A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

vnc

Jgal,
You cooked those frying stuff or deep dry stuff that's why your kitchen seems sticky, right? Cos the usual soupy or steam or stir-frying should not be that big of a sticky problem.
406162.gif
So far, we cooked many meals in our full of glass kitchen, also not that bad.

Below is our open-concept kitchen :
406163.jpg

nas08

vnc - nice! modern and chic! wish i had in me to use bold colours... like blue and red or green. me very the traditional one... so opted fr natural earth tones fr the whole house....

summerade

vnc, that's a very chic open concept kichen you have there! I always had wish for one, but hubby says it's too troublesome for maintenance so we dropped e idea. My kitchen is not done up yet, only living room + flooring (as below). Can't wait to see the end product.

406331.jpg

summerade

Hazel, yes it is my bomb sheler. Unsightly rite? But no choice, hubby doesn't want to spend additional $$ to do up a feature wall for tt. So I repainted it with dove white, same as my kitchen door on the right (can't see it from this pic though)

Another view of my living hall:

406338.jpg

vnc

Hi Loveme,
Yah.. I am not so sure, but I guess you can say that we "pulled" the water pipe.. cos the original location for the water pipe was actually near the window there.

But then I didnt not consider about the "pulling" of the water pipe cos hor, I want the sink to be there so that I can wash the dishes while watching the tv..
406340.gif

kaye

Ade,
Its ok...
the wall isnt tat big.
So having a door there isnt tat obvious.
Mine is about 10ft if I remember correctly.
Initially I was thinking if I shld cover with curtains or make a feature wall...In the end, I chose a feature wall.

vnc

Hi nas08,
Initially, my hubby is still unsure if we should go ahead with the bold black. Cos it definitely will make the kitchen look smaller and darker. But then we decide to take the risk.
406346.gif
In fact, our whole house color is risky business. Cos I like dark wood/dark brown earth tones cos it makes me feel relax. Dunno why?
406347.gif

Although the color you chose is tradition, but overall, it still looks good what. And with all that equipment, u guys must be darn proud of ur kitchen.
406348.gif
Unlike me, my kitchen only got those basic items, cos I scared to clean.
406349.gif

vnc

Hi Ade,
Initially, I also thought so. Open concept kitchen could be quite difficult to maintain. But after having such a kitchen, I don't think so le. Cos our kitchen is super easy to maintain. When we were struggling to decide if we want to go ahead with this concept, I found that there are quite a few positive reviews on this concept after reading some of the threads in this forum.
406352.gif

Yah, I was like u too... can't wait for the whole process to end. Hee. Do share more of your pics after everything is complete!

vnc

Hi Hazel,
We also thought of putting something that is like curtains (bamboo chicks) to cover it up. But then hor, somehow I feel weird weird one, so didnt think too good of that idea.
406354.gif

summerade

Thanks schnauzie.
I will be more than willing to share more pics with u all. I'll upload more once my kitchen and wardrobe is up.

cheers =)

clement18

hi katerine...well...got to say it will be money well spent lor...cos they are removeable...so if u want to re arrange within house or next time shift to new house both also possible

spent about $5k on the bedroom set...of cos then my bedroom dun require additional cupboards to store things...as well the stuff are kept in the boxes...it does make the house very neat lot

schnauzie

sabre, ur house is lovely! got a very lush feel. i like! where did u get ur sofa and ottoman from? i like to make some cushion covers in that material!!!!

sabretooth

Hi Purple, the lightings is from D.V. Kelly from Beauty world. Remember to bargain. And Schnauzie, the Sofa n ottoman from Bruno Menzi at Park Mall. If you not in a hurry, wait for X'mas sale, its more worth it. Thanks for the compliment.

cookiemonstar

clement, ya, that y i think of them, i dun want to mtm more storage for my barangssss, it will make my mrb smaller, (even though i knock down one of my common to join my master). can you share ur bedroom set pic? king or queen bed size?

clement18

hi katherine...my MBR is not that big...but with all the boxes...u would be able to see there are no additional cabinets
...total about 20 over boxes...can u imgaine the spaces to store our stuff...hehe

mine is a king size bed...on the right hand side of the mattress photo is my Walk in wardrobe...

the above pricing is when i do that time...now not too sure is there is any revision...not too sure how much is the WIW...u might want to check with them

407530.jpg

407531.jpg

hi sabre,, you got a very bewautiful townhouse,,, where is it> kew green>?... the walls is laminated? brown? and the light switches are so high end.. can share the pricing for the chandelier and the romann blinds? thansk.did the wall feature and switches come with it or u change it> L
beautiful house..

sabretooth

Hi nwc, thanks for the compliment. The entire feature wall in the living room stretches from the corner where the TV lies to the dinning room. Chandeliers I think I paid around $2K for two. Roman blinds (2 layers) for the entire house - $2K. The switches I bought myself. They are pretty affordable, price for one is about the price of a bowl of 'mee pok' even for the veri good ones. So, a word of advice to those renovating their house, don't be fooled the IDs. My MBR...

407549.jpg

cookiemonstar

clement, was there also storage under ur bed too? i prefer without cos anyway too heavy to lift up the mattress. so you paid 5k including wiw or only the platform for the mattress?

vnc

Posted on Tuesday, September 19, 2006 - 11:58 pm:
clement, actaully i heard it is bad to move the bed or storage stuff directly under the bed, that y i prefer the base is "dead"

Yah, I read of this before in fengshui books. But what I read is, it's bad to put storage underneath the bed.
407931.gif

hi sabre, can pm me the contacts of the place you bought the switches and the lamps? . you did the reno without a contractor? thanks in advance

annpaul

hI Sabre...are you staying in condo or HDB? 4/5 rooms? i like your style of reno too. very grand yet cosy. hees actually very hotel-like. esp the head board. i like your lightings! so did you engage a ID? or you did all these with your contractors only? so how much did you spend for your reno?

jgal

sabre .. you didnt you consider to do wooden skirting and fill the wall before puting up the feature headboard. So that you cannot notice the pillar.

It's kind of wasted. Cos' the skirting in your living room is a give-away that it is a hdb flat and the pillar. Otherwise , really cannot tell that its a hdb.
In any case, it really a very nice house
with really good taste. ;)

jgal

hmm... sorry.. how you know ? cos' i tot she also mention that she bought replacement switch...
anyway.. unless her place is marble. The skirting def tells that its is a hdb.:p

sabretooth

Good evening, nwc, my apology I just came back from New York. The lights are from D.V. lightings at Bukit Timah Shopping centre. The switches I replaced them, as the previous ones does not match my wall colours. Think the brand is PDL, they were brought from the distributor residing at IMM, 3rd floor, at a corner (not exactly a shop but an office setup)

sabretooth

Ann, I stayed in a 1000 plus square feet apartment. Renovation wise, I spent around 30K (living, rooms, yard, bomb shelter & kitchen). A lot of capentry works though.

sabretooth

Hi JGal, just curious. The skirting you refering to is marble. What is the norm for skirting by the way?
Thanks for your compliment. As for the bedroom, to build the headboard all the way to the ceiling would look majestic and appealing if the room has very high ceiling. You wanna see the other side of the bedroom?

jgal

or.. sabre.. ha ha ha :p sorry there .. Normally, the skirting are praquet for most if not all the condo's i have seen. I think the newer condo usually have praquet over granite (warren) or homo tiling (blue horizon, stella, vasity park... etc )
As for the wall, normally, they plastered wall so that you dun see the side pillar structure.. That's why your bedrm pillar looks weird very much like a hdb because you put the bed there.

30k is quite reasonable considering you did so much carpentry. If this is to replicate in a hdb , it will cost abt 50k liao.. cos' of the marble flr.. :p i love marble flr..

sabretooth

Something to share :- if you have a small living area like mine and wanted it to look bigger. Go for White floor finishing and preferably large piece of marble (1.2m by 1.2m). It certainly looks rommier after.