(2006) Brides of year 2006

jklim4642

today Yen dropped again to 100 Yen = 1.3238!

hm... i wonder if will still drop...

same, i always do that... applying top coat.. but still the paint comes off/chip very fast for me.. as fast as the moment i get home & wash some plates!

so... i will just do it the night b4!

jennifer_teoh

i tot of givin the red packets at the beginnin..
but shall see how .. mayb like linda, might give at the end of the day..

our PG wil hv a seat cz he is my htb's frd.. as for VG, we will allocate him a seat at the veri last min .. dependin on which table has empty seats.. which definately wil have anyway.. ;p

jklim4642

yu-ren-sheng got sale.. 1 dozen of chicken essence cost only $20!!! usually, 1/2 dozen is already 19.90.

also 1/2 dozen of bird nest cost $29.90 only... original price is 40+

girls, go take some tonic, so that AD will be radiant & pretty!

samkoh1975

Ribbons - My skin a bit sensitive so got a bit of reddness after threading. But after a while will be back to normal. Not painful for me leh. But becos my pain threshold is on the high side so I can tahan. Maybe a bit like pulling on your hair lor. I went to Browhouse @ Wheelock $42.00. A bit ex lor. Can go Reflexion @ Peninsula Plaza $15.00. Or Katong Shopping Centre #02-52 (dunno the name) $18.00. Katong & Peninsula one do waxing too. So conv if you doing waxing too.

samkoh1975

Diamond - Thanks for info. Will go check it out. Have you tried the American Wild Ginseng Tea? Very good leh. Can really perk you up if you tired and dun drink tea or coffee. But a bit heaty. Can drink alternate days.

prettibride

hee...face threading..always wanted to try that...cos traditional methods must be good. How long do we need to do that in advance? probably will do it in dec.

nami

I am so sad....5 from my office say they cant come. Sigh....haiz. Actually they are 2 bossess coz they bring their wives and 1 kid. My god i nearly fainted leh. Now might need to mix and match with other tables coz I can have several 11 pax tables. Coz, now its too late to ask anyone to attend. I hope I wont have any more such news

gentasg

Dont be sad... mine also mah ... just mix and match ...

when u need to confirm the tables?

I send my "save the date"... hopefully those who cant make it, can tell me before tues ...

sockling

hey everyone.. long time never come here. we are all approaching our ADs! 23 days to mine.

want to ask if anyone knows where i can rent a man suit at a low price. need to get a suit for my brother. Preferably from a place in the orchard area so that i can return easily after checking out from the hotel. anyone has any contacts, and how much?

ublur

I am busying preparing for my wedding now. My hb has went home as we are not allow to meet each other 1 day before our weddings..
getting really really nervous already. i hope i can have a nap tomorrow late afternoon cos i reckon I will be too excited to sleep on sat night..
Things are more or less settled.. hope nothing will crop up at the last minute. I will sure to keep u all update.

Nami, hmm how come they so late then inform you? don't worry, maybe they will still give angbao then u don't have to lugi.. try to mix and match ur tables now.. you still got time.

Linda, I think i will join in the reception and mingle with my guests. Nice gesture i think. but my hotel coordintor say it's best for bride to make her first appearence during the 1st march in..cos this way, it's more mysterious and I will not be so stress up. But har, i think i will still choose to mingle around lah..

stefylim

sam....i also go to browhaus....do my eyebrow treading there.....will try the full face treading day b4 my AD...hee hee hee...another 21days for me....

all things almost done except moving n guest lists....

tis coming Wed is my GDL....cant wait for it to be over so 1 more thing down...hee hee hee..

samkoh1975

Stefy... U must be feeling very excited now... Must share with us your GDL. I have a very rough idea of wat is suppose to happen. So still a bit blur...

I have a question...

On AD, do we serve tea to my maternal grandparents?

munmun

Blur Blur,

Congrats & Stay cool

hmm..actually am thinking is it ok to meet HB 1 day b4 wedding? cos need to do car deco at the bridal shop and collect corsages for parents..so ost likely will see him also....

anyway think I will also mingle around with my guests cos there are 2 weddings at the same place..dun want my guests to go to wrong wedding:p

Nami, i also have friends who can;t make it the last minute so no choice the table sizes just keep reducing..my limit is at least 7 per table..anything less than that doesn't look so nice

angeldust

Gd mrg. Its sat and its dreadful that i am in the office. read the above posts..

Mani Pedi - oredi booked 5+1 slots day before my 2 ADs for Jiemeis & mummy at Nail Xpert. Usually book the 2nd last appt of the day. so nails will be fresh next day.

Hair - yes agree with prinzess55, for PS, i did that and went hair salon to wash hair. hee hee so to keep my nails nice nice.

Eyebrows - usually go Shu Uemura to have eyebrows trimmed. (They are always BOOKED!!!)

Facial - I have been going for regular facials every mth. So skin is preppy & happy.

Nutrition - yeps now try to take care of diet, no spicy (cos it causes outbreaks for me), drink more H20 and sleep (super lacking of it at this moment due to exams + we did invites to send out by 17th nov at 1am and still haven finish...) Drinking more fruit juice, and liang teh.... *bleah*...

Sockling - rent a suit ah? hmm.. suit rental I think Katong Shopping Centre is a good place to scout. Suit Collection at Suntec, so I hear is a good place as well. Orchard area I am not familiar but I know Far East Shopping Centre (next to Hilton Hotel), they have a couple of tailor shops in that building. U go there and try?

~ Love fills a lifetime & a lifetime begins this hour.....~
~ Exactly 30 days to my AD (17 Dec 2006) & 36 days to BIG DAY(23 Dec 2006) ~

angeldust

Hi Sam - the ans is Yes? I not so sure but I know the order for serving tea at ur parents hse (bride's family) is paternal granparents, maternal grand parents, Bride's JIU JIU (dunno why but apparently JIU JIU in olden times protect their nieces so they are considered of high ranking order), parents, AH Yi & Yi Zhang, then ur dad's side. This is what I learnt from my sister's wedding but different dialect may have different practices. Check with ur parents.

danlian

hey gal

me now in airport posting to you all. Waiting for my flight to takeoff. hee so excited now...here i go Goldcoast...update u gals when i back

jan193

nami.. dun b upset.. tis is happenin to all of us i believe.. cheer up.. there's lots more to look fwd to then dwellin on tis.. at least u noe in advance

wongly_esther

I am also a Dec bride too and nice to meet all the pretty BTB here :p

I need some of the help from you gals.....
May i know that where should i buy the suckling pig ? other than the Tiong bahru roasted meat, do you have other recommendation? It is becos i feel that their suckling pig is a bit expensive ...cost about $388 and they got only 2 option, either take the small one at $88 or big one at $388......

Dunno whether you girls have other lobang or not.....

linglun

dun worry, no matter what little hiccups happen, i'm sure everyone will have a beautiful and unforgettable wedding ok ? Cheer up ?
Take it with a pinch of salt , just like me!! =p

Come what may, we're all here to support each another! =D

ffbear

hi, Nami,
my Thank you cards, I chose not to send with the invitation cards, cos 1) the Thank you cards were not ready then 2) the pic is me in EG.. so I wanted it to b mysterious.. hahaa. so, m gg to give them out @ the reception itself..
so sorry.. I hvnt send u my fotos.. reali too busy clearing my work, before my long long leave starts on tues.. ll try to send u a few tis week..
hi, CSI fan,
opps.. miss u before ur AD.. hoped u hv enjoyed urself truely yesterday.. hahaha.. while ur church bells were ringing, I was @ my mum's house, but oni for awhile to load the wedding cakes onto the car for distribution. hahaa..
Hi, munmun,
hey, my house oso very near MT Faber Safra.. ekkekee.. as for meeting ur hubby day before AD, for me, I wont b turning up @ the BS for the car decor.. he ll handle tat alone, while I concentrate on my mani & pedicure.. hehehehe..
Hi, Jen T,
yup, my jiemeis oso staying overnite @ my plc.. can yak yak thru the nite too..
Hi, Linda,
I ll oso b coming down during the reception time.. we spent so much time & effort making ourselves mei mei tat day, should show our face more.. hahahaha...
no no.. cannot tell xiongdi the sabo plans.. else no fun liao.. btw, gals, any more ideas for sabo plans? naughty me..
btw, I hv got pimple outbreak.. **cry cry**

jennifer_teoh

hi ffbear..
ur leave starts on tues??... so u r onli wrkin tomolo then u wil b on leave already?.. dats soo great! .. i wil onli b on leave from thurs .. so last day on wed.. gonna v lotsa tings to clear mann.. i doubt i wil yak yak w my jiemeis thru the nite since i wil v to wake up damn early as my mua wil b comin over to my plc at abt 4am.. early hor.. *faintz*.. o.. try and apply as much pimple cream as possible.. dats wat i did when i v my big pimple two days ago.. hee..

ffbear

hi, Jen T,
yup.. actuali my leave starts tmr.. but I cant finish my work, so tmr come in for 1/2 day or so.. hv been working til 2, 3 am these few days so tat I can go on my 4 weeks long break.. like abit silly hor.. hahahah..
I stil hv alot of wedding preps not settled.. (cos of working late).. so my next tues - fri r reali very packed with the wedding preps liao.. tats y need to go on leave earlier..
yah, 4am is reali early.. mine is @ 6plus..
ok ok.. thanks for ur suggestion.. ll go get a pimple cream 1st.. cos I dont one hv since very seldom got pimple outbreak.. suay!!

jklim4642

Stefy, hv u done face threading before? if not, u may want to consider giving it a try first a few weeks for your AD.. b'coz i hv been told by beautican that some girls experience redness & pimples outbreak the first time they do face threading.. so it is not very advisable to do face threading 1 day for AD if u hv never done it before... just want to share this with u as i am also thinking if i shld do face threading....

jennifer_teoh

hi ffbear..
ohh.. dats late.. mayb cz ur the late wrkin hrs that u r havin which resulted in pimple outbreak.. do take care of urself! .. hope we will all b able to clear our wrk peacefully and go for our long break smoothly...
.. w no hiccups...

munmun

Do you have these following songs? Need them for montage...only 1 week left & this is not settled yet

Forever Love - Huang Li Hong
This is the Day

If yes, please email me at [email protected]

angeldust

Hi esther,

welcome on board... hmm cant help much on the roasted pig. cos my mum and MIL okayed to use ang pow to replace with the real piggy.
But I recall, I ever passed by a shop near Kaki Bukit Driving centre that sells roasted stuff, piggy included the shop name I forgot. maybe u can take a drive around the area to see cos i know its on the road leading to bedok res rd.

stefylim

hi esther...welcome on board....sorry cant help much on the suckling pic coz my mum requested for can pig's trotters....so no need....y dun u also try the chinatown market...there r a few shop tt sells rosted stuff...they shld haf leh...

diamond...i've been doing eyebrow n upper lip threading....quite ok...maybe i'll do tt couple of days b4...touch wood so far i nv had problem with my face.....praying hard there will not be a first....

sam....thk my GDL will be veli simple....coz we all not veli traditional all things simplified...hee hee hee...yesterday just gone to buy all the stuff wif my mum at chinatown mkt......the shop is so interesting...
haf u bought ur things yet??

small_one

I am back. Both Hubby and myself enjoyed ourselves greatly. We are exceptionally thankful to the friends who have played a great part making sure that things are done well and smooth.

blur,

hope you will enjoy yourself too and have a blissful marriage ahead.

nami

Thanks for hearing me out. I need to confirm my tables this coming Tue. In the end, I split up the table and reshuffle, and resulted in 1 less table but more tables of 11. Hmm, in a way, it's good at least I dont have 5 empty seats.

FFbear,
Hmm, I have pimples too leh. What I did was to drink more water and try to sleep early.But your working hours are so late....hmm I think that is the cause of it.

I am starting my leave on Wed...so looking forward to it hee. Hmm, havent wrote my thank you speech yet. This weekend was busy cleaning up the house haha.

Ivy,
Congrats! Where did you go for your HM? Must be very fun haha...I am looking forward to mine keke

small_one

Hi Nami

My AD just over (it was on Sat). We will only leave for HM on tue. Cos we are trying to recover from the wedding today. Tomorrow we will return gowns and military uniforms before getting ready for our HM.

jklim4642

matsu, face threading is not shaving facial hair. instead, it uses a thread & some white powder to remove the facial hair completely right from the root. thus, the regrowth will not be thicker

yuki31

Hello Gals,

long time nvr login .........so much to catch up

Stefy, can share with me which shop u went at chinatown for GSL stuffs? i am thinking of getting GDL stuffs this week but dunno where to get it frm

Any recommedation for where to get nice lamps and tea set for GDL?

stefylim

yuki...long long time no see...

i go to the temp chinatown market near Outram MRT....there is a shop near the washroom tt sells all the angpows, lamps, teaset blar blar blar....the shop is very big so definitely can find 1...

i got a modern lamp fr the shop wif a shade tt's red & got hearts printed on it....they tol me just paste xi stickers on it can liow...hee hee hee...

samkoh1975

Matsu - Diamond is right. It's actually a very traditional method of facial. Like our great-grandma and grandma do during their times. After threading, face will feel very smooth. Any redness is temporary.

jklim4642

samkoh, do we need to have a "clean" face with no make-up when we go for face threading?? the lady told me that time, is okie, i hv make-up on.

jennifer_teoh

hi ivy..
glad that everything went smoothly for u.. hope it will be smooth for me tis saturday... ;p .. and the rest of the nov btb...
Enjoy ur HM!! ..