(2010/07) July 2010 BTB

Ellen> Yes, basically I was just 'yi yi or or'... but luckily the places that the tour guide bring us, most can speak bit chinese... I sign up with Five Star Tour...their accomondation not bad...food wise so-so... the tour guide won't ask u buy this and that... in fact my tour guide is shock when I buy alot of things, esp cosmetics.. LOL... For the korea tour guide, they dun have commission to earn. In fact, all those purchases done by their tourists, end of the day the govt will give them income tax rebate... so the tour guides there not pushy at all....

Blur BTB> Maybe u can ask ur frenz to make enquiry to derrick than and find out the prices from him.. He is very flexible and reasonable... Quite a nice chap..

BTB + Ellen> I like the island top kitchen, but like what u all say, it is not pratical and make the whole house oily n stink if I always cook... See how ba when I get to arrange to meet up with the interior designer....

ellentg

EL > wah.... *drool* all the nice places!! i wanna go too... hahaha... was supposed to go Paris/London few years back but the trip was cancelled
hope i can go there someday... soon~!

Blur_btb > erm my trip was quite cheap cos we went from HK (much cheaper airfare). We went 8D7N, and spent ~$2.9k per person (this $2.9k is inclusive of EVERYTHING - accomodation, transport, food, shopping etc)

actually imho, if you dun mind reading Chinese, HK or Taiwan guide books for Japan are much better than those ang moh ones... somehow what they intro in HK/TW guide books are more suitable for us.

Japan has a lot of different things to see in different parts of the country... you can see what you are interested in and decide which part of Japan to go
enjoy~

ellentg

Ching Ching > i also like island top... but it simply doesn't work for my long kitchen
i think Blur_btb's point about air-conditioning the living room is very very valid.... if you do open kitchen, air-con for the living room will be very challenging.....

start asking ID for quotes already?

Ellen> Ya, I have a few quotes... yesterday ask another ID company for quotation.. My hubby say why the reno company that I look for getting more and more expensive... lol.. Urs lehz? U look for ID or contractor? How much did u spend? Got write t-blog in renotalk? heee~~

I am still thinking of whether to get 3 split or 4 split a/c for my house... Alot advise us on getting 4 split,but due to budget constraint, we are still considering.. Haiz...

ellentg

Ching Ching > LOL very gian when you see those nice but more ex design rite...

I used contractor cos only need a simple house with not much design. Whole house overhaul including window replacement costed me close to 30k... SOBz... only thing untouched in the house was the original marble floor.... yup i have a t-blog LOL... but very slow and lazy in updating!

Air-con hor... was discussing with my fren the other day.. was saying that if you are the kind that mostly use air-con in MBR only, then maybe better to go for single split inverter for MBR, and System 3 for the rest (2 common rooms + living room).

air-con, if you can, better do now... else next time you still need to think of what to do with the big fat trunking... haiz.

Ellen> Initially we are thinking of having 2 compressor...which meant single split for living room, 3 split for rooms. But end up we find it not very feasible as we have to maintain the compressor (major contribution to maintenance cost), then some compressors are hugh in size..if we put 2, might not get HDB approval.... And quite expensive to purchase it... True la, tt y i thinking of 4 split...yet bit out of budget... just calculated the cost, include furniture & electrical appliances, min $40k.. faint..more expensive than getting married.. =p

Where's ur T Blog?? can send me the link to see?? hee~ Aiyo,tt time u still need to prepare for wedding mah.. tt y need time to update...

ellentg

Ching Ching > i think nowadays a lot of pple put 2 compressors (esp for new flats), so shouldn't be a problem ba...? It's more on which configuration suits your lifestyle more... do you use air-con often?

oh my t-blog is here: http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=31759&st=120&start=120. Actually, main bulk of it is updated after my wedding and reno were over :D, and most of the time we are just talking rubbish LOL... But still i m really slow cos till now, i still haven't uploaded all photos yet~ hahahaha

Ellen> I dun think will use aircon often.... except for master bedroom ba as we got evening sun, so will be very warm during night time..

Saw ur t-blog~ Haha... I was thinking of whether to get the storage heater or not...but my frenz tell me it's useless... hmm...

ellentg

LOL like that then you can really consider the single split + system 3 option... cos say if you have a system 4 and run only 1 air-con, the compressor efficiency is not as good becos it is running at a low load.

Storage heater - depends on what you wanna do. if you have rain shower, you must use storage heater. Or if you have 2 toilets side by side, you can just use one storage heater and share between the 2 toilets. but this is really up to individual taste... for me, i can't live without storage heater cos i found water running from instant heater too slow/not enough pressure.

hope it helps...

keke i haven't finished loading all photos to my t-blog - stay tuned!

fellcy

me back! spent so much money...but it's a good break..

so when are we meeting?

Mrs Chua >> how's pregnancy going?

Me just got my photos and video too...yet to watch my video yet..

Ellen >> what's your t-blog? i wan to see the pics!

gg_paradise

Hi everyone.. Pregnancy still ok for me.. MS gotten beta
went for check up this morning, baby too shy to let us see whether is him or her.. So gt to wait till next appt

ellentg

Fellcy > my t-blog is here: here

As for gathering.. i have a feeling that it will be end of the year~ when is everyone coming back??

Mrs Chua > hahahaha my fren's baby also... they didn't know her gender until she was born~ but somehow my fren knew it's a gal... when i asked him how he knew, he said "it's a feeling...:p" hahaha

I finally get my keys yesterday!!!! Awaiting for this coming friday to open the door~~ Can't wait~

Ellen>Due to budget, I think we will stick to 3 split, unless someone wanna sponser us~ =p

Yesterday I saw city gas got a new water heater, same function like storage heater cum instant heater, just that it does not need to run on electricity, it's using gas. Then it will heat the water constantly when u wanna use... daily bill can save abt $10 per mth... I thinking of installing that since they have promo... hehe...

Fellcy> Saw ur pics~ So shiok! How much u spend in total? Ur AD pics very nice~ Who's ur PG?

Mrs Chua> My sis's girl also very shy initially....before that we keep telling her to let us kno so that we can buy her clothes and treat her nice food if she let us kno her gender.... Really lo, that day initally we cannot see, then my sis told her 'hey, cannot see u boy or girl leh', then she turn her buttock and show us...So cute!!! The next day, I faster go gymboree online and buy her clothes~~ LOL...piang, same price as adults' clothes~

ellentg

Ching Ching > congratssss~
must be very excited rite~

renotalk got quite a bit of feedback on city gas heater, you go and read... some good some bad.

hahaha the baby must have heard what you said :p my bro always says, baby clothes are not for the baby to see, but for adult to see one... that's why so expensive~ haha

Ellen> Yes girl, it feel so great to have our own new house~ LOL... I saw ur 'Starhub' kitchen~ Very trendy~

Yesterday I discuss w my hubby, maybe we might wan to have 4 split aircon... Haiz.... more money gone~~ anyway have u buy ur electrical products already? I just go Mega discount at United Square mall, very cheap~ Can get bulk discount too~

I saw some reviews on the city gas heater...Hmm...I think I will go to their showroom and c...From there then decide whether to take up anot... Which brand are u using for ur rain shower? I am thinking of changing the mixer that HDB given to us if I gonna use storage heater... scare next time got kids, they dunno how to adjust and scald themselves....

Yes, baby clothes are really meant for adults to see... Can't wait to see my niece to dress with the clothes that I buy for her~ haha...

ellentg

ya got all my electronic stuff liao... yup yup go Mega! they have the best price... some more they have this price matching policy. if you're able to find cheaper price, just call them up and ask them to match... Mega has a showroom at Kallang Leisure Park too.

My rain shower brand is Onimi... oh how come need to change the mixer leh?

hahaha Starhub kitchen... :p got a Singtel and M1 kitchen in renotalk too... their kitchens are very nice~!

vilopup

Wah I long time never come in here le.... so many messages.

Finally decided to go with Japan since my HB cannot stand the heat in Sri Lanka. Yest went to Chan Bro travel fair and suntec, got very fed up and will swear off package tours.

Found cheap tix connecting from HK to Tokyo, so will book and go on my own.

Ellen: you got an older flat ah. nowadays the new flat kitchen all small small one... now i have a huge kitchen that I wish has something else to do with. I love eating and watching TV so much, wind up move the dining table from kitchen to living room. hahahah

I had a trunking that goes through my living room ceiling side (cos i din do L box or fake ceiling), the width of the trunking was wide enough for me to put on a clock and other ornaments (light ones of cos)

V exciting to hear you ladies talk about your house reno... i have done just the basic for mine cos of budget contraint. so now trying to do mini makeover with decor and stuff.

Have fun for preparation!

ellentg

LOL Blur_btb, it's mainly me and Ching Ching talking only leh... :1 hahaha i also have dining table at the living room... cos if we have guests, it's not possible to squeeze them all into kitchen... hahaha :p

well i guess it's always exciting to decorate your own home~

wow so when are you going for your Japan trip?

Blur BTB> Saw ur tix for $577!!! Tempt me to go Japan too~ LOL... So it's from HK to Tokyo? Which mean u gg for HK/Tokyo stay? Cool~

Ya lo, only me and Ellen talk more abt reno~ LOL... I now still not yet confirm my ID... OMG... Dunno can complete before CNY or not~

Elle> Girl, u got any idea where to get customized sofa and nice water feature? I told my HB abt ur starhub kitchen..he bit stunned...then i say still got M1 and singtel kitchen, he almost faint. LOL... Now I looking into stainless steel matt laminate, dunno expensive or not~~ Haiz... How much in total u spend for ur reno and furniture?

fellcy

Ching Ching >> We spent about 15-17k including shopping. My AD photographer is Ant&Evy. Costly but I am happy with the pictures.

my house has only statred digging the soil...sianz...

ellentg

hey gals! haven't come in for a long time... how's everyone?

Ching Ching > i didn't get customised sofa nor water features, so no lobang for these... paiseh! so stainless steel laminate is for your kitchen cabinets?

i spent about 25k to overhaul the house, and another closed to 5k on windows and grilles.... *faint*, the rest like furniture, appliances... i forgot exact figure, but it was more than 15k i think

Fellcy> so you've finally gotten your home? congrats...
where is it?

ellentg

yo long time no hear
that's fast leh... enjoying your new place now liao~

life seems to be very busy after wedding leh... like work, family etc... how's everyone?

hmmm anyone interested in gathering around CNY period?

yiwen

Hi hi. Ching welcome to our club. So u r staying with your in laws also? Show us your house photos!!!

Ellen y r u so busy???

ellentg

michelle > it's like... during wedding prep, everything else takes a back seat. then right after wedding, all the outstanding work etc are pouring in and you suddenly realised that you actually have a lot to do.... hence very busy lor LOL

and now still got to cook, housework... not that last time i never do but i feel that now more siong cos less pple to help...

and have to find time to meet family members, which is something you don't need to do in the past cos you see them everyday... hahaha

ching ching > got photos?

Ellen> Ya, now still unpack some stuffs and awaiting for my study room furniture to be in this coming saturday~ So tiring... Ya lo, have to make sure go back to visit my parents at least once a week... took some pics, but never upload... Hee~... Can ah, where to gather?

Michelle> Ya, staying w my in laws, but they will only move in a year later or so... Not that soon... haaa....

yiwen

Ching u r so lucky can have 1 year of 二人世界. I am not so lucky. Upload some photos let us see
let me envy lol

ellentg

Ching Ching > oh your ILs will move from their current place to stay with you later?

i think better post in FB cos now like nobody checks here liao zz

Michelle > hee but yours is gonna be "3-people world"... another kind of joy ya

yiwen

No Ellen it's 7 person world. As I include in my parents n my in laws lol.

Hey if post on fb I can't see cos Ching haven add me sob

gg_paradise

hi everyone.. I 'm ok with the gathering but when?? As now I'm curently more active in SMH forum, if there is any gathering, do sms me ok???

ellentg

yea, many threads also die liao. so sad

i put a discussion on FB on gathering, but only Ching Ching replied leh... dunno if the FB group thing is working or not~