Bali

oria, when i was at bali recently, i asked my driver the same qn. He said in ubud, dec is quite 'cold'..i think its more of cooling lah...
if you go to Jimbaran or Kuta, the sea breeze should be rather cold too...

To share: I stayed in Conrad bali. the newest hotel in Tanjong Benoa. Not bad. but not much of a balinese character if that's what you are looking for.
Le Meridian hotel in Tanah Lot is good too.
I stayed in Alila Ubud Hotel in Ubud. Very good if you can take no TV in your room...

mrs quake: i ordered half kilo of prawns, fish, squid each. half chicken and it cost us S$40+
Personally, i'm quite xian of Sharkeys liao. My third time there..BTW, on a popular nite, what i had ordered above for 2 pax is considered stingy in their standard ok...I kind of got the feeling that for that, when i had asked for transfers on my return to the hotel, i was given low priority...
Lots of balinese will say that only tourist visit Sharkeys...hehe...

sharlene

Mrs Quake,
We book a day tour in Singapore to Mt Kitamani. Then we told the tour guide we interested to visit Tanah Lot and ask them to drive us there too but we paid extra Rp 200000 for that total for 2 pax. But its a long journey, u will also get to see the village life of the pple there.

In sharkey's, we order 1.3kg king prawns, 800 gram Guroupa, fried chicken and vege, they do provide complimentary rice, kang kong and nuts, plus drinks total cost rp297000 only...consider quite cheap to us leh....within our budget we had set aside for sharkey's loh.

In bali, everywhere also need to gv tips one...quite sian...think we spend alot just to gv tips also...

postpet, Conrad room nice?

sharlene, you gave tips for hotel bell boys lah is it? cos besides them and my driver, i did not give anyone liao..

conrad room is nice..infact, their toilet is beautiful..
toilet is designed with glass walls and when you are in the bath tub, you can watch TV in the room thru the glass..
room and toilet is big definitely....
if got chance, should try...but i warn ah, nothing balinese in it except the rattan laundry basket...

chomecc

hi hi sweeties..

me just came back frm bali..love the place.. i tried wahyu spa too!! me and hubby took up the 3 hrs package.. its great.... its at $175 per couple leh.. shiok okie...

its near nusa dua act.. i stayed at nusa dua spa n resort.. nice place.. full of balinese flavor.. if you gers like i can show u some of my picts..

sharlene

Hi postpet,
I dun like too balinese resort, thus Westin and Conrad I like heheheh

Chomecc,
I also went to Wahyu spa and Zen body spa. Find Wahyu spa ok only.....why ur package so ex?? Mine only abt $50 per pax only leh.

Went to Zen bali spa for full day body spa cost only $98 per pax inclusive of lunch and snacks like cakes etc. cheap!! But overall, the spa there not as luxurious as compared to Singapore. Anyone tried the famous award winning spa in Ritz Carlton?

sharlene

postpet.
We gave tips for hotel bellboys, conceige, gave to drivers that provide free transport, gave to those massage gers in spa that gave us massages loh.....everyday in and out like that total up tips also quite alot leh. My HB and I very stress, always whispering this need to gv tip or not, that need to gv tip or not...hehehe.

chomecc

hie sharlene,

me just check with my hb.. he said we paid $150.. didn't know act we paid a premium.. still tot that its worth it.. which package did u go to??

can i check with u how much u paid for westin? it was just besides nusa dua n we act intrude into westin during 0ne of our walks..
it looks nice..but i dun seem to be able to find any of agencies having westin leh.. tot of going there again..

kei_ko

just to share, while i was there in Bali i never gave any tips to anyone... hee hee... and i did not see other people give tips.... strange to hear you all were giving tips leh...

sharlene

Keiko,
Those pple actually expect u to gv tips, when u never gv, they sort of will have a funny look on their face leh....our skin not thick enough la...pai say also. :p

BTW, saw someone posted from Kuta to Nusa Dua pd RP 60000, we took the light blue cab by meter only cost at most RP35000 only.

Chomecc,
Ok, $150 for 2 pax? then still ok but still consider ex for Bali. Ours is the 2 hrs package, we book through agency. I forgot how much we paid for westin, we went 5 day 4 nite by garuda indonesia (6.25pm flight) and Westin total abt $780+, inclusive of a wahyu spa and a full day tour on the second day. Think 5 stars have westin by only promo by SQ.

We book our package thru Air Related at People's Park. They have all various kind of hotel available, even Conrad, just tell them which hotel u interested in. How much is the Nusa Dua hotel? U have the room pics? Can PM me?

chomecc

hi sharlene,

how much did u pay for the wahyu spa? did you go for any spa other than wahyu? and which one is better? i went by garuda as well.. hmm where is air related?? i went by resorts travel.. paid $582 for 5 d 4 n as well..
i went to a day tour offered by a local.. tot it was a waste of my day though..
where did you go for the day tour? do you have picts to share with me?

ohhh 5 star?? i act went to them but they were so rude that i did not even bother to find out more.

i do have the nusa dua hotel rm photos.. only one!! but if u dun mind, i can send you the hotel picts too..

do you have westin photos? will love to take a look..

sharlene

PPle,
BTW, change $ at Bali really hv much better rate in spore. Changed in spore is $1 = rp 4651, there is $1 = rp5200!!! Look for those with no commission, so far we went there change very safe.

Chomecc,
We pd thru the air related as we paid the first day day tour and the spa together, the spa cost abt $50. Air Related is located at People's Park Centre. We also went to Zen bali spa, half day package abt rp 385000 and full day treatment inclusive lunch is rp 460000. quite worth it, but its located in Ubud.

Agree with u that 5 star's staff attitude are bad that's why we nvr book thru them. Westin we did take much photos, with my HB. U can go to their website to see the room photos

chomecc

sharlene,

wow u mean u paid for the spa and the day tour and the total is $780+? wow thats gd leh..

u went to ubud? issit nice there? tot of going there the next time? hey will love to take a look at the photos that you have taken at bali.. if you dun mincd can share with me?

yah.. the 5 star attitude is terrible and its not only their people park one.. their tampines one also the same.

so in your opinion, how is their service at westin?
nusa dua is good.. but i realise the hotel has a very strong balinese flavor and i dun seem to find any singaporens staying there.. mostly cacusians or japanese.. ;) but service there is quite tip top..

meowie

Hi girls, i'll be flying off in two weeks time. Care to share with me how much should i give tips to these ppl? Thanks!

sputnik

Just came back from Bali abt 2 weeks ago. That was my second time there, and both times I did not give any tips at all.

BTW, I changed my rupiah at Change Alley, the exchange rate was SGD1 to 5200 Rupiah.

chomecc

meow,
hie.. we only gave tips of abt S$2 or S$1 for the bell boys and cab drivers and they were absolutely delighted..

but think tipping most impt is that you are comfortable with the amount and the gesture.

sharlene

Hi Meow,
Ya, we gave abt rp 10000 for tips, abt S$2, there is guide that we gave slightly more-S$3.

If u take cab, for example the fare is $31000, if u gave them $35000, they will tell u no change thus can consider gv extra for tips too. Try to accumulate more small note as more useful. U can change with the hotel for smaller noted too also.

Chomecc
Westin service are very good, staff friendly except for some minor hiccups on day 1 abt the room, but not their fault la. I prefer room that are not so Balinese that's why we opted to stay in Westin Resort. Its more or comtemporary resort kind.

Yes, we went Ubud on 2 days, abt 1.5 hrs from Nusa Dua. Things there are cheaper compared to Kuta and Nusa Dua. There are a few nice and famous restuarant there too with romantic settings
Recommend u the famous restuarant, Dirty Duck, ministers etc do went there for dinner. Their restuarant facing the view of rice view and they like candle lamps along the rice field and the whole place is sooo romantic atmosphere and quite quiet too.

meowie

Thanks gals, your info comes in very handy. I've not change my currency yet. Was thinking to change it over at Change alley or Golden mile. Any comments? Oh one more thing, anyone been to HRC just to purchase T-shirt from there? Heard there's two shops there and HR is big, you think i can get lost?

Oh, i won't be taking cab lor, i've engage a driver already. If that's the case, should i give tips to them beside what they charge us?

kei_ko

Meow,

Actually there are 4 shops selling t-shirts at HRH & HRC. 2 are inside the hotel (an open counter beside the lobby and a shop next to the counter). The 3rd is the HRH megastore selling HRH t-shirts located along the street facing the Kuta shopping area (its besides Starbucks). The 4th is HRC store selling HRC t-shirts located besides HRC along the street facing Kuta beach. BTW, HRC is in front of HRH.

Hope that helps... and won't confuse you!

Anyway, just visit the HRH megastore besides Starbucks and HRC store besides HRC. Good enough.

tweety

Hi Choco,

I am interested in finding out more about your recommendations/contacts of the Ubud hotel & the Wahyu Spa as well.

Can email me at [email protected]?

Intending to visit bali in the coming aug or sept with my hubby. Thanks in advance

meowie

Thanks Keiko,
Actually, was a little confuse. I believe the shops sells both polo tees and t-shirst as well as other stuffs right? Were all the shops selling the same things and if the prices are all the same. They accept rupiah right? I'm not changing any US curreny lor, should i?

meowie

Oh i got one more question. It maybe a little stupid. For Mt Kintamani, how long will it take to travel from kuta to there? Is there a lake at Mt kintamani? Car can drive up right? No need to trek hor?

kei_ko

Meow,

Yes, both selling same type of stuff but different designs (printing on t-shirts, etc). The HRC shop sells the HR Cafe stuffs while the HRH megastore sells HR Hotel stuffs. Prices are similar. Accept rupiah. No need US dollar in my opinion but have your credit card handy (for some shops or fast cash at atm).

Hope that helps!

sharlene

Meow,
No need to change USD, rupiah are widely use. Anyway the USD they quoted u are much higher if they quote u in Rupiah.

No need to trek at Mt Kintamani. Its a volcano. U can see Mt Butur (dunno spell correctly or not) at below and the old larva black patches there....very nice and magnificent scenery! Can travel up by car......not to worry.

Its a very long journey in hours, but along the way, the guide will drop u in Ubud or some shops to see and buy things also. We also went to the coffee plantation along the way and saw very nice rice field. Weather there very colling as on top of mountain.

meowie

Thanks Keiko,
So HRH design will be different from HRC? Then cham, think i need to go both places liao.
going to spent a lot and my colleagues have already gave me a long list to buy from shot glasses to shirts. Ok, will go to both places. Its all at Kuta beach is it? Cos me not staying in HRH but Ramada Bintang and can't change hotel lor. Its a promotion.

Thanks Sharlene,
Yeah that the lake i want to see too.
But hor, i thought of spending 1 whole day in Ubud leh. I hear from someone saying the shops stretch along side of the road and she took one whole day to finish shopping. I thought of getting some wood craving to bring home for my house.

I have a few places in mind to go that's Ubud, Tanah Lot, Mt Kintamani, HR shops. I dun think i'll go to the monkey forest. But is there any other places worth going? I'll be flying on next friday and back on monday(4D3N).

chomecc

hie sharlene,

ohhhh where did you stay at Ubud? wanted to go there but didn't have the time .. so where is this restaurant? do you have picts to share with me?

think westin sounds good.. i tot of going bk to nusa dua beach and spa.. very good service.. but tot westin looks good too..

Meow: hie.. i went to n fro frm the HRH and HRC at kuta.. in the end.. i bought t shirts frm both stores..

i realise that the HRC do not have small sizes for some of their prints.. in the end.. i got the usual white HRC tee.. hubby wanted to get their heavy tee.. but apparentl they do not noe wat it is n dun have.. but i must say.. HRH has nice tees too... n is BIGGER.. but also lacking in some sizes..
anyway.. enjoy urself.. n have fun..

sharlene

Meow,
HRC and HRH things are all very similar except some T-shirt design. Actually not that difficult to go la, the shops are all inside the hotel. U go to the mega store first beside starbuck, then comeout, there's a staircase, go to level 3, follow the walkway, u'll see a restuarant, after the restuarant, turn left, U will see the HRC shop.

Monkey Forest rd shops are very nice to shop! Of coz dun go pay the fee to visit the monkey forest to see those monkeys la, the things along monkey forest rd, alot of cheap and nice things, bought alot og home accessories there.

Go try the seafood dinner at Jimbaran, Sharkeys. Romantic leh!!
If u are along Jalan Haroman rd a street away from Monkey Forest and Ubud market, Dirty Duck restuarant is cheap and nice. Also try their spa there.

Chomecc,
I never stay at Ubud, went to Ubud from Nusa Dua. Got the spa pple help us arrange a cab to bring us to the spa there then after spa we shop ard there then at night abt 8pm, the driver picked us up to send us back. Do not have the pictures with me as its still in the digital camera of by HB. Anyway, I dun hv broadband thus diff to upload also

kei_ko

Meow,

Yup, all next to each other at Kuta. As stated by Sharlene, both shops are very close. If not sure, just ask the HRH staff. They are very friendly.

meowie

A very BIG Thankyou to all.
Me going with 2 male colleagues lor, so i won't go for spa this round. Maybe my next trip when i go with hubby.
Heehee....he go Redang while i go Bali mah.
So next time i be his tour guide, this time all of you will be mine.
So i have to get info before i get lost.

You gals think i can finish Ubud, monkey forest market and Mt Kintamni in 1 day? I guess i may plan Tanah Lot and Sharkey on another day. Actually when i reach Bali, its about noon and there's a complimentary half day tour on the first day. Should i go Sharkey? Must make appt early or i jus call when i'm there? Heard they've provide free transport from hotel right? If so i need to give tips to the driver right? Roughly how much to prepare for one person to eat seafood there?

meowie

Keiko, Sharlene,
Can i check roughly how much it cost for a normal tee? Must start to plan if i got enough rupiah or not. Thanks.

kei_ko

Meow,

I got 2 round neck t-shirts from HRC store. The first was Rp115,000 and second was Rp130,000. Most of the t-shirts are around this price.

sharlene

Meow,
HRC can sign card one. Like what keiko said, starting frm S$20 and above, but some T are more ex!

U can call sharkey on that day that u want to go, they will pick u up from your hotel. That time for 2 pax, we prepared abt Rp300000

Do u intend to engage a guide to Mt Kintamani and Ubud there? Coz its depends whether u wanna shop briefly or shop alot, if shop alot may not have much time. But overall shld be ok to finish in a day.

meowie

Thanks again gals.

Keiko,
May i check with you what time does the megastore and HRC open and close? I plan to go there in the evening after the transport service ends after 8hrs so i can walk from my hotel to HR. Or during the last day before i fly back to S'pore.

Sharlene,
RP300,000 is for two person or per person? Is the driver consider a guide. He got provide tour services but i didn't engage. Jus engage him as driver with petrol and parking services. Mt Kintamani need guide? For what huh? /clipart{uhoh} to intro us or to bring us up? In his car can right or must take other transport?

I believe Sharkeys open till late right? I intend to go there right after the half day tour which may end in evening 6pm or so. They provide transport to and fro right? They only sent us from hotel is it? Can sent us to somewhere else instead to carry on sight seeing or something like that?

I sound like a mountain tortise hor? Well, first time there so i very sotong.

meowie

Er, what's the number to call for Sharkeys huh?
I jus change S$400 for the trip, will that be enough to pay for everything? I intend to save $100 for HR tee. Or should i change some more? Else i may need to sign card at HR liao.

sharlene

Meow,
RP300000for 2 pax. I suggest u get the driver to pick u up at 5.30pm...just nice to see the sun set, Bali day time is shorter. 6pm, the sky color like Spore 7plus like that.

I think they will send u back frm where they pick u, u can check with them. I do not hv Sharkey's number off hand now. Need to search.

Its better to get a guide to Mt kintamani, there are alot of day tours there which provide guide and transport thus no worry. The amount u change shld be more than enough. I only brought $300.

meowie

Thanks Keiko,
didn't know the hard rock website got show their operating hours.

Sharlene,
Once you happen to find Sharkeys number can let me know. Thanks!

meowie

Thanks Sarah,
I dun think i can help. I'm not staying in that hotel. But i can take a look outside for you see whether the hotel looks good. Else you can try the web for the hotel.

sarahtan

Thanks meowie,

I saw the pics on the web - looks ok lah.

If you happen to see the hotel while you are there, just let me know! thks!

I want to save more $ so that I can $hop more! I love HRC stuff! :p

meowie

Thanks Sharlene,
Er, what the diff between the contact from Sarah and yours? There's 2 Sharkey's in Bali?

meowie

Sarah,
I'll be flying off on friday morning lor. Reach there will be around afternoon. The tour agent got give us free half day tour, so we'll tag along lor.

Anyone been to the half day tour? Is it worth going?

sharlene

Meow,
I called this number when I am there. Thus should be the correct number. This number also given to me by another friend who went there too.