(2006) Brides of year 2006

stevy

Seems like all of you haven taken your PS... Mine will be in July. Wat do I need to pay attention to ? Dun buy amplues from MUA ?

Hi Xiaobai1, can I confirm with you we got to top up $50 per photo??? If thats the case, then I might request prof Tan service. Cos I want to take underwater shots. But will have to top up $300 and got to search for swimming pool ourselves.

If we get prof Tan, all will be taken care of in his package.

meow_chloe

hi gals and guy...
i'm also having my wedding in Dec.

ribbons.. you have had your PS already? my PS coming up too and i'm still feeling very unprepared

DaMan, saw some Kua shoes at House of Ettiqiette. Not so sure of the prices though. they are the really traditional ones with the embroidery or the red ball pouff pouff. Quite cute

gentasg

Hi ffbear,

Mine's hse is in fernvale ...

I had my photoshoot yesterday. My hubby and I had fun taking the pics...now waiting for the photos...
I went to NTU and Changi Broadway to take pics... i like changi broadway esp u go at the sunset time. the sky is so beautiful but dont go to late, coz it will be dark by ard 7 pm. mosquitoes suck you... we went there for ard 15mins... got beaten...
Just be natural and smile... and relax... u will have a great time...

xfiles_wolvie

pandalic-oic...dresss..ok...hehe..thanks for ur suggestion on ninewest. will tell da wife.

meow_chloe-hi, thanks. but may i noe where is house of ettiqiette? the location. hehe. sua ku. nvr heard of it. paiseh ah. thanks.

xfiles_wolvie

clouds-cham..i double and triple check..my home theatre system really gt no warranty card and my dvd player itself is not working well. the centre speaker light on the display is not light up and there is no sound. is urs fixed up yet? if urs fixed up, can test if the centre speaker light on the display light up? my subwoofer and left and right speaker lights are ON in the display except the centre speaker. no ned to play anything, on power and the lights for the speakers in the display will come on.

i tried and not working. i did the following troubleshooting:

left speaker plug to socket meant for centre speaker -> no sound and not working
right speaker plug to socket meant for centre speaker -> also no sound and not working
centre speaker plug into socket meant for left speaker -> got sound and working
centre speaker plug into socket meant for rigth speaker -> got sound and working

cham...problematic...confirm centre speaker socket not working liao. gt to get warranty card and exchange with them liao. sigh. duno is it no warranty card thats y spoilt. haha i tink too much liao. paranoid.

sandsand

Da Man: we went to a beach water front in JB. When u come out from the causeway, to ur left u will see Danga Bay. Sort of like esplanade mall.. got open air ampitheatre, kiddy theme park (went there to take pics with the merry go round), parks, beach, lots of theme restaurants. (this one was good. so many theme restaurants, so it looks like we go many places..) we took quite a few shots,and danga bay is quite big with many many scenes.. so although my outdoor only one location, it looks like we go many places.. but didnt get to catch my sunset.. boohoo.. too cloudy but got some nice shots..

meow_chloe.. welcome! yeah, I'm the earliest one in this forum to do her PS. (I think).. i also felt very unprepared and kan cheong b4 my PS... "what if i break out?" (I did eventually), "what if i look fat?" "What if the MUA gives me bright blue eye lids and blood red lips??".. but in the end, everything turned out fnie.. the PG also taught us how to smile, how to pose.. now we take very good shots.. hee...

i heard from some onein thie forum b4, they went to those old ol dchinatown shops. (not yue hwa) and found some nice (and cheap) shoes or kua..

i went to centre point that day, Sole Lovers/ J West having shoes sale.. saw some nice wedding shoes.. those covered up, toe area very long and pointed kind? $39.90 only.. and its nice...

apples: this kym.. is she the one who is frequently recommended in this foruM?

angeldust

gd mrg all,

daman - yeps changi beach is nearer lor then can also go airport and take pics?

I have one godess of mercy at home and my hubby takes care of it. For the installation, my mum did it for us. She chose one "guan yin dan" date and did it. as for the procedures.. me really not sure cos me wasnt around - busy working in china when she did all these including throw salt and rice in all coners of the hse + dong tu for the renovation. paiseh cant help much.

Kua shoes - if u dun mind as I said, can always use a pair of gold or silver shoes to match the embriodery. if u wanna be traditional and wear red to match also can but to get exact match colour is tough. beaded shoes, i think can try chinatown Hoe Kua rental also. Think they might have.

Hi apple - thanks for the update on Kym Ng. Great report. 300+ seems reasonable for an evening dress for mums.

Hi bride - maez is suppose to update the table. In the meantime, u take care. *waves*

Hi chloe - have u given ur details to maez to update the table?

OL - ya ya the ice kachang.. drools... the amt of "liao" is a lot lor.. eat oredi very shiok..

wyy

same here....

ebell, though i am not looking at my wedding pix, i still enjoy my wedding very much.

me planning for a 2nd hoenymoon to Taiwan in Aug06, any one got any advise?

silentelf

Hi Jac.. the jetty at labrador park was closed.. the time i went was the first day of closure.. very suay rite? missed the sunset & then the closure of the jetty.. sianz.. anyway hor, its best u go there to take a look first before your PS..

Hi linda.. congrats on your successful PS!! I'm sure the sunset photos will turn out great..
*so envy..

chillipadi25

thanks stefy and angeldust.....while walking in the rain to work...still wondering who shall i invite as jie meis....haiz......my head is going to burst liao..by way ladies can i asked where are u going to get your cakes from? voucher or going to self deliver to relatives?

chillipadi25

daman - wah...i read ur post.. also feel paranoid...but dont worry, if the shop u buy from is reputable and still want to survive in this market, i am sure he will exchange. If not u can come in here to sing about him...hahahaha

angeldust

hi jingles,

jie meis selection, u need to know ur jiemeis need to be help to u on ur wedding day. so be careful in the selection. someone good in something may not be good in another aspect. So the roles whom u set for jiemeis must suit the person. For instance, u can assign usher or receptionist work for someone poor in organizing skills for the dinner and u cant assign someone quiet as the "tekan leader" for gatecrashing. Hope this helps.

Guo Da Li Cakes - If u are asking abt Guo Da Li cakes, I rememer coming across a link on sources. Som Gin Thye confectionery for teochew biscuits. This cakes is not up to u to decide. Ur Mum should prepare a list of PIN LI required from ur In laws. Cos the no. of boxes or cards required will be stated. My mum set the same criteria for me and my sister. We will get cake cards for all the relatives and giv ethem together with the inviation card. For Guo Da Li, cos need to pray and + the return boxes to groom side + cakes for office colleagues (depends on ur company culture). The cake cards + invite, I shall leave to my parents to handle because she will need to go around and give the invite personally for the "zhang beis". Those same level or not "Zhang Beis" we can send both to them. Not an issue.

Just sharing how my side works. U discuss with ur mum and in laws how they want to go about doing it.
My sister ordered online from choz confectionery for convenience.

If asking abt read wedding cake ang mo style, there are a few sources like pattissier and canele + pine garden.

wallflower

elven ~ wah, bare back and v-neck somemore... *whistle* r u using ur AD WG for outdoor shoot?

ribbons ~ u used ur AD WG for outdoor? did it get dirty?

da man ~ tell me about nostalgic feel man... my FH is crazy abt vintage stuff, hopefully my future home wont turn into karang guni :p he's very onz abt the PS, managed to loan vintage vespa and volkswagon for it
sea definitely no-no for me, i'm terrified of the sea hehe...

clouds_54

Morning girls

Was desperately trying to post my message here yesterday morning but my company's server was down
, and I was out the whole afternoon.

Now got to retype my message liao :p.

Panda - Appt with DC ok. Nothing much as I only get to see the "shell" of my WG mah. Then we discussed about the designs for the other 2 outfits. Hey, thought you tailoring for your bridemaids? So now thinking of getting OTR?

Ribbon - Thanks for the contact! Think this is the shop I went to the last time, before I signed up with my BS. This is just in case I need to source for tea-dress if my BS does not provide me with it. Will pop by there there soon

Princess - Thanks for the URL. Wah... very good leh... show all the colours, fabrics and the dresses. I hv requested for a catalogue. Dunno if they will really send me. Haha...

Sigh... the reno stopped for 2 weeks as the paint colour didn;t turn out to be what we expected. The partition design also has to be changed. We consulted fengshui before we started the reno. Got confused when the master said must construct partition. We thought it's all the way from floor and ceiling. We later realised it's a waste as the wind wld hv been blocked! Then what's the point of us buying high floor? So we changed the design to make it seem "not so stifling" and doing a 6-feet tall partition will do. Ermm... understand? Let me know if you need any advice on your reno though we are still struggling with it!

Angel - Thanks. Already gotten the quote from HG. Aiyo. Slightly cheaper than RO and with no coffee table album. Actually, RO's package is still ok if we want the frills such as coffee table album and collages. But as we hv overspent
.... so trying to just go for those with only slot-in album lor. Meeting another 3 more this week. Tired tired....

Bride Glad that you are moving on and popping by to say hi. BTW, I emailed Ivan of Panpac but no reply. Guess must hv been taken up alr. Hope you managed to get your deposits back from your vendors. Take care yah?

Apple - Thanks for your update on the shops. Hmm... will pop by Centrepoint to take a look then. Actually, there is this shop that my mum think is good. It's in Chinatown, near OG. She already bought an EG from there, around $100 plus. She said the dresses not so "wayang" as some of those in OG (no offence to those whose mums bought their outfits at OG). They also tailor cheongsams. As the shops selling fabrics is just at the next building, they offer to accompany my mum to choose the fabric if she intend to tailor. Will bring my FMIL down one day. As I hv not personally been to the shop, don't dare to recommend to you girls yet.

Da Man - Oh dear... hv you tried calling the technical support to ask them come down and see? They shld give you a new warranty. You can also try call the shop that you bought it from. My coll bought from that same shop and he told me they do provide some after-sales service. We hv not installed the system yet. We will check it out once we installed and let you know.

angeldust

hi Clouds - the kopi table album ya.. quite worth.. me just sign for slot in first kopi table was added as an option. ke ke ke ke.. anyway RO was nice. tho i have 2 weddings, i paid deposit for 1 only. same my VG, book for 2 days and paid deposit for 1 day package. So RO knows my predicament and I was glad he said no need to pay extra for the 2nd day so I channel my funds to elsewhere first. Until after wedding collect pics then pay them *winks*.. HG is quite good leh.. saw my friend's AD pics.. if u like editorial type of shots.. very good. apparently he is very ching cai lor and good to work with.
JIAYOU in ur search for the perfect AD PG for ur AD. GOOD LUCK ya? no worries.. u will find one..

clouds_54

Angel - This Som Gin Thye confectionery that you mentioned is reputatable. My cousin also got hers there. Cannot remmeber if the husband is a teochew. But she told me they know the various customs well and can prepare for you accordingly. I will likely be checking this place out. Abit far though... at Sembawang. Are you getting yours there too?

Princess - Before I forget, I checked with the church on the possible floral arrangement alr. Will drop you an email later.

chillipadi25

angel - thanks for your advice...but now the headache part is that i have insufficient selection for my jie meis!! cos i used to be in the construction industry...so u know lar...if i need hia di no prob...but jie meis....haiz...really really need to scratch my head liao!!!!!!!!!kekekeke

for the cakes, no lar we looking for the ang moh cakes...please correct me if i am wrong.Ang moh cakes to be delivered together with the card, traditional kinds to be given during GDL?? correct hur....

apple68

tell u something gals...

i was quite pissed off last weekend. i asked FMIL if she wanted to MTM evening gown, guess what she said

"oh... my figure no need to MTM. Can get it OTR."

oh.. what does she mean? my mummy very fat lah.. must MTM...
kao_angry.gif

angeldust

hi clouds - nope not getting for my GDL.. getting cake cards + some boxes of cakes.. haven decide where.

jingles - the no. of JM is not impt. the most impt is whether they can help u. rope in female cousins as well???

eh.. ang mo cakes refers to 3 tier cakes for cutting during reception after wedding ceremony.. then dancing then feed each other cake kind of cake. ke ke ke ke :p

pinky_girl

I'm AD is on 7 Oct. And from all the posting that u gals had posted, it seem like u all have prepared all the stuffs. But for me, i'm only going for my photoshoot this sat and nothing else has been done. I'm i being to late in the preparation works? Can someone pls advise what else do i have to do?

Many Thanks!!

angeldust

apple,

this is so hilarious!! think she din mean it that way but she was trying to "PRAISE" herself to the sky.. hmm.. sounds like my own MIL.. ha ha ha ha ha.. anyway she dun want.. u dun bother.. just get ur mummy a nice MTM EG so on AD outshine her lor.. best way to get back.. so she dun complain she dun look gd in pictures lor.. :p leave it be.. cos if u get her to go MTM one turn out she dun like.. she BLAME U AH.. then this nagging will GO ON FOREVER...

me so nottie..hiaks hiaks

wtan

hi hi compassrose..
surely u will be welcome..for me, we wanted soleminzation & customary together...so when i was sourcing for dates for my customary 2 yrs back..was very hard lor..me very lucky that RTP got extra ballrooms..heng ahh..coz i m having our soleminzation at the dinner banquet so the date is very impt to us lor..anyway, if u r looking for fengshui master to calculate auspicious dates, u can contact Master Jing Zi Long at 67417377 or email him at [email protected] cheers~

pinkbunny

if he can't pinpoint what's wrong then what is the medicine supposed to treat?

i'm not feeling good either today. i think got food poisoning from bbq.

chillipadi25

ladies...hur...u all asked MIL ar...erm i never leh...kekekee cos i already asked my hubbie to ask her liao..if he never asked her, then not my prob liao..

angel - erm....cake for cake cutting not provided by the hotel?? all those small little nitty gritty things i have yet to settle leh...have yet to buy cakes, shoes, print cards, buy items for the ceremony eg. spitton, bed sheets....wonder if all last minute do will be too hectic or not...kekeke

wtan

Yo ladies..

my co is hiring..if u know any friends looking for such jobs, pls PM me..thks..thks..

Position: Account Executive
- Temporary
- 6 to 9 months
- Right candidate will be converted to permanent employee if performance proven

Report to: Finance Manager
Responsibilities:
-Manage accounts payables, fixed assets records and general ledger
-Handles accounts receivables collections and inventory reconciliations
-Prepare account reports for financial reporting to meet statutory and corporate requirements.
-Submit GST filings
-Prepare account and variance analysis
-Liaise with auditors and banks
-Assist the Finance Manager on special projects
-With Oracle knowledge will be advantageous

Requirements:
-Minimum Diploma in Accounting or LCCI in Higher Accounting
-At least 3 years’ relevant working experience
-Competent in Microsoft Excel / Word. Familiar with computerized accounting system.
-Hand-on, strong analytical skills, versatile team player with initiative and the ability to multi-task and work under pressure
-The right candidate is required to start on mid-July 2006.

angeldust

Jingles - i left the customary things to my mum to do for me.. HA HA HA HA AH.. just gave her cash.. if she want me accompany her to buy then I go. Shoes can gos hopping this weekend lor. Bedsheets.. now Aussino has 50% coupon from GSS website. Check ur mattress height before buying hor.. ok cos i made mistake.. ke ke ke ke.. end up ang gong gong bedsheet cannot use for mattress.. so relinquish it to CNY use oni..

that cake provided by hotel is dummy cake.. i meant if u wanted a REAL cake.. then u can order from pattissier or canele.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">clouds, i look see look see first.. if got otr, then maybe i can have more bridesmaids.. wahhahaha

eh, so you settle your designs? or still under discussion? i cant wait for mine.. =p

all the best in your PG search yeh..

ribbons - we are talking abt kym ng is from zing fashion. not the one in tampines which some btb reco in this forum..

apple, dun think your MIL meant that lar.. kekeke.. </font>

chillipadi25

angel - glad tat ur mum is the proactive kind...but mine is something like a lost sheep....so will definitely need me to guide her..sometimes i feel quite angry too cos it seems like i am marrying off myself!!! haiz...ok lar enough of my personal probs..

ok now go GSS website to check on aussino..thanks

wallflower

apple ~ dun be bothered too much by wat elders say, coz sum of them really lack the tact sumtimes. i can be bo chap towards sum of them liao, an invisible shield

greta

Hi Wong YY,
I went there 3yrs ago. Particularly enjoyed my stay at Taitung wooden lodge in the mountain area...very serene. Also must try is the "pao tang"...aka hot spring bath. Their deep fried femented tofu puts me off...smells like drain water. I tried their grille femented tofu version, they freeze the tofu b4 grilling so it's not smelly and taste gd. BTW, where did u go for yr 1st HM?

Hi Ebell,
Same here, the photos brings back so much joy on that day. This thread has become so quiet...

angeldust

Ol - totally agrees with u!!! my MIL side.. i leave to hubby to "settle" her.. cos me is DIL.. not in position.. so my policy is "hear no evil. speak no evil &amp; see no evil" pretend and keng dunno is my law no. 1 for 101 ways to deal with MILs... HA HA HA HA HA...

vvn

ms blur,
take photos now, ok what... but have u decided ur wedding venue?

compassrose,
dun worry lah. that day is really super hot, coz i heard that there's some international conference going on so hotels all booked. get the date for next year n book early!

xiaobai1

Hi Steve

What I mean is any additional photos that i top up is $50 per piece. My original package only has 24 photos only. Hope u understand what i am talking about.

You can choose prof tan if u don't mind the extra $1500 u need to pay on top of ur bridal package pricing , then it is ok for u to choose him. But he only do underwater shot or take u to some never see before islands to take ur photos.

I don't like his photography style and is on tight budget so I didn't choose him. For the underwater shot, I am interested but I can't swim only hubby can swims and dives so it is no use to us for using his service.

And even if I really want to take underwater shot, I rather go to Australia to shot underwater shots with the dolphins that i love most. They got basic diving course at there.

Rather than spending $1500 extra on top of ur bridal package pricing to take underwater shot in a private swimming pool in singapore only.

If u got see the channel u wedding show previously, u will know what I mean.

I just find it very silly and waste of money lor, I rather spend more money on my honeymoon.

P/S: This is just my personal opinions, hope u don't get offended. If u really like the underwater shot so much and got the money to spend. You can choose him. The decison is up to u to decide whether using Prof Tan or other photographers recommended by the bridal shop.
My opinions is just a reference for u only.
At the end of the day, u are still the one making ur own decision which photographer to use. Good Luck to you!

Take Care Steve

Xiaobai1

flipfreak

my ps will be next thurs. i am starting to freak out already. everyday doing extra effort to make sure no break outs at the last min. haha. and i havent got my ties yet!!! argh!!!!!!!!!

xiaobai1

Hi Steve

Anyway how come so cheap for the underwater shot? last time they told me is $1500 extra on top of the bridal package pricing that we are going to pay.

Now how come underwater shot only $300 extra only? did u type wrongly or the bridal shop is going to close down and open another new shop again??? just wondering.

Finger crossing that the image designing is ok next week and I can get my photo album as soon as possible.

Take care Ladies and Steve

Xiaobai1

wyy

i went New Zeland for my first....I enjoyed my stay there BUT ah moh places basically no life after 6pm...so for me who is a night owl finds it boring esp at night.

However I enjoyed myself very much when in Rotoura (the place where the moari are). Is a hotspring area so the whole place smells sulphur and along the road you can see steam oozoing out of no where. I went for the No.4 Hotspring in the World.

Back to topic, to make up for the loss in the shopping decided to go tw. In addition HB wanted a baby soon so I told him, no taiwan no baby.

heehee

vvn

designfreak...

ha ha... whatever happens, don't pop your pimples! my MUA says as long as it's not popped she can magically transform ur skin... but if u squeeze it not the proper way, very hard to cover up until u have flawless skin.

xiaobai,
dun worry, as long as the photos are nice... u can change the design again and again until they are very nice! =)

flipfreak

hi vvn. trying hard to resist temptation. anyway, those popped already too late to rescue. just hope no new ones pop out. btw, i added u in my multiply. think u saw the pics already?

smurfying

Heh...i had a bad face day during my PS, tat period was having bad breakouts. Got two pimples on my cheek, but marvellous touches of MUA, plus photoshop editing, the pimples are all gone! Dun worry k?

soudezne

I went to PS carrefour last nite. the cheapest range of wine are 14+... think suntec might have a wider range...

Hi wendy, can you give mi an assurance again that 2003 Somerton is good? =p

Hi Diana, is it too late to add my order for nego? if yes, dun mind updating mi the final price you gals get so that i can try calling and nego with ridhuan... =p

vvn

designfreak, oh it was you! ha... ya, saw ur FW's gown trying... have u settled the gown yet? and as tansy said, MUA will work her magic!

soudez, i'm thinking of buying from suntec carrefour too!

hanabiwaiwai

hi all... just come back from hong kong holiday... this thread really moves very fast!

any cantonese bride here? with hokkien hubby? can share what are the items needed for "guo da li"? my FMIL coming my house tomorrow to "ti qing", but me dunno wat to discuss... any advise??

yuki... for the hokkaido honeymoon my hubby say we shd join package tour... think it is more expensive to go on F&amp;E as the transportation there is not cheap

september

hi soudez,

ridhuan is sticking to his offer of $14 + GST

guess if u wan to order consignment basis then ridhuan offer is quite a good choice lor....and it is nv too late to add order but he dun organise wine tasting but we can buy a bottle at 50% off normal price to try lor

meowysp

Thks Jac &amp; Silentelf.

Linda, I m thinking of gg to NTU for PS as well. Me n hubby met there... spent 4 yrs there together, so I guess it has special meaning for us.

apple68

<font color="0000ff">Angeldust</font>... haa.. i like your "hear no evil. speak no evil &amp; see no evil" policy.. very good

wallflower

hi waiwai, me cantonese &amp; FH hokkien, but we not "traditional" anymore, lost touch and parents oso not particular... err... tin ur parents need to suggest the amt of ping jin, roasted pig, number of cakes basically
actually ti qing need to do so early? me planning 2-3mths b4 AD leh...

soudezne

Hi Diana
i'm looking at 25 + 25 consignment.
How is his price for consignment basis?

will u gals be getting the 50% bttl for tasting?

sandsand

OL: i havent decided if i want to use that WG for AD or not... i can wait till november to decide.. i scared i choose now, by the time i collect in nov, got more designs.. but i like what i wore.. i thnk it got quite dirty.. cos i had to lie down on the carpet grass, sit on the sandy beach and climb up this pipe like thing (that had rocks around).. my PG thought it would look nice, cos when we sit up, cannot see the pipe.. can only see rocks.. but nearly die ah!! vjuggle veil skirt, train and climb up this pipe in my heels.. oh man, i kept praying "God, dont let me die during my photoshoot.." ...i think when i got back got sand and carpet grass trapped in the lace and all..

jingles: i choose my bridesmaids and JM based on what they are suppose to do.. like initially i had one bridesmaid, but after careful consideration (and looking back at past history) i got one more of my jie meis to be my bridemaid.. to make up for what the toehr bridesmaid might not do.. so i have two bridesmaid now..

apples... haiya, i'm sure ur FMIL didnt mean it that way lah... =)

wallflower

ribbons ~ huh... rocks and pipes?? where's that? sounds scary... that means u r considering using tat outdoor gown as AD WG? u must have really like tat dress... me definitely wont use my outdoor gown for AD, coz their outdoor shoot gowns r not in gd condition, can c sum wear &amp; tear. in photos is ok coz cant scrutinize close-up