us extra. We found out that she had pocketed a 50% commission from the driver's fees for the first day's work.

She also claimed that the driver had complained about working more than eight hours that day. Thing is, when my sis-in-law spoke to the driver, he had agreed to be with us for the whole day, including lunch and dinner. We invited him to eat with us, and he did. We did ask him about the complaint, and he insisted again that he did not. We are inclined to believe him, rather than her.

The villa woman said that he did complain, then proceeded to claim that that all Baliness are liars, that they'll say one thing in front of you and another thing infront of someone else. She continued her attack, saying that Balinese are stupid and let tourists make use of them, that they would swear on their mother's graves and lie to you at the same time etc. All these are her words, mind you.

She also had another shock for us. My sis-in-law had transferred the desposit though the bank to her, before we got there. When we arrived she said that USD15 was missing. But when we checked with the bank here, the full amount has gone through. She said that this missing money thing had happened several times and that she didn't know why. When we asked her to show us the bank statement, she refused.

We had a mini-confrontation. Her partner, the Italian guy, was on her side at first but started to understand our perspective as we spoke. He gave us a lift to the beach later and told us that she was a "difficult" woman! Haha!

In the end, we decided to forget it all and just give her the money. It was a small amount, thankfully, and it seemed better to just get it over and done with than let it hang over our holiday. We'd made our case clear and now we're just going to warn everyone about her.

It's sad, really, because the Balinese are really nice people, and it's really disappointing to see the 'rich' westerners coming in and making use of them.

sept03bride

hi y,
jus went to Bali this month and stayed at Hard Rock..
hmm.. not a bad place... but i can recommend u to stay at Mecure(not sure if this is correct spelling) but this is newer than Hard Rock and seems more beautiful from the outside.
Hard Rock for me was a little bit too noisy...cos I could hear the centrestage music at night..

dabee

hey sept03 bride:
u went to stay at HR hotel. but recommand to stay Mercure Kuta. i was thinkin of between these two..... how far apart are they??? u do ala carte? or which travel agency???thanks

anyone been to Mercure Kuta??? any feedback?

expecting_mum

hi hi...

for those who went there .....how do you feel about the facilities there ? the clinic...

I am going to end april....i am still thinking whether to bring my 7mth old son there....

Hi adeline,
i really can't comment much abt the facilities cos i had not seen much hospital or similar there..well, it might be but i had not noticed..
have you tried surfing the net or checking with the embassy on address of hospitals?

well..if you are there with your hubby for some quiet time
, maybe you wanna consider bringing your son on the next trip?

dabee : do not know if you are still reading, Mecure is just next to HR. very near to each other..it depend on what sort of resort you like..
i prefer mecure to HR(but i must declare i've not stayed, only went in to see).

marble

I was in Bali over the May Day week. This was my second trip to Bali in 6 months. I did a 4D3N package which flies Garuda and stayed in Grand Istana Rama. I also extended 1 night in Ubud, staying in Biyukukung. Here are my feedback/comments on my experience

Hotel Grand Istana Rama
This is classified a 3star hotel but I found it to be quite ok - better than Hard Rock in that it's less commercialised and has a more Balinese resort feel.(give Hard Rock hotel a miss if you can, really not nice at all) Location was also quite good, near the Kuta beach. Only thing was it'a a little old and the bathroom smells stale. But if you're not going to be spending much time in the hotel, this hotel is decent value for money.

Car Rental
We rented a Suzuki Jimny for 225,000 rupiah for 2 days, no petrol supplied tho'. That's ~SGD40. We found it so much more fun and worth it to rent a car rather than depend on local taxi. We drove up from Kuta to Ubud twice over the 2 days and only needed less than 40,000 rupiah (SGD7/=)worth of petrol.

Driving Experience
Driving through Denpasar was quite an experience for my hubby who is a new driver. the roads can be infested with motorbikes at peak hours. But we made it through nevertheless and it built his confidence in driving substantially. Seeing Bali from your own vehicle is a different experience from seeing it in a taxi. We had the flexibility to stop at any place we wanted, to shop as and where we want. You don't need to buy any maps, just download a good one from the internet. Road signs are fairly easy to read. It's difficult to get lost driving in Bali.

Biyukukung
I stayed in Biyukukung in Ubud. This is a small hotel recommended by a guy on this website. It's an amazing place and you've got to see it for yourself as words alone cannot do justice to describe this place. Do an internet check on this hotel for photos. Highly recommended, especially for honeymooners!

Food in Kuta
Made's Warung - Most of the food in Kuta are so-so..nothing really impressive. Made's Warung is a good restuarant to check out but i personally find the prices a little expensive, and the place a little overrated. But still anyone going to Kuta should try this restuarant at least once. Nasi Campur is a good local dish to try.

If you walk along the backpacker's area in one of the poppies lane, there are many good cafes there that offer decent food at good prices. My favourite is avocado juice from Bamboo Cafe near hotel lusa. Only 3000 rupiah (SGD0.50) for a tall glass of the heavenly drink! Shiok!

Food in Ubud
I tried out another cafe, also coincidentally called Bamboo Cafe, along Monkey Forest road. the local food there is excellent, best I've tried in Bali. Also highly recommended.

another place I tried was Casa Luna cafe (or something like that) in Ubud frequently mostly by orang puteh aka ang mohs. Overpriced and so-so food only lah.

We were also adventurous enough to try the otah and satay sold by an old lady squating by the road in Ubud market. turns out the food was pretty good, real authentic balinese snacks since we noticed that only locals bought from her (presumably becoz most tourists deem her too unhygienic!?).

Airport Transfer
If you're going to airport from Kuta, the taxi fare should not cost more than 20,000 rupiah.

An interesting discovery
In Bali, other than the fact everything is priced for bargaining, there also such a thing as ang moh price, asian price, and speak bahasa indonesia price. So if you can, speak a little Malay to them when you bargain, and chances are you'll get a much better price than if you use just english.

Buying Furniture
If you're looking to furnish you new place with teak furniture, the place to check out is Bali Gong, located somewhere after Batu Bulan, before Gianyar. Highly recommended if you wanna ship furniture home to Singapore. They are reliable and furniture is of good quality. You'll also find a lot more interesting teak furniture designs you don't get in singapore. Definitely not the dempsey/gillman village type!

Taxi Man's commission
If you take a taxi which drops you off at any of the villages to buy stuff, the taxi man typically takes a cut from the sale. So if you plan to buy a lot of high value staff like furniture, then maybe you can try to find your way there yourself, eg drive a rental car there, and cut out the commission.

I enjoyed my trip so much more this time. I plan to go back there again and this time round will prefer to stay 1 night in Kuta and 3 nights in Ubud.

Hope the info here helps anyone planning a trip there soon. ; )

khoosm

Hi people,
I'm planning to go bali this June. Is there any reccomendation that is reasonably priced in Ubud? I would like to buy some stuffs and furnitures for home deco (eg stone/wood carvings...)

littlegirl

I have vouchers from Safe Travel to let go cheaply. Total $1800 in value, more than happy to sell everything at one shot (gd for those who are going in a group). Willing to let go at $1.5k.

They have F&E pkg from Safe. http://www.safe2travel.com:8080/index_lt.jsp?vert=PS&secfield=2&catfield=60

Sometimes they may have some other packages not indicated on the website, please call them at 6823 3000 for more info.

let me know (through PM) if you are interested to purchase my vouchers.

mik

just wanna know is it better to stay 3D/2N in bali or 4D/3N? would it be too long for 4D/3N stay?

bugslife

hi mikmik,

would 4D/3N be too long... mm.... me and hubby went there for short holiday last yr... we stayed 5D/4N...

it all depends on what u plan to do on the island.... for us... we wanted to explore the sea activities we dun get to see or enjoy in singapore... basically we wanna relax and not rush everyday to finish all the activities we planned for...

1st day - we reach denpasar ard noon... check in Hard Rock Hotel.. walk ard kuta... look for cheap tours for the next days.... bargain like mad.. hehe... took a walk by the beach... then shop ard kuta... basically is a very relax afternoon with no activities...

2nd day - went for water rafting.. this will take almost whole morning.. by the time we finish rafting.. already ard 1-2pm.. by the time we were both physically tired by the rolling.. hehe.. so rest at hotel...

3rd day - went snorkelling, jetskiing, and tour to turtle island (4get the name lah).. hehe... this took almost a full day already... nite time went to a place where is seafood dinner by the beach...

4th day - tour ard the island.. look at volcanos.. art galleries.. teak furniture... rice terrains... then went for a 3hrs spa massage in the late afternoon... cheap and good... tour temples and cliffs... nice scenery...

5th day - time to go home...

we missed out on the dophin watching.. that one need to wake up VERY early.. which we couldnt manage to squeeze within our activities... so gave it a miss... maybe next time can try....

lux

Hi Bug..

Can you advise if the sea acitvities for snorkelling.. doees it cost a lot? Do they resembles Phuket/ Krabi where the whole street have such tours? I wanna to do snorkelling ard the area but scare the tide not too good for the activities.

I am looking to go for s hort trip.. thinking of going Lombok as well.. but from the looks of it like so much activities too little time.. sigh....

mik

hi Bug,

thanks for sharing.
now i have a clearer idea of what to expect in bali. am thinking to stay at the HRC too.

lim_peh

lim peh come here give advice also.
go bali - very expensive almost singapore price liao. speak some indo - bercakup bahasa indonesia helps. go learn first.

lim peh like bali.