A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

p2me1a

hi AK,

can I please have the contact of your curtain guy too... thanks!

what does a curved track mean? meaning it's a curved surface? that'd be great for us coz my balcony is curved...

p2me1a

tulip94

Hi Ivy, u stil remember me? we chatted before via email..that time u were sharing with me ur quotation from image..now that ur home has beautifully done up and i am still in the midst of sourcing..hee..i agreed that 30K is a great deal..cheaper than what she quoted u when she was still with the ID right? i have more or less confirmed with an ID..now just wait to collect my key in oct..

Hi AK, may i have your contact for the curtain please? i am very blur abt the differences of curtains, roman blinds, roller blinds, etc..what are the difference? mine is a 5 room flat so what price is considered reasonable?

Thanks all and good week ahead..

a_k

hi ps tan, my full length windows cannot use those normal straight track type cos the shape is hexagon (dun know if spell correctly). it must follow the curve to make it nicer, so we need to get curve track which is a a bit more ex than normal one. went to a few shops, one quote me $8+ & the one quote me $10 per feet leh (some more if didnt do curtain with them, they charge me 60 bucks transport). though one quoted me $6 but i manage to get a even better deal. & one of my bedroom is like an L shape windows at the side, so he do a curve track for me there also so that i dun need to break into 2 track line. all my curtains in rooms will be in full length (day & nite), except for mbr cos i got a display ledge at below the windows so i do it in roman blinds. So on top of tat, i do my dining in roman blind & a small corner window in roman blinds. my curtains majority is in plain color with no design so will be more ex. if choose with pattern will be much cheaper. I PM u the contact liao.

a_k

hi tulip, in fact at first, i was considering bw roller & roman also. Roman blinds are made to fit flat across the width of the window and pull up into folds. Roller blind use a minimal amount of fabric, lay flat against the window and roll up... eh... dun know if u know wat i talking. i decide to go for roman cos i feel it more nicer, also becos roller when knock against the wall will hv sound esp if the wind blow & my house kind of windy at times so decided not to go for roller. But this is more to preference lor. roller & roman is abt the same pricing, greatly depends on wat material u choose.

i was ever quote for $1.4+ for whole house using the same plain material. some more all roman for room. this one i got give me full length day & nite on top of some romans. full length day & nite is more ex than roman & roller. they got 2 yr warranty also. the final price would depend on the size/ length you are going for & also material which can be a great diff here. e.g. i go for majority plain colors (no design), it is more ex by more than hundred juz for living room itself. I PM u the contact liao.

a_k

tulip, if u scare you get it too ex, maybe u can share wat u hv when u get the quotes here. i got abt 3 pricing beforehand before i meet with this one. some really ex leh. juz living can be diff of more than 200 leh. mine got 2 yrs warranty & they got another branch at my area.

everyone did cappucino color for living room curtains huh.

ivymicole

Hi Afcai,
the wall in front of that orange wall is my bedhead. Mine is a platform bed.
Hi Scient,
27 lightings points including toilets.
Hi BooBoo,
I will email her contact to you tomolo.

blue2003

Hi pegsfur

I saw the pics of your house. It's nice and cosy. I oso like the landscape right outside your gate. I have actually painted some wooden platform from ikea. Turned out nice and tot of putting them like what you have done. The thing is what happens if the cleaners come and wash the floorings outside?

milo66

hi Ak, actally is buy for the bedrooms but due to budget so decided not to do up the false ceiling, so now selling some of them away.

my contractor damage 3 of my floor tiles at the end of my corridor leading to the bedrooms and they now tell me they cant find similar tiles back. any suggestion to this problem? they suggested doing pebblewash for the area but not funny meh? tot pebblewash is suppose to be at foyer area.

a_k

u mean pebblewash in the passageway... yah seems weird. the floor tiles is not done by them one ah. cos i tot normally they will leave spare tiles for the flat owner. or any close pattern to the design. maybe same color type? cos normally passageway is a bit dim so may not notice the diff.

milo66

the floor tiles is provided by hdb. my id cant fibd so i presume hdb no more? anyone i be calling hdb myself and check. they found similar design but totally OFF. aiyo no way i can accept it. even my chin chye hubby see already almost faint. so big headache

a_k

maybe u chk with hdb to see who is the supplier & the code # to the tile design, then ask your contractor to go find. or follow the color but not so much on design. wat is our tile design like?

one thing to ask if anyone know juz out of curiosity, for premium flat, does hdb give u spare tiles? if not, wat if anything happen u need to change tiles like milo case, how? recently there is those homo tile popped up issue as in the news, if the affected area is not big, then i suppose they will only change the affected ones, but wat if they cannot find the same type of tiles, will they change all the tiles then??

milo66

hi ak, i called hdb and they say that there is no way to find the tile cause out of production arlready.

they didnt provide any spare tiles for me during my time. although segar estate is not very new but stll not fully occupy yet they already stop production of the tile.

a_k

huh... but wat happen to those who got defect in tiles? how they going to replace them then. didnt they foresee more problem if people complain on defect & they not able to get the stock.

or u try to get the same color tone rather than on the design. is yours quite plain in design?? if so, at least maybe easier to find based on color tone.

milo66

i also dunno leh seems like the conclusion is dun get those flat that has been left vacant for too long, otherwise will have no stock to replace.

do you think i shld let my ID go and headache abt this issue? the tiles they find are not similar at all. my tiles is white in background with some grey lines. In the meantime, can only source out fellow segar resident and see if they have spare.

a_k

yah... maybe u tell your contractor u dun want the pebblewash if u really dun like the idea. ask them to go find. if cannot find the exact, give u sample to see. they spoil it cant be only u headache, they should do something also....not merely propose something to cover up. yah... maybe see if can source from the segar resident there. though tiles seems more difficult but at least give it a try. if u use white color tiles, look weird a not huh.

dear_dear

hi, mine is a premium flat too & they dun hv any spare floor tiles for us but me & my hubby found out they kept some tiles downstairs in one of the 'room' for those ppl who complain tat need to change the tiles. And we took a few pcs for spare. Maybe u can loiter downstairs to take a look. Although we are not staying in the same estate but give it a try lor.

During my renovation period, my ID also can't find the tiles from HDB so I secretly tell him I got spare & he is shocked...Shhhh now its no longer a secret liao...

p2me1a

milo, how many years was your flat left vacant? mine 4 years... scared the same thing happen also...

dear, which estate you guys at? and the "room" is one of the vacant units? or one of those under the stairs kinda 'rooms' at the void deck? but I'd imagine that they would be locked, wun they???

p2me1a

milo66

err i also dunno leh.. perhaps can give it a try.

actually i rather angry at them, they should have at least check whether still have stock before they went ahead and hack. now give me so much trouble.

milo66

hi dear, i notice that they used to have such a "room" but they have remove it already so i presume no more?

ps tan: mine also the same number of years like yours. now very jia lat really dunno wat to do.

Is pebblewash at the passageway really very funny looking?

a_k

ps tan, i read from another thread that u juz got the keys rite? u hv not chk on the flat??
oh, milo, it is due to hacking ah.. so after hack they want to laid back the tiles is it? i tot they dropped something or spoil it accidentally. i didnt tot of such possibility of not able to get the same tiles back after hacking a wall leh. now i learn something.

a_k

milo, if the pebblewash is very uniquely done, maybe it will look like an artwork. is there a common toilet at the passageway? some hv, so if really so, maybe u want to consider putting a nice mat or rug on the pebblewash to enhance the look.

or hv patterns on the pebblewash. not those normal simple pebblewash... let it look like an art piece. i saw in a showroom once that the owner buy those bali design pattern & paste into the pebblewash. look unique. but theirs is at the foyer area.

milo66

ak, ya mine is destroy due to hacking of the doorframe of my MB. They are sealing up the doorway so i think they accidentally jus hack.

i think if really no choice, pebblewash is the last option lor. if i refuse to pay for the laying of the pebblewash, am i being too calculative or is that my right?

dear_dear

ps tan, mine is at Jurong West...Its the room near the void deck downstais...Normally they do lock but sometimes when other flats required to change, I assume they have to open the door for the whole door so that they no need to open & lock...When we walk pass, we saw no one there & the door is open so juz kpo & saw the tiles over there.

a_k

milo, i dun see y u should pay for the laying of the pebblewash cos this is not wat u hv wanted also. they spoil it they should settle it. some more u r good enough to accept their proposal leh.

milo66

ak, i actually dun even wish to consider their proposal but no choice, if like that tu dunno must delay how long. at the segar thread, someone say she manage to get a rather similar one at sungei kadut, hdb supplier, now waiting for her reply the code number.

i was thinking if i can find the similar tile for them, i definitely make them compensate me.

think if really have, better keep some as spare.

a_k

hope u can get a similar one. i wonder sometimes it is becos of the contractor "lazy" to source so simply propose something.

yah yah, if u found it, better to get some spare for safekeeping.

milo66

i think they could be too lazy to source out. perhaps they might jus call hdb and they say no they jus assume no more.

keeping my finger cross!!

milo66

hi ak: i went to see the similar one that they have brought back. perhaps i too fussy but the 3 designs - 1 can match the grain but background colour diff, 1 can match the background, but grain diff, the last one totally diff.

**sigh** how to chose???

to think they suggest me to pebblewash only 3 tile area????? i think they are mad!

I decided to get them to pebblewash my whole passageway. think getting them to pay for it is so diff, think at most is half half with them.

a_k

hi milo, i saw from another thread that u manage to get help from another gal in your area to buy the leftovers tiles rite? u not going to select the leftovers? maybe still got chance leh?

oh, i tot they will do the whole passageway in pebblewash... only 3 tiles ah. i think contractor & designer really think differently. btw, your passageway is the joining pt of the bedrooms rite? my personal view is if u want to put pebblewash there, the cement will look very revealing with the tiles u hv. cos white & grey. see if they can do some pattern on it at least it wont look so plain... or how abt do a different contrast color of tiling there? passageway ceiling normally got lighting pt rite, if hv the those yellow lighting there, when it shine down, maybe it look nicer in some way. juz my tots.

milo66

ya lor i sent them to source out the tiles suggested by sherlin in segar thread but like not same leh.. dunno was it becos the light is too dim cant see properly or wat but look diff leh. my id will go down and take a look for himself today.

ya the passageway is a joining point for my 3 bedrooms and common toilet. will think abt your suggestion, many thks for helping and listening to my grumbling... now can only wait for my id to call me and see how..

a_k

mine also hv a passageway, i think yours is abt the same as mine. yah maybe u ask your ID's view on this. i believe designer & contractor hv very diff feel in designs. maybe he can offer even better suggestions.

a_k

milo, how much u get for your kitchen sink huh? i went to asia excel marketing yesterday, it closed by 7pm liao.
154582.gif
i saw in some shops selling b/w 130 - 200+ for stainless stain type. yours come with the tap? how many holes? my bf was thinking of getting one with 1 hole & use the other side for chopping. wonder wat is the market price... scare wait gana conned in pricing.

milo66

hi i bought a teka round sink with no tap hole for 105. my kitchen super small so bought a small one can save some space mah. even my stove i also buy small one.

the stupid ID say doing pebblewash for the area not nice and very costly. he say the grain of the tile is similar though background diff. he claim he will make it the same. well we jus wait and see lor.