(2006) Brides of year 2006

samkoh1975

Good morning all....

Think i'll keep but not wear it.

Diamond - U r lucky that got some one with good taste to choose jewellry for you. MY MIL got very bad taste one.

samkoh1975

Stefy - dun tink i want to give to my children lor. Not my style to give gifts that I din pick myself. I simply refuse to give ugly gifts.... hahaha. Later my future DIL tink I got bad taste.kekekek.

angeldust

good morning ladies & man..

MUA - starlight, my MUA also doesnt use ampoules and I am absolutely fine as he uses quality makeup that will help the MU last. During trial, I had the MU on for 4-6hrs to test the lastingness and it did. PS the MU lasted despite the day being humid.

MIL's Gift - Hmm.. I have no qualms abt MIL buying something for me despite the fact that it may not be nice. Its the thought that counts and it would seem disrespectful to return back to her cos she might feel hurt that you do not like the gift. I also do not wear gold jewellery on a daily basis so I shall just keep them in a safe deposit box for our children in future but perhaps just ask them keep as heirloom or what. Of if and when the need arises, can melt it into a huge block of gold and sell it after when *choy* in laws are no longer around.

tingz

ya la, no meat cannot survived la :p

btw, triple 3 fully booked liow. must think of other place le. any input, or confirm spaggedies?

kitty_li

hi ffbear,

Yap, I enjoyed myself lots!
Oh, you were at your mum's place? heehee...the bells were loud...I couldn't hear the music to walk out. hahahaha...
Sunday was the dinner celebration, which left us really exhausted.

Back at work today...HM only in Dec...

All the best for your big day this weekend!
Rest well, yah?

sstarlight

Hehe.. I brought my own eyelashes during the photoshooting and my MUA was telling me how lousy my eyelashes is and if she helps me to put on, charge me extra $5.

I wonder if I bring my own ampoule, would she charge me service charge for helping me to put on?
But of cos if I buy from her, no service charge.

Are you all doing your thank you speech? I am very emotional, hope I do not cry that day. Haha

harpie17

Good morning ladies,

sam - MIL's gift - I also agree that it's better not to return the gift to her as it is a token from her. It is also not that nice to return to the shop. Just in case she asked about the set of jewellery that she gave u a couple of years later and wanna take a look at it again, at least can tell her that its in the safe and can bring it out to show it to her, unless your MIL does not mind that you go and change to something else.

sstarlight - Bedside lamp - I will on it on the actual day itself when we go back to our love nest to eat the tang yuan. My FMIL insist that we go to our love nest immediately after Daman fetched me from my parent's hse. The other variation that I have heard is for the groom to go to the love nest the night before the AD to on the beside lamp.

Changing of tea dress - I will be changing to my Kua at our love nest before going back to my parent's hse. Think that is what most brides do unless you are staying with ur in-laws.

cecilialim

NO 333!!!!! BOOOHOOOOO!!!

kekeke. si CAT no wonder i was sneezing all the way yesterday.. must be you!

so how tingz? go where now? there's this place at novena, the Vines Restaurant servives good and cheap steaks.... I also 'no meat cannot'!! haha... shit i gained weight leh! i gonna diet liao

hanabiwaiwai

sam... think better keep MIL's gift though u don't like the design... returning to her would do damage to the relationship...

sstarlight... ma and hubby will be giving speech... hope i won't cry then haha...

for me, after hubby fetch me to his parents' house, then we will go back to my parents' house, after that then go love nest, and return to his parents' house for lunch..

iceglacier

oh i heard of the vines before also, my hubby used to always eat the set lunch there cos it's very cheap. but dinner not as cheap, but dunno how much leh..

kenjoc

Yuki.. tmr is GDL..

I went to the Hong Lim Complex, AMK.. but they sell traditional lamp (battery run type). Which is I went back to the temp mkt to buy.

Just to ask- for our dinner, will the hotel provide us with the emcee's script or we write our own ar?

kurera

cecilia beh kiah lang du lan..what gain weight..you the slimmest among us ok!

Ok..ons...cecilia u book lar...since u know the place..heh heh..

angeldust

hi Jo - i think hotel shld have a std one which u can use, But i told my emcees to improvise to ours so to make it more personal.

apple - thank u speech.. hmm.. try listing down who u wanna thank then start from there. use ur sincere heart to write so it doesnt come across like std speech.

jklim4642

Jo, i will let the emcee write the speech after discussing with me the content. easier that way. if the emcee is just going to read whatever that i hv written, emcee is not really required wat.. any person can read as long as he/she has a good voice & got the guts

prettibride

sam, i tink u shld keep the jewellery too...although it might be ugly..but at least ur MIL has the thought to buy for u. My PIL did not even intend to get me anything until my FH went to talk to them..cos according to tradition, they suppose to get me Si-Dian-Jin. But end of the day, we make do with a Ang Pow from my FIL..small amount but its the thought that counts lo. You should be happy that you're getting jewelleries that definitely cost more than my AngPow.

prettibride

apple, if his family member pass away recently, he is not suppose to attend your wedding..cos luck will clash. If he is not attending, then no need to give Ang Bao. For your own good, i think its better not to take also..cos will xiang chong.

I got a quesn too...cos I'll b having a solemization during my AD, but as my dad has passed away, do u tink I can get my mum to walk me down the aisle? Cos I think its more meaningful then getting a uncle or someone not close to me to do this task. Anyone has any idea?

jeamgozo

hihi.... me new to this forum... registered in Jun but only get to login now...
wishing all getting married this weekend with many happy returns ya...
hehe... me having mine on sat.. ;)
so excited, yet anxious cos oso gota list of tingy to look into...

hanabiwaiwai

apple... just express your graditude from the bottom of your heart... no need scare to say wrong thing one... list down whoever u want to thank... for a family with someone pass away, think better not to take their ang pao, else crash luck..

jo... hotel usually provide standard script... i use it as a reference and write a draft, then pass to my two friends who are going to be my emcee, then they will discuss among themselves to improve the script... it is better than arrow my friends without giving them any reference...

tingting... have u talked to your mum about your idea? u having church wedding ah?

sandsand

apple, its up to you really.. if u scared chong, then u dont accept lor. but i am sure this guy means well, cos he know not appropriate for him to attend a wedding now but will send ang bao as blessings for the couple.. dunno how he will feel too if we reject his ang bao too..

when i was working in a ICU, a patient passed away and the mother insisted on giving me an ang bao cos i helped cut his hair... i am not suppose to receive gifts or cash.. so i spoke to my nursing manager, cos the mother insisted.. she said dont reject cos they can see it as gratitude and as well as a luck thing lah.. give red packet to ward off bad luck for those who were involved in her sons care.. i think rejecting the ang bao would have made the mother feel bad..
(fyi: i took the ang bao but used the money to buy food to be shared by all ward staff)

so apple, if u are comfortable with it, take it, if not comfortable, tactfully reject it.. =)

sam, think u should keep it lah.. lest she thinks her DIL rejecting her.. not too nice in front of other relatives too.. in anycase, u will stand to lose out cos san gu liu pors will gossip about u..

how about u take then go sell later lor.. diamond may not be of much worth, white gold also not much but at least u can get somehting back.. or just keep it at home..

Ting, i think its ok to have ur mother walk u down the aisle.. its a sweet idea, after all your mother did give birth to you and brought u up too..

prettibride

waiwai, its not a church wedding..but its a church solemization cos I am holding my wedding in Chjimes ma..so its like a church setting lo.

ribbons, yap! i agree with you...will talk to my mum to see if she'll feel paiseh to walk me down the aisle. Hehe..I guess wedding is really about the two of us...traditions can be put aside at times.

twinkle2610

hi sam.. the price range for wedding wines from parkers is between 13-19 like tt lor.. i got mine from them too... =)

hi sstarlight,
i think the MUA is indeed overcharging and daylight robbing u.. My MUA charges $25 for ampoule and $15 for lashes..but she is cool with me bringing my own and using.. so end up on my PS, i used my own ampoule, but i used her lashes instead, coz the pair tt i brought not as nice as hers. She is nice enough to let me try on hers n mine to see the difference.. u might wanna chk with ur MUA on tt.. sldn't have charged on application for u ma..tt's her job leh.. and for curling hair.. isn't it part of the MUA's services to do make up and style hair? I think tt would realli have to depend on ur agreements with her/ bridal studio (if she is provided by them)

nami

I just sent you again.

Hi Jeamgozo,
I am having my AD this Sat too. Dun worry, slowly settle one by one..im doing that hee

poopoo

Sam, since your MIL already bought it for you, whether you like it your not, personally I think you should just keep it. As per Da Wafe’s mentioned, if sometime later your MIL asked you about the SDJ? Worse if she wants you to show her!

sstarlight, what time you will reach your husband place? As for my plan will be reached their place around 9am +, then just serve tea to what ever relative there, then go out for photo shooting, then back to again to serve the remaining relative from the groom’s family. After that, change your tea dress go back to your mother place

sandsand

why must pay extra for curling? is that a norm? is it cos its more time consumin?

i thought curling is part of hairdo, and should be included? then might as well charge for rental of hair pins and hair spray right..

Ting, yeah its sweet but of course also must see ur mum's comfort level in wakling down with u...

kenjoc

Thank gals for your advice.. Guess I will get a copy of the standard script from the hotel lst and make amendment from there..

I think curling is consider part of hairdo styling, should be in the package ma..

I only know my MUA will be charging me the cost of ampule..

samkoh1975

Hi ladies.....

Thansk for sharing your concerns. I'll keep the jewels.... Just sent a pearl my HB gave me for setting. My godma is so kind to give me 12 small diamonds to set with the pearl!!!!

samkoh1975

Ribbons, so funny.... *lol* rental hair pins & hair spray.... I think having to pay extra for curling is silly. I tink the MUA is very lazy... becos if have to pay extra, probably ppl will tink twice about it.

nfllkh

wah... the oct'06 forum still alive...
drop by to see see and also kaypo check some other months forum.. almost dead except nov'06 and dec'06....

everything so fast Zoom by ler... honeymoon finish ler, money spend ler... ..

well... nothing to say ler...