32" LCD - Philip/Toshiba/JVC/Sharp

lyn, ya lor... buy already better dun see the price... me too... i think i better stop looking at the price else bang wall also.

loveme, i saw from harvey norman, RCA also have HD cable type... cost more than $100... probably gimmick hor... aiyoh, i still told my hb no need digital box, cos should be clear... hmmm... digital box quite expensive right?

Case, hehe...if really wants to go electrical store then avoid the tv sections hehe...

HD cable refers to monster cables?

The guy at the PC fair says it's 1499 for cash & carry...but since we both dun drive, and we are heading for another appt after the fair so will be funny walking around with the huge tv right? So in the end, we paid $30 for delivery...

I also have a feeling that the prices are still dropping so I also dare not step into the TV sections of electrical stores..hehe

Hi Samgirl,

I am using the digital box and my parent's house is using the analog box (black box). I think cost is not great...

I pay $4 for my digital box rental while $2 for my parent's analog box rental. The rest of the cost is from the channels tat u subscribe. So the total cost depends. :p

thanks loveme, i will check it out

btw, just saw that best denki is selling samsung R71 for $1599 (with a $400 Robinson voucher FOC)... hohoho... i think better try to avoid shopping area to resist the temptation of looking at the prices.

Hi Case,

$1599 with $400 voucher? Wow!! Thats a very good deal. Can I know which Best Denki outlet u saw this? And is it for model R71 or S71?

Hi Case,

The model u saw tat is $1599 and with $400 voucher is 32" too? Wow..if so, then its a very good buy. Mine which i booked in Jun is 26" R7 cost $1599 too but only $100 voucher lor.

hi jasmine/lyn,
it was for 26" R71. For 32", they quote $2199 with $400 robinson voucher.

I saw it at Parkway Parade, but i think the offer is only during the weekend.

Anyway, did not buy lah cos I booked for Toshiba already ;P

Thinking of buying for my MBR one, but think twice, so did not buy. I think price will drop further... and it seems this is the first time i saw samsung price drop so much.

I just got my Samsung 32" R71 2 days ago at $1850. Free gift choose either xbox360 core or home threater system or $300 robinson voucher.

Hey,

I just went to The Big Store at Habourfront Centre today. Saw a 32" Sharp Aquos (HD ready) going for $1799 on offer. A lotta their LCD TVs r also cheaper den places like Best Denki. Anyone bought their TVs there before? Any comments on Sharp Aquos?

hi sofa owners

I hv gone through many threads on sofas but found most comments on where to buy them. Can anyone feedback on how happy you are with your sofa after using them for some time and where did you buy them?

OM has nice designs but when I sat on them, the cushions sank deeper than my 10-year-old mattress!

Like Evov Living as well, but HB says no head rest! Chic but not comfy.

Getting a headache sofa hunting! Our budget is no more than $1.5k. Possible?

well look out for da vinci ones when they are on offer its really good.

my uncle just got this set a 3+2+1 full leather sofa from da vinci on sale for i think only 1.8k

worth it

Hear a lot of neighbourhood shops selling home appliances but anyone know which has a better service and prices?

chanced upon tis thread & m also looking for a 32" LCD for my hme. does anyone knw if samsung LCD 32 inch is any good? i m lookin4value for money & some quality at least lah
hahah (laughing at myslf) ... any advice wld be appreciated - tnks!

Hi Elin,

I'm not so sure abt the specs comparison, but i went to look at quite a few 32 inch LCD TVs at the BiG Store. Saw Philips, Panasonic, Toshiba, Thomson, Sony, Sharp, Pallidine, Akira, Amos and Samsung.
I find the tt the samsung picture quality looks pretty gd. Price-wise also quite ok. Quite value-for-money.
I personally find Sharp Aquos better tho. And cheaper too. Samsung wud b my 2nd choice. =)

hooray .. thks kristen
ok, value for $ - tat's wat i like to hear. but yes i agree Sharp Aquos is v nice too. erm, lemme go see & compare again

I think the samsung design is nicer tho. Haha, but my bf said "eh, duno whether can trust korean brands or not. looks nice now, but duno how long it'll last." Cos we find samsung phones really lousy! Not sure abt their LCD TV tho. By the way, Sharp was the LCD TV brand of the yr for 2005 i think. So we definitely like Sharp more. ;)

For good prices, u can try BiG Store at Habourfront Centre. I saw Sharp Aquos 32" at $1599 (free delivery). Samsung also cheaper there. Some earlier posts mentioned a place called Megastore, but i haf no idea where tt is. Also not sure whether it's the same place. Bleahz.

By the way, i find tt when u look at the LCD tvs, it's better to look from a distance. Preferably ard 3 metres. Den u get a more realistic feel of how it'll b like in ur home. I tot Akira was better than Sharp until my bf told me to step further away from the TV. Lol.

i just bot another LCD TV. Samsung LA27S71B. 27" for MBR. Used for about a week. Not bad. The remote controller and image is nicer than my toshiba in the living room. haha! maybe just my perception.. :P

Oh forgot to add, i bot from Harvey Norman for $1299. Free Dvd player.. but i dun need it since i have SCV. so i negotiated for $100 less. What I paid eventually is $1199 with 3 years warranty. And I topped abt $160 (if i rem correctly) for another 2 more years.

yah i know loveme
i was so smitten by samsung design & also affected by advertising lah (should not i know but u knw lah .. only human) but sharp image quality seems v strong. tat's why we r gonna check out tis wkend, after my chat wth kristen
thks for posting price u paid online .. it sure helps
i am still deciding now but i rem a few mths ago mahy LCDs were having promo of buy 32 inch and they give small baby one free (but of course the 32 inch price seemed jackedup a little more)

wont be need a dvd player tho' bec i got one SONY one alrdy & quite happy
.. hee hee

Samsung packaging damn nice ya? Buy smth u really like. Dun get influence by external factors. I heard Sharp is good too. Thus before I set my eyes on Samsung, sharp was my 2nd choice!

Elin, can Sony DVD player play those 'pirated' DVDs? Hehe curious cos I have not tried on my Toshiba DVD yet.

Also, is your Sony DVD player HDMI enabled? If yes, did you buy the HDMI wire or component wire as well?

Actually, I have minor problem. My LCD TV has only 2 RCA point which I used it for my Digital box(SCV), PS2 and I have no more RCA for DVD player. Understand I gotta get Component wiring if I wanna to wire up to my LCD.

Where is the best place to get component wire? how much normally?

Hi canaryanne,

I believe tt the points etc r pretty universal. Wot i'm more worried abt is the warranty. I doubt ur TV will b covered in Singapore.

Canaryanne, it would be cumbersome if ur LCD broke down and u need help. Check if warranty covers in Singapore is v impt if it's not covered, i suggest better not.

Hi Canaryanne,

1 more thing to note is tt u will b taxed for bringing the TV into Singapore cos the tax relief is not enuf to cover the price of ur TV. Check if it's still worth it after the customs taxes.

Actually i find the prices of TVs in Singapore is very competitive. I wun consider getting a TV from overseas. Parallel import sets from Singapore shops r also a definite NO-NO! The only things i'll get overseas r prob my bridal package or mayb my engagement ring. ;)

lol @ kristen ... how true .. e part on bridal pckg & engagemnt ring. first one i only realised tat shanghai has $1000 bridal pckgs & quite nice too. 2nd one i only realised can save on tax by wearing ring back
2 of my gfs did tat!! althou' i tink I'll hve a nervous brkdown walkin thru customs ...

but back to 32" LCD tvs : I agree beta dont buy overseas canayyanne. Sg warrnty is impt & also Sg prices quite competitv! many tourists come here to buy fr us !!

Hi Elin,

How do u use bridal packages from Shanghai? I was more of thinking of Malaysia cos it's like same price, different currency!

Anyway, i'm actually looking for a cheap place to buy gd diamonds leh. Wonder where to go. I wanted to buy online from whiteflash.com, but trying to explore other options first.

I think Singapore diamonds and diamond prices sucks...

Where did ur gfs buy their rings and izit gd and cheap?

Hi Marsilinghoo,

I'm sure ur problem is more of a heng-suay case rather den a general problem wif Sharp TVs, but ya, agree wif cha_alex, muz get extended warranty for wotever brand or model u buy.

But if we buy all the home appliances for those "downstair shop", do they have the extended warranty also?