Actively searching for BS now - Thread for sharing

Tere's a few quests i'm not sure. Can u gals pls help me...
1)For Kai bridal their package $3900nett exclude photography and groom suit is actually cater to the brides only & top up $500 for 1 set of MTM mens suit. Can i dun take the photographers they tie up with rather i go engage my own photographers?

2) Any one here only outdoor shoot?

Pls help....

hey ryes, so which BS did you sign up with in the end? I'm sure you can tell the photographer your comments and what you want.

little eyes, of course you can choose not to engage kai's listed photographers - just choose the package without photography lor. However, if you are planning to engage the photographers that kai ties up with, it is usually a cheaper deal to sign up thru the bridal studio. I'm sure if you only want outdoor shoot you can request, but studio shoot - the details may be captured better, as there is absolute control with factors such as the lighting. Hope this helps.

Hi choco cowgirl,

I have not decided which BS to sign up as yet leh, still trying to coax FH..hahahaha..dare not bring it up to him, coz he will black face and start giving me lecture abt blowing up our budget...

Hi little eyes, wow, at $3900 without men's suit? Do you get to keep all the gowns? For my BS searching silhouette is the most expensive, at $4180 for MTM standard package with flowers and all, but exclude photography.

Highly recommend siverlining, flamingo, ritz couture(very nice designs!)

Hi Little Eyes

I think Divine Couture wld be able to do those gowns u are referring to, if not Graceful Image. Check out the magazines at the racks at Borders to find out which BSs wld specialise in those.

If not I think White-Link shd be able to.. But my take, is to go for Divine.

hi little eyes, for soft flowy dreamy organza gowns - go to silverlining, divine, ritz couture. No offence mehmeh, but I hear of quite a few brides unhappy with graceful image and whitelink, I try to avoid BS with bad reputation, the last thing I need is headache in the run up to the wedding due to poor wedding vendors.
I feel that kai is fabulous with elaborate lace and embroidery WG.

Ryes, cos if you sign up with a BS later on that actually has a tie up with O studio, you can probably get a better deal with O studio. I don't know much about O studio, just probably flipped thru one of their albums at my BS, but I was already very sure that my PS must be done by ray ong!!

Hi chocolate cowgirl,

i have heard so many rave reviews about ray.. could u share with us what made u so sure that yr PS must be done by ray? Also, is he better with PS or AD photography? I am currently considering Bridal veil, but they dun tie up with ray.. so will be paying a visit to kai to check out his gowns since he ties up with ray

little eyes,
for soft flowy gowns.. i strongly recommend Divine.. I'm with Divine.. package ranges from $3988 (without photography) to $5288 (with Photography)

hi choco cowgirl,

actually not true leh, studio offers their own walk in customers who sign with them directly better deals and often they offer the smaller pics to BS and we have to top up to get the bigger pics.

They also offer discounts to their own direct customers too.

hi ryes, maybe that is for O studio, for my 2 photographers, they honestly told me that the tie-ups with the BS was cheaper so I assumed that was true for all. Glad that your studio offers you a better deal!

Hi ayane, I first saw ray's work at a friend's wedding middle of last year and I made myself remember his name. It was just different even when compared to the other top photographers - very natural, he catches the couple in 'action' so it is less posed. He also has this signature photo of the bride with a flying/blown veil - gorgeous....not sure how to describe it. If you have a look at his webpage you should get a fairly good feel of his work. If you really like bridal veil, I think you should just take up their package and source for the photo yourself if eg you also want ray ong.

I love ray ong's studio shots - I prefer his PS, but he is supposed to be one of the best in the business for AD also.

Hi choco cowgirl,

thanks for yr info! yah, his pix are less 'posey' than the other renowned photographers, which my FH doesnt really fancy, so thats good!

do u hv any idea what his current rates for PS and AD are? I hv emailed him, but so far no reply from him. Also, do u know if the promo with ray with the singaporebrides membership card is still on?

No idea about the promo with singbrides membership card. I only know my rate (not sure if it has increased) for PS which is $2.8K for 36pages.I will be topping up for the framed collage - ask him to show you, it is sure better than a portrait of the couple! Can display at wedding. Also toying with the idea of flying him overseas for a shoot.
For his AD, I don't remember cos he was already booked up on my AD anyway.
Why don't you try calling him 68448575. He replied to me pretty fast thru email the first time and sent me the pricelist then.

You should meet up with him, he is really nice.

wow, that's exciting!! where are you thinking of having yr PS? fren of mine went to paris and had really lovely photos! when is yr PS gg to be?

he was booked for yr AD? oh dear, hope he is still available for my AD. yah, think i shall call him soon.. thanks so much!

Hi Chocolate cowgirl

Oh yes, I definitely heard of the bad reviews of GI & WL. But off-hand I couldn't think of any other BSs which are pretty gd with their organza gowns. Definitely wld recommend DC, but their price is somewhat high too? Seems recently tt GI had some gd reviews.. Sigh, they aren't really consistent I must say.

WL is somewhat not recommended for the prices, can get better elsewhere.

I wonder if Sattine, this new bridal shop which has the same class as Ritz is recommended though. Read some postings tt the service is gd & definitely no hard sell..

Does Tan Yoong do those dreamy gowns w/o being too avante garde?

hi ayane, thinking of heading to HK cos my fiance is based there now. A friend of my friend did his photo shoot in paris too...wonder if it is the same friend. haha. My PS is in sept. I actually want him for PS, then I found out that his AD photos are very wellknown and that he was already booked on my AD, but it is ok, my first choice for AD imagegarden was already booked also for my AD, but I managed to talk them into booking me too. *phew*

mehmeh, but tan yoong's prices are sooo different from like ted wu and divine. expensive!!!

hi choco cowgirl,

my fren took hers in paris abt 2 yrs ago.. she wanted to fly ray there, but didnt manage to in the end.. who is the photographer at imagegarden? its amazing how you already know who/what u want!! I am so totally clueless
am still hunting for my BS.. and still yet to cfm my venue, sighs.. when is yr AD by the way?

hi ayane, I know who I want cos when I figured that I'm getting married, I started to pay more attention to my friends' weddings and learn what I liked lor.
When is your AD ayane? Mine is in end nov05. I think you should confirm your venue first cos everything else (VG,PG etc) will depend on your AD. I feel that choosing BS can wait, cos if you have at least 8months to go, still have enuff time to MTM gowns.
Ok we have different friend who went to paris.

Imagegarden has 4 photographers, I only wanted the boss Meng (I'm very fussy, haha). And since there will be 2 PG for the AD - one to take faraway shots and the other closeup, they can take a max of 2 jobs for each AD. It was only when the other bride gave up Meng did I sign up with imagegarden.

Oh another contribution

I do remeber that my fren had tt type of organza flowy gown done at Flamingo. Very pretty & low back too... I think shd be less ex than DC.

Chocolate cowgirl

Yupz we shd advice all our girlfrens who might get married sometime down the road to start paying attention & not leave things to last minute.

Ayane, agree with chocolate cowgirl, finalise ur PG & VG asap. Coz if you like a certain person's work, better book before he's snapped up

hi choco cowgirl and mehmeh,

thanks for the advice.. my AD is in may 2006 so still not too bad
btw, is VG = videographer and PG = photographer? just checking, hehe!

choco cowgirl, u are gg to have 2 PGs?? wouldnt that be additional costs?? Or is it part of their package? I just went to check out imagegarden's website.. it looks great!! esp like their b/w shots! was this also recommended by yr fren? wonder why i haven really heard the name until now... ;p are u also engaging them as yr VG?

the reason why I hv started sourcing for BS is cos i heard they hv gd deals with the PG that they tie up with.. however, also read somewhere that we can actually get better deals if we go directly to the photographer... any idea abt this?

any comments abt Sophia Wedding Collections?am contemplating them coz their OTR gowns are nice.Any feedback abt their MTM gowns?their photography?Not too sure abt their price tho...

am sourcing for a BS now that is reasonably priced with nice gowns and photography..any to share in addition to those on the forum currently?

hi ayane, yes you guessed correctly about VG and PG!
Yes I will be having 2 photographers cos that is the norm for imagegarden, I love their B/W shots also, actually they will be doing a combination of B/W and coloured, best of both worlds. They were the PG of my fiance's brother, I saw their photos and albums and I just HAD to have them too! For VG I have engaged the wedding paparazzi, imagegarden is only for my AD PG.

Ayane, as long as you have the date of your AD and booked the venue, I guess you can source for your PG (from BS or ala carte). I had the impression that thru BS they tend to have better deals with the PG they tie up with.

Hi choco cowgirl,

hmm, now i am starting to be 'swayed' towards imagegarden..
really like their b/w shots and also they hv 2 PGs (wow! didnt think abt close-up and faraway shots!!) but i hv sorta decided on my AD PG already
altho i hv not confirmed him yet. What do you think of their PS? Is it as good?

Can u share with me how much is yr AD package with them?

Hi Preciousthots

Are u Shan? Anyway dun go for Sophia Wedding Collection, though they do have pretty OTR gowns. I find their package too high end for a slightly above average BS. Can get better for the price they are offering.

U might want to drop by SWC's thread to ask the current brides

Hi Ayane

U're welcome..

thanks choco cowgirl! I hv received it
just sent meng an email to make an appt this weekend, hope he can make it! cant wait to show my FH their portfolio (he is too busy/lazy to check their webby, hee!)

btw, do u know who meivis is?

I just want to recommend my BS to everyone actively searching for one now. Mine is Milan Wedding Collection at Tanjong Pagar, it belongs to the one-stop type of BS. I feel that its gowns are beautiful, photos good too, price is medium range. I've been to Divine Couture, White Link etc etc before during my search. In the end still chose Milan, coz the photos are nice enough for me and the gowns are beautiful enough. For those who want to MTM your gowns, I'd advise you try those OTR first. I've had some friends who MTM their gown but in the end found that they don't like it and it's a bit too late. Plus it's more expensive to MTM. Try asking for those OTR new gowns if you are the sort who minds that others have worn the wedding gown before.

If you're visiting Milan, you may want to look for my coordinator Yvonne. She's really good at sniffing out customer's tastes. Call them to make an appointment, and if you've no recommendors to quote, can quote my name Hazel and you will get a few freebies.

Here's some of the photos which I didn't choose for my main album to share with all of you so that you can get a feel of Milan's style:
http://community.webshots.com/user/hazelsee

Hi Hi...

Have any of you considerede Flamingo? I find their package very reasonable and the people there are very friend and easy to work with.

Came across this thread. My 2 cents worth....

I'm with Yvonne Creative. Signed up with them after talking to a few BS. Many of the BS turn me off since they are very pushy, plus u'll get a sense that u can't really trust them...most important is that u gotta like their gowns, photography and u feel comfortable with the person who will be your coordinator. After all,u will need to meet and communicate with her many many times & u'll want the whole preparation for ur wedding to be as pleasant as possible....same with reno. My coordinator, Lynn, and I talk like we're old frens, and she always treats her customers as if we are her daughters getting married.If any one wants to look for her, let me know. u'll get a better deal with my referral than just walking in out of the blue

i am also with Yvonne creative and agree with attitude! hee..

btw, no offence to milan fans but i heard cases that they have to top up this & that and pple do regret it...

Hi Minssy

No worries, everyone has different tastes
As for topping up, I think it really depends on the individual. I didn't top up much actually, only for extra photos which I chose, so I think it's quite fair. And they told us right from the start the amt we need to pay to top up for photos. I also think relationship with the coordinator is v important. For me, I can talk very easily with my coordinator. Recently my album layout wasn't done very well, and they were quick to reassure me they'll rectify and contact me asap. Will update when it's done.

I think the relationship between coordinator and brides is a two-way relationship, I'm open about my expectations and communicate it very clearly to them. I've only this budget etc etc, what I want. And Milan also stated very clearly their terms and conditions.

Well, to be fair, I had 2 frens who used Milan. One told me not to consider them as they're very pushy and lots of hidden costs...dat's y I didn't even visit them. The other was quite ok with their service...It's up to the individual I suppose....

hi hazel,

i second to what you mentioned.. if our relationship with the coordinator is good, then we can get things done more easily! hee

Yup, so to all brides looking for BS, make friends with your coordinator
Think their job also quite monotonous, everyday do about the same things. Explain the package over and over again, very boring. If we become friends with them, we stand to gain.

hi anyone can tell me wats GI??? WL is white link rite??? are they good??? i'm now searching for a BS. as ROM will be this year and AD next year... any recommendations???

my colleague who took Milan told me their service is very bad thus think not considering them... looking for someplace resonable and good with no hidden costs...

hi annabelle,

GI is graceful image. there are good and bad reviews so its up to you to decide

normal will include 30 15R photos, 2 gowns, 1 tea dress, make up, suits for fathers, flowers and car deco. car may or may not be inclusive. if it is, you must check the model of the car. we heard of a merz case and the bride only realised that its a super OLD merz on the day of the wedding.

Hi annabelle,

For no. of photos, it depends on the pkg n the BS...generally is 20 photos n above....

For some BS, u have to engage a photographer separately....for some, u mtm the EG to keep, for some, the groom's pants are mtm to keep....Some BS also don't provide car n petrol for PS....

I visited both GI n WL b4 I signed up with YC...the fact i didn't choose them speaks for itself....

Hi Annabelle

Not trying to hard-sell Milan, but I guess your colleague probably had bad experience of service due to perhaps being served by the wrong people or lack of communication? For me the experience was very good, Yvonne (my coordinator), Kym (photographer) and Liren (my MUA) are all very nice to me. Treat me to lunch etc. Very flexible also, I changed wedding dates, didn't want EG then later wanted it again etc etc, made a lot of changes and demands, but never once did they show me black face. So I guess it really depends on the individual.

Most important thing is that you like the gowns and the photos, and am comfortable with the BS. Wedding must be a happy event. I've had friends with very bad experience too with other studios, even WL, Z-wedding etc. So, it really depends. Wishing you all the best in your search for ideal BS.

Hi Annabelle

I've read about some Malaysia bridal studios & seen some pix of the gowns & PS, and I must say that they are somewhat comparable to some of the BS in S'pore. Though I did not sign up with any JB BS, I think you might want to consider them if you are one who would top-up alot becoz of the pictures taken. Generally pictures are the most costly, ranging from $50-$80, depending on the size and the BS.

Seems in Malaysia, after topping up to 80 - 100 pix, the whole package may cost you around $2.5k-2.8k. Tt's so much cheaper than S'pore BS.

But of coz this wld require a lot travelling time & for many of us, it can be hassle to travel to & fro.

Just sthg you might want to consider..

PS: I'm a Yvonne Creative bride as well

Hi Annabella,

When is ur AD? Do u have a lot of time left? To follow up from what mehmeh said, if u can afford the time, then mayb u can try JB BS. Not too impressed with most of them, but I poped into Dawn, which is located at JB, just to KPO, n found that their photos r pretty nice. Only thing is dun really fancy the gowns.....n travelling there is a hassle....

hi annabelle,
dun even consider JB BS.. you have to go BS like at least 10 times.. even little things like choosing fabric for gown, or show them pictures etc etc...

ok now there are 3 Yvonne brides.. attitude, meh meh & me!

hi all thanks for all e advice... my AD is next year think september, so i still have time to search... actually started cause i wanted e BS i chose to provide me a gown for my ROM thus i started searching early as my ROM will most likely be in september... will consider YC... haven really look at any BS yet jus sourcing around while settling reno stuff and looking for hotels...

dun think i will consider JB BS cause i had a make-over package with my FH when i was 21 in JB BS didnt really like their gowns anyway i used my own gowns for those photos...

hey mehmeh got your mail... looks nice leh... slim figure leh... so envy... ok have already put YC on my list... thanks... headache now *sigh*...

later FH still wan to go look for quotation for renovation after work...

Hi Annabelle

U're welcome.. Do decide on the budget 1st & then only go to BSs tt u shortlist based on it. No pt going for sthg tt wld burn a hole in your pocket, even though getting married is once in a lifetime.

Do check out the OTR gowns & photos before you sign on the dotted line. If you do not like what you see, quite unlikely wld they be able to produce u want, in the event you think of MTM or doing sthg unique. Also bargain!!

Hi Annabella,

Fully understand ur frustration....I was also searching for a BS and an ID concurrently back then...i'm signed up with Thomas from A&D Interior since. His rates are pretty competitive, n his design sense is pretty gd...u can call him at HP: 9066 3236...what sets him apart from other IDs is that he will do drawings for u even when u have not signed up with him yet...

hi ladies, i'm in a dilemma btw flamingo & JHC now..i know budget n chemistry with the designer are the points i'm lookin out when i choose the BS cos i will only need the WG/EG & mens suit...
i like both designers cos they r v approachable n patient. However, the designer at Flam mentioned something wich i'm quite worried. she said she dun believe in having a specific gown/cut that can make someone looks slimmer. i thot most designer will advise and design somethin that can hide our flaws? Now, the rates of of JHC with photography is equivalent to the rates i'm getting from Flam w/o photography...so me headache now....

Hi Papermoon

Hmm, how much did each quote you? There's another BS which I thot has very reasonable package, more so when you intend to buy more pix for the album. Seems like it is at least $5-10 below the market rate of $65 for a 15R. You heard of Jawn Happy After?

Read thru the thread, seems like the brides of Jawn are very happy with most of everything. Moreover it seems a hit with the plus size brides when I read abt it sometime back...

I do agree. Chemistry matters, but I think budget matters more... Don't blow it. Don't have a life of regrets for over spending