Armpit sweat

• Thread starter Thread starter sweaty underarms
  • Start date Start date

Thanks for the info.

I saw PerspireX at "Unity" selling at $23.00. But I haven't bought yet.

I believe botox can only be available through doctors (probably specialists only) - yup, it's the same thing that they use for wrinkles.

I found the following info from a US dr's website - hope it helps!

What causes underarm sweating?
Excessive sweating, or hyperhidrosis, is caused by stimulation of the sweat glands by nerve endings which descend from higher centers in the brain. These nerves respond to emotional stresses; like intimate social situations, public speaking, physical stresses, and increased body temperature that comes with exercise or hot humid weather.

Most people with excessive sweating are bothered primarily when they are emotionally stressed, physically active, or over-heated. Botox® can prevent sweating for months by blocking the release of the neurotransmitter, i.e., acetylcholine, from the nerve endings, that causes the glands to produce sweat.

What are alternative treatments?
Deodorants and antiperspirants.
Aluminum chloride hexahydrate and salts are used in topical antiperspirant sticks, creams, lotions and solutions. These prevent sweating by clogging the sweat ducts in the skin. These products can be irritating with continued use and are largely ineffective in people with excessive sweating.

Anticholinergic drugs and tranquilizers.
Oral medications currently used often provide relief but can cause dry mouth and blurry vision. Tranquilizers may minimize one's anxiety, but do little to diminish actual sweating.

Tap Water Iontophoresis.
Battery-powered electrical devices that use water, consist of a moist pad and a prickly electrical current held against skin for several hours. Although they decrease sweating in some people, they are time consuming and they need to be repeated on a daily or a weekly basis. Iontophoresis is mildly effective for severe cases.

Surgery.
Surgical alternatives include cutting the sweat glands from the skin of the underarms, therein leaving visible scars and permanent numbness of the skin for decreased sweating. Neurosurgeons now use a fiberoptic surgical tube, to cut nerves in the neck which lead to the axillary sweat glands, i.e. endoscopic sympathectomy. This approach includes the risk of possible nerve damage to structures in the neck which can result in paralysis of the arm, loss of sensation, and permanent dilation of the pupil of the eye. Cosmetic surgeons and dermatologists have attempted to scrape the underside of the axillary skin with liposuction cannulas to remove sweat glands and the results had been mixed.

How is Botox® given?
Fifteen to twenty drops of Botox® are injected via a very small needle into the hair-bearing skin of each underarm. Normal activity can be immediately resumed, while heavy exercise should be avoided for several hours.

When will Botox® take effect?
Underarm sweating will be decreased by 90% within 48 hours and full effect will be seen within one week. There may be simultaneous disappearance of odor associated with decreased sweating, but this is not consistent.

How long does Botox® last?
Most patients will obtain the benefit of dryness with one treatment of Botox® for six to ten months.

What are the risks and complications?
Complications from injection into the axillary skin include tiny bruises which fade in a few days, and small persistent areas of sweating that may need a second treatment. There is no risk of numbness or permanent change in the axillary skin, and the risk of temporary muscle weakness is remote.

I have this sweaty armpits problem too.

Actually, i get to know about this "Driclor" product through this forum since beginning of 2004 but i didn't try it. Reason because i've tried too many deodorant (even award winning brand) and anti-perspirant and they don't work on me. So i was like "will this 'Driclor" work for me"??

I am just a woman like most of you out there, wanting to wear beautiful clothes but all i could wear are black or white tops. This makes my life very boring. When i go for shopping, all i could look at are black and white. I don't know how many of you will understand how i feel.
It's really demoralizing...

But recently i went in to this page again and the urge of trying 'Driclor' came to my mind again. And i bought it last Friday at Unity--Clementi outlet. (I could have bought it at another outlet as i can get a discount--cos my friend's sister is working as a pharmachist at that outlet, but i didn't cos it so embarrassing to let her know i have this problem
) This is my fourth day of trying 'Driclor" and i would say it really helps. Though there's stinging and itchiness but i bear with them with the hope that things will get better.

I've read the instruction leaflet with it and it says that i can cut down to using it twice a week should the sweating stops during the day. I would like to enquiry those of you whom have tried 'Driclor' or are still using it, can i really reduce the no. of times i apply? I'm really afraid that sweat will start surfacing once i stop using it.

Please kindly advice.

Hi doodoo,
i have really active armpit sweat glands as well and was very conscious of the wet patch until i started using Driclor abt 2 years ago. still using now but only when i start feeling that the sweaty feeling is coming back. u just use ut when you need it after the initial 'treatment' period. it's really good
the only flip side is you have to keep using. it will come back once you stop for a period of time. i use it only abt once a week now or even less sometimes.

Hi Jacqueline,

Thank you for your advice. Currently I'm applying it every 2 to 3 days cos the phobia is still there.

I would like to ask you is your underarm area becoming dry after using Driclor? I find the drawback of using it is that it even cause the underarm skin to dry up. Am i over using it?

Another question is how long can each bottle last according to your usage?

Have anybody out there used "PerspireX" yet? I have bought but still haven't used. Actually there is some limitations on the usage, for instance cannot use on irritated and broken skin. Well, my armpit gets itchy rather easily, dun know suitable to use or not. And also, u have to wash ur armpit in the next morning after use, rather inconvenient.

Arghhh....having a problem now. When back from lunch during work, I always perspire and very self conscious about the odour. Did anybody have the same problem and how did u solve it besides not going out for lunch?

Fraiche
I have the same problem. very embrassing. Even i also can't stand the odour. Can't imagine how the others will stand it.
I'm using simple roll on.SOmetimes effective, sometimes not.
N i notice that the odour will come when i wear the same tops. So i'm wondering if the 'bacteria' will always stay onto the tops.

kaya,

Glad that somebody is sharing the same problem as me. Ya rite when I wear the same top, esp those tops with tight fitting sleeve, the odour will come back even when I sweat abit. Guess it's because the bacteria is not properly washed off the top. So normally I will soak the top longer in dettol and sometimes it works. If it still doesn't work, I will just don't wear that top again.

But I'm still finding ways to get rid of the odour when back from lunch in the office. Thinking of spraying perfume after that, but scared my colleagues will find out when I do that in the office. Whatever it is, it's indeed a very embarrassing problem.

Btw, what method are u all using to get rid of ur armpit hair? I'm currently using the shaving method which I find not so good. Heard that there is some kind of cream removal method, is it? Any recommendations from ladies out there. Pls help. Thank you.

Hi Fraiche,
I don't apply after i've notice odour bcos' 1)The top is already stanined with the odour 2)I've tried washing my armpit in the toilet but no use.
I pluck my armpit hair. will reduce the odour n don't grow so fast

*Sigh* It's indeed a very tedious problem. I have seen ladies with very smooth armpit skin. Seems like no hair will grow out of that area. Wonder is it genetic or they have done something to it? Very envious!

i have this problem too...
am fourteen this year and had this problem since half a year ago.
I've been reading this forum and wonders whether i should try driclor since the one i'm using isn't effective and i dun wanna waste money if it doesn't work as i'm a student and don't have much money to spare.

would like to ask you how serious your situations are? mine is very bad, i can sweat profusely even though i'm in a air-conditioned classrooms but the weird thing is that i dun sweat at home! i may sweat sometimes but i stay mostly dry. why is this so?

this problem is really embarrassing isn't it?

Hi rayne (rainspring)

My situation is very bad...my armpit could sweat easily like
-a sneeze
-five minute walk to the bustop
-preparing to go out (putting on make up, blowing my hair...) after i just took a shower
-when i see a cockroach...haha

-when i'm nervous

It sweat alot even though i'm in the air-conditioned environments too. This is how bad my condition is.

Hi rayne (rainspring)

I dunno how you remove your armpit hair but my advice for you is if you want to try out Driclor, you mustn't apply after you shave or pluck (or whatever method you use) your armpit hair.

It will sting, really sting.

Hi papersoup (kaya) and Fraiche,

I have this problem too, my top will be stained will a smell at the armpit area and i will try not to raise my arm whenever possible.

There are times when i try to put lots of detergent on that area and give it a good scrub then the smell will go away. But it will come back after i wear it a few times. In the end i jus dun wear that top again and kept buying new tops to avoid this problem.

And my mum will ask me why am i keep buying new tops when "those" could still be worn? Such a waste of money!

Things got better when i tried Driclor. My armpit doesn't sweat easily like before. And i've switched to deodorant that has no fragrance. It helps alot without the fragrance.

Hi doodoo,

I think the odour "comes back" not because of previous stain, but it's because u sweat and stain on it again. So it's best that everytime u wear that top, soak it in some anti-bacteria agent (like dettol) and i believe the impt thing is to soak longer, not to add alot of detergent. Maybe u can try that and not waste money buying new tops if still can wear.

Oh u r using Driclor? Can I ask u..do u need to wash ur armpit the next morning after u applied it the previous night? For "PerspireX", u need to do that which I find rather troublesome.

Which brand of deodorant are u using?

hi doodoo (nice nick :P)

thanks for ur advice...but i'm not still very sure whether i should try out driclor? does it really works?? (it would be tooo good to be true) it's terribly embarassing and uncomfortable in school when i have to always watch how i place my hands, and of course, we won't be able to wear any nice coloured clothes like pink and baby blue...

does driclor really works??
hopeful*

hi again,

i'm really anxious to try out driclor, can't believe that it really might work. But i've noticed that people say it's not for sensitive skin? how do you define sensitive skin? and will i be allergic to it? because i hav this deficiency G6PD (not something serious but i can't touch some medicines)

another thing, don't you gals find it embarassing to buy anti-perspirant? maybe it's because i'm only fourteen so i find it very awkward and feels as if the whole world is staring at me.

please reply asap, realli value ur advice

Hi~~
I would like to recommend the anti-perspirant tat i used during my confinement. My armpit sweats a lot during confinement time, think this is due to the confinement foods ba..too heaty liao!

The anti perspirant tat i used called "perspirex". Can buy from guardian. Can only apply at nite. After apply it can last till about 1 week or so...this is what i like cos no need to apply everyday lo! So far i used 3-4 times only. Now i dont have such problem liao.

If u want to find out more, below is the website

www.perspirex.com

I forgot how much i bought it but think less than $20

hi NOIF~
thanks a lot for your recommendation, but now i dunno which one to buy..hahax...driclor or perspirex? can i ask how serious your situation is? you onli sweat during confinement arhz? so envious...

Rayne,
U are most welcome!

Yup! I sweats alot during my confinement, and my armpit got very bad smell which myself also cannot take it.

After used perspirex 3-4 times i did not encounter such problem liao. One of the reason maybe because my confinement end liao ba.

But anyway, i found it really useful lo! I'm sorry i gave the wrong price. Actually i bought it last year....heehee! But think $25 really worth the price cos the product real good lo!

NOIF
thanks! i brought it already (though it burned a hole in my pocket) will be trying it tonight...let's pray that it will work..i'm really getting depressed over this problem...

Rayne,
Hope perspirex work for u too!

Anyway, u like eat meat??? Heard tat peoples who like to eat meat always encounter such promblem. During confinement i eat a lot of meat, so really encounter such problem lo! After confinement, i cut down meat intake and eat more vegetables. Anyway, i'm not meat person oso la.

Hi Fraiche,

it states in the 'User Information Leaflet' that the user should 'wash off the the morning and do not re-apply during the day'.

But what i do is
--if i were to wake up in the morning, i will take a shower and it will be washed off.
--if i were to wake up in the afternoon, i will wait until evening time then i will take a shower.

And that means its on that area for a couple of hours more. Should i want to apply deodorant, then i must wash it off. Think its kinda funny to mix.

I'm using Nivea Whitening currently. Previously, I used this concurrently with Nivea Fresh and for my case, i found out this was the culprit that leave the smell on my clothes. (The smell on my clothes matches the deodorant) So i stop using the Nivea Fresh. What about you? Which deodorant are you using? You have any better deodorant to share?

R u using 'PerspireX'? Does it stop sweating? I went to look for it today but its sold out, only left the 'for hands and feet' range.

Hi rayne,

Thank you, i like this nick too!

Couldn't agree more with you. When i had this sweaty armpits problem, most of my clothings were black or white. I have some light colored T-shirts but I never dare to raise my arms when I wear them.

Its fine to buy anti-pespirant. Treat the stares as others admiring your courage. There's nothing wrong. It shows that you know how to take care of yourself. Its the same for buying menstration pads.

I wanted to try out PespireX too. Went to look for it today but its sold out. (
Overwhelming response) Only left with 'hands and feet' range.

Do share with us how you feel after using PespireX

Hi NOIF,

You know before i found a solution to my sweaty armpits, i had this thinking
--if i were to get pregnant in the future, with my sweaty armpits, all my maternity would be in either black or white. Isn't it funny to see a pregnant to wear black or white all the time??

Think I'm also affected by this problem as I like to eat meat. I love meat, I'm a carnivore. Hope it doesn't get out of control when i get pregnant.

Since you are a mother, have you heard of this saying that 'women who have lots of meat in their diet will give birth to baby girl cos the condtion in the body is too acidic'. Do you agree?

Doodoo,
Actually I like to eat vegetables than meat, but during confinement can only eat certain vegetables so my MIL cook meat most of the time. I bo bian so eat a lot of meat during my confinement.

Before pregnant and during pregnant actually i eat vegetables more than meat leh. heehee. But i still got a baby girl leh..so think the theory is not right la.

Ohya, i dont have sweaty armpit when i pregnant tat time, the problem occur only during my confinement

yoz everyone,

yupx i bought perspirex and it works! the instruction leaflets say that it might take two to three days for the desirable effect to show but this is the first day and the sweat has already cut down by a ton!

ohh, i also luv to eat meat...guess that's the problem? some people also say that not drinking enough water is the prob..but that's not the case for me cos i drank quite a bit of water...

i would recommend perspirex cos it realli worked( but so ex!!) but guess it's worth it...
i would still like to try out driclor though..i live in the north and i've checked out a couple of guardians but none has driclor..anyone know where got sell?

oh yeah..i almost forgot..what would happen if we apply perspirex during the day? cos i'm studying in the morning and it sorta wear off in the late afternoon..but sometimes i need to go out at nite too...cos that's onli for the first few days...after which they say can like every three days apply once...

(so happy dat it worked!)

Rayne,
The perspires works for u....so excited for u.

My advices is please dont use it during the day, did u read the instruction??? Apply it only at nite before sleep and it can really last till 2-3 days lo! If u continue to use it about 2 weeks. The sweats can actually cut down and can last till about 1-2 weeks. U dont need to apply it so often aftertat.

Seem it works for u. Think u can save the money to buy driclor liao...

Glad to see so many responses.

doodoo,

So Driclor application is the same as PerspireX lor. No haven't tried that yet because I dun have the habit of bathing in the morning. Hehehe... Currently I'm using Nivea dry deodorant (spray type). Still observing the result. Heard that the Nivea whitening very sticky right?

PespireX is so hot selling also means that alot of ladies have this problem too. Actually, no one will stare...sometimes it's ourselves who feel that people are staring.

yo everyone

so sorry i replied so late..cos was having my exams..

perspirex really works!! i'm so damn happy!!! hope that everyone in the world who's plagued by this problem can find their solutions too!!!

trouble again!!!

i'm not sure why this happened!! perspirex realli works 100% but not it seems like it's losing its effects! my right armpit sweat more den my left..hence now even though i'm using perspirex, my right still feel damp (strange thing is like no stain on clothes) but my left still perfectly dry!!

what should i do???

okay this is bad...

i dun perspirex works anymore..know it is weird but i suspect my body is developing mm..antibodies against the drug?? i'm not too sure..why is this happening??

rayne,

How do u know ur body is developing antibodies against the drug? Pls elaborate more. You made it sound so unsafe to use PerspireX.

I have started to use PerspireX for the first time....but can only last 1 day? I dunno is it because I applied too little liao....

yupx..no larz. it's just like so weird..it used to work so perfectly well..budden now it's like..even though i followed the instructions, it doesn't work so well anymore.....why is this happening?? did i do something wrong??

help~

Actually for me also the same, can only last for 1 day...after that I start to perspire again.

Actually I find there is no need to wash off the following morning because it doesn't feel sticky.

oh yah, i also stop washing it off the following morning..but it still doesn't work 100%...haix does this happen to driclor too?
anyway, does anyone has any idea why this is happening?

Hi rayne,

I'm using Driclor currently. I would like to check with you, does your armpit area turns dark after using PerspireX? Mine will, the skin turns dark after using Driclor. If PerspireX won't then i will switch over to PerspireX.

oh i'm so sorry i replied so late..actually i have neva noticed but yah i guess it does..why is this so?? anyway, does driclor works? i thinking of switching to driclor but i've been to some guardians but there doesn't seem to be any that sells driclor..anyone has any idea which guardian in the north area near amk and woodlands sells it?

and i'm so sorry i replied so late..cos currently having exams..

pls reply!!
so sad i couldn't find a solution to my prob..

After using PerspireX for about 2-3 months, now my armpit experience itchiness and discomfort. I have the urge to scratch, but I don't dare to scratch too hard as it will result in broken skin, after which I can't use PerspireX anymore. Does anyone experience the same problem as me?

Ya...same as rayne....so sad I still can't find a perfect solution to my problem.

Yes, I experienced the same problem. The first few applications - no problem, then the 4th time, after shower, I applied PerspireX and experienced extreme itchness within seconds that I had to rinse it off immediately.

I thought my skin was sensitive, surprise to see that it happens to other girls as well.

It's such a small bottle and not cheap either. Results - not as good as it claims to be.

I'm going to do my underarm hair removal with Bioskin next week. I hope it will reduce my underarm problem.

Oh ya, I noticed that my underarm became darker after I started applying the Nivea deo stick recently.

the only deorderant that i find works is from Marks and spenser. very cheap less than $6.

frankly, i have not hear of a cure for over-active sweat glands in the underarm except for surgery so maybe have to make do with deoderant lor.

I use anti-perspirant few years ago and develop a few breast lumps. Not sure if the anti-persiprant cause it but read from some website that this persiprant may cause breast cancer..dun know how true....anyway, now i will use only when necessary, try avoid using it everyday....i think preventing the sweat from releasing might inturn channel the waste to the breast...

Hi esgril,

So have u stopped using PerspireX totally now? I agree that it's such a small bottle and not cheap either. Wonder is there any other way to solve this problem?

Has underarm hair removal anything to do with stopping over-sweating? It seems "no" to me. These are 2 different issues right?

Using Prespirex for 2 weeks liao, so far so good, no more smell even i exercise till appx the 5th day..............by then got to reapply again