Bali

wow, ladies thanks for the contact.

how much you all paid for it and for what?

where is this place near? Nusa Dua? Jimbaran?

sharlene

Destinee / Mail Lum,
Can my BF and I go to the spa together to the spa contact given? How long is the treatment and about how much to pay?

Mrs Quake,
Thanks for the assurance. Saw that they had a renovation and had completed, is the hotel new? U can try four seasons or Conrad, very nice too

Ino,
What sort of shopping can we expect to buy there? Do they have shopping mall there?

For those who had been to Ubud, do we need to spend whole day there of half a day will do?

Shops in Kuta area is it open late at nite? I'll be reaching there about 9 plus, thus not sure to rest in hotel or go Kuta to walk walk....

Hi Sharlene,

For ubud, I'll be staying for 2 full days there. Generally, ubud to me is a better place than kuta or nusa dua. cos you get to see the more 'real' side of Bali compared to Kuta and Nusa Dua.
Nusa Dua is more of a 'man made' place where the roads are nicely paved and grass cut properly. something like our sentosa...i think you get what i mean.
If you just wanna see ubud, touch and go, half day is definitely possible. Maybe just shop at Pasar Ubud or the nearby shops lor...not much time...
if can spare one whole day, that will be better of cos.
If spend half day, go early in the morning...weather is better too.

For kuta, shops do open late. I remembered i was still looking ard at about 9+.
even if shops do not open, the night life is still active then. Maybe you can go for a drink leh..there are quite nice looking (chic) pubs ard...Can look at the lane where the bomb took place. got a few there...
When everything else fails, you still have Hard Rock...heheh...
When you going?

sharlene

Postpet,
We will be going on 17 July, 5 days 4 nites. One day tour and another day spa for 2 hours. We wanted to go Jimbaran, Kuta and Ubad, but not sure if got sufficient time. Heard that Ubud things are cheaper and also more hse decorative things to buy. Is the whole of Ubud shopping area or we still need to travel within Ubud itself? What time does Pasar Ubud opens and close?

For Seafood dinner in Jimbaran, is the seafood comes in meal package form or order ala carte? Do we need to bring our mat to the beach to sit down or restuarant will provide? We are not really into the pub or clubbing thingy in Kuta, still hv abit phobia of the bali bomb though...:p

sharlene,

i'm going for 5 day 6 night(night flight lah)

i think for yours, 2 night in ubud is possible leh.
cos jimbaran, kuta and Nusa dua all close by and nothing much in Nusa Dua and Jimbaran to do for one whole day.
I may be wrong lah. but this is the impression i got.
So you can go spa and shopping in the day, dinner at jimbaran at night. then stay at either kuta or jimbaran or Nusa Dua lor...cab fare is cheap so ok.

to me, pasa ubud is good for household stuff. deco and sort. all within walking distance. i dunno what time to market close leh. i know they open early only.
if stay at ubud, can have dinner there at night lor..quite nice too.
I've only gone to jimbaran once. the seafood is all BBQ on coconut husk. not like ours. got chilli and so forth, if you want sauce, they got one type only i think.
Ala carte. different pple paid different price for seafood there. so i can't tell you how much that was.
All the restaurants there have table and chairs lah...no need mat...not so romantic till to have dinner on the floor lah...

when i went last year, quite safe leh...dun worry

sharlene

Hi Anyone knows does Wisata Spa have any webpage?
What is the airport tax in Bali?

Postpet,
I'll be going on 17 July. I don't think i have enough time to specd 2 days in Ubud.
Wah, tis is ur second time there ah?

kei_ko

Airport tax is Rp100,000 per person.

Just came back from Bali last week. Stayed at Hard Rock at Kuta. Went for 1 day Lembongan Bay and 1/2 day Tanah Lot - Monkey Forest – Mengwi. Shopping in Kuta area and spa inside the hotel.

Feel free to ask any questions if you want to know more on the above…

sarahtan

Hi Kevin,

How's the room and service at HRH? How long were you there?

What's about the Monkey forest - is it far?

For guys - are there nice T-shirts?

Sorry for so many questions ...

ingenue78

Hi Sharlene,

I love shopping there! i bought a couple of bags, sandals and 2 photo albums to put my bali photo! In Kuta, you can buy their surfwear but their prices are quite like Singapore's. Did not really enjoy myself in Kuta...mabbe i'm basically not a pubbing person...

Hi Sarah,
I did not think that there are any nice T-shirts....except those decent looking ones that i got from HRC and HRH (;-P)

Monkey Forest is quite a boring place. They have this market that have a lot of stalls...all selling the same stuff. The worst thing is that you still got to pay entrance fee to shop there and the prices are so much more expensive than other places! Definitely not worth checking out.

Hi Kevin,

How's Lembongan? I actually wanted to go there but i'm quite worried about safety so i skipped that. Mabbe i would go there if i ever go bali again....

sarahtan

Hi Ino,

Thanks for answering.

Can I check, do you mean there are T-shirts for HRC and HRH respectively?

I love to shop and I do buy HRC tees whenever I get the chance!

choco

i just came back from Bali 3 days ago. Had a great time there!

Went for the Wahyu Spa which has a couple package. Good and really shiok! My hubby enjoyed it so much...that he fell asleep! hee
And we had this taxi driver recommended by Destinee who brought us ard for a 1-day tour. He's really gd & friendly! Even brought us to 1 hotel in Ubud to show us...coz he said it's better to stay in Ubud coz price slightly cheaper or abt the same as elsewhere, plus it's quieter but nearer to every other place. Would really love to stay at that place next time! It even has a personal jacuzzi!! Regrets that we couldn't extend our stay to spend a night or two there...

For those of u who have not yet booked ur package, u may wanna consider staying at that place in Ubud. Can email me if u need any info!

Yup and i like shopping in Ubud coz it's cheaper. Got some stuff for our flat, plus i bought 5 bags! Heh, went crazy shoppin for bags coz nice & cheap!

Hi Choco,

definitely interested to know which place is it in ubud that the driver has recommended?
I've gone to Wahyu spa last year too...not bad huh...

Yeah, what sort of bags is it popular in bali now?

choco

hi sarah,
the bags they have are mostly made of those rougher material...hmm...dun really noe how to explain. But it's like straw material, with wooden handles. And there are those straw bags, and those fabric bags with wooden handles with some embroidery (a bit like those found in Accessories). Din see any leather bags though! Mostly those 'rougher' material...haha, hope i'm giving a gd description here!

Hi postpet,
the problem is that i can't remember the name of the place in Ubud that the taxi driver recommended. Let me go back & look for the brochure & let u know k? But it overlooks a rice field - very beautiful! and so quiet, and cool!

sarahtan

Hi Choco,

Thanks for explaining ... think I more or less get what you mean.
Now I know why you bought 5 bags. Enough ah? (just kidding!).

I guess women never have enough bags ya? :p

I have to shelve my Bali plans for moment as hubby is often away for business, hope to visit the place soon!

kei_ko

Sarah,

Room and service at HRH = Rooms are a bit old but good enough since you will not be in it most of the time. Service is great, all staff are friendly just like HRC people here. HRH got a great swimming pool, the biggest in Bali.

How long were you there = 4D3N, still not enough laa... Ha ha...

What's about the Monkey forest = Not that far but not worth it, as mentioned by Ino (above post).

For guys - are there nice T-shirts = Yes, mostly at HRC because HRH t-shirts designs are not so cool.

Hope you got enough info. If not, feel free to ask again.

Ino,

Lembongan was OK but not great. I joined Bali Hai reef cruise, which had good overall service. The semi-submersible and banana boat was cool. Snorkelling was so so, nothing much to see at the bay compared to Redang and Koh Samui. Village tour was the usual kampung stuff. Check out their website: www.balihaicruises.com

Thanks! - Kevin

meowie

To go to the monkey forest need to pay 20,000rp per person right? Go there not to see monkey meh?

Hi choco, i'm interested to know this place. Not bad, got personal jacuzzi too.

Anyone can recommend some good places not to be missed? I know Tanah lot is a must to go. I'm going with another 2 guys, so i dun think i can go for spa with them.

kei_ko

Meow,

Yup, see lots of monkeys but that is all you see lor... Ha ha... You can see them at the Singapore Zoo also! Better to spend time and money elsewhere in Bali

For spa, you can recommend a sport massage for the guys. They will like it! If not, you can go spa and they can join surfing class lor. Plenty of things to do together or separately.

Places not to miss? How about the bomb site? I did not get a chance to visit it but saw a lot of poeple there when I passed by. That area has great shopping and dining too. Just a suggestion for your consideration.

Cheers! - Kevin

sharlene

Where is Tanah lot near too? What can we do there? Why is it a not to be miss place?

Choco,
Where is Wahyu Spa? Is there any website? How much is the spa there?

choco

hey pple, so sorry i hv not got the time to search for the brochure of the hotel in Ubud yet. Ok, will try to get it by this wkend k? been pretty busy lately.

sharlene,
wahyu spa was recommended by someone else in this thread some time ago. It's quite near Nusa Dua area (either that, or it's in Nusa Dua area itself). Not sure abt website. But it was SGD$50 per person for 1 hr massage + 1 hr spa. It was shiok! But then again, it's my 1st time going to spa, so i've no basis for comparison. Though i still feel it was shiok!
And i think the gd thing is that they hv a couple spa...so can do spa + massage in same rm as ur hubby. Plus they've a milk flower bath at the end of it too. Quite cool!

and i hv the contact no. of wahyu spa at home too. Will try to get it by this wkend if u need it k?

ingenue78

hi sharlene,
tanah lot is a sea temple that can be assessed when the tide is low (but it's at your risk as there may be snakes). The sunset there is beautiful. Have attached some pix for you:

111454.jpg

111455.jpg

ingenue78

oh dear...i meant accessed...not "assessed".

by the way, the first pix is taken from tanah lot area (not the temple itself)

the 2nd pix is taken at jimbaran bay where we had our seafood.

here's some pix of our villa as well as the kuta beach wave:
111464.jpg

111465.jpg

111466.jpg

padme

Choco,

Can give me the contact for the taxi driver and Wahyu Spa? I'm going in Dec and have not booked my accomodation yet. You can email me by clicking on my nick or post here.

Thanks a million!

padme

Sharlene,

Westin Resort looks very new. SO no worries for the room. I don't know if your package includes breakfast but it's ok lah...nothing much to boast about but there's variety.

Hi Destinee,

can i have your contacts for driver?
I'll be leaving for bali this friday evening liao...

Choco : aiyah, what a waste...won't be in time to see your contacts for Ubud hotel liao...

padme

Ino,

You mentioned booking Conrad from the internet. Can you tell me whic website you booked from? Is it Conrad's website?

And for Seafood im Jimbaran, which one did you go to and how is it? What about the price?

meowie

sharlene, tanah lot should be located pretty near to Kuta as what i see from the map, but i'm flying off in Aug lor

ingenue78

Hi Mrs Quake,

i wasn't the one who booked Conrad. But you can try Conrad's website. ;-)

i booked Hotel Intercon instead ...but that's from Asia Travel

Anyone stayed in villas instead of resorts?
I saw this villa called Bora Bora Villa from airfares.com.sg. Pretty nice with own private pool!! Price wise , almost the same as Hyatt or Sheraton in Nusa Dua. This villa is located in the Seminyak area. I think it is more romantic if you compared it to a resort.
Any comments?

choco

hi meow, sharlene, postpet & Mrs Quake,

i've PMed you all already. Do let me know if you've any qns yah!

destinee

Hi Choco,

Glad to know you have a good time in Bali.
Tomy is quite a nice guy ya....can easily recognise him because of that big mole right? :p

For the rest of you who may want to engage Tomy service, you may contact him at 081 2366 9474.

Meow, I saw your e-mail and so sorry to learn that Tomy has quoted you RP250,000.00 as the final price. I only paid him RP200,000.00 ea. for 2 days and my friend paid him RP150,000.00 for 1st day and RP200,000.00 on the 2nd day....he was ok and did not ask for more.

Choco, how much did you pay Tomy for the 1 day service?

choco

hi destinee,
i paid Tomy RP250,000.00 too. Actually over the phone he did agree to RP200,000.00, but when we met him he did say that usually he charges at least RP250K. He didn't push for 250K but just said that if we're satisfied with his service, we can consider paying him that amt. Plus he stays in Ubud and came all the way (1.5 hr drive) to pick us up in Nusa Dua, so we paid him 250K in the end.

Btw Destinee, is your hubby's name Michael or Joe? Coz Tomy did say that there're 2 pple from Singapore who've been recommending him to others. One's Michael, and the other's Joe...so just wondering

Yup but thanks for ur contact! My hubby & i did hv fun coz he's quite a good tour guide!

padme

Ino,

How much did you pay for Intercon for a night stay? Is the hotel good?

Choco,

How do I access my PM? I didn't even know thatI have a PM box here!
Sorry...so very sua ku hor...

meowie

Destinee,
what car did he drive you around? I mean the model. Is it toyota Kijang? Newer model? Thanks!

choco

Hi Mrs Quake,

PM basically means the message will go into your email inbox. i sent it to ur bigfoot email...go take a look k?

Hi Meow,
haha so cute ur qns...when we 'employed' Tomy, he drove us ard in a white colour van-like car. Not sure of the model, but can seat 2 persons in front & 4 behind. Quite big. And these type of van-like vehicles are commonly found in Bali.

choco

Hi Mrs Quake,

i just received another email saying that my email to you didn't get thru. Do u have an alternate address? Perhaps u can leave it here so that i can send details to u!

ingenue78

hi mrs quake,
hotel intercon was having a promo price. i paid US$106 for one night. it was great...the resort is huge and the sea is wonderful....we fell asleep while listening to the waves and enjoying the sea breeze ;-)

japanese_girl

im going bali with hubby this mth, staying @ hard rock hotel bali, kuta. intend to go spa but really ve no idea which to go, anyone with recommendation of spa @ kuta area?

kei_ko

Jap Girl,

Hard Rock has its own spa and if you have booked the hotel package you will be entitled to a discounted price. They don't have open air rooms or anything like that but the Indonesian massage I got there was good. Overall is above average laa...

anne

Hi Jap Girl, mind to share your package with hard rock hotel bali? We are still sourcing and intend to stay at hard rock bali..thanks

oraia

does anyone know what's the weather like for bali in dec?
is it ok to go for honeymoon there in dec?

sharlene

Hi Pple,
Just back from Bali. Westin Resort is very nice

I recommend must go to Tanah Lot and Mt Kitamani, very nice views!! Also can try the famous restuarant Dirty Duck at Ubud, cheap and very romantic ambience. Sharkey's seafood at Jimbaran also quite romantic

padme

Sharlene, Care to share more about Tanah Lot and Mt Kitamani. How did you get to both places? Did the hotel arrange for you or you booked a cab?

How's the seafood and prices like in Sharkey's?

Pardon me for the many questions cos I intend to give my hubby a surprise on our 1st anniversary in December.