A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

jes~

412716.jpg

This is my new master toilet =)

acid

in hdb also can do, if you shift it outside of the toilet.

but for hdb the pipings might be ugly as hdb do not allows concealing of pipes and wires ;/

jes~

Hmm.. heard from my ID that HDB cannot do conceal piping i.e. taps can only come from vanity top and not from the wall.

annpaul

hey jes!! i love your toilet! i've been thinking of having 2 sinks too! my FH and me start work at same time so don want to fight over using of toilets. hees and i feel its romantic to brush teeth together! hahaha anyway, i like the wall and mirror and glass too! we'll be getting HDB wan...duno can do anot! hmmm

sabretooth

Hi Jo, actually I did the ID myself. Just to make things clear, I am not in the ID or design line. Did a few studies and source the different expertise on capentry, electricity, plumbing to save cost. A substantial amount though, I must said. And aspialle & crown, like what I previously mentioned, the headboard design & bed frame cost me less than $600. So, if a designer quotes anythiing more than that, he/she is obvously reaping you off. But bear in mind, I took almost 3 weeks leave to supervise every installation myself.

apaitu

Hi Jes

I like your toilet too, but how u keep the things in the bathroom?

Have u start use it? Convenience use?

David

jes~

Hi David

The mirror is actually a cabinet so there's no storage problem =)
There's 3 layers of shelving inside so I can place tons of beauty stuff inside.. hehe

summerice

Hi jes i am wondering is it good to put those make up items in the toilet cabinet? i think no matter what it will still be consider a place with moisture right? i am also thinking of should i put inside the toilet cabinet, but i am those that seldom make up so all the items will last for sometimes dont know will it be a good idea to put it there.

jgal

Phone pic not so good.. and missing Plasma TV

The dinning area + living area.. Leather wall..
*with silk cushion and tinted mirror- and missing plasma* -
the tv console is actually hidden into the adj room. So the whole wall is flush, the shiny white thing is the reflection of the table lamp opps the room.
414411.jpg

My Fav - 20th Storey Night view
414412.jpg

My 2nd fav- my chandeline

414413.jpg

jgal

Matching bomb shelter door...the 2 cushions on wall are 3 inch thick and the silk material ($100psm) is no longer imported.
414418.jpg
And my FH's 19 flowers on the wall near the door.. He told me i cannot request for more liao..

doreamon

Hi anyone know how much will it cost me to have marble flooring at my living room and those phaket lookalike (hope i spell it correctly, its those dark dark colour wood flooring) flooring in the 3 bedroom... looking for a 4A unit now n wondering how much will it cost me to do the flooring ... thxs a lot ...

jgal

Aspialle : Got it cheap... only $430+50(installation)... we made the order before it gets popular.. Cos' another neighbour went to ask for the same it was priced at $550 already.

Jonju : You need to ask check out with the contractor. Also need to check the quality of hte marble flr you want to do. different orgin, size and color will give you different price for marble.
As for parquet flr, also depends on the wood strip. Some parquet can be cheaper than laminate even.

summerice

Really cheaper then laminates? i check out a few ID as long as parquet will be more ex then the laminates.

Jonju ya like what Jgal say usually marble flooring i know will be most ex like gradnite, the long strip parquet also will be ex. I have a friend that spend 30k just on this kind of flooring.

jgal

I heard frm 1 neighbour.. her id told her.. if use praquet "from forget where" will be cheaper, because the quality is not as good and shorter strips.

Marble tends to have natural lines and color may not be consistent. So normally for marble flr, they will lay out all the tiles for your to 'inspect' before they install. Less lines more consistence means more ex lor.
There is also broken marble which was popular for a while in the 80s. White marble tends to stain because liquid such as water will seep thru the natural pores. Same goes for granite. Another neighbour decided not to use white granite for kitchen tabletop beause soya sauce will stain the granite deep in if left for a few mins. I guess the same will happen to marble.

apaitu

Hi jonju

I got the quotation before... the marble itself about $7 to $8psf and the labour is about $3.50 psf.

If you do solid timber deck in the house, u can use nytoh it only cost u about $5 to $6 psf, if you use those chengai ( dark dark wood for out door)it cost more... about $8 to $9 psf...

But both choise i think very difficult to maintain, that's why i prefer user homo or laminate, easy to maintain and cheeper... ha ha

But my place not ready yet, still try to get more quotation to compare... if u got some quote, we can share it. i hope u dun mind...

david

highlow

sorry to interrupt guys....

jgal, do you mind to tell me where u get your chandeline? i only know of da vinci and the it costs at least 3k each.

summerice

Jgal sometimes not true that they will lay out for u to inspect...coz the tiles all comes packed. so if this batch all like that then u have to wait for next batch...i think they will only layout a few pcs mayb.

In fact homo tiles the color are not the same also....now when i look at my floor i can tell some are lighter and some are darkers. No different also, n ppl also tell me that these tiles are like marbles also...if i spill things on the floor i must quickly clean.

Solid surface also not good. I find that my soild surface easily dirty and hard to clean off...maybe i need to buy the magic sponge. Or is it my solid surface is cheaper kind? If i know it is so troublesome i will not use it, use post form also better. haha

jgal

Blur 2 : my chandeline is frm chan haut.. very good service, but they are slightly more pricy and old fashion :p

SummerIce: I agree and disagree with you. First of all, tiles under the same batch shld be similar if they are made under good QC. That's why you pay more for some tiles, it's for the QC. China tiles tend to be cheaper even though their design is the same. Thus they have problem like different tiles color under the same batch. You need get tiles >$4psf as a guide.

I hope your contractor didnt give tiles frm different batch. That will sure to have different because the raw material will defer.

As for the stain ,my neighbours tried all sort of sauces and liquid on the tiles when they do the choosing. We actually found some tiles better resistance than the other.

** BTW , we have a huge redhiller community :p **

jgal

Blur2 : to add on the chandeline. There is alot of design right now. You need to take ur time to chose.
1) consider if your want to use false ceiling, If yes, you need to see if it lights will be too low after you install. And does it give you the grand effect.
2) consider if you want to get matching wall-mounts.
3) Black of transparent. skeleton or with glass stem.
i like black ones but it will make my house too dark as we already got 1 black wall. We think the glass stem is more classy. And those metal skeleton ones will go our of trend :p

4) maintenance.I clean them every fornightly :p to keep the crystal clear.. hee hee .. my PIL's chandeline is greasy now after 5 yrs ..

summerice

but i am not staying in redhill leh...my place is one mrt stop away from redhill. That time i try to get the flats there but never get selected.

jgal

blur2 : chan huat has quite alot of shops at balestier. Cannot miss it when you are there.. :p

SummerIce : so sorry.Our forum is pte- only redhillers at redhill rd
Too far away , committee don accept.

apaitu

Hi Jgal

May I know how much is ur chandeline cost? it is real crystal or similar material or plastic/glass? it breakable? R u just use water and clean?

I still staying old flat now but want to buy 4 rooms HDB very soon. I was thinking installl this type of light in the living first ( cos I sake of the existing light), when i buy new house, I move it to new place too. Wht u think?

jgal

David .. $480 incl. installation . But do note that you cant get this kind of price anymore. :p
Crystal lah :p but you need to clean it quite regularly else grimes will accummulate and it turns yellow. I clean with newspaper .. sometimes with dry cloth.

SummerIce : $3.5/6 psf for tiles or include installation? the price is just a general guide. I suspect your tiles are of different patches, that's why different color.

One neighbour also have this problem.. quite sad case, cos' the mixed occurs in her living rm.. So you can see very obiviously some tiles are lighter.

This kind of things is heng suay one. But I think you shld be able to remedy such defects by carpeting and furniture placement

summerice

Jgal $3.5 is for tiles only. Its not very obvious unless u look at them...it gives u a feeling like maybe due to light, some r brighter then others but i know it is not. Its the tiles color. Ya cos when u want to select the tiles those seller will tell u these tiles will varies in color. So u cant ask for a change.
We wont be having any carpet...i have dog at home. Hopefully when all my furniture in already the tiles area not much big space left to be seen.

apaitu

Hi summerlce

The $3.50 tile is homo? May I know what is the size? I got the quotation from ID, and is cost $2.50 psf only ( size is 600 or 500mm) that is $1 different..... how come?

david

summerice

Hi david ya its homo tiles size is 600x600 the normal kind. I have just check with my HB the tiles we choose is $3.3psf they have the $3.5 one. We select the $3.3 one so that we dont have to top up coz some of the toilets n kitchen tiles we choose is either slightly lower or of the same price as the one ID quote us. Plus and minus so we dont have to pay extra base on our contract.

the ID brought us to the tile shops and we select what we want. So the price is open for us to see, but of coz ID will get it slightly cheaper since they always go to them.

Normally they will quote u cheaper tile price in ur contract so that if u choose more ex one u have to top up. U can just walk in to those tiles shops most of those nice one will cost about $3 psf. I think its usual they quote $2.5psf. Some will quote $2.6 or $2.8.

jgal

David.... $2+ is too cheap liao. You need to get something ard $3-4 to ensure that the quality is acceptable and the design.

SummerIce: normally when you chose you can ask the sales man in the tiles if there is quality problem with the patch of the given tiles.. it's quite normal that the id insist that you use certain tiles which he knows that the current patch got less problem.-such as warpping and color. I know quite a few neighbours has the same tiles.. cos' their id is the same person.

apaitu

Hi Summerice and jgal

Thanks for your advice. I have not confirm anything yet, just try to find out more info here...

channice

Hey everyone, here's sharing with you my humble home, with the concept of making it cosy and with a tinge of resort feel..

diva_diva

Hi JC Gal, you still around in the forum?

Nice house u got! Do you mind if you let me know where/which furniture shop you bought your sofa and dining table? Looks like we got the same taste.

channice

Hey everyone, here's sharing with you my humble home, with the concept of making it cosy and with a tinge of resort feel..

423730.jpg

423731.jpg

423732.jpg

423733.jpg

423734.jpg

423735.jpg

jgal

Diva diva.. Are you taking to me? i am jgal not jc gal.. ha ha ha :p just saw your post on the other thread. :p