$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

hi fallingflakes,

have u received the notification for collecting of key? my fr got his letter today. he is 656A.

Well, i think those of higher floor ones will get their flats later cos my hubby went to recce the area, most of the lower floor to mid floor are done, except for higher floor... sigh...

hi fallingflakes,
I am from 656D - my ID aka contractor is home success.
but if i have a second chance, i will choose meng design house.

Hi cynthia,

i got bad experience with meng in getting quotation.. if choosing meng, better not go to ang mo kio one and jurong west one.. both very rude.. esp the jurong one, cant remember the name, wear spec quite fair and he is a malaysian cos got the accent.. talk to you like interograting..

hi babu

yes we did.. called and emailed them to make sure things are in order and they assure us they are expediting our application.

i think our HLE is only approved a few days back thats y the application still needs to be transferred back from the credit dept. to sales dept.

but still.. feeling a bit impatient la.. esp when we r one of the first few queue numbers.

will update u guys when HDB calls me!

babu, Just got my keys yesterday to my blk 656A and spent 2 hours with the hdb officer. So many forms to sign !!

open my door todae at last with my FSM n 2 different IDs came also to measure in order to give me the final quotes by sunday.... had been a busy n hot day... hahaha... it rain too... :<
tml will go again at 10.30am to meet the last ID for measurement....

To Lavender: Nice meeting you today !! My hubby like the idea of knocking down the service balcony and balcony.

hi anne
i went to jw branch and spoke to dave..think he ok lar.
but in the end we choose home success and have not seen their final drawing. hope they dun disappoint us.

Ouchie,

not to worry. my friend also getting that area but have not hear anything from her too. she also got some pro with HLE. Maybe I can check with her and update you.

Devila, so happy for you.
You spent 2 hrs there?? I tink I only took abt 45min. quickly signed and FH go pay $$$. i sat there chatting with the lady (a really nice one).
After that, go for a quick lunch and rush down to my place to collect the praying stuff then rush to open my big big door...

Me now waiting for HDB to call me...
submit the forms for defect, waited a week liao still no calls...

thanks babu,

so wat defects did you find? i'm worried abt the defects too esp when HDB usually takes super long to rectify. i'll be submitting the form for HDB to do cement screeding too... so i really dunno must drag how long again. *sigh

anyway our OTP has a 3 month validity.. so dat leaves 20 days more for HDB to contact me la... just have to keep waiting ba.

btw can anyone confirm if you got back your $2K cash deposit when we booked our flats? cuz the HDB officer told me we'll be getting the 2K cash back cuz our CPF is more than the 10% downpayment required.

the 2K will affect our furniture budget.. :p

reynerllica,

not alway power trip, only few rare cases. My parents' flat is just a street across, power trip twice for 18 months.

now i am having headache to which one to choose between arts-n-thots or squareroom.. both are equal good. both have its strengths... anyone got comment on them?

arts &amp; thots used to be called hoe aik construction or something like tat...

i use to have a friend in squarerooms but she
left around 2years back...

both should be ok..

or if u wan u can go check wif the guy who did
up my place...

his office is at marina sq..the designer name is jacky..gotta go home to check their office number
but offhand his hp number is 81460584...

find them not bad cuz they provide designer
services but only charge contractor prices...

aftersales for me so far so good...or maybe i'm
luckier than most of u guys lol...anyway they
came up to rectify some defects i found 2 months after handover...

anyway go with the one u find u can click with
&amp; trust more as u will be dealing with him or her
for the next 2 months at least...

so far have not heard of anything bad about those 2 design firms...so both shud be quite ok..

devila mun
nice meeting u n your hubby too.
keke...your hubby kena 'psycho' to take away the balconies liao....
I find it more spacious... also if u like reading...u can make the balcony area to a cosy reading cum smoking corner for both of ya.... ;p For me, it's gonna be a play area for kids... cos hee... both of us non smokers...

u can always pop over whenever u free to play PS2....haha...

lavander, thanks
ya ya.... u dont happen to have the game moster hunter do u? i love it on my PSP... was thinking if i will have the buget after all the reno i'll try to get a ps3.. :p

babu, may i know wat are ur defects? and do let me know when HDB starts to response to u n start repairing works. cos from wat i understand is u have to wait for HDB to retify the repairs be4 u can start any reno for the flat??? for me, time is really tight... if it's some simple job, i think i'll just let my contractor to do the job.

firstly, my front door cant be lock..!!!#@!$@$#%$@...
when we 1st open the door, we were abit surprise that only the gate was lock, the main door unlock.. only when we were going back and try to lock it then we realise tat the lock is not inalinement with the other side... so cant lock!!!$#@@%$#^%#

there are some problem with the MBR'S Toilet ceiling too, and there is quite a big hornet's nest on the outside of one of the toilet's window.... other then tat, cant c anything else... will go tml to check again. looping more friends n family to help out... mabe more 'eyes'.. haha... as for the hornet's big yuky nest... i was hoping the the HDB can help clear it cos it's on the outside n abit out of reach...

lavander, u should be able to c it from ur MBR's aircon window i think... and at the mean time, do try not to open ur MBR window too offen in case any hornet fly into ur house...

halo, i'm new here. just happen to get to this forum while going thru renotalk. I also got a unit at 656A, getting my keys next week. now still scouting ard for ID. I dun intend to do too fancy, dun want to spend too much, but roughly still abt 30k+++ hor.

Initially toyed with the idea of hacking the slanting wall and eat into the 2nd bedroom, so that my kids can bunk in together if necc... but after much thought, we decided against it. reason my kids are growing and i am not going to make them sleep with me forever. they normally sleep in their own room, only on some occasions may bunk in together, so i thk no need to hack a wall just to provision for that. furthermore, after hacking, the 2nd bedroom will be super small. i can visualize the size of that room bcos my current house, one room the size if like that (bcos i hacked a wall at my master bedroom). a bit too cramped. For those who hv yet to hv kids, that small rm can be converted to a study, the size will be gd enuf.. so for me, that slanting wall, I will use to mount my lcd tv....

also, I would need to get some advice. Anyone of you have checked ard on aircon? anyone planning to install aircon for all 4 room + living/dining. If yes, wat would be the recc BTU and compressor combination? appreciate some feedback on this.

Thanx.

report:
i have crack toilet wall tiles!!!^%$#@^$@... (if HDB dont have the same wall tiles available, heard that they will use those plain colours totally no design tiles to replace the whole wall...how? how? how?)
quite afew hollow sounded tiles in both toilets n kitchen walls (like can crack anytime de)...
part of the MBR toilet ceiling like going to drop le....
lots of hairline cracks n cracks n uneven patches with super obverese dents on both ceilings n walls all over the house.... haiz...
very rusty door knob of the storeroom, rusty n moldy storeroom vents (both)...
dented main door knob, unable to lock front main door as door lock not in alinement,
rusty moldy screws on main door n gate...
very poor workmanship of the main door design (didnt glue properly like anytime can just pull it off),
main door got hole with protruding wooden splinters....
the side of main door cant be lock as the hole on the floor n door not aline properly...
lots of screws on the top part of the windows rusty...
totally disguisting, discoloured, horrible toilet bowls (both toilets)....
totally discoloured, horrible balcony alum doors...
got a wasp or hornet nest....
service balcony ledge got a 1 1/2 inch dia hole tat can even c the inside rusty re-bar....

well on the whole, everything else seems pretty okie i think....
ahhh.... my 'dream' home.... hope it doesnt become a 'reno nightmare'.... *pray pray pray* (should i get more ppl to help go c c again??? haiz)

dun worry about the hollow sounding tiles..

its not a problem but the cracked tiles is

another thing altogether...

1st of all getting the same tiles is not

difficult but problem lies in replacing...

it will definitely stick out like a sore thumb

no matter how good worksmanship the worker have..

the rest are small problems as far as i can see..

anyway its a new flat rite?

not resale rite?

I'm also considering whether to take away the balconies. Lavender, do you have any photos of your balconies area? Can PM me ?

Devilmum, seems like there is lots of problem when the house is left empty for so many years........
Can you choose other colors of the replacement tiles for your cracked tiles in bathroom?

Will HDB change all your rusty items like the storeroom door knob, moldy storeroom vents, rusty moldy screws on main door n gate...

And will HDB change the disguisting, discoloured, horrible toilet bowls,
discoloured, horrible balcony alum doors??

hey sorry for the late reply oshgosh! I haven received my notification yet too, but my FH has called HDB and they said it the town council's fault cos they are still checking the flats to make sure they are ok before handing them over to HDB. But come to think of it, if the town council did check, how come devila mun has so many problems with her flat?? Now getting worried...anyone got their keys and opened the door already??? Anyway HDB said will get the keys in april.

Btw I signed with Chew Interior in the end...stupid Northwest promised to send me the quotation within 2 days and it has been 1 week, with no sight of the email they are supposed so send, lol.

Just went checking another round today and one of the toilets has at least 33 hollow tiles and 2 cracked tiles. The kitchen also have this.

so gals, pls give ur tiles a good knock to check them ....

ouchie, checked with my friend, she still haven got any info abt keys too as her hubby just submitted his income tax for 2006 to them...
so have to wait a few more weeks.

the 2k will be returned to your account.
so bring your bank book down for verification...

latte,
we keep calling on friday but still can't get anyone...
so sian...

devila,

defects go on for long list...
even the rusty lock of the letterbox i also complain... hhehehehe... toilet bowl seats sticky and sticker can't wash off...
kitchen ceiling, wall tiles, toilet wall tiles crack... bedroom wall got crack too... floor on the toliet very dirty, can't wash off too.. also state... rem to bring a haor dryer to check your electricity point to see if it's working properly...

thanks babu for the update!

i've been checking the HDB website daily but there is still no news yet. shud hear from them v. soon since my OTP will expire by 19th April.. the $2K will be rather important to us becuz of our tight budget for electrical appliances esp. the LCD tv..lol.

after seeing Devila's long list of defects really scary.. it seems it'll be a long wait for HDB rectifications b4 my ID can start work...

really hope like wat some of u guys said, the town council is doing something to fix the defects b4 handing the flats over. *prays hard

for those who hv aredi gotten ur keys, good luck n hope you renovation works will be smooth n do keep us updated!

ouchie,
no worries.
the defect list is indeed long.
do check carefully.
I only listed some only. dun buy the tv so soon. the price keep dropping for LCD as there's always a better technology coming up.

Strange, fallingflakes..

Town Council does not take charge of the interior house defects, only common areas like corridor lightings, overall cleanliness and exterior building defects like wall seepages etc etc..all in all HDB is the landlord, and is now 'leasing' the unit to us, so whtever interior works originally done by them should be handed over from them...not Town Council..

I have signed up with arts n tots at 36K.

cynthia,

HLE and collection of keys are concurrent processes. If you flat is ready, you will get it fast.. i went down to my unit yesterday, a few units door bells not yet changed.. i am still waiting for my keys... but one thing, i think they have repaint all the gates to light blue. =)

unsure, pls do remember how much we paid or going to pay for these flats... 250k average for most of us rite? how can u expect damages for tat kind of monie??? it should be as perfect as possible rite?

babu, i guess even ur area is not spared for bad workmanship and wear n tear.... now that u mention it, ya... my letterbox is indead in a horrible rusty condition too... had not try to wash the floors of the toilets thou... will try to do tat. the defect list just kept getting longer n longer as i visit more offen... haiz

plus, yesterday someone just told me, one of her toilet bowls pipes under it was so rusty tat it flooded her whole toilet!!! her story was, she got her keys just be4 CNY, so they just open the door, look abit n left it alone thinking to to everything after CNY. but suddenly they got a call from HDB, telling them tat their flat was flooded!!!... so pls remember to look under ur sinks, toilet bowls, pipings... thou from wat i can c, our taps are all newly change le...

ouchie,

i too have resigned to my fate of moving out into other rental rooms or bunk with friends or relative le... with these kind of defects, it will be ages for HDB to do the retifing work. Plus, since the flats are like 5 yrs old le, i'm sure the orginal contractors are not there to do the defects anymore, PLUS, this time round, so many of us from all over singapore are collecting or had collected their keys recently, shortage of manpower? mabe, stortage of materials, mabe? i just doubt HDB will be able to correct the defects as fast.... it may be a long wait or queue.... haiz

Devila,

you are scaring me... the condition really that bad?? devila, since u hv gotten ur keys, have you submit ur form to HDB to do the screeding on floor for your laminate flooring? if not, better submit now, heard that will take abt 2-3 weeks to do it..

Hi babu

best is to go down personally to fill up the form. Hv u done so? If u hv, hmmm i really dun understand y they take so long to get back to u.

Now tt u mention, I hv not check letter box keyhole and my electrical points.. haha!