$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

dumb

HI people. I will like to do up my exec flat but only have a budget of around 20k to work with. Is it possible to carry out the below stated works? Kindly advise pls. Thank you. (btw my flr area is 132m sq)

1) homogenous tiles to living, dining, kitchen, sv balcony & study rm

2) kitchen tabletop

3) kitchen cabinet, about only 4 panels

4) decorative panels above tv cabinet and tv cabinet

5) seperation panels between living and dining rm

6) panelled walk in cabinet

7) pebblewash flooring on balcony

8) make up table for msterbedrm

9) built in wardrobe for secondary rm

10) false ceiling to living rm and masterbedrm.

11) L box to study rm, dining area and secondary rm.

12) Panelled concealed bombshelter door, built in shoe rack.

13) Painworks

14) elctrical points and wiring.

15) sliding dooor for balcony

16) masterbedrm, sec, and guest rm doors

jessi

Hi there, I think it's quite difficult to have that whole list of items with a 20K budget. I'm going to reno my EA too, and it costed around 25-30K to do something similar from your list. The more capentry works, the higher the cost will be.

jasxia

Agreed with Jessi that its also quite difficult. I have justed renovated my EA at Jurong West too
, ~ $26K (similar items to yours too).

unless you wan to forgo false ceiling..maybe still possible.

but the market price for a EA, about $25 - $30k.
if too cheap, i think you also need to beware of workmaship and hidden cost.

koikoi

Hi There,
I will also be doing up my exec flat in the west.
Able to share the portfolios of your contractors?

dumb

Hi miss jas lee, i've just called up hdb sales section also. they've explained the norm for walk in takes about one mth plus. they have to check our flat eligibilty (sales dept) before passing on our document to (credit dept) for assessing our loan eligibilty. both shall come quite close togther once approved. happy waiting.

koikoi

then mine is quite fast.
Got the loan eligibility ard 2 weeks after we submit the application.

hi dumb may i know where is your location of your flat? mine in the west.

iceq

How come KoiKoi's one so fast de..mine so slow. Was thinking to submit the floor plan to FengShui leh, gan jiong mah..but also afraid "scarly" not approve waste my FengShui $$$...

koikoi

jas, i submit the loan application when i went for the first appt.
ard 2 weeks - 3 weeks later, we got our loan approved. i ald gave my floorplan to my fs master... now we waiting for the keys then call him up again.

dumb

is it because it's walk-in that;s y applications are slower?

hi koikoi, we are also in the west too, jurong west.

jackodreamz

Hi all, Mine Jwest too...got during the WIS launched before CNY... waiting for the approvals this and that too... think coz its CNY mayb will take slightly little longer bah... everyday opening the letterbox waiting for letters from HDB haha ^^ ... hey so how all ur sourcing for IDs coming along? I've soo far went to 4-5 IDs already... most of them says giving me the quote after CNY but till now...no sound no picture ...:p

iceq

koikoi, can I know who is your fs master har? I wanna engage a good one leh, but don't know the one in my mind good or not.

Waaa Jacko, so fast you look for ID liao, i havn't started yet, cuz need to wait for fs master for the layout plan before I can go to the ID. Somemore the loan no shadow no sound yet, stuck la.. *grumble*

jackodreamz

Haiz... actually is dunno wat to do after getting the house but on the other hand also dunno get anot that kindda feeling... soo go look around for IDs ask ask for quotes lor... the more the merrier mah later if really everything successfully done then can directly confirm an ID le mah ^^ ... if not onli sit and wait then the heart kancheong haiz hahahaah... guess all of us here somehow got that kindda feeling lar hor hahah

koikoi

Hi dumb n jacko,
got new friends in the neighbourhood.
u all took the 656 area???
ask my dear go check out the ID he always delay... haiz... now i always surf site looking at the projects seeing which ID i like most...

jas, my fs master is master Toh... my cousin intro to me... her house also recently done up. she ready to shift in liao...
we engage master toh to see the door direction...
then we go down to HDB to do our selection...

iceq

koikoi, becareful choosing ID, alot famous in name but blacklisted one worr..

All of you getting an EA? How much do you all plan for reno har? Me not much $$$ to reno, like dumb, don't know 15k or less can do or not...broke la :_(

dumb and jacko.. u stay 656? me too!!! there is a thread for 656 jw st 61 residents, perhaps u can join this thread.

hi iceq..
renov for $15k or less for EA is unlikely.
consider renvo loan..this is popular and u are not alone.

koikoi

hi iceq,
ya lor. me choosing carefully.
me also broke... budget tight.
ald got the EA cos dun have much 5 rooms flat for our option. if not enough money, dun do up all the BR first lor. Do ur master bedroom & study room lor. I dun intend to put grilles at hm until after i giive birth and the baby can climb, then i consider.
hope all this fall within $20K. urs is standard or premium? if standard, the flooring ald cos some amt liao.... ur location also at J.W???

Hey Jacko, dun haiz, at least u doing something. me only surf surf site.
so far see intra design one quite to my liking lor. but also scare they ex....

hi jacko,
i personally don't think its good to get as much ID quotation as possible,
i suggest:
1) understand the terms of renovation as much as possible
2) understand your budget and accomodate your dreams house according to your budget.
3) look for no more than 4 ID
4) price is not everything, must know what you are getting as in materials, reputation of ID, payment methods etc..., customer orientated?
one "safe" way to get ID that is:
5) look around people who just got their house renovated, ask them for their ID contact if the price they pay is within your budget.

iceq

15k not possible ah...cham la..anybody can loan me or not? hee..kidding la.

ya lor..i also don't intend to put grilles at home first. oh ya..did you all intend to install window at the balcony?? If put like defeat the purpose leh..balcony is suppose to act like balcony hor?

hi iceq

depend on which floor u r staying. if you stay below 4th floor, better to put grills at balcony for security purpose.

actually, 15k is sitll possible but really bare minimum. such as doing of tiles only and dun do any carpentery works like cupboards, no false ceiling, no L-box...etc.
buy ready made furniture may be cheaper...

koikoi

hi iceq, me not intending to put window at balcony. yes it defeat the purpose of having a balcony... if put, think we are birds in a cage... i'm staying on 6 flr, so still ok... u??

cynthia, u got ur flat done up??
have u got any ID to intro?

hello babu...(ur nick v.long)
my flat not done up cos keys not ready for collection.

the ID cotnact with fiance, he not in S'pore now...

koikoi

me also haven collect key...
think maybe end of Apr...
i saw on the other post that u staying at 656 there right?? me not there... who staying near or at 62X there???

iceq

me at 7th flr..tho not so bad but was thinking if don't "cage up", rain will pour in when raining leh..then my chair will be wet wet, aiya..alot to think, brain going to bok za liao la

hmmm...
7th floor quite safe.

if you thinking put chair there, then windows are require.
for me, i dun intend to put anything there but just plants only...

koikoi

then u put those transparent table mat lor...
can buy in yards etc to cover lor...
me also intend to put chair there...
this is wat I can tink of....

koikoi

that time i went to the expo fair...
they got this window panel which can pushall to one side... cleaning wise also very easy... can flip the outside in and wipe...
forget wat it is call...

jackodreamz

hi hi ...yar me got da 656 blok ^^ ...whos my neighbours??!! haha ... hm... yar actualli got notting to do that y go for more IDs lar :p heez... but i've look around the forum and also got friend introed me to this ID (IntraD)... seems like they've got quite good reputation...juz that they're very very busy... and yup for EA to keep budget within 15k... hm... realli bare minimum lor... if you're thinking to stay long in this unit then i think juz reno to something good enuff to last lar... unless u're thinking to sell after 5yr...then do the minimum can liaoz lor...
... haiz... think reno loan is something i can't do without ler
...anybody got interest free loan ?? hahahahahaa

dumb

OMG didnt know 656 is so happening! Do u guys agree that the maintenance there a bit sucks?

koikoi

hi dumb,
yes that's y i din not take there...
cos nv hear from hdb whether they repainting it anot...
so we took our selection to BLK 62X there...
and i prefer less corners...

maintenance is sucks..cos paint faded..my friend said end of the year of re-painting..dunno how true...

jackodreamz

iszit... wat kindda maintenance you'll mean? mayb becoz there wasn't much occupancy that y maintenance lag? ^^ hopefully with the successful WIS they'll keep up with the maintanences loh heehee... Babu: its ok which area are you? within JWest? also our neighbour lar

dumb

hmm i don't know, but as me and my fiancee walk down the stairs to see other units, we saw cobwebs along the staircase walls. kuakuakua...

yeap cynthia they are carrying a r&r by end 07. hope they do keep up the standards after the touching up.

me Jurong west...
maintenance as in repainting.
for wat i know, HDB schedule re-parinting every 5 years.

koikoi

ya in jurong west...blk 62x there lor...

i believe lacks in maintenance due to low occupancy rate... i believe by end of this yr,
the town coucil will do something...

white7

HI there, nxt sat 10th march 07 there will be a fair going on. Hi Dumb & Jessi if you don't mind can PM me your contact no. as we can try to arrange an appointment with you.

iceq

Jacko me your neighbour! heeee
Heard of IntraDesign too, think got alot of good review but I also heard is not cheap worr..

anybody doing up feature wall for TV? Anybody using wallpaper ah? Im going down to goodrich see see look look later, see the price expensive or not.

Expo fair good mah? Heard from some people say the delivery service very jialat after purchasing stuff from some of the shop..?

iceq

oh ya koikoi, i think the that window you talking about also not cheap leh. My sis house got install, there are 2 types right? one is can fip and turn only but cannot push all the way to the side, the other is can do both.

koikoi

hi jessi,
have u move in??
hehehe... finally found a neighbour...

Hi iceq,
i like the one that push all the way to the end one... but we no doing it... ex huh...
my dear also agree not to have window at balcony saying it defeats the purpose.

Tink we might play with colours as it will be cheaper. Will do a feature wall to cover the storeroom door...

hey white7,

wat fair you talking about? u mean furniture fair?

you gotten flat already? when is a good time to buy house thingy? assume my keys ready by late april.

how long it takes to finish renvo? can it be done my 2 mths?