AD before Flat?

akoyo

i am also in the same shoes as you two.. Got Duxton as well but Blk B, facing CBD... In 2007 ? Where did you get the news from ? Wow, it will be wonderful if we can collect early....

zenith

i'm also going thru AD before getting a flat. we realised that we got to spend quite a bit for wedding(using our own money for the whole wedding) so we decided to get a flat prob 1yr after our AD. that will give us some time to save up for flat & reno. (trying not to take up so much loan) guess i'll be staying at my own hse during the weekdays & FH's hse during the weekends. FMIL is still okie but FSIL is horrible! i wouldn't wan to face her everyday!

yen2

hi akoyo,

so which floor did u get? read in the papers that the contractors estimated that they will take 2 yrs comppleting the project.. they are doing grounding now... hopefully, the flats will be completed soon....

hi zen,
same here... i oso decided to move into a new flat ready as the expenses for wedding is already killing us... :p

zenith

hi yen2,

today my mum jus spoke to me & say our wedding veri weird. how come didn't buy new bed & so funny going to stay apart. sigh...... told her who dun wan to depend on anyone for money neither did we wan to get ourselves into too much loan. told her tat we dun really bother abt wat ppl will say as long as we're happy. we are not doing anythin wrong. we jus wan to be independent spending our own money on our own things.

yen2

Hi zen,

actually I also din get a new bed but I'll be moving into my husband's place till my flat is ready. U can try telling your mum that it's common to stay apart temporarily after the wedding.. perhaps u can consider staying at your husband's place during weekends? that's what my friend did...

hapi_gal

hi ladies, I'm new here.

I'm oso hvin my AD in Nov05 b4 i got a flat. I've missed the WIS in Jan. As for the may05 WIS, we cldn't find one tat we like. There's a launch for BTO in punggol starting tdy but doesn't it takes abt 5yrs to complete? We can't simply wait till tat day. We've seen resale flats but they r juz too ex. My FH hates the idea of loan & we plan to get one within our CPF budget. My head is "big big" now.

Same here, missed the WIS or rather a very bad queue no. so no more gd units..

I'm moving into my ILs, but I'm mentally prepared to deal with ILs issues.

Hapigal: Oh yes, BTO will take awhile.. So rather not get into tt. Wld u consider re-sale units? I might, maybe 1-1.5 years after my AD in Sept 05. So as to spread out the expenses, instead of getting into so much headache & stress for the AD & renos at the same time

gooobergrape

I had my AD in april and am staying in my in laws' place too.

mehmeh, you are a very sweetgal, i am sure your in laws will love to take care of you!!!

Hubby n i thinking of geting a place maybe 2-3 years down the road. maybe 4-5 years? its too comfortable here to want to move out...

gs1979

goober graper lover...me too me too!!!
My AD on 2 May 2006 and will shift into hubby's house @ Bt Panjang. So where's ur inlaws staying??

Heyhey Goober

Heehee, I think u have a gd r/s with ur in-laws, & u've got a maid at home. No need to take care of laundry & other chores.. Moreover with the impending kids, I think ILs wld be great at home. But of coz if u can find a great place in the East, u can shuttle between ur parents & ILs for them to take care of the children..

Prob for me, I'm going to get a place near my parents, get tt HDB grant for being near parents.. Not too sure if they wld love to have screaming babies to take care of.. Hahah, shall observe fr the experience of my elder sister

hapi_gal

Hi mehmeh,
Thks, I've called HDB to check. Coralinus at punggol shall b completed in jun2010 \clipart(kao_dizzy) wow!

My FH & i hv seen more than 10units of resale flats but either it's too ex or the location is bad. Mayb we r too fussy \clipart(embarrassed) in the end, we give up & decided to get a new flat. But before we r able to get one, we'll stay with our own parents for the time being. As his place is too small, we need to hv a bigger unit coz my MIL will be staying with us.

Great to hear that you r mentally prepared for IL issues. I believed any IL r oso mentally prepared for daughter-in-law issues too. Once, my MIL told my FH of her worries tat she's scare if she can get along with me. She's coming to 80yrs old & of coz i'll accommodate her.

You've very wise, money issue will be a headache if everything comes together

Hi Gin

Harlows!!

Hi HapiGal

So u're not going to live together till the new flat is ready? Anyway, where is ur new flat?

Yah, agree tt some MILs wld be prepared for DIL-issues, afterall they had been DILs too. Moreover since ur MIL is almost 80, I think u wld be very accomodating towards her too.

Just gotta keep in mind, older folks are more paranoid abt most things & usually believe their methods are better. Just listen & play by ear, if u've any complains, dun burst out at ILs.. Can whine at FH & then let him solve it.. My pastor says tt no doubt a couple has gotten married, the DIL is still an 'outsider'

Oh yes, these BTOs are a really long wait.. Wanted the May 05 WIS, but all the Chinese quota was full for almost 90% of the areas! Gee, do they(HDB) think Chinese can affored more than HDBs or no need to stay in HDB?? SighSigh

hapi_gal

Hi Mehmeh

This may sound weird, we r not going to live together aft marriage till we get a flat. Both of our families stay juz a few blk away & we c each other everyday.

No, we hvn't got a flat yet. Encounter d same pblm as u, chinese quota for gd location r full except race course rd
Wonder y can't HDB b more flexible?

Ya, agree with u tat older folks believe their methods r better. Especially when they r stubborn & thrifty. Don't worry, I won't burst out at IL & neither do i sandwich my husband btw us. Sometimes, when my MIL got so lonely & threw temper, later she'll asked his son not to tell me. She doesn't want me to hv a bad impression of her. So cute loh, she's so happy when i treat her like a baby & of coz with respect
If I treat my IL nice, my husband will oso treat my family well :D

sootycat

Hi all im new to this forum. read some of your commments. what is AD ah? is that the custom wedding or ROM?? my bf and i intend to ROM next feb/march. we weren't lucky in the previous balloting exerises and the latest WIE in HDB. qeue no. was so far back!! we gave up. i don't think my bf and i will be able to live together after our ROM since we do not have a flat. my bf's hse quite cramp+he's sharing rm with his bro unlikely to live with him rite so weird! i think its a gd idea to deal with the flat, reno and wedding one at a time, since our budget are rather tight as well.

gs1979

hello justin..welcome!!
kao_welcome.gif

AD is Actual Day = Customary Date.

Which area are u interested to apply for your flat??

sootycat

hello Gintone and lipstar! thanks for telling me! bf and i not really eyeing any area so long its not in woodlands jurong and beyond yishun... we used to like the flats in redhill (directly in front of redhill mrt) it was in the last balloting ex. we even gotten a queue no. too bad all units are taken up by then.
now waiting for another ex coming up... we wont be going for the latest BTO cos we wont wanna wait for long for flat. you gals are jus waiting for your flats rite?

gs1979

Its ok Justine!! So u ROM liao n when's ur AD??
me staying in Yishun for past 20yrs..i liked the place alot. B staying wif inlaws after customary but it will be in Bt panjang..

janf

gintonic!, me oso stayed in yishun for 16yrs liao!! like yishun alot.. but will be staying wif in-laws in hougang.. =(

sootycat

hi Gintonic
me actually havent ROM yet keke... gonna take place in Feb 06. still long way to go compare to you gals!

gs1979

hi hi janf..so we are actually staying v near yet feels so far away. haha!!

Justine, Feb is getting near too. My AD in May still got 10mths to go...

janf

gintonic

im staying at khatib side.. =)

think i hv left my rec for PG/VG in the may06 thread. if u are sourcing, perhaps can take a look..

koonking

I think HDB very funny, want us to settle down, give birth, but then dun give us the flexibility to purchase houses cheaply, or make us wait super long. My house is in Punggol too, Sundial, ECD is Feb 2008. Crossing my fingers hoping that it may be ready next year end. Some blocks have been built already. =)Anyone else buying flats there?

We will be staying with my bro and sis in law till the flat comes. however we might move back to my wife's place if it din turn out too good.

sootycat

hi Marcus
i totally agree with you! my bf and i have been complaining to ourselves keke! so hard to get a flat. now only waiting for HDB to come up with new ex then we can try our luck again! tendious wait!!

Hi Gintonic
nice to see your reply again
Wow, 10mths to go, must be looking forward ah!! i dun know what to prepare for my ROM haha..seems like far away dun have to rush rite?

koonking

Justine,

Hope for the best, there are so many left overs in Sengkang and Punggol (5Rm mostly) but HDB has yet to launch. I am waiting for that day to come, then maybe I can give up waiting for my current flat.

Nothing to do for ROM one. Go get yourself a nice dress, nice shoes, maybe a MUA. I can intro the one that did for my wife if you want. Oh yah, of coz go find your ROM date lah..

sootycat

hi Marcus
is MUA aka make up artist? my bf suggested hiring one is it really necessary?... act me hardly put any make up so act dun a clue abt such stuff... what much is one MUA by the way?
bf and i looking for 4rm...i also notice sengkang and punggol got lotsa leftover for premium and 5rm flat.. you looking for 5rm?

koonking

Justine,
MUA is make up artist. Its up to u. you know nicer with a pro MUA mah. since ur husband say it is, he maybe paying for it. y not?

I actually have a 4rm BTO in punggol. I dun mind a 5 rm lah. but not for sale leh. hope the sk pg flats are release soon

ariesta

I'm new to this thread. And after looking for 1 year, in new and resale flats, i still cant find any house! ***Sob***Sob***
Marcus, i totally agree wif u. Mhahhaha... No house no babies ....Mhahahaha...

gs1979

Justine, have u signed up wif any BS?? My MUA for ROM was from my BS and she did a gd job. Usually, those MUA will give you a light make up for ROM. Think if u havent sign up wif any BS then u can engaged 1 MUA like wad your bf has suggested.

me v happi
..cos I have booked my AD venue few weeks back so finally can relax abit. But will start to get busy after my exams in Aug.

hihi ariesta...
kao_welcome.gif

i'm also looking for flat but till now no luck. So have u ROM & when is your AD??

sootycat

hi Gintonic,
is BS aka bridal studio? i havent done my research for any yet! dun know where to start is it too early to start now? how much does one standard parkage cost ah? what do they consist of usually? wont wanna spent too much keke..

I acc my fren to Grand Parkroyal hotel for wedding fair yesterday. had a wide eye opening!! my friend also placed deposit for her AD venue. feel so happy for her!
So where's your AD venue?

koonking

Oh you all heard abt the HDB relaxation rule issue? 5% cash and 5% CPF is all you need to pay for HDB or private property. pple is time to buy private property! Mai Tu Liao!

sootycat

Ya Ya,
heard it on the news... I guess its good news for us ah
if they had come up earlier with this scheme my bf and i would have been able to afford the units in Redhill/Tiong Bahbru... Nvm, hope for the best the next round!

autumn8five

Hi Gintonic,

So when's yr AD ? SO u will be staying w in-laws before u found yr dream flat ?

Hi Ariesta,

I am also looking for a flat for about 8 months liao.. no flat no wedding la.. cos I find no pt getting married if not staying together cos i'm not gg to stay w in-laws!! My FH's mum ... wow, tough one to handle !

Hi Marcus,

Yeah.. now more ppl can afford for EC and private property!! sales of resale flats is gonna increase.. meaning prices gg up too? Think givt come up with this ruling to "warm-up" the property market..

gs1979

Justine, BS = Bridal Studio...u r rite!! Well, normally a bridal pkg is quite std which includes either a OTR or MTM WG/EG plus your hubby's suits or pants lor..then plus photo shoot. Maybe u shld start ur hunting now as MTM WG needs abt 2-3mths...

Hi Charmaine, my AD is on 2nd May 2006...wad abt u? Yes, i will b staying wif my FPILs after customary. So glad that the HDB just released the new regulations...hope we can get our lovenest asap.

afcai

Hai-ya, tot this new relaxation rules good meh. paying less down payment upfront but did you know that there would be an accumalation of interest. the longer the loan is , the higher the interest one need to pay. why not pay 20% down payment and then the interest will be lesser.

of cos, the relaxtion rules benefits to those who do not have so much cash.

gs1979

Yes Yes!!!
...I went to get Q no on Monday morning once i got the e-alert!! Finally waited for the walk-in for Bukit Panjang & Bukit Batok!!

sootycat

hi Gintonic,
so u have been eyeing for that location is it?? gd for you! what time u went down to HDB so what's your Q no?

gs1979

Justine, my in-laws staying @ Bukit Panjang mah dats why been waiting for walk-in for that area but too bad, all units were taken up on 1st day of selection. So SAD!!
Gotto wait for another walk-in again!!!

cheers_cheers

I also AD 1st before my BTO Buangkok flat comes... think gotta wait for 1-2 yrs... hmm not sure where to stay after AD too.. hahha maybe stay in own house then wait for the flat to come then stay together.. hehe...

Hi Gin, nice to see u here :D

trina_wys

hello!!

hi cheers!! see u here too!! hahaha..

me also AD before flat.. FH and i haven't even bought our flat yet.. will be staying in my grand parents' vacant flat in punggol first before we slowly hunt for our dream home...

gs1979

Hi Cheers, nice to c u here too!! At least u get to live in your lovenest in 1-2yrs time. Me still dunno when can get our lovenest. Actually me also thot of resale but hubby think the valuation price is quite high so wait for HDB walk-in lor. But hor, i really hope to get our own lovenest soon....

Hi Petrina, welcome!!