(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

truetrue

Hey all lovely BTB. Are u guys doing childhood montage for the first march in? i am thinking to do sth else but not sure what to do. any idea?

qin17

Ellen: Both days I cant lor.. Any other dates? hehe coz i viewing my layout on 14 May
7th may got appointment with fren le.

gg_paradise

ladies.. today hubby & me were on leave.. we done quite a lot of things today.. realli cannot believe it haha

we went for bed trying the whole day ard Marina Sq & CWP. omg.. after trying too many until now makes us abit duno until which to choose lols.. anyway, my beautician recommend me sea horse.. went to take a look, they having 50% storewide!!! but too bad, they were already close by the time we reached.. the price we saw is per mattress onli $500-$700+ after discount.. & they even put in there additional 10% discount.... think is a great deal if their mattress is really good!!! hehe hubby say tmr after work, we shall go take a look, if deal is really that good, we will grab it!!! haha

oh ya, today I bought a pair of wedding shoes from Anna Nucci... yes, I have a pair le but becos after PS, the heels abit spoil so went Anna Nucci to take a look.. realli love the pair I saw, it is super comforty even though it is 4 inch high. according to the salesgirl, it is a new design & though it is high but I dun feel the pain wearing it as the front portion is higher so I wont feel my leg pain or muscule pain. so hopefully this pair of shoe is worth the value on my AD

another thing I did today is went to my beautician (actually this beautician onli help me to trim eyebrow) for body treatment for the acne on my back.. she check & tell me that those on my bed is not acne cos mine is flat & it appears to be scar & onli a few of them need some minor extract.. what she had done for me today is put those peel & lightening treatment for me.. she is hoping that my scar can be peel off if nt it can be lighten.. will be going for my 2nd treatment next week.. hope it does helps

Ellen.. @ first hubby was thinking of keeping the mattress in my PIL;s house after we shift to new house but after today marketing for bed.. we decided to invest in a good mattress that we can shift it over to our new house
as for bed frame, we decided to get a something from IKEA. like what u all have said, if buyin the mattress, it comes with free or paying abit more for the bed frame, we will consider to get both together. we even fix the colour of the bed frame if we are getting together haha.. black would be a good & easy to match colour for our future furniture @ our new house *wink*

gathering.. if friday is not possible, shall we arrange for another weekday or weekend? weekday maybe we can choose thurs den weekend, maybe a simple lunch??

oh ya, wondering if this time we wan to bring to bring our partner along??? if bringing partner along, maybe we can arrange a weekend lunch??

fellcy

Mrs Chua & Ellen >> I had already escalated. The CSO said the Ops manager will handle it and asked me to send the ring in. Even when I send the ring in to the same outlet at AMK Hub, the sales person who said those things was actually the store manager! When I returned it he still insisted that I have to scrapped it. But the Ops manager said they will assess the ring and propose what to do with it. It's almost 2 weeks and they din even bother to update me or reply my email. I have to call and make a big fuss and finally they said replace it with a SIMILAR ring. I wan to faint liao lor...shall see wat kinda similar ring they are giving.

vilopup

Yoz gals, finally got my dowry jewellery.. but i got to pay for my own since my mum and aunt want to get stuff but cant afford -_-lll... so another big hole in my own pocket

Ellen: I wonder whether i should pass the inserts to parents to write first and then take back from them to help paste... hahahaha or let them paste their own.

Ya, i cant make it for both days! damn sadz... got late meetings going on....

But mine, i havent started writing also.... probably need only 2 hours to do that...

Fellcy: I tried the glue tape. its just like correction tape kind of dispenser.. looks like correction tape too! No bulge. better than traditional glue sticks

I put rite in the middle cos just need to hold it there. think 4 corners also can.

Wah raoz! ya lor, write to the HQ and ask them whether izzit forgivable for their staff to do engraving and then say shouldnt have done it becos it is not suitable! Can they replace the same ring back? I m sure it can be done one ma since it is their own design.

mjfan

These are what I read and I wonder what's everyone opinions on this:

Must ROM dress be white or other colours are fine? Other colours means you are not pure or was married before?

Same goes to wedding gown? How will you feel if you see brides in champagne coloured gowns, do you think they look awful?

The dress / cheongsum you wear home for tea ceremony has to be red?

Argh...

fellcy

Mrs Chua >> Each treatment depends on what it is leh..consultation can vary from $20 onwards so i feel is still reasonable..For my ezcema each injection is only $25 but the medication is more ex..and I usually stock up for 1/2 yr or longer..so each trip spend abt $100 which is still cheaper than NSC

Blur BTB >> Thanks! Mayb I should use that too..HTB was thinking of using glue stick.

Natalie >> I prefer White or Ivory for WG. But I heard from my coordinator that now got other coloured gowns like silver and baby pink...I feel Champagne looks nicer with orange lighting. It is not necessary for tea dress to be red I tink. My friends wore other colours and I am considering a beige one.

kiddyu15

Meetup this friday or next I also can't leh.. This fri got appt le and next week im on 630 am shift (Sat also got work).. I will be in a super bad state by the end of the week..

Wah u all like do alot of stuff liaoz.. Haha.. The weekends are going to be super precious to us!

I got my SDJ from Tian Po liaoz.. Hehe.. It's yellow + white gold.. Still abit resistant to the yellow but then ok la, modern looking.. Can get over it.. Lolx..

I also had my food tasting the weekend that just passed.. The portion is so big and the food was better than expected.. Hope on AD it's the same standard..

Coming weekend, going to get our bed.. We recee-ed a few places.. Our idea is to get an ok priced one just to stay for the year in in-laws place and move this bed to the guest room in our new place.. Went to this wholesaler at Genting Lane and saw one that is only $299! The mattress is no brand one but it's spring and 3 yrs warranty.. The headboard is leather one also.. Looks decent.. So we are gonna get that.. Hehe.. Tahan for the yr then the savings we can get our Simmons when we move to our new place.. Now need to look for a decent cupboard so that my clothes and stuff can keep inside.. Prob going to Ikea ba..

Going to get our GDL stuff also from Chinatown this weekend and going to order the wedding cakes from Sweetest Moments..

Natalie >> I think depends on your skin colour and the design of the gown.. Must try on to see then will know one.. =)

I think tea ceremony not necessary to be red.. Some pple choose red/bright colours cos traditionally brides wear home the kua ba.. So they do without the kua but stick with the colour.. But I think there's really no hard and fast rule de..

ellentg

Blur_btb > we also paid for the long-feng bracelet ourselves... can't bear to ask our retired PIL to pay... haha
Glue stick is good rite? i like... hahaha. hmmm what about you paste first then ask them to write directly onto the card? i think a bit hard to ask parents to paste....

Natalie > i've seen pple in champagne colour WG, no problem at all for me. Most important thing is the bride likes the gown rite

Dione > so good your food tasting can be on weekend... hee hope that the food standard will maintain for your AD~

Okie for the gathering: no point having it on 7th or 14th if majority can't make it
let's poll again...

21 May (Fri):
27 May (Thu): Ellen
28 May (Fri): Ellen

Is Friday good? or other weekdays better?

el2sgbrides

hi gals, sorry im really tied up at work... as mentioned before.. my "peak" until end of jun. so cannot meet u all~

ching ching, half the photos really didnt turn out the way we wanted.. as expected. when we were choosing photo.. we could not hit the original no. of photos... the PG panic... den explain to us we nid about 80pics for the magazine album to turn out nice. show us some samples... my hubby kena convinced. in the end we sort of anyhow choose to meet the no. lor... added $2.6k for the photos after bargaining~

kiddyu15

Achieved quite abit this weekend..
- Ordered our bed
- Bought a new TV
- Bought dowry stuff (SO EXPENSIVE!)
- Bought GDL stuff for the guy's side
- Ordered wedding cakes from Sweetest Moments

EL> That't alot for the top up...Hmm...maybe the album will turn out unexpectedly?

Dione> Does ur family pay for ur dowry? I am confuse as I dunno whether to let my parents spend this money.... Wah, that's good..so where u bought ur bed?

Lucky for u girls who have already buy ur gold accessories..yesterday go and see with my mum, just 4 days ago,the price go up by $3!!!!! OMG...feel so regretted when my mum ask me to choose last year to keep aside n I insist dun wan... haiz...

Oh ya, I wanna sell this BRAND NEW Precious Moment wedding figurine... Retail selling at $95, I am willing to let go at 15% less. Buy this without thinking and now regretted,therefore willing to let go at this price.

1420555.jpg

vilopup

I am going bonkers... really got 2 months left and my entire two families still look so la la mode while I am gg to declare state of emergency le.

Just managed to shove my ILs their invites while I havent started on mine. The springcleaning of the homes will kill me.

Ching Ching, I think i know how you feel now. The Gold price was 57.50 on monday and by sat, it went up to 60.50! it was nuts. But then again, the store mgr told me that it will go up further, so please buy fast if you havent!

Ours is the funi one, we everythign pay ourselves, never ask which side parents pay what... We paid for wedding cakes and my husband's ring from my mum, inserts, dowry etc. So far parents only paid for si dian jin and two bottles of wine....

Dione, I went to get some dowry stuff yest... only got a sewing kit box (i got thread, tape etc separate at best price stores), a tray for tea set, 2 packets of grains and charcoal. No more le... the an chuang stuff will get nearer the date.

Went home and tie up everything with red ribbon and then pack in a free red luggage UOB gave for credit line...

Got my layout for Desaru shoot le... almost nothing to change... quite pleased.... wondering whether to add on one more page just with one landscape pic or not... they squash in 3 pic with a big landscape one in the background.

Did you manage to chk out the poppers?

ellentg

EL > that's a lot of top-up... hope your album will turn out nice nice after the layout~

Dione > wah you bought so many stuff liao and you dun have a flat yet haha... i haven't bought anything and supposed to move in July... guess i need to buck up :S

Ching Ching > went up so much in a few days?? like that better buy soon cos when economy is unstable, gold price normally goes up...

Blur_btb > actually we also paid everything by ourselves, even the long-feng bracelet and pin jin. cos our parents are retired have no income le, so dun want them to spend...

I checked those invitation cards from my relatives... then i realised that most parents actually didn't write names in the inserts... they just wrote on the envelopes :p

btw, finally bought our wedding bends yesterday
.... gotta collect next next week cos dun have my size in the shop~ they told me engraving only takes less than an hour... so fast hor??

kiddyu15

Ching Ching >> By right, traditionally, it's paid by the girl's parents cos it's their blessing to the couple.. But of cos, there are some who's parents aren't working or retired etc then the couple forks out the money and pays themselves.. It's the xin yi that's important ba.. My dad paid for everything..

I bought @ this wholesale place @ Genting Place.. $299 for the frame + mattress.. Good enough for us to sleep a year.. The headboard is PVC material (not metal type) and the mattress is thick spring mattress with 3 yr warranty.. It's the best deal we found liaoz..

Wow.. So no it's $60.50!!! Gosh.. So expensive...

Blurbtb >> My dad really spent alot leh.. Close to $300 for all the teapots, potty and stuff.. Then he also got us the Sintext wedding bedsheet set as part of dowry.. I din realise the other stuff would come up to be soo expensive!

Haven checked out the poppers.. Was full this weekend (cos of mother's day also).. Will check them out hopefully this weekend.. Hehe..

Ellen >> My flat will be ready next yr.. But then HTB's current room is a bachelor's room, single bed and stuff.. And the TV those with a big fat backside kind.. So to make space, we bought an new tv to mount on the wall, then had to buy double bed.. Will need to get a cupboard soon too to put my stuff.. Prob get those cheap ones from Giant to tahan just for one yr.. Hehe..

My invitation cards not ready yet man.. The artwork took 2 weeks oredi.. I called up Bliss Garden and they said the mgr in charge of my event on leave today, tmr then will be back.. GDL coming soon.. Abit worried not in time.. =|

sher02

hello all,

everybody so busy, i am quite worried cos nothing much to do! We dont have GDL and all so quite simple for us.

Any brides here their parents or FIL/MIL live overseas? my FIL/MIL the hotel room too small cant have tea ceremony so now i'm a homeless bride, dont know what to do!

ellentg

Sher > my parents and FPILs are both overseas. For tea ceremony, our hotel offered to let us use a function room or the bridal suite itself, cos the bridal suite is v spacious... We are still deciding which one to take

Actually, i have local SG friends that did their tea ceremonies in hotels even though they have homes here... haha :p

sher02

ellen> i was thinking of having it at Four Seasons also but cos have to do it in the morning, means i have to check in on fri and then check out sun morn. So fri night like wasted no one staying there but dont think i have a choice

ellentg

Sher > maybe try talking to your coordinator again? my tea ceremony is in late morning (like 11+ am), and my coordinator offered to give function room or bridal suite... if using function room then no need to check in first

fellcy

Blur BTB >> I totally share the same sentiment!! Only that my parents already declared state of emergency last month and went to lala land after realising that I am still lala-ing ard..

So many many things to do! Me brought back the bedside pics and give away pics liao..albums are not done, montage pending our songs, bridal room nt done...house's in a mess after painting...Spent entire evening folding and pasting inserts...wat else what else???

vilopup

Ellen: Ah! really ah. I better go and check on what my in laws are doing. I wonder if they know how to stick the inserts on. My HB say just leave it to them to do but i a bit bu fang xin.

That is fast engraving, maybe the shifu is in house bah.. i koe Poh Heng one the shifu is there for some outlets.

Dione: Ya lor... the last i checked my spreadsheet, the spending for GDL including the cakes and all comes to about 400 already. Super siao.

The poppers are darn cool. I got the 4.90 one cos probably the effect bigger. can get xiong di to line up like military march in and pop as you go by... i m considering smaller poppers or confetti for the aisle tables so that the guests have something to do.

Sher: Ya, check with your coordinator. Certain things, you dont feel paiseh to ask. if they cannot give you, they will say, and if they can, its added bonus! No harm trying.

fellcy: How cme you sound so happy in the state of emergency leh... hahaha... I give up on my house le lah.. always messy... now the parents place is the headache part cos need to find a place in the tiny HDB to put the buffet!

Hmm, I havent done the actual day schedule, prepare the montage or speech either. Next Sun will be GDL followed by food tasting and gown choosing the week after

sher02

found an emcee speech from another forum :p

attached for those interested.

blur_btb> i asked already but cos my tea ceremony is between 8-9am, have to book the night before checkin. A bit too much to ask of them too since its so early in the morning.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
script
Speech.doc (36.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

gg_paradise

Ladies.. I was away for the past few days as my FIL passed away on Sunday morning.. All wedding preparations has to be on hold 1st.. Will still proceed with our wedding as it falls within 100 days..

gg_paradise

thanks ladies &amp; Thomas for ur concern.. I'm alright.. everyone @ home is ok too..

date for our GDL have to be postpone.. initially is 2 weeks b4 AD but now become 1 week b4 AD.. cos hubby needs to wait for the 49days to be over b4 he can come my place for GDL..

welly

Hi All, I'm new in this thread. I just read through this forum. For those who has concerns on the card insert whether to use gold string or stick glue, you can try UHU glue. Apply some on that folded edge and press it against the card with your finger tip, and leave it awhile. I did it for mine, looks good as in no glue stain and neat compared to using gold string.

Mrs Chua> Hmm... last time my poly mate's dad pass away and she also has to settle her wedding within 3 months. During that time she still distribute the invitations to frenz &amp; colleagues except relatives...

gg_paradise

Ching Ching.. nt distributing is good for both families.. furthermore, our wedding is really very near le (after 49days, we onli have 6 days to our wedding) so that is y he advice not to.. but I spoken to hubby abt getting our own invites like from precious moments to give to friends &amp; colleagues but he say dun need.. maybe shall discuss with him again. if nt, we will send email, sms or use facebook to invite our friends lo.. we are sure they will understand de..

gg_paradise

argh.. stress ah!!!

bed delivery suppose to be on 21st Jun.. but now have to change to 28th May according to the priest.. but Sea Horse not able to do so due to they need to get that HK office to make our bed &amp; freight it over to SG.. the earliest they can do is after 7th June.. argh.. we even request to take the display set but their policy is not to sell their display set.. how how how???

seahorse rather rigid from my experience...even my sofa set I had to call them so many times to arrange for delivery. their hotline like those stock market ones.

gg_paradise

ya.. now I change to 11th Jun.. but jus a request of having them to deliver b4 11am.. they oso say cannot make it b4 that timing.. I even beg them for it liao yet they still say cannot.. in the end, she even say is my fault of having to change the date of delivery so I shld compromise with them for their timing etc.. really angry lo, they think I wan to change the delivery date &amp; timing etc meh? if nt becos of my FIL's death, I dun have to lo.. argh!!!

ya hotline like stock market.. have to keep calling &amp; calling.. get thr, they will tell u they busy, can't attend to calls.. sianz..

As for now, I had jus get them to deliver the bed on 11th Jun after 5pm due to the bed must avoid the afternoon sun according to the priest.. the lady say she will put in the remarks of delivery timing to be after 5pm but cannot promise cos their noon delivery is from 3pm to 7pm..

as they will call us 30min to 1 hr b4 delivery to our place, hubby say if he see timing nt right yet, he will tok to the driver etc.. so I will leave it to hubby to take charge on that day as I can't be there on that day...

ellentg

Welly &amp; renee, welcome!
when are your ADs?

Mrs Chua > oh dear... you must be very stressed up *pat pat* let's hope that their delivery will be on time ya
maybe the person you're talking is not decision maker so it's difficult to negotiate?

gg_paradise

Ellen.. ya, that lady is not the supervisor cos when I told her we dun mind taking the display set, she say she will need to ask her supervisor b4 confirming with us.

anyway, I had called &amp; confirm with seahorse that their delivery will be on 11th Jun.. once again they say their delivery will be from 3pm to 7pm, cannot promise to deliver the timing I wan.. hubby say dun quarrel with them anymore, jus tell them to put in the special remarks of "to deliver after 5pm" in their invoice. Then on 11th Jun, he will tok to the driver if they would to deliver b4 5pm... really dun understand y is it they can't make such arrangement for us when we inform them early? I rem pple say as long as we would to inform early, they can make such arrangement for us.. but y they cannot??? haizz.. *guess they too rigid with their policy*

fellcy

Mrs Chua >> dun stress dun stress...seahorse is really very inflexible sial...next time dun buy anything from them liao...no empathy at all..

Me got my WB replaced! With a brand new one and proper engraving. *beam*

Just came back from Hanoi, got a mosquito bite and it got infected. Now my foot is like pig leg...sianz..

Mrs Chua> Seahorse is so inflexible!!! The staffs so rude to you... Dun be angry since ur hubby gonna settle it.... U shld rest more and maintain yourself now... now left 2 mths to AD le.. must take care...

Fellcy> Aiyo, how come like that? Got go and see doc?

Glad to hear that ur WB thingy solve.... I haven't get my WB engrave...so scare they will spoilt them too...

Gosh, time not enough~~ Wedding cakes, card printing, photo layouts, montage and invitation list not done yet!!! Wanna faint le...

gg_paradise

Fellcy &amp; Ching Ching.. ya, I will leave it to hubby to take care of the bed stuff. realli no pt to get stress over it since they so inflexible. now will think twice b4 buying anything from them hehe

Fellcy.. so the brand new one can be engraved? I rem u did mentioned that they say the design u choosen cannot be engraved?? anyway, u goten ur WB, that is good news so dun have to worry abt it anymore

my hubby's niece oso kanna mosquito bite den will be swollen.. she did see a doc b4 &amp; that doc say it is due to some thing lacking in her blood so that is y her hands &amp; legs are swollen..

Hi Ladies, do you have any quotation for renovation and dun mind can send to me as reference? Mine is 4 room flat and I'm now doing some research to get myself prepared for my new house. Thanks ya in advance...

vilopup

Sorry for disappearing. Went for a checkup yesterday cos gastric was acting up again and found that my blood pressure is quite high! According to the chart, was pre hypertension range! So scary! Must be due to work and wedding stress.

Everyone here, please try to relax as much as you can and dont get too much stress... not very good for health.

fellcy: Good for you! Finally dont have to worry or quarrel with people already. You seen a doc? It happened to my friend before. Need a jab?

Mrs chua: Pray hard for you that your bed gets delivered at the time you need it as well.

Ching Ching: I got one million things not done yet also. I singlehandedly prepared all the GDL things for both sides of the family. Feel so tired and stressed. Just hope it be over soon! GDL this Sunday.

Mine is an old 3 room flat and i redo kitchen and 2 toilets only. About 18k for all the hacking and replacing.

How are the other ladies doing? I din change much of my album layout. Din even go back and view, just used email to communicate changes. Will collect when gg to choose WG early June.

ellentg

fellcy > aiyo did you see a doctor? your blood must be very sweet :p

Ching Ching > yours is new flat rite? should be cheaper than resale but also depends on what items you wanna do. Should be within 20k if you are not going for a lot of custom-made stuff

Blur_btb > please take care of your health
haha maybe you should pass some of the stress to me... i m still in la-la land :p