(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

gg_paradise

Thomas.. ur wedding photos, u onli post those few ah??

Qin.. ya, really such a coindence

kiddyu15

I collected my albums and barang le! So happy!

I also went to select my invitation cards oredi.. I asked them abt the music copyright thing.. They say they got pay annual fee one so it's ok.. I asked wat if it's my own slide montage and I added song.. He also say ok.. Then I ask must bring original CD? He say thumbdrive also can.. =|

el2sgbrides

hi gals, im finally done with PS... super tired~

oh yes, is there anyone we can consult regarding the chinese wordings of the invitation cards? thanks~

kiddyu15

EL >> Mine was a standard template given by my restaurant, we just fill in the names and the dates etc.. Might be of help to you but then it's at my bf's place.. Will ask him to scan it..

mrs chua: u mean my wedding album layout photos? I posted all le
If u are talking abt PS photos, I haven't got time to upload yet lol.

ellentg

Dione > wah i also can't wait to collect my album... :D huh why your coordinator seems to be ok with anything one? sure or not? :| better ask him to confirm...

EL > haha... tired but fun rite
btw i thought you printing your cards at T-dragon? they have the Chinese template de... just ask them. i also got mine from there

Fellcy > aiyo sadddd....
have you chosen another one yet?

el2sgbrides

hi ione n ellen, ya i got the template... but the same issue as mrs chua... the order of birth. we confused over how it should be written... need advise from expert~

ellen, not really fun leh for my PS... cos PG n my thinking is different. we were trying to create a theme for the album but it seems the PG prefers to do what he is best... anyway we see how it goes~

fellcy, oops... dun sad la~ but i tot usually can reserve first n confirm later wan? so now no choice must choose another one huh?

vilopup

Back from JB on Sat with photo selection. The package given was for 30 poses and 10 pages and amazingly we manage to sieve to 36 poses and keep to the 10 pages.

The BS nice lah, they give us the 6 additional poses FOC! Happy... i think they are very happy with the big customer they found. Spend like no tomorrow.... *must chomp on bread le*

I also went to print inserts at T&T. All you have to do is to bring one sample of your invite there. They will let you choose template (they have almost all the major hotels in SG).

Up to 3 picture icons are allowed in the the cards and they will advise you on the chinese wordings as well (order of child in family, whether grandparents or parents around).

If you want to use your own icon in pic, bring black & white hard copy for scanning (RM5) or thereafter email through to them.

They will do up sample for you within an hour (go kopi or shop first), come back and verify and then they will proceed. Takes about a week.

Cost is 100 pieces RM80 and 150 pieces RM95 (mine is just normal insert with no map).

Good service! Look for shirley!

I am currently stuck with the entertainment portion... our good friends have already got My Little Dream for their sep wedding, so we shouldnt get back the same le... now head cracking... any ideas?

Mrs Chua: I cannot seem to find your shoes leh! I not very good with shoes... This sat I likely to go in again with one of my girlfriends to pick up inserts, will check again. Are you going in again?

Wanted to send through my to do list to you but got corrupted the doc.. now got to see how to save it. And then i paste new copy and send you okie.

Ellen: Food tasting, probably invite both sides de family (who might not have much time to eat on the day itself). Also depend on how many pple they allow for food tasting. No. range from 6 to 10. If we have space, will get the grandmother to come too!

Dione: Did you kena any problem at custom with all the stuff? My BS worried that we will have issues wiht taking bus, ask us to drive in and get. So i only got back a small album, cdroms and then the stack of unselected.

You really got a lot of stuff!!!! like museum like that the way you display. What are you going to do with the unselected hard copies? mine is a weird size...

For the new package i got a rather small album (niang jia ben size)... the big one is super heavy though!

Fellcy: oh no!! then how? Do they have a similar cut gown? So many people getting married in July!!

gg_paradise

Dione.. ur album look so nice.. I so envy lo.. I show my hubby abt it, he say, u must have spend alot of money on it ba hehe anyway, I like the photos inside the crystal apple (is that crystal apple???) but it realli look beautiful.. all under package & done by ur BS???

I actually oso checked with y restaurant, they told me shld nt have any prob with regards to the copyright issue but they do tell me abt the annual fee thing.. my invitation card left with some minor amendements which my daddy last min tell me he dun like his chinese name to be in 'fan di' haha

oh ya, my restaurant had highlight this matter to me in my invitation card.. u all might wan to take a look..
"had checked your invitation card & found that you have put your surname in it. As for our Chinese culture, since you married to Gerald, you should following his surname instead yours. For example, they will address you as  Mrs Chua. For my opinion, you should take out your surname, just put as Germaine will do."

EL.. hope u have fun during ur PS.. indeed is tired but must be fun too right? hehe hmm.. normally ur restaurant/banquet will be able to advice u if they are printing for u.. if nt, I think u can check with the eldery of ur home??

attached is a template of the invitation card format which my restaurant provide for us to fill in for ur reference..

婚宴日期 / Wedding Date :_____________________
星期 / Day :_________________________________
ç”·æ–¹ / Bride groom Side :
奉严慈命 / Grandpa & Grandma
父亲姓å / Father Name : (中)_____________________________夫婦
(英)Mr.& Mrs._________________________
æ¯äº²å§“å
中)_____________________(英)_____________________
新郎姓å
中)____________________(英)______________________
在家排行 : 长男Eldest ,次男Second ,三男 Third,幼男Youngest, 爱儿Only Son
ä½å®¶ç”µæ´» Tel :_________________________
手æ Hp :_______________________

女方 / Bride Side :
奉严慈命/ Grandpa & Grandma
父亲姓å / Father Name : (中)_____________________________夫婦
(英)Mr.& Mrs.________________________
æ¯äº²å§“å
新娘姓å
在家排行 : 长女Eldest ,次女Second ,三女 Third,幼女Youngest,爱女Only Daughter
ä½å®¶ç”µæ´» Tel :_________________________
手æ Hp :_______________________

Fellcy.. omg.. den how? u selected another EG? dun worry, I'm sure u can find a more beautiful piece of EG

Thomas.. ya, I'm referring to ur PS one.. dun seem to see it leh.. maybe later I go take a look again when I reach home

qin17

Dione: Yeah i agreed with Mrs Chua ur album look so nice lor ande very gown is so beatuiful.. Btw.. the banner is it provided by the bridal?
Mrs Chua/Dione: So good.. u all have no issue on the copyright thingy.. My one quite ma fan.. Those montage cannot embedded music on it unless i pay for copyright. So the hotel coordinator actually suggest mi to play song with montage separately in order not to infringe the copyright. Sigh.

mrs chua: haha PS one I haven't got time to upload cos must select from my 2 PS before I can upload...damn a lot of photos really!

gg_paradise

Blur_btb.. wow.. u can keep within the package ah.. that is a very good self-control. Unlike me & hubby, we cannot so have to burn a bigger hole in our pocket.. LOLS..

Shoes ah.. is ok if u cannot find. Hmm.. I still duno if I will be going in cos will depend on my father’s schedule..

Ok.. if u can den send me the file ba.. thanls

fellcy

Blur BTB>> Me also did my insert at T&T. Their prices increased since last year. They allow me to add as many icons as we wanted leh but they mentioned about it being too cramp if we have too mnay. We chose 2 den they added a 3rd one for us. We requested to have borders too...But really have to check the sample they email, cos there's too many typo error le!

Thomas >> yours also in Novotel right??

We finally settled our albums and photos..now left with montage and gown selection..i cannot decide which one I wan...somemore don;t have 1 that I really like...

Dione>> your pics are nice!! We were considering SG bridal initially too but we realised their package is more ex than Venus so we took Venus instead. Do you need to have a receipt for your items in order to bring them back from JB?

mrs chua: oh that's wat u are talking abt? lols...the rest are my ROM photos lah, that time I dunno u yet mah so nvr grant u access, thats why u cannot see

fellcy: yup yup...u are july btb ah? keke

kiddyu15

Ellen >> Yea lor, he like everything also say ok, nvm.. I abit worried.. My HTB say, nvm lor, if kenna they pay cos he everything say ok.. =| But still...

Blur btb >> Lolx.. My fren say our new hse next time, everywhere we turn will see our wedding photos.. Lolx..

No problem @ customs.. We tot there might be so already got our BS to write a 'receipt' for us.. But then they didn't check or ask anything leh.. So we were worried for nothing.. But just in case, maybe u wana ask ur BS to write a 'receipt' ba.. =P

Mrs Chua >> Don't worry la, urs will be very pretty also one! =D In total we spend SGD 3.4k for everything lor.. Ok la I feel, quite worth it.. Got 2 albums + alot of freebies.. Lolx..

Do u mean like when they write wedding of XXX and XXX? I remember when I filled in the details, I got put my own surname though.. Hmm..

qin >> The banner? Yea it's a free gift from the BS.. Lolx.. Canvas poster actually.. We were quite surprised with it cos we tot when she wrote as free gift that it's those paper poster.. But was pleasantly surprised that it's canvas and quite good quality..

I think play the song seperately is ok ba.. As long as timing aim accurately abit.. The thing is, my side so sui bian until I abit scared.. Like everything also ok like tt..

fellcy >> Thanks!! I wanted to visit Venus and Fables on the same day.. But stepped into SG Bridal.. Let them talk-talk only sign oredi.. Lolx.. The coordinator we initially signed with @ SG Bridal called Amy-jie has moved over to Venus as coordinator now.. Not sure if you've met her.. =)

kiddyu15

Oh yea girls,

I recently started using my RSVP page on mywedding.com blog and realise it's very useful.. U can add in meal preferences (halal/vegetarian) and get your guests to rsvp there.. At the end of it, u can also export the guest list into excel..

Quite a useful tool to have for RSVP.. Might wana just create a site on mywedding.com and just use that RSVP page.. =)

gg_paradise

Thomas..ohh, I thought u have grant access to me.. haha.. ok la, nvm,.. thanks

Dione.. urs got really alot of freebies le with paying 3.4k.. really very worth it..

based on the invitation form template provided by the restaurant, u write in ur full name but the printer will do as according to what they feel is right for us in the invitation card den when u vet thr, if u ok den is ok but if nt, den u will modify it..

my case is, I provide them my full name including christian name, but when they give me the invitation card template, they onli put in my christian name without surname. After looking @ it, I thought maybe becos putting in our full name plus christian name will be too long so they only put in my christian name. But hubby say put christian name seems too simple so he say, must at least put in christian name with surname.. so I told my restaurant to change.. but after which, they told me abt the chinese culture on we married into the guy's family, we shld follow his surname instead of ours.. so they gave me 2 options..
1. Put as "Germaine Chua"
2. If not, jus leave it "Germaine"
after discuss with hubby, he say leave out the surname, jus put as "Germaine" will do.. so I told them to make this amendment for us...

As for invitation card this kind of thing, I think u can check with ur restaurant on how the wording shld be. they are the more experienced person to check with.. if nt, maybe u can check with the elderly @ home..

Morning ladies...totally lost touch with u all... Now really can understand that it's hard to select and delete the photos when the photos turn out to be great.. Never know that we can have such nice pics.. LOL... More xiong is next day going for my prewedding video... just upper half scene already spend whole day... need to continue again 2 weeks later... not easy to be actor and actress... tiring~~~ Not only that, more stunts from my mum n things heard from my colleagues on the wedding thingy... Head almost wanna explode le... Super busy weekend for me till I realise till now I have not do my efiling for ROM.. faint..

Dione> Wah... u really have alot of wedding photos and freebies from your BS... very nice... think u can have a corner to display all ur wedding stuffs photos for ur new house.. hehe...

What I understand is if u wanna get ur mp3 file, u must have proof that u purchase for it... For some official webby, u need to pay for ard $3 per song, then able to print the 'receipt'. So if u wanna do that, just make sure u have e evidence of purchase... =)

EL> Maybe the pics will turn out unexpectedly great? That's what happen to me during my photo selection....

Fellcy> Dun feel sad.. maybe u will find even better design than the EG taken by other.... cheer up...

Ellen> When u able to collect ur album?? U gg back during May again for the collection of photos?

Blur btb> U n ur HTB really know how to self control..So end up only choose 36 poses? Mine totally diff case...we control le, but end up still take total of 60poses... haiz.... at least u got bread... I have to eat grass... LOL...

I heard my colleague's frenz kanna fine for few hundred RM when he try to bring in his wedding potrait...So maybe ur BS's advice is right...better to drive in and put everything inside the car...

Qin> I think it not advisable to play the music seperately to prevent any hiccups.... maybe can check up those offical music webby on purchase their songs... if remember correctly it's just a few dollars for the songs in mp3 file format....

Mrs Chua> So have confirm on the chinese wordings for ur card printing? Everything go smoothly? Oh ya, ur Fancl is here, let me know when u wanna collect....

ellentg

Ching Ching > yup going back to get my album in May

btw, the act of embedding music into the montage is infringement of copyright, even if you buy the original mp3 also cannot.

qin > actually can play music and montage separately... i've done that for my friend's wedding before. just need to get someone with good rhythmic sense to help you

gg_paradise

Ching Ching.. if u say blur_btb got bread to eat & u got grass to eat, den what abt me?? think I got nothing to eat le cos I got 90poses.. lols

wat is the webby for the song download??? one of my friend oso finding song for downloading her song with receipt..

ohh.. u gotten the stock le ah.. hmm.. u prefer to meet weekdays or weekend?? how much is it this time?

for the chinese wording, I used youngest son & eldest daughter lo.. cannot think much of the appropriate wording to use le...

qin17

Ching Ching: the hotel coordinator has told us not to embed any music into the montage coz doing it will infringe copyright le even if the song is from original cd.

Ellen: ya lor.. i got no choice but to use this method of playing music and montage separately. Hopefully everything will be smooth. hee.

U gals so fast take ur album liao.. hehe.. mine i havent even see the layout lor.. hehe.. still gt 3 more weeks then can view the layout.

ellentg

Mrs Chua > guest that's the best and easiest way to indicate the birth order la... wah you got 90 poses... so many....

qin > Haha which BS you are with? guess all of us at different stage la... some already got album long ago while some just did PS... most important thing is everything can be settled before AD haha

btw, think we forgot to ask you to fill up the July BTB spreadsheet. Please update your details here

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AuC7VhsPuuAXcGdMSlRIWkFmM0tEZS1KZFRILWQzWHc&hl=en

qin17

Ellen: My bridal shop is the aisle bridal. hehee.i think for mi i can only get to take my album in june. Ok i updated my details in le=)

Mrs Chua> I forget to tell u.. my frenz is also only daughter in her family... My frenz put 'wei nu'.... the chinese word 'wei yi'...Hmm... sorry, can't type chinese character...

90 poses?! That's alot.... No la, u still have ur tense up to drink... LOL... Anything, or maybe i can pass u during our next gathering?

Qin> hmm...ok....then really have to think of alternative....

vilopup

Hey peeps, its been a constructive few days, finish my hibernation and wake up to continue wedding stuff le. Just confirmed layout of inserts and yest nite, went to bakery to order peanut and sesame strips, got pig trotters and ordered cakes for GDL.

Oh ya, NTUC running offer for canned trotters. 2 cans for S$6.95. Usually is 1 for S$3.95. Save quite a lot if you need a big number of cans. I got 8.

Mrs Chua: Not that I have self-control lah, its just that this is the "photoshoot only" pkage. The first pkage, i top up 49 poses le... so this one must be more disciplined.

So I also spent a lot!

Fellcy: I just checked and confirm my insert sample. They manage to add in my wedding mascot for me.... But we used the template that says our names first, together with parents invite guest for dinner... lucky the MIL din say much... but duno if relatives will comment or not.

U choose your WG alredy ah. Dun worry, you still got time to choose cos new stocks might come in? I will only go very early June... and I happily order the flowers and car decor wo the gown design le...

Dione: Cos we din drive in, so dun dare to take too many things out.. cos it would be too obvious if the "receipt" says a very small amount and then we have a huge number of things... haha... so asking hb to go on wkday to pick up the rest of the stuff.

I also think I have too many pictures le... see le also giddy... *overdose of myself*

Hey you also got a 3-in-1 chuang tou portrait. What are you going to bring for display at the dinner venue? Cos i tot horizontal portrait look a bit odd on easel and might get knocked over.
Or will you use the banner?

Ching Ching: See, you worry too much liao... they are nice de rite? As above, I already do two shoots le lor.. just that its not as expensive to take in JB, so its about the same cost as topping up here. Paid total of 5.4k for both packages.

I still think the fining part is very off. Nothing very clear cut... what if i courier it back to SG? sigh... have to see how bah... should have all do small albums, then no problem.

How much did you eventually spend? Now waiting for BS to send me layout. no time to even go and see them... HB got no off days on wkend till end May already... got to do a lot of stuff myself... gg in to get back my inserts this wkend.

qin: The aisle takes v nice photos.... they will look great!

gg_paradise

Ellen.. even if got the original mp3 oos is infringement of copyright?? omg.. den what shld be the way?? ya 90 poses.. we cant narrow down the pics anymore.. so that is y I say, burnt a big hole in our pocket lo.. haizz

Qin.. I oso haven take album but will be going down this weekend to view the layout..

Thomas.. ya, 2 albums.. at 1st, my BS onli give us 1 album but we told them, it will be too thick so ask them for 2 album. hehe

to be honest now I'm regretting a bit over my topping up cos after my AD, my album has been left untouched in my drawer. haiz. shld have spent the $$$ on reno or HM better.

mrs chua: as long as its embedded in ur montage, its not allowed. the only option is to either pay up or play music and ur montage separately. the latter option is not easy at all, really need to coordinate the pictures and music sequence well otherwise it will look funny.

luckily my wedding is over...no such nonsense for me.

qin17

Blur btb: Yesh the aisle PG is very good lor.. can capture nice scene.. hehe.. BUT then i din do any topping up of photo lor.. coz i feel after wedding i will keep it inside drawer. hehe.

Mrs Chua: At least you going this weekend to view ur layout.. hehe.. mine still got 3 weeks more to go.. hehe..cant wait to see the photo layout hee.I hope can get back raw photo softcopy first.. hehe

ellentg

btw, before i forget... reminder for our May gathering:

Date: 7 May (Fri)
Time: 7:30pm (?)
Venue: ???

Any suggestion on where to go?

fellcy

Thomas >> yea me also July 3rd...u??

qin >> my friend also mute her montage music and use hotel music to play as background...

anyone has any idea how to do so for express highlight? we tot of using royalty free music but no vocals like nt v nice...

Blur btb >> I haven't confirm WD too!! Sigh...tried the whole afternoon to evening but cannot find anythin i really like..either front nt nice or back nt nice or colour nt nice or nt blink enough...haha dun tink will have a lot of new stock coming in too..hopefully the nice ones are out washin and returning soon!

Dione > I know Amy-jie...she's the lady boss of Venus. Venus is opened by a photographer (her hubby I think) and managed by a group of experienced phtographers and wedding planners who all jump ship from other bridal shops (apparently under the same boss!)

kiddyu15

fellcy >> Serious?? Wow, then how come tt time she worked in SG Bridal.. I was @ Venus with my friend once before and Amy-jie was telling her abt the packages.. She had to ask another lady about some freebies she was offering my friend.. I think the JB BSs all family owned one.. SG also family run business.. 2 bosses are bro and sis, the guy is also a PG, the more famous PG who won the award is the wife of the sister.. Evne their parents are there to help everday.. I heard Fables also part of Venus right?

gg_paradise

Ching Ching.. ya.. 90 poses... I know is alot but hubby & me really duno how to reject any further liao..so tense up can make me full?? lols I'm ok to get it from u during our next gathering since no rush

I think as to put what in the invitation card really depends on pple.. I heard too many diff version until I blur liao haha

Wow.. blur_btb.. u realli ordered stuff for ur GDL ah.. I haven lo.. think will ask my father bring me go order sometimes next week.. but MIl haven confirm with me anything yet... haizz

as for pig trotters cans.. those extra which my family need, my parent will settle so I onli need to get 12 cans for inlaws to bring over to my house on GDL.. anyway, my parents gotten the cans from giant, sheng siong.. they see where got sell cheap den they grab some back.. so now my house got abt 20 over cans??? haha

but u still self -control very well ah.. cos u managed to keep within the package.

kiddyu15

Hey girls,

Have u all sent out invitations yet?
I've sent out my emailers (to frens and colleagues) and some of my colleauges ask if they can bring their partner (they are ang moh so maybe dunno chinese culture, understandable).. But there are some who actually just rsvp and added a partner (they are chinese)! Aiyoh.. So suddenly my guests start to increase.. U girls got face same issue?

I guess I shld think on the bright side? At least they pre-empted me and not suddenly bring partner on that day?

ellentg

Dione > I only started asking some friends... target to finish first round of RSVP by early May. Then will do a confirmation in late June and send out invitation cards after that.

Actually some people will bring partners de, so better ask them from the start whether they will bring partners or not. i got one colleague even told me his whole family of 4 will come LOL

fellcy

Dione >> we did a rsvp via facebook...going to send out our ecard in Mid May. I verbally tell my friends cannot bring partners cos no space...lolx...but my HTB side have some who asked to bring partners babies etc....

We are going food tasting in 2 weeks time!

Thomas>> are you in e thread to chou ri nao?? lols

qin17

Dione: I do encounter colleagues who wan bring their partner along too. Getting headache also coz like not enough space le if everyone bring their partner.

ellen: humans are like this...when gg thru preps they keep complaining how come got so much not done but after its over, they start to miss it whahahahahaa =P

what do u want me to help? other than eating whahahaha

ellentg

Thomas > wahahaha this is very true lor... it's like the "empty" feeling you get after some major projects...

haha you can be our contact providers and maybe can help some gals here to tie threads for inserts?? LOL i remembered you say you now expert liao rite LOL