(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

sher02

Ellen> I was in la-la land until this morning! Going to confirm the details and start printing the invites at T-Dragon then realise if take 2 weeks to print by the time we collect it only left 5-6 weeks to the wedding!

And so many things not done...so these few days have to work on all the wedding stuff OT. Thurs have to brief FIL so stressful. HTB and FIL dont get along and fight everytime we talk about the wedding so we've been avoiding it...now have to face the music

by the way..i'm still a homeless bride. tea ceremony must finish by 9am so hotel can't let us use the room and i refuse to waste that one night so still wondering what to do!

sher02

Ellen & Candysiew> my mum says i'm meant to be married into my husband's 'house' so function room a bit weird, has to be a house or hotel room.

fellcy

hey ladies, thanks for the concern. Seen e doc liao, doc only mentioned sth abt bacteria infection so on antibiotics and antibiotic cream as well. Hopefully it leaves no scar, the whole blot is getting redder..

Sher>> Me also no house yet...no luck still..

Blur Btb>> yea, do take care..take deep breath!

Me been shopping ard for nitty gritty stuff like curtains etc for our bridal room, my previous study room. nid to confirm on hand bouquet n car design as well...no $$ no $$

sher02

Hi Dione,

I need caterers for AD both family side and church and day before wedding and was doing research yesterday! www.foodline.com.sg has reviews. Flavours and Spices Peranakan Cuisine, Krist0n, Neo's Garden and Mum's Kitchen at the moment for me.

kiddyu15

Thanks Sher,

To add on, I saw some good reviews on Rasel as well -- http://www.rasel.com.sg

I saw positive reviews on Neo Garden too! =D

Are you ordering lunch for both family side?
Cos I was thinking, the guy's side prob only requires high-tea items since it's going to be ard 10+ when the relatives are there?

Hmm.. Not too sure tho.. =P

sher02

yeah i considered Rasel previously but i heard they are pretty pricey but i'll add them to my list :p

HTB side all from australia so i rather cater for them instead of them venturing out on their own.

I'll decide closer to the wedding. I'm still a homeless bride and mum today gave in and say maybe do a combined tea ceremony hee..i think my marriage is doomed based on traditions! No GDL, combine tea ceremony and we meeting each other the day before wedding too.

kiddyu15

Sher >>

Lolx.. I think it's a norm for couples these days to meet day before wedding.. Me too! We need to go collect gowns and tie our car with the ribbons.. Lolx..

ellentg

Sher > glad that your mom is okie with combined tea ceremony, one less headache for you
hee nowadays many couples also dun follow tradition la... time has changed

Dione > i can't imagine how not to meet the day b4 wedding lor hahahaha... got so many things to do leh!

btw i'm using Krist0n for my church catering. their food has been good since i first tried it some 8 yrs ago :p

ladies i'm going back HK tmr, if anyone needs anything from there, do let me know, see if i can bring back~

vilopup

Ellen: I think very soon, you be out of la la land... cos work very busy, so got to settle things asap.

fellcy: ya, broke is the word.. next two months pay i got to pay VG and PG and MUA... darn poor.

Dione: My BS coordinator is leaving.. i m so sad...
My friend told me that for a sch function, they just got Neo Garden and its good... same as what a few other friends told me as well... so i think i might just go with them. no time to check liao.

Ordering for both sides of the family but the side that need to have lunch for bridal party and PG and VG, i order more. Cos on the other side where the timing dont match lunch time, i think cannot assume that no relatives will stay on. they probably wont go home immediately after tea ceremony, so have to cater also.

My MIL say cannot meet the night before the wedding, but think dont care lah... small thing... some more already rom-ed, i considered myself married.. hahaha

kiddyu15

Ellen >> Yea lor.. I think shld be ok la.. No choice one.. So many things to do.. Lolx..

Blur btb >> Will she be there when u choose ur AD gowns? I'm going next weekend to choose mine!! Hehe.. I heard Neo Garden and Mum's Kitchen are good.. My mum said there is another D'Lite tt she tried before for a community service event which is pretty good too..

I got my invitations today! Can start writing le.. I also got my shoes from Anna Nucci.. I think v expensive leh.. But I super like it.. Bling bling.. hahaha..

sher02

Went to FIL &MIL place to discuss the wedding today. Won a few wars..lost a few. Lost on the wedding invites and everybody will think it's printing error. hai..don't care already lah..so late already have to send for printing cannot drag anymore.

but worse is..my mum say both fathers to be witness. FIL say no, he dont want to be witness cos in australia normally either friends or close family friends. So until i finalise who are the witness, i cant file notice of marriage

Anyway, I contacted my RIPS today regarding the music for montage/video. They are finalizing the tariffs for individuals who produce their own wedding montages. So might be good news? fingers toes crossed!

vilopup

Dione: Oh, my BS coordinator is a funi uncle figure... so sad that he will be gone le... he is also my friend's coordinator... last day end may... so i wont see him when i go in june for gown selection. must send him a thank you card.

Wah, my shoes are fr Anna Nucci also, i think about 80 bucks.... i tot quite reasonable compared to those that are custom made.. i dont dare get too cheap ones cos i got super troublesome feet, blister like no tmw and i dont think i want tat on wedding day...

Sunday my GDL le... feeling a bit nervous... but everything is prepared le....

Sher: What happen to your cards?? why got printing error?

i think you have to scare your mum a bit.. if too late then cannot get slot to register le.. then share with her the culture in australia bah... my hb has been witness for his friend too and they are locals lor...

pebz: are you july btb also?

sher02

Blur_btb> i got my shoes from anna nucci too around $100 but very comfortable cos i'm very short and need the highest possible heel :p

My cards no problem yet cos haven't print. just having issues with it cos MIL wants Mrs instead of Mdm. Then ppl will find it weird for FIL and MIL surname different. hai..i've given up..

gg_paradise

ladies.. hope everyone doing fine

Blur_btb.. ur GDL so early ah? mine will be jus 1 week b4 my AD (in fact is 6 days away from my wedding but no choice cos we can't have GDL during the 49days, so our GDL will be on the next day after 49days.. luckily is a sunday so everyone no work...)

now everything that we wan to prepare for wedding need to ask the priest 1st.. As for now, I onli have the bed delivery date & GDL date.. As for AC, need to check 1st.. so alot of my stuffs all pending now.. haizz.. hubby & me somehow decided to take 1 week of leave jus b4 our AD to chiong for stuffs that we need for wedding.. but of cos la, we must plan everything properly & make full use of that 1 week if we really plan to take...

anyway, I had jus confirm a bus to fetch my guests from Yishun MRT Station to Yishun Safra on my AD..

kiddyu15

Blurbtb >> Mine is ard $100.. I think it's cos of the bling ba.. Abit xin tong when HTB paid but then I really like it.. Lolx..

I also go very troublesome feet.. Same like u.. Blisters like nobody's business.. Hope this pair can last me thru the day! =D

Mrs Chua >> Hope you are doing ok.. Will be tough on you to prepare stuff within one week.. Jiayou yea? =D

My AD is 2 weeks away.. 6 June.. Cos the other days that the FSM gave us, were on weekdays and my HTB just chg new job so abit more diff to take leave ttz why we chose to do it earlier.. Think on the day he GDL, aft tt also must bring the cakes to relatives house liaoz..q

gg_paradise

Thanks Dione.. though is tired but I will jia you de

u all will be distributing cakes to relatives ah? for me, my parent will be inviting my relatives all over to my house for a buffet so I dun need to go ard giving the cakes.. think that is a gd idea

oh ya.. the Anna Nucci u bought ard $100 ah.. me oso!!! I oso like their bling bling though is exp.. I'm now wondering if we bought the same pair hehe..

ladies.. I will be going for food tasting tmr. hope the food is good

today bringing my sisters to try the dresses.. hope they can find something they like

el2sgbrides

hi gals... re-appear here for a while... been bz doing all the wedding stuff myself due to fiance overseas.

first of all, my condolences to mrs chua. u have been strong... admirable~

the bed... mrs chua, is an chuang nid to avoid the sun or during delivery? if happen to b a cloudy day... den can consider as avoid the sun liao coz there is no sun? but im quite curious y bed delivery also nid to see date n time...

yeah, more btb joining us here... welcome~

Dione, u changed AD date already?

fellcy, hope ur leg condition has improved... recovered.

Sher, we were advised by T-Dragon dat even if FIL died, MIL will still be addressed as Mrs XXX (follow FIL family name). If she wants her family name to appear as well, it should follow the usual Mrs XXX YYY. I 4got if u nid to put a - in between though. Hope this helps.

Looks like most of the brides here bought their shoes at Anna Nucci~

sher02

EL> T-Dragon advise my mum and gave us the proof already. But MIL wants Mr X and Mrs Y then followed by my parents Mr A and Mrs A-B.

hai..i've given up..its their wedding anyway..

sher02

EL> cos she say it'll be weird if its Mr X and Mdm Y then my parents is Mr A and Mrs A-B.so she want both as Mr and Mrs.

gg_paradise

help.. brought my Jie Meis to Bridal Closet ytd.. as I got 2 plus sized Jie Meis, they can't fit in their dresses.. so sad.. now I'm trying to source for dresses for them but due to tight budget, I duno how!!!! argh...

kiddyu15

Mrs Chua >> I tot Bridal Closet can help your to MTM and u need to pay extra $30 per dress or something? I remember that's what they told me when I enquired..

gg_paradise

Dione.. Elise told me is $50 to MTM. furthermore the design my Jie Mei like, already rented out.. furthermore the date being rented out is on the same date of my wedding... argh...

Ching Ching.. thanks for the link..

hmm.. I think u mail to me ba.. I will PM u my email.. den u tell me ur account number.. sorry that I oso forgotten abt it.. hehe

today started sending out some e-invitation out to colleagues & friends...

fellcy

Mrs Chua & Dione >> is bridal closet gown nice? I don't really like my gowns n tea dress leh..how?? sigh..i practically tried everything there. Shortlisted a few but just don't really like them...mom kept asking me to rent sth i fancy but i don;t wan to spend the extra cash...

There are so many things to prepare for yet i dunno wat to prepare...invite printed and given to relatives. e card sent to those confirmed inviting ones...pending colleagues will send out later..xi bing ordered...wat else??

Mrs Chua> No worry...just let me know ur address and i will make the arrangement...

Fellcy> Maybe u can try to enquire other bridal studio on the charges for renting their gowns?

Finally got my Si Dian Jin and prewedding pics...this weekend gonna go for card printing....think I really lag before u all... *stress*

gg_paradise

Fellcy.. I did not really see the WG & EG clearly but think it looks nice.. but I dun really think the bridesmaid dresses look nice.. they dun have much choices.. onli small rack, the onli ones which my JM like, already being taken on my AD.. so sad.. furthermore, sizes quite limited..

if u wan, maybe u can go down to take a look, u might find something u like

I went for food tasting on last Sunday.. overall food is not bad, jus need to change one item for the cold dish. the portion of food oso v big, all of us eat until very full.. hope they can maintain their standard on my AD

Ching Ching.. jus pm u my address.

Ching Ching.. u nt lag la.. hubby & me jus started sending out some e-invite to friends & colleagues. A few already RSVP their attendance..

As for relatives, I will print the wedding info & how to get to our restaurant to give to them on my GDL. MIL one will be through calling, email or mailing out..

sher02

Anybody looked at gowns for mum/mil? My mum found one and its nice but $350 to buy! I know she can go to whitelink and have a look but i'm sure she'll end up having to top up so i find it a little pointless. Bridal Closet has any for mums?

gg_paradise

Sher.. from what I saw from their webby, they do provide gowns for mum/mil but I not sure if they do carry & how many pcs they carry.. maybe u might wan to check with them??

Mrs Chua> Saw your PM... I will sms you my address later and post the items out. Or u want me to arrange registered postage or meet somewhere instead? As the fancl powder very ex,if lost halfway, will be very heart pain.Think it over and sms me later k? =)

Sher> I did ask whitelink before...they say the mum choices very limited. I took my mum to places like daniel yen to find.Maybe u can go CK Tang or Takashimaya as there are alot of choices and prices quite reasonable.

I can now understand the feeling of urs when see the layout graphic for ur album. I am totally disappointed and ask them to redo everything. Hopefully this time they will do a good job.

kiddyu15

fellcy >>> I din really look thru their gowns but I saw BTBs commenting on forums that they have a wide collection!

Things I can think of
- Table arrangements
- Book mani and pedi appt!
- Plan AD itinerary
- Assign tasks to XD, JM
- Select march-in songs
- Do slide montage (if u doing yourself)
- Arrange with hotel for run-thru of program
- Think of logistics (what needs to be brought from where to where on wedding day)

Errm.. Off the top of my head these are the stuff.. Cos I also haven do the above.. Lolx..

I think renting from other bridal studios will be vv ex cos u din take their package. E.g. I tried asking abt renting kua from one of the bridal studios my fren signed package with and they charge me $350!! Crazy.. I rented from Bridal Closet @ $88 only.. =P

Sher >> My FMIL looked at the gowns there and didn't like them.. I think they are a little too grand for her liking.. But it depends on what your mum likes.. My FMIL bought a 'modified' cheongsum from City Plaza @ $210.. Whereas my my bought a cheongsum from Parkway Parade @ $200.. I think the prices are roughly there.. But I was told City Plaza has alot of shops selling nice dresses.. Maybe ur mum can go have a look too? No harm dropping by bridal closet also actually.. She might just find something that she likes... =D

Ching Ching >. what happened to the layout.. Hope the re-do goes well.. =D

Girls, any recommended MUA for mothers on AD? Not too expensive one.. Prob ard $70 range?

gg_paradise

Ching Ching.. if meet up, where u can meet me? and when?

Dione.. my MUA from BS charged me $80 for my mummy's make up.. wonder is it exp lo...

sher02

Chingching> I think i might get my mum to go to arab street to buy fabric then get it tailored. Mum might go have a look in Tangs/Taka and hopefully will be cheaper over GSS.

Dione & Mrs Chua> My MUA quoted $100, another MUA $100 but I found 2 who will do it for $70 but cos I'm getting it done for 5 bridesmaids and 2 mummys so 7pax. If 2 ppl i think its $80 as well.

sher02

Candysiew> not confirmed yet. You got shirleen ng and your wedding's on 24/7 as well?

Ladies, my videographer showed me a video he filmed last week. The bride and groom were so happy. I'm secretly hoping that she's like us before the wedding, stressing, lots of tears and worried :p And I'm hoping we'll all end up like her, happy and smiling the whole day and of course look stunning! I'm having major issues with FIL but its alright..8 more weeks for me and less for some of you and we'll make it and will be happy and beautiful brides

kiddyu15

Sher >> Thanks for the links.. =D

Girls, for those who have not gotten their JM dresses can try Little Match Girl now.. $29.90 for all dresses... The whole store (@ Bugis) are all dresses.. There are some satin / toga ones which look nice! =D

kiddyu15

Oh yea, does any one of you have contacts for a tailor? I just need to do alter a few of my JM's dresses cos the waist there too loose for some of them..

kiddyu15

Sher >> Erm.. I dont think so.. I think there are purple ones but those are more office-wear kind instead of satin material kind..

gg_paradise

today went with MIL & SIL to buy a pair of bracelet & necklace for me..

916 gold today is $60.50 per 100 gram.. heard from the salesperson that the price had dropped for a dollar from ytd.. even though total damage is 3k+ but luckily MIL brought along some of those gold which she had been keeping for quite some time & not wearing to trade in.. din expect the small bag of gold she brought is worth 3k!!! so in the end, total damage is $300.

today oso wen to buy some accessories for combing hair ceremony.. must really say Jenny from KK Marriage shop (the one which Thomas recommend in china town) is really good.. the other day, we bought those GDL stuffs from her, after bringing back it back, MIL & some hubby's aunt realise that those pre-packets items we dun have it so we bought it back to Jenny asking if we can exchanged, she say no prob.. we exchanged it for items for combing hair items.. good service from her!!!

but I must say something, I duno if Jenny have over-charged us for items we buy cos she did not even tell us how much each item cost & there is no price tag, she mainly use her calculator to calculate den quote us a price.. so hubby wonder if she did over charged us.. esp when we bought 2 small bag of GDL items, it cost $200+... lols

gg_paradise

btw, need to check with u girls.. anyone know when shld we start combing our hair?? shld it be on the night b4 our wedding or can it be done in the morning? MIL say the night b4.. mummy say to be done during the morning is beta cos we would have to light the long feng candles at the same time when we comb our hair.. so if do during the night b4, we will have to look after the candle & can't slp.. & dun think the candle can last till the next day..

kiddyu15

Mrs Chua >> I was told by the shop I bought my GDL items (in Chinatown also) that hair combing is night before.. Candles is light the next morning..

I think it's a norm ba, when I bought my GDL stuff they also use calculator key in only.. My side the dowry stuff total is already close to $200.. And we din get the bedsheet and towels from them..