Bali

guang97

Hi Marble,

Can you email me the map of Bali that you have download since you been there and know which is better? Tks in advance.
Planning to go Bali this Oct.
Wanted to stay at HardRock but u said that its not that great. Maybe give it a miss.
Any other hotel or great place there to recommend and shop till drop?

rc123

Hi Mr lost,

I'm thinking of going in Nov too. Have u booked any package of ticket? What's your itinery like?

guang97

Hi Lamb,

No not yet. Still hanging in the air.
Haven really decide where to go for my honeymoon.
Bali seems to be a great plc.
I thk i will be like a lost goat in a new plc.
Hope to know more about the plc from here.

Wat abt u?

rc123

Hi Mr Lost,

Same here, I also haven't book anything yet. My HTB wanted to laze on a beach, he too lazy to plan for anything. Wanted to go Mauritius but quite ex so thinking of somewhere nearer. Thinking of planning a longer honeymoon next year. Heard Bali is a nice place. Hope somebody from this forum can recommend some nice hotel/resort where we can enjoy like a king, hehe...

guang97

Hi Marble,

Tks for the map.
I thk it shd be easy. Juz not sure whether to drive myself or to hv a driver to drive u ard. Cos 1st time there so dun wish to waste precious time making wrong turns or trips. Will the car get stolen or damaged easily by the ppl there?
BTW from this forum, is it tat the popular area are Ubud and Kuta and the rest is sight seeing and touring??
Maybe u can help me and Lamb on deeper insight to this plc. Like where to shop, eat, play and sight seeing etc...
Tks in advance.

lux

Hi Marble,

The car rental.. whom do you rent it from? The hotel or otherwise?

Look forward to your input!

coolgirl76

hi lost man
I hired a driver to drive me ard ..... he s friendly and gif u a good deal
if u interested I can recommend u to him :p

bugslife

hi ling,

sorry for late reply...

i cant rem how much was the snorkelling already... but everything can BARGAIN one... so make sure u asked a few local agents b4 going for the snorkelling trip... they are all in USD... very smart indonesians...

wana stay at HRC hotel?? my 2 cents advice... if going for honeymoon... CHOOSE other hotels.. ;-) cos HRC hotel got live band performances... i rem is every nite.... so if ur room is facing the live band area... VERY noisy loh... ours was facing the live band but at the FAR end... but can still hear the band though...

can try hotels at nusa dua... heard is better....

oh another thing... beware of pickpockets... and also the locals sell drugs on the streets.... so be careful..
just ignore them can already....

rc123

Planning to go Bali for my HM in 8D7N. I've shortlisted a few hotels and my tentative itinery, appreciate any comments:
3 nites at Mercure, Kuta
2 nites at biyukukong, Ubud
2 nites at Melia Bali, Nusa Dua

lux

Hi Bug,

So did you pay them in USD? I am not sure how much to prepare in USD and ruppiah

Me and hubby not into comfort travel, just essential hot water and air con should do the trick.. Wan to to go visit Ubud and do snorkelling and all..

did you plan your travel beforehand or go there and go with the flow?

marble

Ling,

I got the car from a shop along the streets. can't rem which one now. Hotel sure more ex lah.

Mr Lost,

if u park at hotel carpark at night, shud be ok. people there do lock their petrol tank inlet, so i presume petrol thefts are common.

mayelene

hi little lamb
i stayed at melia bali for 5 nites for my HM. the staff were courteous and the place was beautiful. the beach is quiet compared to those at kuta. the breakfast buffet was delicious. but nusa dua not a convenient place, have to take public tpt to go to Kuta.

rc123

Hi mayelene,

Which room did u stay in and how much did u pay for it? Do u have any photos to share? Thanks.

guang97

Hi Mayelene,

Is Melia bali near the town Kuta? Convenient to go town area?
Just saw the deal from PRICEBREAKER.
3D package Melia Bali villa at $421 Extension $60 excluding rm surcharge from $32 to 52 per nite.
How much is your deal and from which agency?

guang97

Hi Mayelene,

Is Melia bali near the town Kuta? Convenient to go town area?
Just saw the deal from PRICEBREAKER.
3D package Melia Bali villa at $421 Extension $60 excluding rm surcharge from $32 to 52 per nite.
How much is your deal and from which agency?

bugslife

hi ling,

i brought more USD than ruppiahs... and a fren told me to change only yr 2000 onwards USD... better....

bring more USD better... at least later cannot finish spending, bring back can change back to SGD... as for ruppiah... bring sufficient for food and taxes... no need too much... if i dun rem wrongly, we change SGD500 for USD and SGD200 for ruppiah...

we planned ahead... cos frens recommend wat to do... so we roughly know what we wanna do when there... 1st day was info searching day... check out the local agents for cheap tours....

mayelene

hi little lamb,

i stayed in superior room i think. it's the standard one, not the villa one.

Little lamb and Mr Lost,
my package is with gunung raya. 6 nites 5 days (arrive on sun nite, left on fri afternoon)
$600 per person. inclusive of a half day tour.

rc123

Hi mayelene,

$600 incl air tickets? That's very cheap... The rate for the hotel alone is about USD100/nite. U've got a very good deal. How's the food like in Nusa Dua, do we need to travel or can eat nearby where there's cheap and good food?

mayelene

hi little lamb. ya $600 incl air tix. australian airlines (qantas). i dint eat at nusa dua, cos nusa dua is quite ulu, not alot of shopping and eating areas. we usually eat a late breakfast buffet (FOC) so that we dont need to eat lunch. for dinner, when we want to eat we either go to restaurants in the hotel, which is very costly and not practical, or go to kuta and eat at the restaurants there. prices of the restaurants are quite reasonably priced. it's a 20 min cab ride to kuta.

guang97

Hi Mayelene,

Your package is definately a good buy.
May have a change of plan due to work commitment.
I may be in the US during my HM. Therefore, i asked my wife whether she wanna go US. Date not cfm yet. Too bad cos i have been thinking to visit Bali for a long time.

ordinary75

HI Little Lamb,

I stayed at Mercure Kuta and it was beautiful. The pool was on the top floor and it faces the sea! Such that when you lean on the ledge of the pool, you overlook the sea. It's really awesome.

At Mercure, the hotel staff was kind enough to upgrade us to a deluxe room. The deluxe room faces the sea and in the evening, we could hear the flapping of waves and we could see surfers too!!

I really love the place and don;t forget to eat at Dirty Duck too!

mayelene

hi Mr Lost
you can visit bali anytime ma, since the weather is fine all yr round. can go after your US trip lor. =D

wowow

I going bali this friday. Will be staying at Hardrock. Would like to ask where can i get good shopping and slight seening. And where got NICE food?

And any idea where can i get a good map of bali?

mayelene

hi joey...
i went to melasti salon & spa in june. it's cheap. at that time i went for a 2 hr massage and spa for S$60, RP 300,000. very cheap. i oso went for an 1 hr body massage for S$30. i enjoyed it. it's at jalan padma utara near kuta. at melasti hotel. near the beach. since u stay in kuta u may want to go to the spa to try.

coolgirl76

Hi joey
I just came back fr bali .... I aso staying at HRH

Thumb up for that hotel ...... I love their swimming pool! The staff are very friendly

How long u will be staying there?

mayelene

hi joey....
if you dun mind travelling you can go to Jimbaran. there's a whole stretch of seafood bbq restaurants and you can sit at the beach watch sunset.... we went to one call jimbaran bay cafe. we spent almost $200 for 2 people... a little expensive, but the view is worth it. go there around 4 plus. the sun set 2 hrs earlier there....

wowow

Hi CoolDevil,

I will be staying for only 3d2n.... I seem so fun over there... How i hope i'm there now! I saw the picture of the Hardrock. The Pool SO BIG!!!!

And Thanks for both ( Mayelene and cooldevil)

coolgirl76

Hi joey
Glad to hear that ..... the beach is just across the street nia ..... remember to try the mango and strawberry juice at any cafe out HRC... Nice nice .....

The exchange rate is Bali is beta but beware some charge commission .... go to this money changer at Matahari near the main gate left side ....got one small store cant remember the name liao.... start with PT something one.....

wowow

Hi Girls, I 'm back!!! FUN!! The beac is so beautiful.

I got a driver and we travel around Bali on the second day. the driver very good. He even helps us to bargain. all the things that i have bought are all real stuffs and my family loves it!! What can i said... its beautiful around Bali. And the pple over there are friendly except for those roadside one who keep on asking you to buy stuffs.

One the first day at HRH I have a NightMare~~ Cos the hotel staff give us a room that face there local family. I staying in the fourth floor. And you know what? Every family on Bali rear Chickensssss and they started to make noiseS at !!!3am!!!!.... I hardly get any sleep on that night... Luckily manage to change a room for the second night... At least now i know that chicken wake up at 3 am not when they see the sun... haha~~~

Note: Anyone getting a room at HRH. Look out the window and see if you see a family or hear any chickensssss

The food over there so so lor... didnt really try and real bali food... but there is a lots of burger aviable there... So me and my bf planning to go back next year...

My bf saw a pic of a big burger on the net that can be found there... but when we go to that resturant they dun even have it... then we hunt the whole bali for it but still dun have.. he so disappointed.. there is the site to the big burger http://www.baliblog.com/05-06/burgers-mean-tourists-in-kuta-bali.html

Anyone who need good map and information on Bali go to these site www.baliblog.com

xiaobai

Hi joey,

So happy that you enjoyed your trip..

Me & FH planning to go there for our Honeymoon.. Can share with me the driver name & how he charge? Which travel agent did you book from?

Thanks very much ar..

lux

Just thought I share my Bali trip...

Anyway the trip was fantastic in my opinion except for the hotel for the first 2 night..I kinda dislike the Saphir Mabisa which is located at legian. However after that 2 nights we proceed to Balisani which in my opnion was really good and the other one at ubud Yulia Inn which faced the rice field.

To anyone who wnt to go to Bali to snorkel ... drop the idea.. they have nothing unless you are prepared to go to lebongan (spell??) area which is like $45 per pax.

The beach is magnificent with the 'black' sand along Legian. The water was so cold and my hubby went to try surfing which he say is really spiffy... I didnt dare to try that because the wave was too strong in my opinion.

We hire a driver and a tour guide for $25 USD I am not sure if you can go lower but if you try to press I am sure they give in anyhow. They took us to see a whole chunk of place..... the heaven bestow rice terrace which was breath taking!!!! Tengalalang.... The whole place is like something out of a story book with their so many temples and structures which were unlike what you see from Thailand..

We went to this hill where you can see mt kintamani and lake batur.. that was also nothing I seen before. It was somewhat like the grand canyon just not so steep.. but still as grand as the canyon!!

Wanted to go to tanah lot, gitgit, amed and such but simply not enough time. I am surely going back and lombok as well next year..

the place is a racket esp the village market at ubud. A totally different experience but still I can see the commercializing bug biting them ald..

I also plan the trip with Baliblog. It was really helpful on to what to expect. In regards to the food.. I love their mee goreng and nasi goreng, campur, pandang. Different from sg and I thought tons more delicious.

Xiaobai, if you are getting the F and E package from agency.. the person who pick you up can offer the service.. they do it like a part time thing for them. For me I book my tour with Pinnacle cost us 348 for 3D 2N plus taxes plus transfer. Not very cheap but because we throw the trip together in 4 days we really didnt have much time to hunt ard.

Hope the information is helpful

bits

Hi Joey and Ling,

Can I have the driver contact and rates too?

My HM is in Dec this year, FH cannot drive so need lobang.

Can I ask if my hotel stay is already paid, it is necessary to prepare both USD and ruppiah? Cos when I last went Bali donkey years ago with Mum, we only brought ruppiah. Do restrauants (eg those at Jimbaran Bay) charge in USD?

mayelene

hi karen... the restaurants at jimbaran accept ruppiah as well as USD. we only brought ruppiah there. no need to prepare US$...

lux

hi Karen,

Actually I bought both USD and ruppiah.. and I never spent any USD. Despite the people sometimes quoting me in USD they convert to ruppiah. The Restaurants I went to,I paid by ruppiah as well. so far none have wanted USD from me.

I try to get you the number of my 'tour guide' from hubby.. he's not in sg.. will let you know once I have it. He's really good.. speak good english as well.

bits

Hi mayelene and Ling,

Oh thanks, cos I thought like in Bintan, Banyan and Angsana restrauants's pricing are in USD and if you pay ruppiah/sing, it will be the unfavorable hotel's exchange rate.

dabee

hi May:

which travel agent u book Mercure hotel at bali with? i tried to call few local agents but they told me they dun do this hotel. from the way u describe ...wooow, this hotel very nice. i shortlisted this hotel cos i had my wedding diner at grand mercure roxy which i love the hotel. therefore i thought the one at bali should be even better with the sea just at the door ...

simlemon

hi all, i m planning to go bali around end oct. heard from some frens that the monsoon period tat time is bad and many sea activities will be disrupted. care to share whether tis is true???

alec

For anyone visting Bali. I have the perfect driver who will take you anywhere on the island. His name is Dewa , pronounced "D war". He is a kind, considerate and safe driver. He can do escorted or your own customized tours. We were in Bali last week and he gave us the tour of our lives for a week. We have promised to return and use him for a longer period of time. All that I ask is for people who are looking for the "real people" Bali and want to be around a good man, book him. If you know anything about the Balinese they are the most unassuming and kindest people who do not like or make trouble. I mention this because a before we arrived Dewa was driving a friend ( the person who actually recommended we hire him)
dewa also offered very reasonable price full day US$.35/8 hours inclusive. gasoline, driver, a car and Parking fee. we understood the gas increased alots since last year.

Dewa Parwita Email ;[email protected] or [email protected]

Dewa's web www.baliexploretours.com or www.baliexplore.com

Mobile +62 81 239 70 779

Enjoy It!

junglecat

what a coincidence! when my hubby n i went to bali (he was still my bf then), our driver's name was dewa as well. hmm... dunno if he's d same guy. our dewa is based in kuta. we stayed at a homestay/guesthouse in ubud n travelled from there every day. dewa came to fetch us. if u'd like to see some photos of our trip, hubby has posted some up at his website: http://www.alexmoi.net/travel/bali/

happy viewin n let me know what u all think!

Might be a bit off topic, but we are trying to spread the news as fast as we can.
Anyway, Greymatter Photography (www.greymatterphotography.com) is having a joint promotion with Gabriel Mendes Photography (www.gabrielmendes.com) to do a pre-wedding/honeymoon shoot in Bali, set tentatively over the period of 19 Aug-23 Aug. You will have the services of 2 photographers (with 2 different styles) for the price of one. At the end of the day, you will receive a 12x12inch 24 page album and you can select images from the pool of images taken by both Gabriel and me.

We are offering very good rates for this trip because Aug is a low season for weddings and we don’t mind doing something refreshing and exciting for couples as well as for ourselves. Sometimes with a bit of friendly competition, we the photographers can raise our game and not treat it as another run-of-the-mill shoot.

So now, the question is “How much?â€

Do email me or Gabriel for details. Cheers.

ngfifi

I wonder is any1 here is gg to Bali for holis soon?

I need a very big favour for those whom r gg as i wld like to purchase a cake from Uma Sapna which is situated at Seminyak

This cake means a lot to me so wld really appreciate if sum1 cld help me to bring it bk to Sg