(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

gg_paradise

Dione.. like fellcy, I did a facebook rsvp. so far did nt face with any issue of any asking whether can bring their partners along.. for some cases where I know their partner, I will ask them to bring their partner along but of cos my friends have their choice whether they wan to bring him/her along too if they do not wan

ya, we shld always look on the bright side that at least they pre-inform us & nt last min bring their partner den we have no seats for them.. but of cos there are oso guests who prefer to come alone so they dun have to give bigger ang pow.. haha

hey girls.. do we really need to tie out wedding inserts?? I do receive some which we do not tie at all...

gg_paradise

thomas.. r u sure??? cos I think even if u dun tie, it oso look n ice ah... furthermore, tie le will be bulky due to the ribbon when put into the envelope..

yes...dun tie when u open the envelope, high chance the insert will drop out. Tie also looks nicer imho

I din tie a ribbon for mine...I just tied a dead knot, no probs putting into the envelopes

kiddyu15

Ooo.. So it's like common.. I tot like if I indicate you only in the invitation it's clear that it's only you I invite.. Lolx..

I guess as long as it's a pre-empt and not suddenly appear on that day.. Should be ok ba..

I'm having food-tasting this Saturday! =)

qin17

Yesh I also feel tie them card will be better coz if not ppl open the card the insert will just drop out.

Thomas, i same as u i tie a dead knot. simplier and much faster hehee..

gg_paradise

then where can I get the string leh???

Dione.. actually got pple oso indicate they inviting u onli, the guest will still ask at times if they can bring their partner along.. for me, I think as long as they come with or without partner, ang pow given shld be correct.. as in, 2 person come, give 2 person rate lols

I haven arrange for food tasting yet.. my FIL wont be able to go, so have to ask my SIL to join us.. but she weekend sometimes got work, so need to check with her when she is free..

oh ya, I do rem reading from somewhere b4 that is advisable to arrange for food tasting on days when they have other wedding.. reason is to see/make sure that their standards are met & they are able to cope with big event etc.. wat abt u all??

qin: ^5! easy hor? =P

ellen: glue is ok but make sure not too much cos it will be very wet and goey, need to wait for it to dry before can put inside envelope.

mrs chua: a lot of places sell the gold string...spotlight or those small neighbourhood shops also have. I got mine in amk central near the S11 foodcourt, got one shop selling all ribbons/strings/buttons. Think it was $5 per packet, can't rem...

if u are gg there, can go see their angpow packets also, quite a few to choose from

vilopup

Mrs Chua: My GDL v easy one... Si dian jin buy le, pig cans buy le, cakes order le.... good to go liao... tsk tsk.. cos everything else is ang pow represented... wines got fr old duty free collection.

But some places might not allow you to have food tasting when they are doing dinners. I tried to arrange food tasting next week but unfortunately too near mother's day, so they din allow.. it be in june..

Dione: I did one round of facebook rsvp already, so i just work with these. And i did inform people that i do not have space for partners... but at the same time i try not to make pple feel miserable by ensuring that they know at least another person on the table. So they wun be v left out... only friends that we do not share mutual relationships with others wil i get their partner.

Just sent our a bunch of bridal party rsvp. Cos we are printing tees for them to go with jeans for the morning ceremony, I have printed invites and included measuring tapes for them to give me the size *tapes courtesy of IKEA*...

Thomas: hahah ya, Ellen is right... i m the super lazy one who is using glue to stick to the back... tryin to reduce effort... :D

qin17

Thomas: ya.. tying a dead knot is easier than ribbon!! haha.. i tried to tie a ribbon using the string but failed.. lol..
Mrs Chua: I got my string from T-dragon. Selling at $5 per pack.Can tie ard 160pcs i think. they will teach u how to cut the string in a bulk so u no need cut one by one. must follow their instruction if not will end up like mi..
my string all entangled somemore.. i have to spend time trying to clear out the messy string before i can cut.

Oh ya.. how much u all intend to give for sisters/xiong di/emcee ang bao ar? what is the mkt rate? Btw do we need to give angbao for PG and VG?

qin: LOL..my string got entangled also hahaha...

no market rate for ap, up to u to give

for me I gave ap to PG/VG/MUA also

ellentg

Mrs Chua > the advice about food tasting on days with banquet was actually by Ching Ching some months back...

i think i will just go food tasting any day when i m free... can't be bothered to find out which day they have banquets also. it's already difficult to find a day that everyone can make it :S

Thomas > that's exactly the same thing i told Blur_btb when she mentioned last time. she said she will use little glue only
actually if use glue stick can solve all issues liao.

Anywayz i m doing hot stamping! LOL

Blur_btb > hahaha! remember to buy the biggest glue stick available... save a lot of time compared to a small glue stick~

qin > i thought jie-mei AP is from splitting of the open door AP...? not sure about "market rate" but recently emcee-ed for a fren's wedding and got 38 for AP...

qin17

Thomas: Can I kpo how much u give? hehe.. so i can roughly see how much i need to give? For sisters/Xiongdi/PG/VG/MUA/EMCEE

ellen: I find that glue stick not really sticky...dunno why. u rich mah, can afford hotstamping lol

qin: pm u later =)

kiddyu15

qin >> I am planning to give ard $50, including the dress that I got for them it's abt $80+ per jiemei/xiongdi.. After the whole thing ends, my HTB says shld also give them a treat.. But that one is not confirmed yet..

qin17

I think thick double sided tape is a good choice to stick on the insert? More sticky than the glue stick and no need to wait for it to dry. hehe.
Ellen/Thomas/Dione: Thanks.. hehe..

ellentg

qin > thick double-sided tape is too heavy duty for inserts. even normal double-sided tape is already strong enough to hold a thick A1 size cardboard on a wall, let alone thin thin inserts...

you can try this "sticky tape" that you can buy at normal bookshop. It looks exactly like correction tape but the tape inside is actually transparent sticky tape... you get what i mean?

think Ching Ching got her cakes from Sweetest Moment. You can ask her

btw you can join our facebook group... SG BTB July 10 or something like that :p then you can contact some of us directly in case we dun come on forum

gg_paradise

Thomas.. maybe u shld we wan to see how generous u r.. lols jus joking.. anyway, thanks for the PM..

Qin.. I will be getting from sweestest moments.. no try chocz b4 but comment heard oso nt bad.. maybe u can give it a try

qin17

Ellen: Hehe.. thanks but i tie my card finish le using string. at first i wan to use double sided tape but in the end i choose gold string. hehe..
Mrs Chua: U try sweetest moments before? i know the packaging is very nice.hehe. Chocz i ate before donkey yrs back.not bad taste. Haiz. cant decide whether i wan chocz or sweetest moments.

gg_paradise

qin.. I tried their stuff during one of friend's baby full mth.. my friends all comment their stuff nice.. I oso like it alot.. indeed packaging is very nice

fellcy

Hi gals and 1 guy! The thread is moving so fast!!

Mrs Chua >> My htb's bro use sweetest moment. To me i think the food is so so only..but i like the packaging too with ur photos etc...

Ellen >>I find Choz kinda ex leh...me intendin to get Pine Garden..

Thomas >> which package did u get from Pine?

Qin >> I think Ellen's suggestion is better...coz the thick sticky tape will have a bulge when the cards are stacked together..me going to use glue! Anyway not a lot of cards also coz friends we are givin ecards!

Are we meeting on 7th?? I cant leh..goin for food tasting and parents meeting session..

gg_paradise

ladies.. jus back from my viewing of photo layout this afternoon.. still not so bad.. have some changes to make so will be going back on 16th May for 2nd viewing..

*paiseh that I rem wrongly abt the number of poses I had..... is nt 90 poses.. is 70 poses hehe.. I so blur.. omg.. haha

gg_paradise

oh ya.. I had selected my tea dress today in less than 5min, YIPEE!!! it was a last min decision after viewing our photo layout. told hubby I wan to have a look @ their short gown for tea ceremony & hubby confirmed this gown once I wore on it.. lols

it is a purple halter neck gown with a short tail.. really love my coordinator alot as this gown is in fact an evening gown!!! she finds that those short ROM dresses not so nice for me (hubby & me oso agreed that the short gowns does not suit me after trying 3 pcs) so she offered to lend me this EG as my tea dress *wink* she even suggest to me if got I got the time, I could change into this gown to send my guests off after dinner..
really so nice of her.. must really thanks her

oh ya, really need to remove those acne on my back.. any recommendations???

fellcy

MRs Chua >> Congras! At least 1 gown down...left with WG to go? I visit this skin doc at Ngee Ann City for my eczema...so far he's e most effective..I had seen Skin centre, other doctors, tcm also no use..but tis clinc is really good...it' called Orchard MD. Price is reasonable i feel..and can see the result..that's more important.

fellcy

MRs Chua >> Congras! At least 1 gown down...left with WG to go? I visit this skin doc at Ngee Ann City for my eczema...so far he's e most effective..I had seen Skin centre, other doctors, tcm also no use..but tis clinc is really good...it' called Orchard MD. Price is reasonable i feel..and can see the result..that's more important.

gg_paradise

Felcy.. My WG & EG are both mtm so had already settled long ago.. The EG which I mentioned in my earlier post is to replace my kua. As both parents felt there is no need for me to wear kua so I ask my coordinator if I can get a short gown instead.. So she offered me this EG as my tea dress..

That skin doc got see acne??? As it is on my back so I fi d it harder for me to wash it.. Can give me the contacts???

gg_paradise

finally settled the necklace that my parent wan to get for us today.. yipee!!! gotten it from Lee Hwa.. they having a 50% discount now so it is quite worth it...

hubby oso managed to select the ring he like.. this ring is from my parent.. they will be giving us the necklace & ring on our tea ceremony

vilopup

eeks! i got left behind in the thread again. Moving so fast.

Time really passing by very fast. Just sent out something to my bridal party. Got to prepare briefing notes to the parents who keep forgetting and reasking dates.. i better give them one set each in case in the midst of repeeating, i forgot to tell someone.

Collected my inserts on Sat! Braved the mad holiday crowd but its well done! Shirley is very good!

Ellen, got your msg in FB. Was working most of last weekend and got to work at 6+ in the morning.. need to catch docs before they start on their ward rounds. I got a meeting at 7pm with pharmacists after clinic closure on this friday. Next friday i have to check again... *_*

Thomas: Thanks for the advice, i got the glue tape from Popular yesterday.. so no need to cut and tie strings for me! Too much for my clumsy hands to do.

qin: will be giving token ap to the vendors on actual day. just for heng heng since we are already paying them according to contractual terms. Prob abt S$6 to S$8 bah. they might get from parents as well.

for JM, i think will give more since they need to usually do makeup and come early (take cab) etc... but duno the rate yet. feeling v broke already.

I also got my GDL peanut strips and cakes from Pine Garden. Sweetest moments is the one with the cupcakes right? I think i order for a party before. Not bad. I quite like but i happen to be at PG ordering peanut strip and saw that they have package for cakes and its the traditional kind, so i just order 10 boxes from them.

fellcy: PG got a few packagse, i got the traditional cream cakes at S$10 per box. They have the modern flavours at S$12.80 per box but we tot that the relatives will probably like the old school kind. Friend told me their peanut strips were fully snapped up during her wedding, so i ordered fr them. S$28 for 1kg each of peanut and sesame strips.

Mrs Chua: Great for you! I dont think i can ever wear a short gown... my poor legs are very scarred now due to all the sandfly bites in Desaru.. think got allery...so i look like xmas tree now... Will only choose gown on 5 june... hope not too late!

Good that you have settled one more item. What material are your necklace and ring? Gold or white gold?

ellentg

Yo... Blur_btb, i also get lost here sometimes LOL

Gathering > seems like everyone is busy... any suggested date? you can reply here or FB....

Glue tape > haha i have that at home too... it's very good... Blur_btb, hope you can stick your inserts fast fast

Cakes > anyone knows where else have cake vouchers besides bengawan solo?

Finally done with my church invitation design over the weekend... dragged for so long cos too busy everyday :S just glad that one more thing is done!

sher02

wah this thread moving so fast. everybody so busy i dont have much to do. Everyday mum just nagging about filing my notice of marriage!

Then trying to settle the bridesmaid dress and groomsmen ties.

Scary..everyone so busy i'm doing nothing..better start thinking! hee..

Blur BTB & Ellen> Sama sama..totally lost track... Thread moving too fast..

I only manage to settle my emcee yesterday... Now need to plan for my card printing trip and video taking again...Haiz...weekends not enough to use at all... Think for the angbao depends on individuals... Market rate is just a guide...I will give more for those who drive, XDs and JM...As for the MUA, PG and VG, will give them the same rate....Still haven't decide on the rate.. Only knew that the budget for angbao will not be less than $1k for that day.. Haiz...

Sher> I also haven't efile... LOL....

Ellen> I'm currently alright with both days.. This time where shall we have our dinner lehz?? How about meeting at citylink sake sushi?

ellentg

Sher > !! thanks for the reminder... i totally forgot...

Ching Ching > i can eat anything one LOL... how about the rest?

fellcy

ching ching>> I agree! Weekend is not enough!

Blur BTB >> THanks for the ang bao guide...i din even think about that! hurhur...btw, when you use the glue tape, will it have the bulge like the double sided tape? Which part of the insert did you put the tape? We will be pasting too but dunno where to put the glue..

Sher >> I very kiasu..I filed on the v first day that I can..ahhaa scare I forget..

I finally set up the RSVP site recommended by Dione. E-invite flash is finally ready! Can't wait to send it out but HTB said nt so early..=( have to ren a bit longer ahaha..

Just finalised my insert as well. Hopefully can collect it when I go in to choose my gown this sunday. T&T is really very efficient.

Have to draw the map and print it out too..with the shuttle bus timing as well.

gg_paradise

Blur_btb.. the tea dress that I gotten is a long gown cos short gown not really suitable for me.. duno how come it makes me so short haha

my necklace is diamonds kind.. luckily dun need to get gold

Hubby's ring is white gold.. jus plain one cos he dun wan buy le den cannot get to wear it... so he choosen a plain white gold ring..

ladies.. I oso read until blur liao.. can anyone tell me how to use the blue tape or glue tape which u all toking abt? like what Fellcy had asked.. which shall we place the glue???

Fellcy.. thanks for the doctor 's contact. I had received it.. may I check how much is per treatment??

Ellen.. I'm alright with both dates.. food wise I'm oso ok..

Ladies.. I had just finalised my insert today. shld be able to collect next week
one thing done..

Coffee & Tea had jus email me our cartoon animation mascot. can say it looks not bad but maybe need to get them to sharpen our chin alittle to make ourseleves slightly slimmer.. haha..

gg_paradise

ladies.. need help.. any suggestion on choosing a good bed & bed frame?? hubby & me went to check out from one outlet today.. found something we like but we dare nt confirm cos this is our 1st time buying a bed so we dun wan to buy on impulse..

ellentg

Mrs Chua > are you intending to move the bed frame to your new home? if no then you can get a cheap cheap one from ikea first.

cos just in case in future when you do reno and you realise the bed frame you buy now doesn't fit into your house theme, then a good bed frame will go to waste...

on the other hand, mattress can choose a good one now cos it's likely that u will bring it over to your new house.

fellcy

hey gals, just to let u know...I sent my WB back to Goldheart for engraving, they actually engraved the text slanted almost to the edge! My HTB spoilted it and had to inform the store manager who den came up with a story on how the ring isn't suitable for engraving. When we raised it up to the customer service officer, he said we can send the rings back to the HQ for observation and to see if anything can be done.

Tom will be the end of 2 weeks. Yet we did not hear anything from them. We emailed them but there wasn't a reply. Finally we called them and they said they will check!!!!

This is so upsetting...n it's our WB lor. the manager even suggested scrapping off the engravement and redo it. With gold at such a high price, scrap off the gold coz of your unprofessionalism? Their service is really terrible.

Furthermore, we found out the promotion which they claimed is occassional, is not true. We were told our bands were the selected pair for the special price. After we purchased it, we realised they have been on special price for nearly a year. If we had knew that we won't have got it so early.

fellcy

Mrs Chua >> Some bedframes are free or at minimal price if you purchase with the bed. They call it Purchase with Purchase. We got our mattress from Hersing but have yet to select the frame. We just need to top up I tink $200 for the frame..

Mrs Chua> I got my matteress from courts megastore at tampines, sleep clinic... the brand called 'Sleep to live'... They have a machine there to sense ur body alignment n customized according to your needs... Very comfortable and most imptly cheaper than sealy & simmons... As for bed frame,the promoter recommend me to go Bee Hive to buy.. I will be getting a cheap bed frame, maybe less than $300 as I am intending to change a new one for my new house...

Ellen> Totally agree... that's what I told my HTB...So we getting a cheap bed frame.. Hehe...

gg_paradise

Fellcy... how can the ring is not suitable for engraving.. what a stupid excuse they can give lo.. luckily it is still early, really imagine what would happen if u would to send it for engraving few weeks b4 ur AD? realy screw them up man!!

If I would u, I would write an email to their HQ to complain.. if they would to scrap the engraving off, do u need to pay for anything??

Ellen & Ching Ching.. ya, I oso told hubby to get a simple bedframe cos we shifting to our new house 1yr later. so we thinking of keeping the bedframe in his parent house so that in future if we need to shift back, we have a bed to slp hehe

ellentg

Fellcy > !!!!! my goodness they are very unpro! if it's really not suitable for engraving then why they bother to engrave for you?!!? this is crap... i feel angry for you *punch* even if they need to redo, they shouldn't make you pay for the additional gold due to their mistake~!! like what Mrs Chua said, think you should escalate this problem to their HQ...

Mrs Chua > it means you are keeping the mattress at your PIL's place? like that get a simple mattress and frame will do... simple mattress a few hundred bucks can get one... discounted bedframe at ikea only cost 100+... some places also give free or cheap bedframe with purchase of mattress.

okie for the gathering... attendance so far as followed:

7 May > Ching Ching, Mrs Chua, Ellen

14 May > Ching Ching, Mrs Chua, Ellen

i vaguely remembered Maoushroom said she can make it for 7 May. Fellcy can't make it for neither day

The rest leh? Please reply lehz....