A Place 2 Show Off Your Love Nest

a_k

hi MTDT, yah my ID demo to me on the dark solid top... initially i wanted dark color one... but seeing the deep scratch, i hesitated leh...

mr lost, we read thru mag to get ideas, but in the end the ID design is quite diff from wat we r thinking of. & in the end we choose our ID design. but here & there, hving some changes. also crack our head cos too many things to decide... like colors & material... this is more than enough liao lor.

anyone hv those wooden sliding door as kitchen door huh. those that the thread is on top only. my ID suggest that to us, a laminate door with a frosted glass... the door thread is outside the kitchen... is it strange?? not sure if still want to go for tat now after seeing MTDT's kitchen door... how how. any advice?

scient

Yes, with dark solid top, the scratches are obvious. Our kitchen has already suffered few of these scratches.

pegsfur

AK,

What do you mean that the door track is outside the kitchen? If it's outside the kitchen that means it can been seen when you are entering the kitchen is it? Pardon me but that wld be unsightly, isn't it? JUst my personal opinion lah.

My mum's house has wooden top track bi-fold door for her kitchen too but the track is inside the kitchen.

a_k

hi scient, any idea if white surface though scratches is not as obvious as black one, will it leave marks that is obvious instead? does your dark solid top got the problem of leaving marks that is difficult to clean off?

scient

Hi AK
Not too sure about scratches on white surface. Its quite easy to clean the black surface. So far, no problems of stubborn marks.

For our kitchen door, its also outside the kitchen, The sliding door is in the entertainment room and it looks quite okay.

a_k

hi pegsfur, the door is a bit like those walk-in wardrobe kind of sliding door. not sure if u get wat i mean. the thread will also be in laminate, same color as the kitchen door. the door got a frosted glass design.

i forgot wat is the reason y it is outside the kitchen. i think becos i got a beam at a corner of the kitchen so my door cannot be inside. i go chk out on this weekend again cos need to confirm on tat. i didnt choose bi-fold door cos i prefer sliding. my kitchen is juz near to my main entrance, so tot hving a laminate door as a kitchen door, may give a perception that it is not the kitchen, but a room or something like tat... was thinking when it is opened, can give tat kind of wow effect... now i dun know if i should go ahead with it... my id said this is quite common for this kind of laminate door with laminate thread.

in fact our mom house is those aluminmum thread w/ glass door. the thread is inside the kitchen also. so mine is quite diff from tat.

milo66

Hi stephen,

your hse is so cosy!!! must be a nice place to be after a long day work. can i ask did you custom make all your furniture or did u purchase them off the rack?

guang97

Hi scient,

Wat's EA?? Executive?
Can share with me ur floorplan design? Where r u staying? I feel that our flat design except the kitchen is quite similar.
My FW n I like ur wardrobe design. Can i koe how much u spend on the wardrobe?
I already have my ID, so i oni need to borrow some of ur ideas.

Tks all for replying.
Quite excited abt the whole thingy (reno n ROM) n luckily managed to find such a site with great ppl.

a_k

stephen, juz curious, where is your flat huh? i saw sea view rite??

ur living room very big leh. wat size is your house?? u got a lot of carpentary hor. must be ex. how much u spend esp so much false ceiling...

a_k

hi scient,

thanks. so your kitchen door also outside the kitchen? sliding type one? dun know how it looks leh. Mmmm i will go for dark color laminates if choosing tat design. my id said when open, it act as a design on the wall so i dun need to put anything there. & after the door (opened) toward the wall edge side, is a right angle mirror joining at 2 corners. hope it turn out ok. cos i hv downlights as cast down on the mirror... Mmmmm dun know if i should go for the laminates door scare it look weird. i also scare if i take glass door, one day i blur blur i will knock into it. i ever knock into once cos the glass is too clean till so transparent leh... so funny when i now think of it...

pegsfur

stephen,

Wow, alot of bears hiding at your wardrobe huh ... u collect them or your wife

Yr flat is at punggol rite? The 18x series? I see the same kitchen floor tiles, windows & toilet wall tiles as mine!

scient

AK

You can go to www.hylien.com and view the entertainment room from the Gallery. The first pics on the first and second row will show you the door to the kitchen from entertainment room. The 2nd door is the one that leads to the kitchen. Its a sliding door and the finishing is in veneer.

Glass door is hazardous especially to kids. We have a glass door at the other side of the ent. room and 2 kids have already knocked themselves against it.

a_k

wow scient, i didnt notice it is a door leh.... i tot it is a design cabinet or wat leh... no wonder it looks ok. it look nice in fact leh!

maraquan_draik

AK, no lah, I am not interior people lah. I am just artistic...*cough* *cough* I can present better than those fellow hor? *cough*

I love interior design but cannot do for other people because I dun like the job nature and I got my own style. But I can give ideas lah.

gaolow

Hi milo66,
Yap, feel different when back hm..can feel warm n cozy especially night time. Most of things in the pictures are custom make. Except the day bed, dinner table, coffee table and TV rack which are brought from barang barang.
Hi AK,
mine is at punggol. yap sea view..but thing not for long. Cos once HDB start build something, will block the view liao.
My floor area is 128. Total reno cost is about 34k.
Hi pegsfur,
yap you r rite. All the bears belong to my wife. I only help her to buy some.
Hi petals,
The ID is Design basiz. Actually belong to my wife's collegue's wife. She help me to design and coordinate with the contractor.
Hi tulip,
you want to view the 'real' one or pictures?

milo66

hi Ak,

sorry for being so late. jus reached hm. the address is at imm building, unit is #02-173. tel: 65631311. i called to tell him the model of the sink and they will call n quoteyou the price.

hope this help! i will be going dn on sat to buy my sink. let you know in detail if you not free to go

a_k

Hi Maraquan, steady lah. interior not easy. a lot of area to think of also. but very interesting line i feel.

wow, stephen, not bad sia. the view is very nice. though it may block in future but al least u enjoy the view for now. looks very nice. 34k reno? is your a std or premium. if std, 34k not bad leh cos can see tat the is many carpentary involved.

milo, thanks leh. i jot down the unit & no liao. yah not sure if got time to go down this weekend cos tomorrow need to settle on carpentary stuff w/ contractor & ID so will take up whole day liao. hopefully can make it for this sunday cos still got many stuff not bought yet. really appreciate your help here!

scient, i was thinking of now hving the laminate as white color w/ a bit of frosted glass as my kitchen door. my wall is kind of lily white, so i was thinking if i hv white kitchen door & the thread run outside, it will give a perception that it is not a door but a feature wall... dun know abt the maintainance wise. though i think pegsfer or who huh said hv to clean hands be4 opening... esp after reading newspaper. so not sure if this is feasible. also i was wondering if white laminate door will turn yellowish as time passes. anyone encounter your cabinets turning yellow?? feel your design is cool but cant afford it leh.

milo66

hi need your opinion again...

is this design with the wooden grains laminated ledge and tv console is nicer or a ledge with plain purple laminate nicer. Thks

scient

Hi AK

Not too sure whether white laminate will turn yellow over time. But if laminate can be easily cleaned, then no problems with white.

Hey Stephen
I see that you have a projector screen. What's the size? Movie buff? Which projector you using? We have one too and its really great when you watch movies.

blue_genie

milo66: coolz! i like the concept of ur bedroom..IDEAL! give votes to wooden grains laminated ledge and tv console as the effect will be very cosy..

milo66

blue_genie: do you think the ledge at the side of the bed is alittle xtra? like since i be having a platform, height from the bed to the floor not too high, why need that? but w/o th room look empty.

my ID quoted me $380 for that 2 piece of thing. ex right?

a_k

hi milo, personal views, i dun quite like the 2 ledge beside your bed. a bit restricting feeling. dun know y. the tv console still ok.

why dun go for 2 mini cabinet like - low type & simple one. will look nice with a lamp there. some more next time if want to shift bed position wont be restricted by that 2 ledge. for 380 buck i feel a bit unworth leh. juz my views.

btw, if u going to view the shop i told u at world trade centre, that shop got a platform feeling type of bedframe with 2 mini cabinet on both side. actually there is 2 designs but i prefer the one with the rounded edge one cos at least if knock into the edge wont hurt (i kind of clumsy so always tot of prevention.. haaha)... look quite nice & as told u can detach the 2 mini cabinet one leh. the shop actually put a lamp or wat on tat mini cabinet so it really caught my eyes. i think the whole thing + bed frame is abt $998 if i rem correctly.

blue_genie

milo66: w/ledge at the side of the bed looks a bit weird since its a platform bed..that's my view but ultimately its all depends on ur preferences. i feel $380 for that 2 piece of thing is expensive..

heard a lot of ppl (including my ID) saying but dunno whether its true anot..anyway, remind u leh(dunno whether u consider this pt anot)..if next time u're preggie u might have difficulties in getting up if ur bed is platform bed...

a_k

mmmM scient... very tempted now for white... mMMm tomorrow i discuss with my ID. btw is it weird huh if the kitchen door got 2 colors. meaning from outside kitchen view is white, but inside kitchen view (when closed) is maybe black or other color.

blue_genie

milo66: i think i misunderstand ur qn...paiseh, i dun support the idea of theledge beside the platform bed..i give votes to the wooden grain laminated flr..

milo66

ya tot the ledge very ex and useless looking but w/o it might look empty. ok will go and think abt other alternative.

blue_genie: did tot abt that ;) i used to sleep on the floor with a mattress at my mum place. now eversince i move and got a bed on my own, i keep falling down the bed in the middle of the night. as in, when i turn , almost fall, will let out a scream and hubby always must catch me...(so paiseh). worried abt preggie time too.

a_k

milo, u sound so cute. ur bed is king or queen size now? maybe u ask your hubby to hug u when sleeping - cosy also & tendancy of falling will be lower. i think u still not used to hving a "higher" bed. when preggie, must be more careful. cannot keep falling from bed leh.

gaolow

Hi scient,
the screen size is 92". Me using the panasonic AE100 projector. Upgrading to another one soon if wife approve. :p Yap it really shiok to watch movies also play games on the screen.
I also saw ur projector. Which brand are you using and your screen size also?
Btw, ur house really very nice.

a_k

yah. was thinking of hving inside & outside as diff colors. dun know if anyone ever did that... was thinking 2 color may give a diff effect in & out. but of cos, seeing a door by itself of 2 color may look weird, esp if the outside kitchen door is white tat blend with the wall but in the inside in the kitchen is wood grain texture for example. only when install as a whole, people wont really feel the weirdness but something like hey i tot the door is white how come i now see wooden color when stepping in & out... maybe, not too sure also. is it a strange concept?

pegsfur

milo,

I prefer wooden grains for the tv console. As for the 2 suspended side tables, which u refered to as ledge, i remembered my contractor quoted me $300 for 2.

I have a suggestion, instead of suspending, why dun u do a simple low drawer type which sits on the floor so that it sort of complete the look & sets out the area.

Cos like u said, yours is a platform bed, without the side tables it look empty. But platform bed sits on the floor so if u do it suspending, it's looks kind of weird lor ... my personal opinion lah.

Tulips,

I've posted my house pics earlier in the thread leh ....
Lazy to go find the link & post here lah ... u go search can? Sorry hor

milo66

AK: my bed is currently queen size. me and hubby quite big size so in the end sleeping is like fighting. shld have gotten a king size instead.

btw regarding your kitchen door, jus to share with you wat my ID proposed. if you see my pic of the MB, there is a sliding door there with a little piece of wood grain. on the other side of the door is my study room which my ID add a small piece of the study table colour. Supposely will be quite nice.

pegsfur: hee hee great mind think alike! that was wat i tot too! will let him know.
btw do you frequent DS? tot i saw some1 with the same nick as you and i receognise coalie from the pic.

think my whole hse concept abit rojak. kichen, tv console, shoe cabinet and bedroom woody, study room plain laminate. goodness! but seriously i like my study room laminate. Dark grey table top with white drawers follow by lime green wall colour.

milo66

hee hee you can run but coalie cant hide!!!

btw this morn jus send milo to the vet for spaying, now very heartpain jus thinking of him going under the knife. sob sob

aeina

Hi Stephen,

I like the wall ornaments u hang on yr walls. Where do u get it from huh???

Hi Milo,
Nice... don't worry abt the white laminate. My friend has a place with white laminate and he said it is the best. Very easy to clean and classy look.

a_k

hi milo, urs look ok cos side by side... mine is a door that has 2 side of different color. one side white, the opposite is another. not side by side so dun know if looks ok like yours.

scient

Stephen
You've been using this projector for long? Why changing? And which brand you thinking? Our screen size is 110" (16:9). We are using Sony Z2. You sound proof the room? I enjoyed it v much when we watched LOTR.
I saw you have a huge collection of DVDs. Where do you buy them?

gaolow

Hi aeina,
I brought it from barang barang.

Hi scient,
Been using for 1 yr + liao. Upgrading to DLP projector which is inforcus 4805 or back to panasonic AE500 or sanyo Z2. But my fav is still either inforcus 7200 or Banq 8700 which both are DLP but at 8k to 10k price. but maybe wait till AE700 from pansonic release
I brought most of the DVD frm amazon or when I travel to US.
I thought urs should be sanyo Z2 and not sony Z2?