Actively searching for BS now - Thread for sharing

Hi Geberra,

Got a lot of access to the internet, so i like surfing ard to help BTBs..
U're most welcome, hope it helps in ur shopping for a BS! Care to share which BSs u eyeing now?

adelene

Hi viv,

I requested for full package (incl PS) from Bridal Concept (BC) and they offered me corsages. Need to top-up $150 for MTM. Mayb you can try asking them again if you are interested in BC. Cos they are very keen in closing the deal with any BTB.

I'm really interested in the YC roadshow, but I have a wedding lunch this sunday and my FH is one of the brothers.

Sure miss out those perks given during the roadshow.

guazi

adel, thanks.!! i havent decided where to go for HM yet.. most prob korea or taiwan . hehe. popular spots now.

guazi

adel.. thanks!!! well, becuae i will be missing the natas fair as well.. i wonder whehter i can get the same package too at elsewhere ???? should i go on free and easy since you are there a couple of times? hehe.

adelene

Taiwan is easy to travel F&E. same language and just get a lonely planet! Sept is a good month to go, weather cooling, no tornado.

ariesta

I just came from a Taiwan trip in April! It's sooo nice there. Go to "Green Island" Lu Dao. It's veri nice there, they have undersea hotspring that is piped to their public house. If u know the locals there (N it's not hard to know them, they r very very frenly ppl), they can bring u out into the beach and soak into the REAL hotspring!

Jiaoxi is another place wif lotsa hotsprings, but theirs are more commerialized.

sinkor

Anneong Haseyo!

Hi Angie!

Chukahamnida ("Congratulation" in korean) for your coming BIG DAY!!! :D

ya....Adelene, help me to promote korea tour lah!!! hahah..... yup, Angie, should you need any advise on tour in Korea, feel free to ask me or email me anytime..... :D

guazi

hey thanks sinkor............ you are working at travel agency??? yea i deinitely need to find a good package to tour korea but i will defnitely miss natas fair as next week my wedding.. no time to go lar...dunno can get good deal or not other than those travel fair?

sinkor

Hi Angie!!

Aiyoyo..... so sad that you have forgotten me liao.... i am not working in tour agency lah! I can only advise you where to go if you are going to korea bcos my FH is a Korean lah! U forget liao meh? I even send my link for u to see! hahah....

But its ok as i understand you are very busy bcos ur BIG DAY is coming! :D

guazi

hey sinkor,

aiyoooooo, how i know your nick is sinkor wor!!! hahahah. you used another name when you emailed me ma hahahhaha. yea now super busy.. still need to settle something kekek.

maybe next time when you go back to korea with your hubby you all can be my tourguide?? hehe

sinkor

Hi Angie,

heehee...... my nick is sinkor mah (stand for singaporekorea). Fyi, i am going back to Korea after my ROM on 31/10 ~ 6/11. So, if you happen going there on this period, keep me inform!
Remember hor, when u have your AD photo, keep me in post!

and u remember that i email u for permission to let my friend view your photo? She is Adelene (the taiwan lobang)lor! haha......

guazi

oh i seeeee hahah. erm.. not sure wheher to go Korea during this period leh.. but you will be busy at korea right? shouldnt bother you two to bring us around one lor hehehe.

unless u go korea again another time.. then can bring us around right? ehhe.

sinkor

Anneong Haseyo.....

hahaha..... its ok for us to bring u around bcos i will be meeting my singaporean friend over there too! anyway, no hurry on ur honeymoon, now u have to save all your energy on your AD.....

Only after AD, then think of ur idea honeymoon bah!

sinkor

Anneong!!

Aiyoyo....I miss you leh! hahaha..... now i still the same...ROM on 29 Oct and flew to my second home the following day liao. So how your AD getting on? Any AD pix to share with me? email me lah please......heehee

guazi

Yea AD very fun! i emailed u my AD photos in KL, Sg's one i haevnt uploaded. will do it this weekend ok!!

seems like this thread 2 of us talking only ahhah

sinkor

ya hor! u didnt say i also didnt realise leh! hahaha..... maybe we should "get out" of this thread as we have confirmed our BS liao! hahaha....

Ne! I saw ur photo liao..... have replied alot of good and curious remarks to you liao..... Go check your mail! :p

kurera

THat would be flamingo, check the thread and you'll know..lots of satisfied...brides!

Majority of us are by word of mouth...

sushi_lover

Hi jesric, you can consider my BS Precious Moment Bridal at Sin Ming Plaza, just nearby upper thomson rd. They currently have very attractive package at only $1995. You can also check their thread if interested. Personally, I signed up with them cos my FH and I find their gowns are real attractive and they captured quite nice photos... also, since after visiting a few BS, we still think they have offered us the best deal.

ayura

I've been to Precious Moment and I do not find their deals attractive. Neither do I find their gowns real attractive. Their MTM ones are not bad. But OTR is just so-so.

And this $1995 package has been going on for a long time, from what the guy told me. And that its excluding OUTDOOR event. and in case the outdoor event has to be reschedule due to bad weather etc, be prepared to fork out a price much much higher compared to other BS i've enquired upon

jacquise

What are the usual hidden costs that the studio wont tell u when u sign their package and we have to top up? Eg: 1 i know is fake eyelashes on AD makeup. Will Corsages and Wristlets be thrown in?

hi jacquise,

Make up: fake eye lashes & ampoule.. this is provided by the beautician normally and not the BS.. and its up to individual... so it cant really be considered as hidden cost...

Photography: what is the min to do up magazine style.. if there is no minimum, is there any design fee, any price to pay if you change album type etc..

gowns: if you MTM with extra stuff such as adding pearls or more sequins or whatever, any hidden charge?

corsage (hand, groom, parents) are part of it.. they usually provide the minimum that is required..

badbatzmaru_ox

i have a marvellous make-up artist for my ROM.
she is a friendly and patient person. she come out ideas and comments for my overall apperance.
i really like her make-up and hair-style as well. she really did a good job. i look so gorgeous on my ROM day. and she provide me a trial make-up before ROM.she charge me only $130 for everything. who interested can call mrs lee 98585540.trust me she will make u like a princess which every girl dream to.

jacquise

Hi Minssy,
Thanks for the help. In other words the beautician will still charge me for the fake eye lashes & ampoules right? WOW! Add sequins also must pay extra! Boo Hoo!!!Thanks, when i visit more BS i'll ask more thoroughly. So MUA is usually not part of the pkg is it?

hi jacquise,

yes.. its subjective though.. if you dowan also can.. but of cos it will be good to use the ampoule if: your face is oily/combi or pespire easily type. for fake lashes, you can skip if you have natural long lashes...you will look nicer if you have them so its entirely up to you...

yes i heard of BS asking you to pay for extra sequins.. duh rite?

make up is part of the package. you will have 4 sessions: trial, PS, AD day & AD nite. some use the trial for ROM. actually the trial is extra one lah...

ayura

it really depends. Like for my BS, they dont charge for additional materials used. and I've been to a few, some of them requires more $ while others dont. So far the one i rem most that dont charge, even for OTR touch up is Yvonne Creation. and they dont charge for the extra materials used like sequins, crystals etc. Thomson charged when its more than 30%? but its based on their criteria. Diff people have diff judgement of 30%. so its best to double check with the co first.

ayura

Jacquise
so far i checked like 8-9 BS and all except one dont include the top up. Nowadays they are very open on this top up charges and will let u know on the spot.

remember to ask also 1-any additional cost for arriving at Bride house before a certain timing 2-if makeup done on additional day (ie customary n wedding banquet is on 2 seperate days). some even charge additional for hair setting, renting of accessories etc. very horrible. so must check properly

I mentioed 1 BS didnt ask customer to pay right? thats Divine Couture. But they are on the higher end. Service wise is v good too.

and i NEVER believe in ampoules on wedding day. i've already posted one on a discussion on that.

kathlesami

I'm new here, so need some advices from you gals.
I'm getting married in April 06 and is now on the lookout of BS. I saw this package @S$2388 which seems like a good catch. Can anyone advise me what it lacks of or anything that i can bargain from the BS?

Package includes:
Overseas location (Bintan Island)
• makeup & hairdo
• wedding costume
• groom suit
• 15R size : 20 pieces with 40 poses
• 5R size : 20 pieces
• magazine album
• 2 days 1 night

Thanks so much

hi katherine,

20 photos is not enough for magazine style... most BS always 'earn' from you from the photos.. normally 45 is the min before you can do mag style. and if you go so far to to PS, dun think you will find it contented to just take 20 photos rite?

u can PM me and i can send you a list of some BS comparison... dun be cheated by the cheap price cos there aint no such thing
min is always $3188 at least and in the end, couple will spend more to top up on some photos..

hi katherine,

it looks to me tt this package is merely for the overseas PS? it wld mean tt u ur gowns, MU & bouquet, car deco for the AD are not included in this package.

I think if u want to go for this ala-carte package, i think u can negotiate for more pix to be included in the album. Minssy's rite, since u're going Bintan to do the PS, u might just top-up more when u select for the 15R album.

U can consider forgoing the 5R loose pix, generally it's not essential, and bargain for more pix in the main 15R album.

I think if u go sign up with a BS tt does overseas PS, u prob wun have to pay so much? Btw, what's this BS in question?

ayura

min i've checked out is 2988 with 28pcs given. 1 MTM. but i think if bargain for 2pc shldnt be a prob. However, I didnt sign up with this BS. But they are still not bad considering the fact that they dont charge ridiculous price and i think the female boss is not bad.

I think when u bargain for the pics, one thing u have to CLEARLY stated (in invoice) is the photographs and photographer. The photographs, will they be digital artwork added? I know that one All-in-1 BS charge additional for that and the price is like $105 per pcp after that. This is so much exp compared to those who do similar work at only $60-75/pc n there's room for negotitation. However, some required min no. of pic in order to do magazine/collages style.

For this BS high rate of $105, u can go look for ala carte photographer, maybe slightly more but the standard i feel is going to be much much better because they are specialised in this area.

g00ber

One word of advice:
if the gowns are not MTM you better try the gowns in the shop first, and have a couple which you'd love to wear for your wedding day and photoshoot before signing up the package. Many a times, brides sign up for packages at wedding shows/booths without going down to the shop to try on the actual gowns first.

The danger is that you cannot find a wedding gown or EG which you really love to wear for your AD and PS but you have to make do coz you already sign the package. don't get yourself into that situation.

Also, note that the gown you like may not be available for your PS coz another bride may have booked it for her PS or AD. so if you take such packages, you need to have at least 2-3 gowns which are acceptable to you in the shop.

ayura

Yes that right. And I've been to Divine and also one typical bridal shop (which I dont wan to disclose name) and while Divine has those thats being reserved, zipped and put aside, this bridal shop just put the wedding gown outside on the rack.

I cant rem if it has been zipped up but its placed together with a lot of gowns whereas Divine, u can see its seperated out. And my friend is saying, for hers, even though she has already 'booked' that gown with a despoit placed, its not surprise if they decided to pass this to someone else thats BEFORE her date! So like what grape mentioned, go down to BS n see their gowns.

Dont sign becaus package is good or watever. U might think thats great but u most prob havent do enough homework. Coordinator always wana u to sign of course smile at u. but u dun koe how some designers or some other staffs or people change when u signed with them. I've been to this BS where the designer is constantly typing n pressing her keypads n checking her phone. Irritating. And this BS is active in advertising lor. Everytime I flip the magazine n saw them featured, i'm thinking wow must be exp and standard good. after my visit, i'm glad i didnt even check up price with them in the first place.

and like what grape mentioned, if u are opting for OTR, u better check out what is available for u. and EVEN if u are taking MTM, u shld visit n the shop n see how designer works with u etc because MTM means u r interacting with designer n not coordinator.

For me, I've been to few BS and most of them, I'm able to do gown trying. Maybe because some is those higher ends one. And even Yvonne Creative also let me try gowns. I didnt try any at Thomson. So its at the gown trying that u open ears to see whats the feedbacks give to u. U've eyes to see for yrself what is good. So listen n see if u can trust this person for a GOOD advice.

I've been to Silhoutte and they r very nice as in, if u wan OTR, they said u have to choose one u like, otherwise its not only a prob for the bride, its also a prob for them! See, this is the kind of service we shld be getting! No hardsell, nothing!

Unfortunately, other BS esp those who are at bridal show (from what i heard lah) they only know how to push, push n push u to sign a package. This kind of pushy BS better dont sign. because they only have their interest in mind, not yrs. Puke puke.

p/s: My bs is not Divine. I like my BS too but since Divine offer OTR n I see how they works things there, i'm citing them as a good eg.

kathlesami

hi ladies, thanks so much for the advices. Appreciate that. Have to start scouting for BS soon..think my first stop will be Yvonne Creative..they have quite a good reputation.

hi katherine,

U're most welcome. I am ex-bride of YC. U can pop by the YC thread to find out more or ask any related questions.. there are helpful ex-brides & BTBs there to assist

ayura

Katherine, how much is yr budget? u shld go to both all-under-one-roof and those that are specialised in gowns only (partner with photography) for a look. For under-one-roof, i would say u can consider dropping by YC too for a look.
Whatever it is, look at the photographs, gowns and make sure u & bf/husband like them before u sign up (for all BS)

kathlesami

Hello..

My budget should be around 3-3.5K. Will go around shopping for BS this weekend..Wish me luck..=)Thanks for the advices..

ayura

I havent been to this shop but I've been to another newly opened one as well. Not a nice experience.

Katherine
Among those I've visited and I think service is good, gowns not bad (but photographs i dont comment since its individuals) & within yr budget...I think u can try YC, Bridal Concept and also Zann & Denn (my BS) hehehhee. Maybe Zann & Denn still within yr budget. Its going to be all MTM.

I went BC and was served by Big Sally. Nice lady also. But v hard to bargain for more pics. But if u really want lots of pics, u can try Feline. Heard not bad too for the service. But I havent been to that place yet.

Anyway yr budget shld only be for the BS because I think when u top up pics, u have to allocate another few hundreds to Ks for them.

hi lily,

Hmm, why dun u pop by at the YC thread.. I dun have it in soft-copy & but i think i have it archived somewhere there. Also u can ask the current YC brides of how are things in YC, i think more opionions also can help u to be more certain of how things are like in YC.

junior22

hi everybody

i m currently sourcing for BS,wanna tk a look at some of the package being offer to have a rough ideal to my needs.anyone mind sharing with me your package,pls kindly email me [email protected]
thks a million.