$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

Hi Devila

Its not such a bad idea if HDB really runs out of ur existing tiles. Even if its plain, at least can choose the colour tt u want.

From what I heard, if u dun like HDB's tiles u can buy outside and they provide labour to overlay for u.

anne, yesh. with closer look, u will find that the flat is really wear n tear condition le.... nad my main door alone is in such poor workmanship that i want to throw it out!! i cant apply for the cement screeding yet cos unless HDB can retify all my defects, i cant hack walls or do any reno. i can only do the cement screeding AFTER my walls are hacked!! which, if i was to apply now for reno works, it will definately expire be4 the reno work can be done, while waiting for HDB....

iced latte, ya, i was thinking that if HDB going to give me tiles i dont like, i'll probably ask to sell them back to them n buy my own tiles for HDB to lay for me. i rather pay alittle more for them...

okie folks... i'm going off again to my new flat to check on the electrical points etc.... then i'm off to HDB branch office to summit the defects.... HAIZ... bring together a bottle of JIFF, Brush to wash up toilets... or at least try to c if it can be washed....

latte, the hdb called my bf ald this morning...
he said that he would like to meet up with the contractor and the hdb personel gave the contractor's number to my bf...
they arrange to meet up at my place tmr at 3pm...
my bf wants to ask him to speed up the process of waiting etc and to start asap...

devila, try washing the toilet etc...
as the tapes to the toilet seats have been stick there very long, unlikely to wash away...
i scrub also cannot...
wash the floor with normal detergent also cannot...
haiz... pipe checked and no pro...
only toilet bowl leak...
water seepage etc...

all in all, to check carefully cos u paid for it...

Hi babu

Good luck with the contractor meeting. I think if u request tt he speeds up ur rectification work and use the tiles tt he provide, he can do it fast

manz this is so scary....

devila, which blk are u at?
to be honest, i know nuts abt checking for defects... the thing is, how to check???
U mean to say HDB changed all the taps for us?

Any idea if HDB will only call main applicant? cos my FH is out of town this week and that country has no global roaming so even if hdb called cant get through...

Unsuregal my quotation from Chew Interior is 38,510 so far... with gst i mean.

Maybe u gals are right, the town council actually checks outside and not inside

latte,
only my bf meeting contractor...
i'm not... let him go settle... he got lotsa of leave... unlike me... so miserable...
hehehhee.... ya will be using the tiles provided by them... no need to pay also...

Hi fallingflakes,

Same boat as me.. nt collected the key yet. hope to collect this month.. After reading all these posts,sort of scared me off.. so many problem with the flat...

Anyway, congrats for those who has collected the keys.. at least u gals get to step in to your
new house...

Unsure
can i have your email? I'll send the pics to ya.

just for info, my sis got her flat at the blk671X area n had the same problem wif her toilet tiles n kitchen tiles. (cracked,etc) the HDB simply just changed all to plain coloured ones... won't have those what flower tiles u r having now.... n the workmanship of the HDB workers are not good... they didn't lay the tiles at the her kitchen toilet's kerb(at the door area) properly... lucky her ID helpful...willing to change the ugly tiles at the kerb for free usiing her kitchen floor tiles.

devila mun
I have a suggestion...if u dun like the tiles HDB is going to get for ya...just tell them to do the hacking... then get your own tiles to lay. It'll be good to ask your ID to do it instead esp for kitchen if u plan to take away the service balcony..cos HDB's contractors' skills like not that good... slip shod work. Do let them know before hand of this intention...

anyway our flat is coming to 5 years...not yet 5 years...
btw the hair line cracks on walls is recurring ones... rectified liao will come back in no time... happened to my flat n my sis's new flat... HDb mentioned it's like that one..cos of the expansion n contraction of walls esp now they use the 'lego' tech method to build flats... think have to repaint the my walls after staying there for 5 years...

oshgosh
it's common to have such problems wif new units esp if the unit is left vacant for a while.... think the only problem faced is the tiles are not available in market anymore... so it's hard to get the exact replacements... thus HDB use the plain coloured ones... dun worry... ultimately, after reno, u'll get your dream flat...

hey oshgosh,

yup i agree leh wait so long just to get the keys liew. Somemore the stupid OTP gonna expire soon lor!!!!! btw which blk are u at? I'm at Blk D 14th floor.

manz, so many problems with the flat...no wonder those contractors and IDs are making so much money!

okie folks, just came back from HDB Branch Pioneer. once again, my blk is at 656A.

lastest update, my storeroom aka, bomb shelter, the electrical sockets there both doesnt work. my powerbox behide my front main door, the cover dont work properly either, cant open n close properly...
tried washing the toilets, both have stains n the sticky stuff from the tapes unable to scrub off both from the floor tiles (the place where they cover up the water drain) n the toilet bowls, all the sticky stuff, the more i try to clean it, the dirtier i gets as more dirt n stuff from my sponge get stuck on it!!!! (but i heard from my ID tat acid wash/chemical wash can help wash away...)
the mbr's toilet's sink, well, subjective lah... the grim can be wash off but, the sink like abit discolour leh... like very old liao... the water stopper cannot close properly either, so water still flow away...
Kitchen toilet sink, well, other then the paint tat dry off in drops which i think need chemical to clean, it looks okie, BUT the stopper in the sink, the chain part looks abit rusty...
taps as i mention, looks all totally new (at least mine is), as the bottom toilet pipes also looks new, ... so far i dont c any problem.
the toilet sits are both discoloured badly, but it's cheap to change lah, n can try find those with design type n change yourself...
another problem which i donnoe how HDB is going to help, is that the water flow for both toilets very bad leh... while i was washing the toilet's floor, the MBR water all collect at one corner plus machiam like flood like tat cos the outlet has a 2-4 mm height difference with the floor have to push push push water in order for it to flow to the outlet... the kitchen toilet, water all collect at the toilet bowl pipes there, the place there so small, i have to use cloth to go push the water out... haiz...
tat side dont have outlet...

btw, i use jiff to wash the toilets, let the jiff soak awhile... toilet still doesnt look clean leh... i think cos the floor tiles gap all black black de... so no matter how hard u clean, still looks like it's dirty... (perfer white white de gap... :p) i wonder if HDB can do something about tat? paint it white??

lavander, babu,
the tiles, i really dont know... still have to check with HDB, hopefully, becos so many of us getting our flats there n have so much problems, they might try or somehow, import better tiles... (dream on :P ...) but regardless, i think the best is that when they are going to work at the defects, be there personally to check lor... haiz... (fingercross tat they get me a BRAND NEW main door...

as for the wall cracks, mostly i can except lah...but hor, i cannot and will not give allowance for ceiling cracks leh.... when ceiling cracks, very very very very very very very troblesome de!!! i know cos now my present 3rm flat of 22 years suffer from 1-1.5ft whole ceiling drop on my head be4!!! and almost half of my ceiling in the kitchen of my present flat, even after spending 1k plus to repair still drop after 1/2 yr or so... haiz... and everytime, lots of ceiling paint n flakes rain down on our food, water, etc.... so if HDB dont repair for u now, later if got problem, both ur upstairs n u have to pay 1/2 each of the cost of repair if got leakage.

and tat my dear lavander, just for ur infor, my MBR toilet's ceiling got sparring concrete le.... later if got leakage problem, both u n me also troblesome rite....

lavander, ya... i listed it as one of the problems le... now is the waiting game...

babu, i guess most of us will face almost the same kind of problems too, since our flats are all from the same batch. but i was still hoping that at least a certain standard leh...

haiz... i guess the person who bought the Showflat wouldnt have these problems rite??? hahaha...

what is sparring concrete?? tat is something new... i noticed my main door also look patchy.. can we change?? btw, i havent get my keys... another 2 weeks to 3 months..

anne : it means part of the concrete on the ceiling drop... and in some cases, u can even c the re-bar (that is the steel part) expose n rusty... if tat happens, 1st u need to chemical treat the re-bars (the steel bars) after that cover with a type of special cement (from wat i understand is those water prove plus more sticky type) then after that do cement screeding ontop of the special cement, then the white plaster cement, then paint sealer on it, then paint ur normal paint....

this happen usually in the bathrooms, kitchen or balcony where there is water. if your upstairs neighbour's flooring didnt do proper water proving on their floors be4 laying floor tiles, this will happen and if u ignore the sparring concrete ceiling, it will eventurely start to have leakage (esp bathroom or near water pipings)

if or when there is leakage, 1st, ur upstairs neighbour have to hack way their flooring, re-do water proving, then lay back the tiles, and your own ceiling has to do chemical processing, etc. the cost of this will have to be shared equally between upstairs neighbour and yourself REGARDLESS of WHOSE fault it is... (tat's y troblesome!!!) thou i'm not sure, but in some cases, if the if the flooring is the orginal HDB tiles, mabe HDB will cover the cost for these cases....

another type of sparring ceiling concrete happens in most OLD flats. esp those 20 yrrs and above of age. example, the weight of ur laundary hanging on ur ceiling will also cos sparring ceiling after yrs of wear n tear...

conclusion, pls make sure that ur ceiling is in good condition. if u c fresh newly paint in areas in ur kitchen, toilets, balconys, esp near pipings, pls try to touch the area to c if it feels damp, soggy, etc....

lavander, mine is not tat bad... hahha... but it's the begining of a 'nightmare'.... so i really hope HDB will do a good job to repair the ceiling!!!

devila,

have you submit your list of defects, if so, after 3 days can start calling HDB... my bf meeting the contractor later.

hopefully can tell us when they can start work...

devila mun
haha...hdb can't fault us cos i never hack my bathroom tiles n can't anyway cos it's not 5 years yet. :p wish they can change man..the workmanship of the building not very good like that... quite alot of problems.

lavender, yupe! the troblesome part is tat if they should do retiling of ur toilet, there will be lots of dust n dirt... very sian de.... and, rite now, my ceiling dont have leakage (thank god!!!) but u never know after 5, 6, yrs will it happen. the ceiling seems so weak... haiz..

babu, yupe, already summit le... actually, my hubby said he will start calling TML!!! (fingers cross!!)

for those who have not yet collect keys, i think we can only collect in 2 weeks time cos the contractor/Jurong west branch reverted that they can only handover to HDBhub in 1-2 week time.

how demoralising.. so much of saying will expedite... sigh..

devila, have u been to blk 98X there?? near stadium??? the contractor is from their side and let me choose the tiles there...
toilets flooring also can change...
yuppie... i'm so happy... i feel that it's so much nicer than what we have it at our place...
hehehee

babu,

is it bcos the tiles is faulty tat why u can change? if so, very good leh, at least can hv new set of tiles as compared to our almost 5 years tiles..

wahhhhhhhhhhhh babu!!!!!!!!!! tat's the 1ST GREAT news i've heard since the collection of keys!!!!!!!!!

i also wan to change!!!! my water flow is terrible!!!! the walls terrible!!!! aghhh.... (even when i try not to be too fussy also can c alot of problems!!!!)

hi anne, yup, there's stain that can't be removed. and guess, the floor tiles no longer available... and we need to build kerb for the shower area... best, they changed it and request them to help us build the kerb lor... hehehe

devila, just state whatever u not satisfied in the defect list. when contractor come, u and hubby be there to talk to him lor... tell him that in long run, sure got pro arise. they will help u. h*b paying them to rectify, so think they also hope to do more rectification per unit.

YEHHHHH!!!!!!.... babu... i will kiss u if i could!!! tat's great!!!! definately will complain unitl HDB die die also must redo for me!!!kekekeke.......

*happily dancing around the room!!!!!*

btw, babu, do u happen to know if the contractor is the same one who will be doing the cement screeding 2? are u going to do cement screeding for ur flat too?

devila, rem that u muz talk nicely to the contractor... be nice and everything can be smooth-sailing... ;) i'm not doin cement screed... not having laminate at hm... :p
me very practical lor... nice and easy maintenance... hehehe.... cos know i will be lazy to clean up very corner properly lah...hehehee

oic.... well... i HAVE to do lamination flooring for my 4 rms... (reason cos we decide to do marble for my living/dining n hence, cut the cost abit) but i also heard tat even wif u maintenance ur lamination floorings, u can still get bugs problems..... haiz.... so scary!!!! so was thinking mabe might change to cermic tiles tat LOOK like lamination flooring!! but it doesnt comes cheap either... haiz......

U have not decide??
give urself more option lor...
let say u intend to shift after 5 yrs, then lamination is fine... the next owner will decide whether to keep or change... it's their pro...
for me, doubt wanna shift again but who knows right?? so better do those easy maintenance one... not so stress... now homogenous got alot of design look like marble... if really hard on cash, can consider that too...

well... actually, tis flat is our perment flat le... tat's y had decide to do marble... thou marble needs slightly more attention n care, but in the long run, it's still the best flooring. (of cos tat will also depend on the workmanship lah... tat's y so worried...)

my neighbours, mother 1 flat, son 1 flat, sis of mother 1 flat, sis of mother's son 1 flat, all on the same level as me, (tat is 4 different units of flat along my corridoor) they did all the same marble for their flooring since day 1. presently my flat is about 23,24 yrs old le.... all their floorings are in totally good condition!!! the mothers' flats have neber been repolish be4, so abit dull in colour be still super good!! both sons' did twice poshing over the 23,24 yrs... their marble looks as good as new!!! AND one of the son even has dogs at home since day 1!!...

my aunties, 3 of them also do marble flooring, so far one of them staying in redhill 30+ yrs leh, marble still gorgeous, plus she busy all her life n had neber really take care...

still, all these also subjective to the quality of ur marble lah... mabe those olden days marble are MUCH MUCH Better quality.... and also most impt thing is workmanship lor....

all those i ask, all tell me they didnt really go take special care on their marble also.... all very happy with their marbles after 20+ yrs of use... neber ever decide to change or got problems with their skirtings!!! (many ppl after 10+ yrs, esp cermic tiles, part of their skirtings sure drop or crack, wooden skirting worst, some cant even last 10 yrs...)

and hence, we decide to 'HEARTPAIN' one time... do the marble flooring... later if need to change Bedrooms still much easiler to do so... carpentary works also we cut out some of them, cos if want still can do later...

homo tiles hor... also get stain easily de.... just look at my own present home kitchen n toilets homo tiles... haiz... dont even want to think about it... it my reno is only 7 yrs old!!!

if u set the budget there, then do it...
we on tight budget... tink on reno plus electrical work at least $33K... wish me luck...
alot of things we din do liao...
but carpentry work really cost alot alot...
headache...
give myself some excuse to do reno next time...
now live with hom... hehehee

Me only reno and electrical stuff...
still haven add lights, sink, hob, hood...
wanna cry liao... total add up ard $40K i tink...
sob sob...

babu... i totally agree with u!!! it's a headaching process!!!! sounds like u have already enage ur ID le? hmmm... ur carpentary works must be alot!! mine i tot alot le since i got a huge 18ft bookshelf, my living rm tat wall also got feature wall, plus i'm hacking alot of walls n building back walls also... (changing study room n MBR door n entrance)

oh n my studyroom new doors are like 4 panels, total about 9ft length, going to cost me like 2k!!! haiz!!! oh did i mention tat the door for my WIW is $980??? pengz!!! nowadays, glass n wood are like gold manz!!!!

Building wall is ex...
my study room there hack and rebuild cost ard $3k liao... have not got precise quotation.. next week will receive...
will keep u updated...
i also got one book shelf in the study room...

did i mention i decide to forgo the Shoe cabinate??? my quote is like 1.5k, cheaper quote is like 1.3k!!!!! i mean pls!!! i can get $9.90 or $39.90 at carefor or giant lor, or even if buy those nice ones in furniture shop also less then S$300!!!! i do agree tat with the feature wall n bench n nice matching door is really good looking, but......... haiz.... as i mention, wood nowadays are price like 'GOLD' manz!!!!

so my intention is, i'll buy those matching set of TV console, dining table, shoe cabinate, buffet table, kopi table at sofa, side table at sofa, or n even those nice 2 pcs chairs with 1 kopi table type to place in my dining rm.
if everything matches, it should look great!! i estimate the cos of these furniture will be around 5k or less...

compare to if i get contractor to build just 1 shoe cabinate cos me 1.3 -1.5k, tv console 1 - 1.3k, and i still need to buy dining table, etc.....

i do agree tat contractor build de might be much better quality lah... but hor, dont u wan to have the chance to change say after 10 yrs or so???

Devila,
wat WIW door u do? sliding or normal door? my ID say not nice to do sliding door cos my entrance area very small.. now i am think abt bi-fold door.. they say do glass door but look funny if wake up and see thru ur WIW. and wat if my WIW is in a great mess.. i have to forgo my bedroom 2 area to act as a entrance to my MBR. a bit reluctant but no choice, if WIW on the side, very cramp.. most probably make the smaller room to a playroom for my baby..

i got quote for shoe cabinet too...
$870 not full height... but end up fsm say can't put shoes there...
end up, built a hung cabinet there... cost a bomb too... then follow by the display cabinet at the door there... there cost a bomb too...
no choice... if buy, wont match... gotta bear with it no choice...

anne, i still be changing my MBR entrance and hence, my WIW is at the toilet there. my door will be sliding type, the entrance there will be smaller of cos, but my FSM (he design de) says the part where the extend area can help hide the bathroom abit even if u leave ur door open, so good enuff for us, plus, if i TOPUP another 1k, i can do a feature wall INFRONT of the sliding door and hang my TV on it, so dont have to watch the TV from a slanted angel!! will be sort of directly opp the bed. (still deciding whether to do the 1k feature wall bo)...

babu, wahh... also so expensive hor... mine was suppose to be a hanging but full height shoe cabinate with a long bench for sitting, and a small feature wall to cover the existing Studyroom entrance with some shelves for deco.... and also to hide the 'ugly' pipings ontop of the wall, and also a cover tat can open close for the powerbox, tat one is 1.5k (oh did i mention the total length is 8.2ft?)
the other one is also a hanging but full height shoe cabinate, box to cover the powerbox, also long bench but with pvc seat cover.... this one is 1.3k!! (this one is 4.9ft!!!)

actually for ur case, if ur shoe cabinate is going to put near ur living room, u still can buy it if u buy also ur tv console, etc like me... if all ur furniture can match, it still look good de... esp if u got theme for ur reno, then even better... but of cos, i cant visureize ur flat so cant really comment much.... wait give u wrong advise, u kok me!! :p

confirmed
just sent u the pics... basically, the balcony pic is the one wif this finger chair...I'm planning to convert that into a play area for kids... buy those fence to 'fenced' up the place...keke... :p also plan to put those child safe mat on the floor at the play area.
the service balcony is the one wif the washing machine...

hmmm lavender, if tat area is ur kids area, best is u take note of all the corners there, in case tat is.... cos the wall edge there quite prone to accident for small small child (i imagin de so not sure)