A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

scient

Hi Stephen
Its only a year and you are upgrading your projector? Anyway, I'm not really into it other than to make sure it works. Yes, ours is Sanyo Z2, not Sony. We were deciding between Infocus X2 (hope I got it right) and Sanyo Z2.
Is it cheaper to buy from Amazon? So far we've bought all our DVDs from China...so you know its not the 'correct' type to buy but its really cheap.

Hi AK
I think it'll be alright once you install it as you can only see one side of the door at one time.

gaolow

Hi scient,
heheh..after watching the picture quality (especially the contrast ratio) of those mention projectors..feel like upgrading liao. Anyway, LCD projector after 1 yr or 1000 hrs of usage, the LCD panel will be decrease in performance. This will show out as color not no longer uniform.
X2 is a 16:9 projector but without prograssive scan features. Anyway Z2 is a good buy. How much you brought and where you got it? I like the lens shift features of Z2. It can solve almost any problem that related to room size.
Yap it much cheaper to buy from amazon as compare to local. DVD price in s'pore is way too expensive liao.
so u got it from the internet or brought the dvd when you travel china?

pegsfur

milo66,

Oh, so dat's u ...
So how's milo doing now? Dun worry abt him, he'll only be 'blur blur' for 1 or 2 days, very soon he'll be up & about
Like my coalie oso. When we brought her back, she slept for the rest of the day. By the next morning, she's stronger liao & wanted to play with me

hakida

Hi Stephen and scient,

Can u tell me more about projector TV,I am considering getting one too.Please teach me the things to look out for and which is the better brand?And the lifespan as well.

crayonshinchan

hi milo,

initially i wanted 2 side tables to make my bare platform not so bare oso. but my designer told me it will not look nice and will restrict lor.. and then in future if i decide to change to king size mattress it wld not be possible lor.. so she made a customized long tv console by the wall, which i think looks better ... dono if i have to pic.. will upload when i find it...

scient

Hi Stephen
We bought it from a vendor in Kallang Basin area and its about $4k including installation and wires.
I bring back lots everytime I return from a trip to China. Its irresistably cheap!

Hi Hakida
Not too sure if you are talking about projector or projector TV. Its different. The one Stephen and I are discussing about is the projector.
This is the model I have at my place. http://www.projectorcentral.com/Sanyo-PLV-Z2.htm As to getting advise, I think Stephen will be a better person. I only know how to turn on and off.

hakida

Hi scient,

I am takling about projector.Is the image clear during daytime or when we turn pn the lights at night?
Another question,can it be used to watch normal TV channels?

littlegirl

Hakida

I can somehw ans tis qn.

U can watch normal tv progs if u hv a TV tuner, bought separately, or else u c if the shop dealer is willing to throw in anything free for u.

It is clear enough, bt if u want sharpness like a normal TV then perhaps nt, cos they do nt hv radiation, so they dun hv thos edistinct sharpness. I dun mean images blur. Nt sure if u know wat I mean.

As for movies, if u hv dark curtains, can already. nt necessary to hv really a pitch dark room like the theatre. Unless the projector u saw - is meant for movie room screening.

When u go & c all these pdts, b sure to ask the dealer.

hakida

Ah ger,

How do u select the better range?I will watch more TV programmes than DVD,so is it advisable to get projectot after all??

littlegirl

Hakida

actually I got all the knowledge frm tat Home Theatre boss @ IMM leh. Understand so long as it's HDB flat - 1000 ~ 1200 lumens is more than enough. Tis is wat I bought las yr http://www.projectorcentral.com/Sanyo-PLC-SW20.htm Thks to scient for tat URL tat I can find mine & show u, then I can also read up the comments.

Hw abt u go there & ask him? He's a projector cum home theatre freak, he can tell u more info. Skali I give wrong info then nt very gd leh. Later kena shoot back
then I

During day time, when I watch tv progs frm the proj, I din draw my curtains down.

btw, my curtains is nt day/ night. Mine is w/ a black backing, cos my hse afternoon sun quite strong, so I hv to darken my living rm when I watch movies in the day time.

The TV tuner I had ta time was during a promo b4 they do pre-reno. Was supp t get those mini home theatre, bt we dun need cos we also bought the Home Theatre frm him mah, then in turn we asked wat we can xchange for, he told us the TV tuner lor. Then just nice, no need to buy. Think was worth $300+.

If u r really keen to go there & c, tell him u r our fren. We just saw him tat day @ IMM, then he still asked hw cme my hb nx go back camp & standby.

a_k

milo, did you manage to buy the sink? i didnt manage to go to IMM in the end cos was too busy at the new house. i guess this weekend, cannot make the trip also... hopefully can get the stuff by next week, cos need to get the lightings & toilet accessories...

milo66

Morn AK!

Ya i got the sink already. the place is quite isolated. it is classified under the "non retailing warehouse" area

There is nothing much to see there. i think it would be better if you know the model that you want and call them to source out for you. i guess that is the reason why they can sell it at such a cheap price. no store front. the shop is actually called ASIA EXCEL MARKETING. Tel: 66650107. Look for RAY.

a_k

oh... so there is nothing to select there ah cos I dun hv any model in mind so was thinking of viewing then purchase off the rack.

gaolow

HAYASHI HAKIDA,
if you want to watch TV more than watching DVD, I would not suggest you buy the projector. Also watching TV using projector need additional hardware if you want a good picture quality.
Most ppl buying project just for movies watching. Cos it can make you feel like watching a movie from theater.
I cover my windows with sun shade that help to reduse the light from outside as well as cooling my HT room. I'm using the a blinder. Another suggestion is getting those blackout curtain.

tulip94

Hi Scient

Thanks for sending the links..

You guys have very nice homes
Cant wait for my home reno to kick off....

p2me1a

Hey Scient and Stephen,

Wah I see you guys have a separate Home Theatre room. very good eh!!! :D We wanted also but then we have to keep the rooms coz in the future my FH's parents might be staying with us, and also planning for kids etc *giggles*

yeah so in the end, we decided to place our projector in the living room, and decided not to get a tv for the moment. coz my FH is a teacher - work super long hours - no time to watch tv also. and me not a tv addict - I only watch CSI (Los Angeles - now dun have boohoohoo) - me more of a movie buff.
so... it's gonna be in the living room lor... then we see how, if next time wanna get tv... then maaaaybeee will get...

I was reading all the archives and I wanted to msg scient earlier on about her projector already and then u two started talking about it - great!!! hahahaa...

oh, just to clarify, actually we only just got our house keys to our Jurong West Central 1 flat a few weeks ago... still doing defects check and still checking out ID firms... (are checking out almost 6 - 7 firms - tedious!) but we were so excited about the projector thing that we bought it already!!! Ah Ger, we also bought from the Home Theatre place in IMM grd floor leh
where did you get yours from, Stephen?

We got the Hitachi PJTX100 http://www.projectorcentral.com/Hitachi-PJTX100_UltraVision.htm We saw the demo at the shop and were very pleased with it, hopefully it'd turn out as good at our house lah. Hey Stephen, saw that you have a fixed screen right? What about Scient and Ah Ger? What do u all think about fixed vs pull-down screen???

hehehehe so excited... finally found some kaki to discuss about projectors... :D

milo66

Hi MTDT,

can i check how much your reno guys charge you for the feature wall holding the plasma and the tv console? Mine charge me 350 for the wall in plaster and paint finish and 720 for a 6ft super slim tv console with super slim drawer. like very ex! any idea?

pisduck

hi scient, stephen, ps tan,
my hubby also bought a projector for our new place. think it is called optoma h77.

anyway, i have a ques for discussion, :p we thinking of not mounting the projector but placing it in a full height cabinet. however, do we need to install a fan or cooling unit in the cabinet to prevent overheating?
also, want to know something... will the sound system cause cupboard sliding doors to vibrate (hence cause sound?) or will door kind of cupboards be better? will using solid wood help to reduce vibration in sliding doors?

scient

Hi ps tan
Ours is a fixed screen as we do not have any use behind the wall of the screen. I think it depends on your preference as my husband prefers fixed screen as he thinks it looks nicer.

Hi Pisduck
Its technically difficult to have a cooling fan specially installed inside the cabinet unless you are quiet sure you can easily maintain it. The projector is not small, meaning you have to build a "thick" cupboard that look obtrusive, typically you need 50cm, including buffer space for the wires behind and its going to be difficult to access to the input behind the projector should you need to in the future.

Another thing on mounting freely on cabinet is that you may accidentally shift the projector, then you have to refocus it again.

Generally, solid wood won't vibrate unless your speakers are intended for use in the indoor stadium. But watch out for small loose parts like wires, loose hinges inside lighspot etc. These are the things that will resonate. Additionally, its best to have curtains and carpet to improve the sound in the room.

That's what I learnt from the man in the house.

littlegirl

ps_tan, u got Hitachi? When did u buy? Hw much is tat? U spoke to the boss or to his asst? Both equally gd & gave us alot of info leh. When I bought tat time was still considered exp cos right nw, mine 1) obselete, 2) many competitiors liao, so price hv bn dropping drastically.

I got the pull dwon screen, cos when I m nt watching, can pull it back. Leave it as a board like nt very niec leh. Bt then again, think it's preference bah.

Bt I dun rem we hv an option to choose though.

Pisduck:
I m nt so sure abt putting in a full ht cabinet cos I had mine mounted, which I think is rather fuss-free. My ex-coll who also went to buy a projector, had no plc to put it, cos her living rm is long in frm entrance mah, so in the end when we went to her hse, she use a big box & stack & level it.

well, I do understand tat it's bcos nx time if u wanna remv it, then the ceiling is very ugly right?

Wonder if false ceiling can b touched up hor? Cos my stand is drilled onto the ceiling then covered by the false ceiling. if nx time I wanna sell my hse, I can't possibly sell my projector right? Unless the buyer doesn't mind buying it frm me @ a cheap price & also provided the buyer also like the idea of a projector.

Best fabric to hide the sound is microfibre, tats y if u notice in cinemas, those walls are all covered up w/ something like velvet & yet it's nt velvet.

bt then again, hw many times wil u actually blast the sound, so I decided to use normal fabrics. then on my door entrance, hb bought the door seal frm DIY shop, seal the door entrance, so tat sound doesn't go out tat easily, @ the same time prevent those cleaners when they do harsh washing, spray those dirty things into our hse.

My knowledge nt very indepth, so best to seek experts' advice.

p2me1a

Ah Ger,
ermmm... I spoke to the Boss I think. the Boss's wife actually, but think she's also boss. anywayz, yeah, we paid $3,999.00. for our hitachi TX-100. when did you get yours? and how much did u pay?

actually, you know the prices for the projectors that are on the ProjectorCentral.com website? are they 'accurate' one ah? coz like the Hitachi TX-100 we bought, it's supposedly US$3,999 (stated on website), but we paid S$3,999 for it, inclusive of installation, cables, and 84" by 84" pull-down screen. so I am wondering if the shop really so lucky got such a good deal on it. or issit the website figures dun really tally with singapore side... anyone knows???

stanley,
those projectors you aiming, where are u getting them from in singapre? do the prices on the website tally with the prices you see in sgp? i.e. approximately US$=1.71*S$ ???

yeah ah ger,
u know, actually now the technology move so fast that the projctors get obsolete very fast, I scared I also like Stanley like that, 1+ year down the road wanna change projectors liaoz. but I think this is probably quite inevitable at the rate the projectors are getting better and better... but are u satisfied with the performance of your projector? I mean, if u dun compare compare with other peoples - are u satisfied with your product?

oh in case you're wondering, we have already paid for the projector, but then they haven't come and install yet etc. and I already got the reassurance from the lady boss that if I should want to change to another projector, she would allow me to switch - which is why I am still conducting my study on projectors... hahaha have been reading so much on them that it's becoming sort of an obessesion hhahaha... am gonna analyse Stanley's choices in my next post... kekeke...

p2me1a

p2me1a

oh regarding the screen, the shop gice the pull-down kind. but if we top up dunno $100-$200 then can 'upgrade' to the fixed kind...

yeah we're thinking of doing the pull-down coz when not in use, can pull up, and we'd have a painting on the wall...

but I was just wondering coz I heard that the picture comes out better on the fixed screen rather than the pull-down screen... I was also afraid that the pull-down screen might flap...

mcmxiivii

I am in a dilemma over the design of my new house, following is the various design we have in mind. any comments?

141074.jpg

141075.jpg

141076.jpg

Really undecided....

a_k

hi vicky,

your house layout quite unique.

i prefer the 3rd one. the main entrance lead to quite relaxing scene. if done nicely, can act as quite a nice big foyer with relaxing area.

pic 1 & 2 layout, i dun quite like the sofa to be so near at entrance. a restricting feeling... like once enter the house it is a std living room. pic 3 more unique, will feel more relax when entering from main entrance...

juzt my opinion. is your house a 5 room or bigger? look spacious.

a_k

milo, u saw the landing word? i think that is the staircase. the main entrance is somewhere there if i am rite.

a_k

yah. the house very unique in shape i feel. i also trying to figure where is the main door actually.. haahaa so no malu.

in fact even after entering the house, u see the living room area, the landing word there... there is a small little area there... a bit wasted corner if not used... actually not easy to put things there too due to the shape but ever seem designer doing weird corner very well until not noticeable. not sure if the default layout is like tat...

vicky, is this the default layout? did u actually block up the hack & build another wall? normally the common toilet is in living room one rite... but seems yours is a bit diff here.

a_k

milo, i hv not even go see the sink ah... hopefully can fork up some time this weekend. cos this weekend will need to find curtain track, lights & sink.

how is your reno coming along? mine in painting & carpentary stage.

milo66

mine in wet work & electrical stage now. this few days been contemplating to remove my existing wardrobe and do those open concept kind as my existing wardrobe doesnt match my overall hse concept but too bad no $$$ liao.

last week went sourcing for roller blinds and doors. The person quoted us 1500 for living (full height) and two bedroom (half height). Door we went to yongfang, quoted $800. i still haven source out my sofa... U?

a_k

milo, i got a quote on the roller blind also on the weekend. very ex leh i feel. my curtain in living will cost me 500 buck. the others (including the bedrooms, dining) is $980. very ex i feel. so now i going to source for diy one to see the price diff. i need to get my curtain track for living soon + the grilles asap after painting cos i got a platform at windows area so dun want to spoil the platform later.

me need a wardrobe cos wanted a movable type. got a built-in in a closure area but is not those big type. need to source for fridge, washing machine, toilet accessories, tv, console, lightings, sink, etc... Mmmm a lot hor.

mcmxiivii

Thanks for all the replies.

milo66, entrance is at bottom left corner...if you still cannot find it. =P

AK, mine is a 5 room resale, very old liao (18 years), 136sqm. for old flats, common toilet is in kitchen. =(

design 2 is the default layout, due to the "unique" shape, quite diff to put things.

design 3 is my initial design, i created a platform cosy area to have a "step up" effect, them step down to a big balcony area...finished with a teak wood coffee table, pebbles and water feature...but my other half dun like it...prefer more open spaces...

so i finally came out with design 1, which i hack part of the store to create a new opening to the kitchen, the original kitchen and store entrance will be sealed up to create the cosy platform area for TV watching. a louver style partition will be created at the entrance to seperate the main door from the sofa area, overlooking the balcony with pebble wash and changai parquet and water feature.

sigh...still catch between 1 and 3. 2 definitely out.

maraquan_draik

Hi vicky,
Just a suggestion.
141186.jpg

S=store
no sharp corner in the house so that next time you want to change your furniture layout it will be easier for you.

I think the balcony or full height glass is just next to the door right? Dun waste that space, keep your living room there. You dun want your TV to be next to your bedroom doors right? You can play with a lot of design now (step up or down).

annelise

hi milo and ak, I was sourcing for curtains over the weekend. Custom made curtains are really expensive. The cheapest fabric costs about $19.90 per metre.

Spotlight at Plaza Singapura has a good selection of ready made curtains, roman blinds, roller blinds and wooden blinds. You can buy curtain rails and rods there too. The fabrics there are quite reasonsably priced too - some less than $10 per metre. Maybe you guys can try going there to get a quotation or maybe check out the selection and DIY.

Good luck :)

pisduck

actually the TX100 can be bought for around $3k cash and carry.

Actually I do not like the shop in IMM. The pricing in US for TX100 is ridiculous and way overpriced comapred to other countries like UK, Australia, singapore. Should not be used as comparison.

But the TX100 is a great buy in Singapore as it cost around 3k with 3 years warranty. one of the best deals for TX100 worldwide

Do not USE overseas prices as a benchmark. They differ widely. Example TX100 is CHEAPER in singapore than overseas and that is why it is a good buy. Others like IF7205 is WAY overpriced in Singapore so not good.

For picture quality, it is always advisable to go for the fixed screen. less problem with waves.

The other excellent projector around 3k is the Infocus 4805. Please try to compare BOTH the TX100 and IF4805 b4 buying as they are quite different but both excellent products.

PS: I am actually the male half of pisduck

littlegirl

ps_tan:
Think u spoke to June, yeah she's the lady boss. They both r very friendly.

I paid S$2999, 1 thing is bcos my lumens is nt as high as yours. Think mine only 1000 lumens.

So far when i watch tv, is gd, more than enough le. Of cos if I want nicer colours, then of cos get better ones lah. Bt I heard was higher lumens, the shorter life span of the bulb, cos in order to produce a sharper & brighter image, impact on the bulb is greater.

Sorry arh, I dunno hw 2 describe. Pls dun get frightened by my description.

well, I think prob it's bcos tis kind of play things r still very exp in the states. Just like when we r so used to watching DVDs, in the States, they r nt so advanced technology yet. Las time when I was in NY, I still c ppl selling video tapes in the streets when Sin was already selling pirated CDs.

gaolow

Hi ps tan,
I brought from one of the shop in IMM which already close down. quite sad tat it close down as the boss of tat shop is a nice chap.
Mine is a fix screen also. I also have a pull down screen at my brother house. There are different type of screen material and brands. Different grade of white as well gray also can affect the video quality. btw, are u refering me as stanley? :p
Actually, most of the projector selling in singapore is bit higher than some countries. In fact, if you get it from one of the japan website, it cost much cheaper. This include the shipping. Example, the sanyo Z2 tat selling in s'pore is bit on the high side.
The disadvantage tat order from internet is tat you dont have international warrenty and if need to replace, you have to pay ur own shippment.
For those thinking of getting projector, hunt more shops, read more reviews.Once you brought it, it no a turning back. especially for guys. trust me.
go www.xtremeplace.com post ur questions about projector, plasma TV, HIFI, dvd and home theater. the ppl there are very knowledgeable.

gaolow

Hi Pisduck,

how much u pay for the optoma H77? Think you maybe one of the few tat own this toy. btw which shop u got it from?

pisduck

hi ah ger,
think the price at the shop in imm maybe a bit high. we shopped around some other shops at aldephi and found that prices there are cheaper.

hi stephen,
the promotional price is $8999 excluding gst. if u are interested, u can drop by artcoustic gallery @ novena square to test it.

p2me1a

HI Stephen,
so sorry think u are right, think for some dunno-what reason, I was refering to you as stanley! hahaha must ahve gotten u confused with someone else in the forum hahaha...

so Stephen, you get your projectors online? and u install them on your own?

p2me1a