(2006) Brides of year 2006

jingles, not all parents or ILs have the money to pay for wedding related costs. Of course if the parents & ILs can afford and they still expect their share to be borne by the couple, then it is too much. If not, the couple should not be blaming them also right?

<font color="0077aa">jingles - not strictly lar.. but if i have a choice, i will go for that.. wahahah.. but i am happy with anything pple give me.. its the thoughts mah.. anyway, bling bling is to bio only.. wahhahaha.. i am the kind who rather save all the money to buy one pc from tiff than a few pcs elsewhere.. exception is where the design really capture my eyes.. =P but this also mean i dun have much bling bling.. kekeke</font>

diamond - of cos...i am refering to the latter case which is parents can afford (eg. go tours, buy cars etc etc) but still bourne cost to kids..haiz..such scenario i too familiar liao

yuki &amp; OL... actually i also scare of cold one... been to korea in dec very very cold... want to see snow so bo bian.. think the best time to go hokkaido shd be either july (to see flowers) or dec (to eat crab n see snow)...

yuki... late aug is second 7th month.. think shd be fine for PS as long as not in the first 7th month...

jingles... actually am not sure if it worths to go little bali for PS as need to pay $150... u have PS already?

eh, is SDJ for teochew only?

<font color="0077aa">waiwai, SDJ is for teochews only traditionally.. but guess these days most IL will buy for the bride.. =)

eh, i also having PS during the 7th mth.. =)</font>

hi pple, i'm back too from honeymoon.
just an advice for BTB, dun stress anything..
table arrangements can even change on exact day, so just make sure u have listed out who can/cannot be shifted in case you need to "empty" tables. also, drink lots of water.. everything don't do by urself.. that's what ur sis and bro are for...
i just told them what to do and trust me, no matter how well u plan, things will go wrong.. so dun panic and leave to the rest to do..
a lot of things hiccupped at hotels and yet both of us were not given told at the first timing.. ur sis and bros need to settle for u, esp the coordinator, then end of the day, they informed u.. then at least u will be offload.

designfreak, cool! u guys decided where to take yet?

melody, there are red flats from charles and keith. ballet shoe style, with ribbon. quite cute n can go well with your kua plus u still can wear next time. but still i think kua shld wear with those embroidery red shoes. sorry i cantonese so i firm believer of wearing the kua shoes. u shld be able to get it from chinatown. quite cheap, less than 20 i think.

waiwai - yap tat is the best 2 seasons ..keke :P my FH love to eat crab so guess we go during jan since we dun wish to drag the honeymoon ..keke :P but got to c what dates they have during the natas rite? scare limited choice.

yap i forgotten .....2nd 7th mth is ok for PS ..keke :P

pandalic - when is ur PS? if it is ok with u shld be alright ....keke :P my mum n MIL against me having PS on 7th mth so i got to take early ...haha ...nowaday keep raining a bit scare leh ....if postphone then think will take in 2nd 7th mth

wai wai - my photoshoot in september after the 7th months..so not so soon..

yuki - yeah last time i asked they also need to collect certain sum as it is their premises...consider as hourly rental to photoshoot place.

OL: yeah.. i really liked that gown, but i am still hoping for some thing better.. but this Wg was ok lah, no defects.. =) but anyway, its a november issue ,so nov then i decide...

DA Man: its a feat man... my fh was so worried also... and my PG just take pics of him helping me.. and never help.. haha.. as for ur outdoor locations... no choice! u'll just have to decide what u want! but u think about it lor, u want to incorporte all these places cos of the nice scenary.. but then u'll be so rushed for time and there may be fewer shots per location as compared to two locations with more time to capture more shots..

pandalic.. i guess all these traditions arent about luck and religion.. by returning some, it shows that the parents arent 'selling' off their daughter, sort of like "not so desperate to keep all these cakes/ ang baos.." it just depends on how u see it.. =)

<font color="0077aa">ribbons, pardon me but i dun see where you coming from.. i think my parents already very generours.. they are not taking any $$ out of the wedding.. no need pinjing, no need angpows.. only 20 boxes of traditional cakes.. so what's that abt being "desperate" even if we dun return any to the groom?? if this amounts to my parents as desperate, i wonder how other parents are being labelled.. diamond said its for good luck to return some, thats why i said we dun believe in such stuff.. my post was in direct relation to her comments if you have read. </font>

hi, ladies
i been very busy moving into my new house,,,,
and my new house got no internet access, so miss out so many of ur posts...

Wendy>
i Just ROM on 17/06/2006, please update for me
Thanks alot...

Diana>
sori to call and disturb u, i just read the post regarding abt the wine, can enlighten me?
thanks alot...

hi CSI,

Me thinkg of taking specific places in NTU that has meanings for me n hubby. like our hostel (corridor lor heeX2), place where he give me first kiss (*shy*), place where he first hold my hands etc. Just so happen that it happened in school campus. and there is this route that we took together from campus back to hostel when he started "chase" me.

Both of us in Civil engrg so may oso take some parts that have some nice steel structures - like in front of lib 1. dunno nice or not but need to discuss with fotographer lor.

u mean Nanyang gardens?

Linda,
where is Changi Broadway exactly? U do not mean the beach right?

pandalic... no no... i am not directing it to your parents... please dont get me wrong.. i am just sharing my thoughts about why some say some things must return.. some say its for luck, some say its a formality to not look like they are selling off their daughter.. Just like how some pple drink water when served in a house, they dont finish all of it.. must leave some for the owner. .some customs that pple practice.. I am just trying to add on to what diamond said.. since she only mentioned it was for luck.. I said "..by returning some, it shows that THE parents arent 'selling' off their daughter.." i wasnt directing it to you at all lah..

Me not directing it to you or your parents.. I know where u are coming from, becos i believe we share the same faith.. in any case, my parents also not taking any thing, all going to us, if i say that about yours, arent i saying that about mine too?isnt that a slap in my own face?

hope the misunderstandings cleared up.. no insulting intended and its not a remakr personalize for anyone... just a case of misinterpretation of intentions and postings.

Hi meowysp and CSI,

NTU brought me and my hubby together. So i chose to go back. I went to Library 1, canteen A, Yunan Gardens and nanyang house to take. I went in the library to take pics but I had asked for permission to beforehand.

I discuss with my photographer that i want to minimise all the posing... try to have candid shoots and we have many acting scenes too.

Changi Broadway is further down. Not sure exactly where it is. There are many stlits there.

pink: He said something was imbalanced. He said the term in chinese, and I didn't understand it. So the medicine is to treat that imbalance. Again I reiterate, it is not my brain's wiring that is imbalanced. :p

hazel: Me too. I reread her sentence as to why she asked bluebunny, then she surmised that she isn't preggers.

Hi Linda,

oh ya hor, it's called Yunan gardens. heeX2... graduate too long, cannot remember liao.

Looks like NTU has been a good "mei po", brought many couples together.

Okie.. I will ask the fotographer if he knows where Changi Broadway is. I used to work in Changi Cargo Complex area but never know of a place by that name. Thks!

i went to city plaza to check out the wen collection shop that is supposed to sell bridemaid gowns &amp; other gowns.. well... i wld say, nothing there is suitable for bridemaids... so, dun waste the trip if u all trust my taste.. :P

hi twinkle

I think 17 Oct...really to pray hard for sunny but not too hot weather for PS. Meantime you may want to chk where you want go for outdoor.

...new zealand....good choice. you no need to drive all the way if you find tiring. You can take their buses to travel from one place to another then when reach town rent a veh.

maybe you want to find my hubby uncle who is working as Director in New Zealand Specialist (agency to NZ). Shop located at Le Meridian. If interested can email me at [email protected]

my new zealand trip is planned by him and his partners. everything is well planned.

For babies....er...actually i abit scare to be preg and give birth.....

Hey lushqueen,
mine says to do all that movin around between 7am n 11am leh... hehe.. after that is no good.. hehe... so u shd b fine? hehe...

Hey Linda, glad u had fun! sounds like we all want to go backt o where we started huh? for me it was at TP... but dunno if we can get any nice shots there...

hi vvn. still waiting for the wine bar to get back to me on the rates. would like to do it there as i think its the "in" place right now. probably will call them tomorrow if i still dun get any answer from them.

i m ok nw...jux lost my image...
cos i was squatting at the lift lobby waiting for cab...
all my neighbors see me...
so paiseh....
n i very "tao", ignore them as i really unable to talk at all..
my head is down holding to the plastic bag..
i dnno who had sent regards to me..
i only rem gt alot of ppl stand near me...bring chair, bag, watever...

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Hi Melody, you can try this brand vie vie, available in major dept stores. There is a wide range of shoes with nice beadings, maybe can match your kua.

DaMan, House of Etiquette is at 86 tanjong pagar road, phone number 62268139

also saw another thread in 'Meeting place for all brides' where someone wanted to sell her shoes.. sorry dont know how to link the thread.

Congratulations Annice and nihpcac!

Can anyone share with me how much do you ladies give your hotetl receptionist? Emcee? Chauffer? Flower girl and page boy?

I left my ang pows not packed. So stress, dunno how much to give! Pls help!

<font color="ff0000">Hi Panda, clouds, angel, Yuki, Daman, ribbons, jingles, OL &amp; the rest,
Im just back from an absolutely sumptuous wedding dinner. Yummy! Didnt realise today was a popular date for marriage: 20.06.2006. Silly me, was wondering why there were 3 weddings in a country club on a weekday :p For the first time in my life (Okie, im really suaku), i had a whole abalone to eat during the 4th course. There was also a whole baby suckling pig, lobster salad &amp; birds nest for dessert. I was ready to burst by the 6th course. Gosh, wonder how much the dinner cost. Am abit pai say that i bao only $80 since its a weekday dinner.

OL: Yup yup, my BS wants us to use our AD gowns for PS becos its more meaningful. hee. =)

clouds,
Glad u found the link useful! Im a big fan of Jim's designs, so i wanted my EG to be along that line: classy, sleek &amp; simple. =) Just let Helan noe your prefernces. She will surely churn out a divine gown for u!

Panda dear,
Pine's blackforest cake is nice ah? To think hubby lives so near the shop &amp; never tried their cakes before. Saw their creations in mags, though. Thot they were lovely. Okie, will make an attempt to try this weekend!</font>

<font color="0077aa">princess, sounds like you got a sumptous dinner.. yummy.. makes me hungry leh.. wahahahh

i tried their cakes during a wedding show.. bf and i like the blackforest.. but my bro likes the lychee martini.. the rest, we tot were a bit too dry.. =)</font>

<font color="ff0000">panda,
Oh yes, rem Lychee Martni is one of Pine's specialty too. Glen Ong &amp; Jamie Yeo had a 3 tier Lychee Martini cake for their wedding. I'll love to have little cupcakes for my dinner. But checked out the cost liao, not worth it. $3 per cupcake, so ex. Not from Pine's though. Cant rem the place.</font>

hi gals, i'm back...finally my AD is over !!! yeah !!! at least a big big rock off me haha

phy, its up to you lor i gave most of them AP of $18 - $68 depending on how much they help
but for xiong dis they got alot of bonus and incentives from my MIL cos she gave them at least 3-4 AP each haha

I jus ROM today, 20.06.2006... It was a very bz day, lotsa running here n there cos my ROM wasn't at the ROM ctr. Did my own makeup, fren did my hair, etc, etc... Luckily, everything turns out fine...

A story to share: My JP was David Loh, he's very bz today, man! got 14couples to be solemnised by him today! N the places between one another is not near lor... Guess what? In the midst of everythin, we forgot to hand to him the ANG BAO?!!! Gosh! It was after he left dat we remember... Tmr gotta go down to his office personally to pass on to him...

A piece of advice for those gonna be ROM, it may be a betta idea to hand ur ANG BAO to ur JP b4 ur solemnisation starts. Cos once it's start, i believe both u n ur hubby will be gan cheong n after the ceremony, u will be bz taking photos... It might slip off ur mind unintentionally. My gf too almost forgot to pass him the ANGBAO 3mths back during her ROM.

So... jus a thot...

same here. gave in range from $4 to $168, depending on what u need.
e.g. i need to give red packets to little kids.. so $4 to distant, $8 to closer ones.
dun forget the duration ur sis and bros need to work and decide.. approx, we fork out abt 1k for these ang baos.

Hi just wanna check whether our maid can be the one holding the tea set for tera ceremony?

Also, when did you all give the ang pow for your helpers and brothers?

Sorry ask so many questions ... 3 days left ... still not sure...

morning, girls! my stomach was better last night but this morning after putting the ru yi you, feels weak again. alamak

alamak hazel, why you squatting there la! so funny!!!!

phy, i think any1 can hold the tea set as long as they dun break it but there must be a helper to help wash the cups during the tea ceremony

CONGRATULATION Honey and Dwarfs for ur ROM!!!

dwarfs, it ok....i would like talk to u if me nt gng for my ex coglis wedding dinner.....ok the wine, me is organising and combining orders to get the wine from wendy supplier. the wine is $14 + GST per bottle. But they do nt provide free wine tasting but they only charge 50% off normal price if we are purchasing for tasting. We are planning to purchase a bottle for tasting then decide if we will order or nt. r u keen?

vvn, if u wan to chip in and taste the wine too of cos we will welcome tat....as in whether if u decide to purchase from the supplier or nt is up to u lor....

Honey, ur JP also David Loh huh...same as mine...but u quite heng....coz i heard he retiring after 30th June.....ya lor...me tat time beri kiasu gif him the Ang Bao before ceremony start coz me so scared i forget mah...hee hee

Hi joyousonline,

It's this sat man. Today going to collect my ROM cert at 9.30am ... haha ... got to go soon.

I am going to give $60 for my friend who is driving.

I count and count. Ang Pow like costing me $1.3k ... Wonder if I should cut or not?