Maraquan,

Tks for the compliments

milo,

Oh, so yr dog is the culprit
My dog is guilty of dirtying my walls too ... left paw prints on the walls
& she ate up my walls too .... That was the 4th time my hubby had to conceal the hole on the wall which she chewed away!

But if your dog is not jumping at the cabinets, thereby leaving paw prints, it shld be ok mah.

maraquan_draik

Hi AK,
Ya lor, I draw it myself, it is actually 3d but what you see is only the "photo" of the 3d. first attempt not so nice, but my contractor understand what I want and that is more important.

pegsfur

AK,

The plant is real one!
I like that area too & was thinking of expanding the mini garden cos our house is a corner unit, nobody will walk one. But the pebbles & the wooden planks are so heavy!
My reno alone cost abt $16K - $17K, excluding furniture & appliances.

milo66

AK,

Aiyo your kitchen so big. mine top and bottom add up to a miserable 20 ft.

wat is your hse theme? i hope to have mine as simple as possible. hate to do the cleaning.

i will go and check out the tv console this weekend. yours is custom made or off the rack?

milo66

hi pegsfur,

ya lor, jus wanted to ask you how you manage with your doogy ard. mine not only jump on my cabinet, he also add up my wall, my soft toy, aiya as long as anythinh that is within my reach. mine is a nightmare!!!! guess wat is my dog's breed. Ha ha

My ID quoted me ard $16k too excluding appliance. now feel so broke.

pegsfur

milo,

OMG ... yr doggie is as naughty as mine
Let me guess, yr dog is a jrt?

My initial quotation was abt $15K ... so the difference is not too much

milo66

hi pegsfur,

SMART gals. ya jrt so terror. *Shudder*

my quote doesnt include the room doors which i intend to change and the curtains... really dunno how can we afford it. after the wedding broke liao...

a_k

milo, my living room is small though my kitchen is big. so cannot put too much things in living room. i will get a off the rack one. hv not really shop for any yet cos now in the midst of reno. so very busy. i hv even get my sink leh! oh oh...

maraquan, steady leh. very 3d. so good hor u draw the perceptives urself. so when ur reno starting?

pegfur, ur reno is 16-17k ah. not bad leh. std or premium? so that is a real plant ah, it tot it is articial type cos it look very nice in color. need a lot of sunlight a not huh. where u get it.

pegsfur

milo,

Hahaha ... terriers are a known TERROR breed
Mine is a silky terrier
Just as naughty ....

Are u on a tight budget? Tried to cut down on customising yr furniture. For example, my tv console only cost $350, while customising wld cost me at least $680. Then we only custom-made our curtains for the mbr & living rm, the other 2 rooms we just buy from ikea & it cost less than $200

pegsfur

AK,

Mine is a premium

Oh, all the plants are from ikea
Only the red-flower plant is from my dad cos he works in a landscape company. Mmm ... not that they need a lot of sunlight but they'll grow nicer if you put it under the sun
My money plant almost died when i put it in my mbr toilet ... hahaha ... now growing fuller aft i put it at the mini garden

a_k

yah, i agreed with pegfur. so i didnt customise my tv console also. some tv console r nice off the rack. some even look like as if it is customised. i think the shop i mentioned got sell off the rack also if u like the std measurement they hv. u can chk it out with them. i cant really rem liao.

me also hv not buy many things... everything is $$...

a_k

wah sey, landscape co. cool leh. i like tat red flower plant. it really caught my eyes... blend well with the foyer i feel.

i thinking of growing fruits outside house leh.. haaha.. can save $$ buying also... after wedding also broke liao. can only afford to buy seeds.

chaoahbeng

hey, listening to you all chit chat about your reno is getting me excited already. I am also starting to reno my house, but my ID have yet to show me the sample for the flooring yet. so i can't really decide on wat to use for the flooring yet. like go so many things to do hor? choose floor tiles, wall tiles, kitchen cabinet, walkin wardrobe design, lightings, plumping and mixers...and wat else i forgot to mention.

If got idea, let me know hor can? I am a guy and not very creative when it comes to design. my wife have already delegated the responsibility of reno and design to me, so i need plenty of ideas and advices. after all, this is my first time leh..hehe. email me at [email protected] if u got any comments or ideas ok?

"kum sia" to all.

pegsfur

AK,

U wanna grow fruits? Hahaha ... good idea to save $$$
Btw, my next door neighbour grows chilli

Hi babye,

No lah, mine is at 17X
U stay at 2xx?

babye

CAB,

Who did u engage? ID or contractor?
Id ID, they sure got lots of ideas and suggestion for you one. So, mai kian, steady lah.

Pengsfur,
are u the one using Impress 21?

milo66

Hi AK,

Aiya i have yet to buy my sink, stove etc. went down to jln basar last weekend sourcing 4 sink but they dun have the stock i wan. luckily found it in IMM, a shop called Lian Joo. Price wise the same as Jln Basar and its more convenient too. Can source out there.

Pegsfur

Ya rather tight, we renovated the hse 3 year back but we rented out to people so now after customary, we move back but everything as expected old and spoilt. So now rerenovating again using some of the $$ collected that has not been spent on the wedding. **HEART ACHE**

I was thinking of getting off the rack too but worried abt my lousy taste and matching skills. Always feel so lost asking me to choose this and that. Hubby no better too. Think this weekend can source ard 4 stuff so no need to customise so many things. **SAVE SOME $$$**

chaoahbeng

babye, i engaged a contractor cum designer. he quite alright tho the design haven't come out yet, expected to see drawings this week. I am more quite excited about moving into my new house leh..hehe

a_k

pegsfur, yah thinking of tat leh. can hv a little fruit garden outside. my neighbour grow vege leh. he grew kang kong, tomato, chilli, lemon grass, & many others. the kang kong & other green leaf vege, he use the hydroponics method to plant leh. taste kind of diff from those plant using soil one. more crispy i feel.. heehee he will give us some of his harvest at times... heeee he even put the date that he plant & the plant name on the pot leh. so sometimes when i pass by, i will study on the plant... hahaa very interesting one.

milo, which flr is lian joo at? maybe i go weekend to see see.

ah beng, i tot your house already done up liao leh. ever read in a thread that u iron clothes for your wife rite? or it is a diff person?

MTDT, ur house got a nice scenery. i like the view at windows 2. ur house clean looking leh. white color easy to maintain a not, esp your kitchen, very white but nice. i was thinking of using the solid top color like yours but scare difficult to maintain... any advice?

milo66

Annelise,

Any idea wat is the price range of the furniture that you have recommend?

AK,

It is at the 2nd floor. Let you know the tel and unit number tonight.

porcu

for my last reno (current condo), I have gotten this TV console from IKEA. It's the black on (one layer) with tinted "tampered glass" sliding door. Got 2 of them and put them side-by-side. Able to put my current VCR, DVD, Xbox, PS2, Amplifier, SCV box and other stuffs inside it.
The good thing about this is that, with all the lights off, you can see cool lights emitted only from the device that's on. For eg, the cool blue light from the PS2 console, green "on" light from the Xbox and the "time indicator" from VCR, DVD players or "channel indicator" from the SCV box. From far, it's as if the lights are emitted from the tinted glass itself!

In the daytime (under light), the tinted glass helps hide the messy cabling and stuffs within the cabinet.

For my new reno in this coming months (bought another condo), I am still looking around for TV consoles, etc. Might still wanna use the IKEA one for the "lighting" effects and novelty.

Just some of my comments on TV cabinets...

pegsfur

Morning!

Babye,

Yup, my contractor is Impress21
Wah, u've been stalking me ah?

poox,

I got my curtain from a guy who sticks his pamphlets all over the lifts
I think his name is Mesfin Ong ... or something like that. My sofa is from ikea

milo,

Yeah lor ... wedding & reno cost the most, in our entire lives, i guess
I have a suggestion, if you are not in a hurry, u can do the reno in stages mah. Like dat u'll have more time to source for your stuff & no need to get pressurised by $$$.

mini apple,

My tv console cost $350

mtdt

Hi:

am glad tat I have a nice unblocked view too... v windy... shiok...

White Theme - quite simple for now. I clean my hse only bi weekly, lazy lah!

I only do simple cooking.. no deep fried stuff etc... so the white kitchen is also relative ok. Just make sure to wipe one round after every meal... (even not white also must do tat rite?)

My solid top is not totally white.. it has black specks on it. Totally fuss free in maintain it. I was told not to get black as any scratches will be v obvious... (dunno if it is really the case)

Pegsfur - your red kitchen top is solid top?
any scratches?

guang97

maraquan, can i see ur cabinet? i still waiting for my design from my ID. Have given him the floor plan. Im really having a headache on my MBR layout n WIW. Haven decide whether to hack the wall for a bigger MBR for my WIW. Thk MBR is the most headache.

Scient,
Ur hse is really nice. Mine living rm also with a platform like urs but the end is fixed to the wall not like urs got a gap for the lights. (on floor plan oni design not out yet)
Did u combine two rms?? Is ur wardrobe consider WIW? I kinda like the design. Custom made or u bought it? How much? 28K seems a lot.My budget if possible 20-25K. Cos still hv many stuffs like tv, sound sys, PC, fridge etc...

guang97

Do u guys out there really crack ur own head or ur ID head for a design u like?
I seems to be cracking mine cos cant really make up my mind for a design even though i haven seen his design after our first discussion on our floorplan.

BTW i haven got my key yet maybe in AUG or SEP, reno in mid SEP after the 7th mth, ROM in End SEP.

Staying in Jurong West St 65 (5rm Standard)

milo66

Check with you all something..... It is funny that inside a WIW, i have a wardrobe those that has door?

Mr Lost,

I leave it to my ID because i have poor taste sense. After he showed me the drawings, then change a bit here and there. I even got him to propose the colour combination and any other things. Too lazy to think abt.

annelise

Hi milo,

I'm not sure what the price range is - it's made in Italy, so I think it is quite pricey. I got my dining chairs from the same designer 5 years ago and each chair cost about $1,000. So I'm definitely going to haul the chairs over to my new place when I move!

By the way, Oser Studio is no longer at Delfi Orchard, they've moved to 25 Seah Street.

scient

Hi Mr Lost

Yes, we combined 2 rooms as the rooms are small. We put a king-sized bed in one and the other houses the wardrobe & bathroom. Its not a WIW, just a normal one.

Well they did most of the carpentry like the L-shaped cabinet and full height cabinet in the kitchen, entertainment rm, all the woodwork in the bedroom, doors etc etc.

As ours is an EA so there are more stuff to be done. Maybe for 5rm it can be within your budget. If you are interested, leave your email and I can share with you what you want to know. BTW, I'm not related to them in anyway, just feel that their work is good.

blue_genie

milo66: dun think its funny that inside a WIW still have a wardrobe those that has doors as i have seen one @ my friend's. i guess its up to individual loh..most of them dun have door for their wardrobe if doing WIW.

mr lost: doing the same thing as milo66,i.e. to leave the design to my ID but of course need to tell him what's my requirements. after that, he'll draw out drawings and frm there, change a bit here and there cos sometimes what they design are not very pratical and to our likes..

milo66

Annelise,

Wow that is very pricey!! Thks for the info anyway ;)

Blue_genie

Hee thks 2! Tot the current wardrobe which i have done 3 years back is still in good condition so no pt demolishing it. I be having a wall to partition off the area so that become my WIW. cant wait to see the outcome. starting only after national day .....sigh....now my whole back ache from packing all my rubbish

babye

Hi Pegsfur,

No lah. We talk before at the punggol 21 thread.
I stop coming into SB for quite a while. forgotten my login and PW. so recreate another one.... u remember Sunshine? u been to her house also....

annelise

To me, a good ID should get to know you a little better and to get to know what are your likes and dislikes. It's true that we can't make up our minds about designs - that's what the id is there for, to help us sort out our ideas - and to make reccommendations.

Have you guys watched this program on Channel 5 called Designer Guys? It's a fantastic program and the IDs are fantastic! I'm not sure if Channel 5 is still showing it - they used to show it really late at night or in the mornings at 10am - which is a pity cos' not many people get to watch it.

You may wanna check out the website at www.designerguys.com

blue_genie

milo66: np! u doing ur reno after nat'l day? will ur reno be affected cos lunar 7th mth is coming? some ppl very pan tang one leh...if u dun mind, its ok lah..

milo66

bLuE_gEnIe

ya lor. But i heard from my mum that as long as you start work before then its alright.
hee actually i rather timid so tot 7th mth reno got excuse move back to my mum. which stage of your reno are you at now?

pegsfur

mtdt,

Boh lah ... mine is postform top ... i scared of scratches cos i very chor lor one

babye,

Oh, no wonder lah ... cos i dun remember yr new nick at all
So how's things?

Mr lost,

I designed my own house cos we got a contractor instead of designer. Some of the items i'll draw out for him to see so that he gets a clearer picture of what i want.

babye

pegsfur,

I only stay at punggol 1-2 nights/wk. Most of the time, I am staying with my MIL, since she is taking care of my daughter. Now I am asking Henry to renovate the room at my MIL's house. I will rent our my punggol rms. any lobang??

To the rest,
Do you find that most of the house are very empty? unlike those houses that feature in the magazine...