AD before Flat?

skybluegal

hi tissuebox,
me marry in dec 2004 liao.. but my flat still not here

tissuebox1

cheer bear..

dun sad lah...

we should get all the ppl staying in atrina and asprella to write letter to hdb and ask them expedite on the construction...
good for them also good for MRT....

skybluegal

tissuebox,
congrats to ur may wedding.. so now almost all done liao right?

not sad la.. jus prefer to have my own hse then more freedom as now i staying with my in laws mah

apple68

hello Huan

my MIL is planning to convert her son (which is my hubby)'s room into a proper couple room. Have a few things to do.. though i didnt really want it.. cos my new place is ready by early 2008 and my AD end this yr. So technically i am only staying for a year or so. But she keep insisting i am staying there for 2 yrs.. so must change curtains, must paint the room, must buy new cupboard. Hais.. i didnt have any budget for these...

actually just wanted to buy a queen size mattress, then just place on the floor if we havent decided on the bedframe. then the rest, as per normal.

looks like i cannot have it my way. And MIL also mentioned about An chuang.. seems like going to be a complicated makeover

even if change to couple room, i dont intend to take photos in the room.

tissuebox1

sort of done lah...now taking a step at a time...

me also staying with MIL, but still o lah cos she working so only at night then see each other and she is not the naggy type.

apple 68
u paying or she paying??
at least she bother to do all these for you which means she wans to make this wedding grand grand.so should be happy...

my MIL bochap bochap..so also dun know i should be happy or sad...she did buy the SDJ for me but the traditions things...aih....

auldreay

I'm renting a 3 room flat now cos it's quite impossible for me to stay with future ILs.

1. Their house is huge, but they have tonnes of rubbish. My FH is suppose to share a room with his bro, but their room is filled with their dad's stuff that his bro moved out eons ago and my FH stayed with me ever since my parents accepted him as my bf.
2. I tried staying at their house for 1 month. NIGHTMARE. FH swore never to put me thru that again, not even for confinement.
3. His dad is really hard to get along with. Those traditional male chauvanistic thinking that MEN make the decision in the house and WOMEN should just keep their mouths shut. *FUMES*
4. His sis is a whore. I mean LITERALLY. She brings different men home to sleep when their parents are overseas.

I'm not going to stay in such an environment. How to bring kids up in such an environment? Plus they already have a dog that is territorial, so that means my dog can't come with me. Excellent excuse to tell his parents. In fact, they started clearing the rubbish in the room into the living room, but FH told them we are renting cos of the dog. Heehee...

Anyway, rental rates now are very reasonable. I'm renting a flat and then sublet the rooms out. We are staying in the common room, so rent 1 MBR and 1 Cm out. Renting the spare room helps to cover our cost of staying here by abit, so it doesn't really hurt the pocket

Be GLAD that your MIL is BOCHUP!! Mine interferes too much. And they want a say on everything!! They chose the expensive menu, chose the expensive cards and printing, etc. And my poor FH is paying for everything!! Not his parents!!

Thank goodness my FH was so pissed with them that he told me to go ahead with everything I like, don't consult his parents anymore.

Anyway, my flat is also not ready until 2008. Can save up $ for flat and many kids in the meantime. Plus point about this arrangement is that if we have kids immediately, our house can be renovated in such a way it is suitable for kids and can last them until their teenage years. Save money on having to change furniture when they grow up

Auldreay

jenng

Hi tissuebox,

mine also atrin, mind to ask which block you in. i went there the block indicate completion by end 2007 maybe 2008 we can get?

skybluegal

Hi Jennifer

me oso at atrina blk 273D.. i oso go and see liao but the date indicate at the hdb website is mid 2008 leh.. (if i rem correctly la)

tissuebox1

cheers bear

cheers....me also 273D...alright man, can take care of each other when we shift in...

jennifer
whats ur block

Yafang
when urs AD??
since ur HB say no need to consult them then just do things that are affordable to you all lor...when ever they ask u how much then tell them is high class one, very ex. anyway they also dun know

apple68

came in here to grumble a bit...

went to HDB last week, seemed like the earliest we can get new keys for our new place is in late 2008.. hais.. MIL got her wish.. I am going to stay with her for 2 yrs. not that ILs are difficult people to get along with, but with different upbringing, i expect there will be heaps of conflicts. Shall not think too far or too much.. have many things on hand at this moment.

saw advertisements on Sat Straits Times, think we will probably get one of those low end bedframe to use for these 2 years. Then probably get new one if it doesnt go with our renov theme. Guess this will make MIL happy, at least it is presentable to her.

Hmm.. now got to think about the curtain n room colours, plus how to squeeze all our stuff in one bedroom.. tough man!

jenng

Hi Cheerbear,

Normally website will indicate later date i suppose. Mind is 272C, just opposite block hehe.

Hope to get early

tissuebox1

apple

if u have time can go ubi look. there is a lot of warehouse and their price is reasonbale and nice.

my hb and I also try to squeeze both our things into 1 room.

imagine when he is alone he got 1 rm, and over at my place i also got 1 rm.
now 2 rms squeeze into 1 rm is almost impossible.

so a lot of MY things is still in my own rooms and his things is all in the room...
and the room is so untidy...

when closer tot the date must spring clean the room

apple68

thanks tissuebox for the suggestion. will pop down to these places to look for bedframe and mattress.

when's ur AD? how did you coordinate the An Chuang date with the rest of moving in ur stuff?

Apparantly, MIL said after An chuang, the bed cannot be slept on before AD. Then how? Move my stuff after AD?

tissuebox1

apple

my AD is May. my ROM is May'04,then after the chinese new yr last yr, I have already shif into his place.

think me not doing the An chuang lei.
i will also not buy new bedframe or mattress. the matress and bed frame i just buy last yr. at 400+. so no point after just 1 yr, i spend again.
I ask my mum and his mum, they say nvm.
so i will just buy a new wedding bedsheet. then ask his mum change the night before the AD.then he cannot sleep on the bed lor.
he still have the old 'ti lum'in his bro room so ask him sleep on the 'ti lum' 1st lor.

are u staying with him now? if the An chunag date is say 2 weeks before ur AD, then where is he ur HB going to sleep???

skybluegal

tissuebox,
maybe we r neighours leh

i oso do a spring clean b4 the AD but after that got messy again esp when we buy more things as time goes by

apple68,
ur hse oso at atrina??
u staying with in laws for 2 yrs nia.. me going to stay for 4 yrs leh (2004 marry until 2008 my hse is here)..

there r sure alot of conflicts jus how u handle lor.. try to get the hb to tell the mum than u do it urself (for my case it works)

for me, i jus put mattress on the floor nia w/o any bed frame for 1 yr b4 we decided to buy one bed frame but again due to not enough space.. we din instal the head board so is jus the frame itself

if u wan to buy cheap bed frame can go furniture mall at kallang.. their offer is gd esp when there is discount. mine oso from there onli $300 include delivery

yes ur mil is correct by saying after an chuan no1 can sleep on it (for my case, mil say the same thing) then i tell her "ok lor.. dont sleep lor and ask ur son oso dont sleep on the bed and sleep on the floor k" then she LL and say ok la.. onli both of u can sleep :p

jennifer,
next time u, tissuebox and me can come out for kopi liao

tissuebox1

cheer bear

u very daring lei.talk back to ur MIL...
haha...can imagine her face when u say her son must sleep on the floor....hahaha...

maybe lei...
u email me which floor u staying..dun say here. too open liao...i scare ppl put pig head on my door

skybluegal

tissuebox,
at first i realli dislike her coz she bo chap our wedding then we decide all the things ourselves then she make noise and say like this cannot like that cannot then want to re-do/re-buy.. she oso talk behind my back.. u must be wondering how i know? coz one time i was back home with my hb then inside the room changing but she thot i not at home and say all the nasty things then i walk out of the room and stare at her then she keep quiet.. until one time my hb oso cant tahan and scold her and from then on she try to close one eye and i oso learn to close one eye lor.. :p

wat is ur email?

auldreay

hi tissuebox...
quite excited about AD but stupid ILs giving probs AGAIN...

Anyway FH decided to stop the probs once and for all :D

Actually an chuang can be done the night b4 e wedding ;) so u still can sleep on it :p

apple68

hi cheerbear, my new place is not atrina. our new place is still under construction at Toa Payoh. Collection of keys have to wait till 2008. Yes, have to stay with ILs for 2 years.

hi tissuebox, an chuang thingy is raised up by MIL. We have already let her settle this issue. I dont know when she intends to do it, i guess she should know if she does it too early, her son has to sleep in the living room. haa

bubnbut

i got my flat before my AD..juz had my flat done juz 1 mth ago..

i got a re-sale flat in amk..coz more spacious n juz few blocks away frm my mum (but i didn't take the extra 10k grant)..den my 2 younger sisters can come anything they want to play wif the dogs..

i wanna it before my AD coz i can really relax after my wedding..n feel really like my own private area..den can ask hubby to carry me into the flat..lol..partly for the sake of my 2 dogs too..

i rom-ed in sep 04' den purchase flat in sep 05' so now throwing dinner in sep 06'..coz everything depend ourselves..thus need to save longer..i didn't wanna any of our sides to help..well..to prevent any tongue-wagging in the future..better this way i guess..but more burden for us i guess..

we didn't take any bank loan..everything in our flat all DIY ourselves..my hubby wanna loan for renovation..but i told him i didn't wanna to hv any bank loan commitment..i didn't wanna to quarrel bcoz of money in the future..coz i find mostly couples will hv some money issue problems..

well..actually im already contented enough for everything..juz as i planned..a year diff to save up money for rom,flat n banquet..

huan

Hi Yafang,
ur name sure looks familiar! tink u posted alot in a dog forum before too!
i thot u said before that the flat dat u will b staying after marriage actually belongs to ur mum or ur relatives? how come is it rented? or u mean u rent from ur parents or relatives?
just curious...
anyway, u're still the same... full of lots of lobangs... as well as complaints of histories of ur FPIL

auldreay

Huan, I rented it from my uncle. Have to pay abit of rent "yi si yi si" if not v paiseh like stay for free :p Plus he paid for the reno when we move in :D

huan

Hi Yafang,
oic... ya. it's true dat cant stay there without paying him at least some small amt...
just thot u said it belongs to ur mum... :p

idealone

I think my situation will be the same... AD b4 flat. Anyway my parents have a spare 5 rm flat to spare so we will stay there for the time being lor. Of cos, we will pay rent lor. And since we stay there liao means other 3 rooms can be rented out too. Ha ha ha

Anyway my wifey is already staying at the spare house liao and she has already gotten used to it. So mind as well we stay there lor.

bridarine

Dunnoe y I feel very sad reading the stories here. Maybe because I don't have an understanding FH.

I will not get a flat too becos there werent any good locations available at the moment and MY FH won't consider a resale because he thinks it is too expensive.
Our plan is to stay in his sister's room before we get a flat, which can be a year or so from now. I was fine with that decision until two days ago.
I had to spend the week over at his place so as to have more time together with each other as he is going away. We stayed miles apart.
The stay was a nightmare for me. From one to sleep on a queen size bed, I downgraded to a single bed foam mattress.
Please try to imagine how difficult it was for me. And there were the other nitty gritty stuff which I don't even feel like describing. My allegies were uncontrollable even though I was on double dosage.
I understand from my FH that his parents or himself have no intentions to change the setup of anything just because they have an additional member.
It is okay with me because I don't see myself as big deal too. But I really don't know how to survive such difficult conditions especially when I have insomnia and a whole dose of other symptoms. It is extremely difficult for me sleep all the time perhaps due to preexisting tense emotions.
The biggest unhappiness is that my FH doesnt even seem to understand, when I try to talk to him, and ask him to consider buying a resale, he told me it will be ok he won't put me through the agony but it is only because I have high demands. Can't explain anymore because he will get angry and harm himself.

Dunnoe what to say. Very sad.

idealone

Harm himself? So childish? Well, you can choose to marry after you got your own place or stay in his sister's room lor. No choice. Try to use a new matress and new pillow as well as new blanket to minimise the allergy and also try to keep the room / area you sleep in as clean as possible. I've also a very sensitive nose and double dose of clarinase dun help. ha ha ha

I would advice you to marry after you get your own place if your allergy is very serious if not your health / work will suffer and even your marriage will suffer cos after you guys marry, you will not have private space for intimacy. Do consider lor. I'l not trying to be a spoiler, just stating the obvious in view of a fellow allergy prone person.

violetcrystal

Just wanna check... me and my FH don't intend to get a flat so soon, so we've agreed that we'll stay over at my side after AD, while going back to his house on a weekly basis...

However, i'm a bit puzzled as to how the AD arrangement would be like, as in... after he fetches me from my home... go over to his house... then ermm... i change where before coming back to my house? (change at his place? purposely go hotel change? or come back into my room to change then go living room for tea ceremony? haha...)

Also... since we intend to stay over at my place... just wondering if is it a must to re-deco the room with new furnitures? coz we didn't portion that into our budget... (my room already has queen-sized bed...)

My AD is in 2007, but after seeing this thread, thought of asking for advises as well. =) Thanks~

skybluegal

denoria,

so both of u staying at his sis room la? if like that then change the bed into queen size lor.. me currently waiting for my hse to come and staying with my in-laws so i used to sleep at a single bed with my hb and can u imagine 2 pple on a single bed!! is so horrible and u will wake up with backache.. then we change to a queen size bed eventho the room become veri veri cramp is so much better.. so morale is change bed la.. specially u got allergy so will sure improve one

anyway jus my 2 cents of advice

pierced22

Hi violet crystal, i had mi Ad too and mi hb staying over at mi side too.
no need to bother too much about AD arrangements though. jz treat like normal lor, aft mi hb cam over to pick mi, went to his house for tea ceremony, i placed mi tea dress at mi hb's place bef the AD. den back to mi place for tea cere, and to the dinner venue to rest.
thk to decor the rm is up to u. no hard and fast rule. i didnt do anything to mi room except buy a queensize bed. the rest still the same, except now i need to have space for hb's stuff.

faithgurl

Hi pierced,

Juz wana know whether do u and yr hubby went back to yr hse immediately after yr AD dinner? Cos I thought the bride was not supposed to return back to her mum's place immediately after that?

pierced22

hi faithgurl,erm aft AD dinner, the mornin juz went back to grab luggage at mi mum's place for our trip. we didnt really follow those traditional rules as we not pantang or ignorant about them.
so depends on wheter u or both sides of family will mind.

elchwong

My flat will only be rdy by end of nxt yr or beginning of 2008...my AD will be in Dec 07...if my flat is nt rdy for my AD then hw do I An Chuang if we were to make do wif current bedroom or do we skip the an chuang process?

skybluegal

elchwong,
my case is same as u.. my hse onli ready by early 2008 by i marry end 2004.

so... wat i did was to get a new queen size bed and new bedsheet then go chinatown to buy those pre packed fruits (inside got longan, lian zi etc) and buy a red plate.. then put all these fruits, 2 oranges and a red packet on the plate then put the plate on the center of the bed.. thats my an chuang process.. oh ya.. got to see the date too..

elchwong

Cheer Bear,

So I guess I have to get rid of my current bed fr my rm in my parents' hse n get a new matrimonial bed if our hse can't be rdy by our AD then...my fengshui master currently in process of calculating all the necessary dates....thanks!

piggersorous

hi denoria
sorry to hear tat ur fh isnt too understanding to ur allergies and difficulties u faced... to be honest, harming himself is a very bad way of managing his anger..
i feel tat both of u nid to work tings out.. wen ur married and stayin tog there will b mani more nitty gritty stuff tat will cum along ur way in ur everyday life which both of u may nt agree on.. it can be a very big problem n result in a divorce coz both cant agree on tings n live together.. how about going for a pre-marriage counselling before moving further? tares notin wrong wif such counselling, it kinda pre-empts an individual on wata expect wen married... living tog is not an easy ting, particularly wen u hv been sleepin alone all these 20+ yrs (i assume ur in ur 20s..)tink abt it.. i hope i hvnt spoilt ur day..

hey, sleeping on a single bed isnt tat terrible lar.. ive been sleeping on a single bed wif hubby for almost 5 yrs now...hahahaha

pipilili

i suggest you change the mattress before your condition worsen.

I have slept in single bed, promoted to queen and now king. (in my twenties and not married yet, but going to)

Whatever bed it is, its more impt you choose the right kind of bed for yourself/partner and not accomodating to anyone else.

ni_côle

Will like to ask for advice on how all of you go about some Chinese customary procedures if your flat is only ready after your AD.

I'm facing this problem now.

My flat will only be ready in 2008, while my AD is Nov 2007.

Now I'm wondering how am I going to go through the procedure of "An Chuang". Unless I'm renting a place & get a new bed for ourselves, if not, how am I going to "An Chuang"?

Any advice on this?

ppbbxhz

Hi Nic,

my flat is also not ready before my AD. so i did the an chuang at my in-laws house. As I m staying with them until my new flat is ready. After that, will move my bed over to my new house.

ni_côle

Hi XHZ,

Firstly, I'm trying to avoid to stay with my MIL while waiting for my flat to be ready, because she's not easy to get along.

Initially, my HTB & I intend to get a rented place temporarily. But worrying about the costs.

I was thinking, if my flat will be ready early 2008, then my HTB & I will go just stay separately for the time being, after the AD.

But like in this case, how are we going to "An Chuang"?

That's why very headache.

cactus_79

Hi Nic, if you have real reasons to believe there may be conflict if you stay with your MIL, it's better to rent and not worry too much about costs. Money can't repair a broken relationship. I would say rent and an chuang on new mattress. AFter tenancy expires, then move mattress back to your own home in early 2008. Its just about 6 more months to go!

junjun

Hi Nic,
I am in the same boat, flat still in process of building, dunno whether in time to collect b4 AD in Mar 08.
PIL's place quite in quite a bad condition to move in due to accumulated mess and PIL quite reluctant to make adjustments/ change furniture for me to move in.... so quite bad... intially wanted to move into my parent's place (my present room) after AD, but got pp advised us not to as it's "no good" for my FH.
Haiz...can just hope flat build faster, if not most prob got to spend $$ and rent flat which I am not sure whet my PIL will say that is waste of $$ as well...

cactus_79

Hi Junjun,

Can you share why it's "no good" for your FH to move into your parents' place?

I'm actually staying at both my ILs place and my parents' place after AD. Initially, our plan was to stay at IL's place until after Chinese New Year, then move to my parents' place (like 6 months here, 6 months there). But in the end, my MIL said it's better to stay at both places frequently... so we are going on honeymoon immediately after wedding dinner... then when fly back, stay at IL's place for 1 day, then a couple of days at my parents' place, then a couple of days at IL's place... like that...

We have bought new beds for both IL's place and my parents' place too.. but the an chuang is goign to be at IL's place's bed.