(2006) Brides of year 2006

hanabiwaiwai

ting, angeldust... thanx for your advice... dunno such thing can also become a worry for me...

ting... my AD on 11 dec, then going honeymoon (hokkaido) on 14 dec... need some time in betweent to rest haha... wah u going on next day after AD? must take care

apple... pregnant lady can be guest

sandsand

waiwai: u said u use half the budget right? if still have money left, how about buying a yellow gold chain? the most u wear it when they present to u at tea ceremony lor, but not necc u need to wear for the whole day. this way ur parents meet their objectives of getting their daughter a precious valuable gift of yellow gold, and you dont end up going against ur dad's wishes, and u can keep it lor..

i dont like yellow gold too.. right from the start i told my mum and told fh to tell his mum that i dont like yellow gold.. both ladies are cool about it..

maybe u can draw ur dad's attention away from the white gold which most elderly dont like, to the diamonds which have value?

angeldust

wai wai - u are welcome. I was trying to find a win win solution for u. that's all. I second ribbons thoughts on the fact that ur parents wanted to show the relatives that u have something of value given to them by u. In any case when u serve tea to ur in laws and they wear for u the yellow gold while u are in ur WG. u are also expected to wear that yellow gold from in laws back to ur mum's place for tea ceremony. also same logic to show girl side relatives that the in laws bought something of value for the new daughter in law.

jklim4642

angeldust, i thought jewelleryfrom our parents & jewellery from our ILs are given during GDL (these jewellery are usually 1 set)?

then for tea ceremony, if both sides of the parents are giving jewellery again (necklace or bacelet) then it wld be a separate one. if not, it will be APs...

hm...

angeldust

hi diamond,

I dunno why i need to clarify maybe i confuse everyone.

Jia zhuang jewellery set - from own parents as parting gift to daughter usually will buy only after parents receive the Pin Jin from groom's family.

Pin Li jewellery set - from In laws as part of Pin Li. This set is eitehr Si Dian Jin for teochews or Long Feng bangle unde hokkien traditions. Nowadays usually it is Si Dian Jin or Si Dian Zhuan etc whatever u call it.

Tea ceremony - some parents will give jewellery sets or just simple gold rings or gold necklaces for the couple. So far i know parents will give jewellery during tea ceremony. Of all the jiemei sessions I have been with, I have not encountered a situation where parents just give AP to the couple. If you have, I am hereby enlightened with new knowledge.

I was saying if wai wai's parents prefer yellow gold, she can wear it as an accessory with her Kua when she returns to her parents home for tea ceremony if she wants. Then her parents can still present her with the tea ceremony jewellery (if any).

jklim4642

angledust, oic. i understand now.. hehehe... oh yes, when my mum asked me abt jewellery for tea ceremony, i told her no need leow, since my jia zhuang jewllery set is already with me & i wld be wearing them on AD, so just give me APs can leow.. hahahaha

lilic

<font color="0077aa">wai wai, another alternative is that you can buy white gold which you prefer.. but for the wedding, you plate them in yellow gold.. after the wedding, you plate them in white again.. that should make everyone happy.. =)

angel, i getting AP from parents for tea ceremony.. =p</font>

angeldust

diamonds - oic.. my parents and in laws will buy us rings. So we will be getting rings from parents.

panda - cash is better for u. me just following what parents want to do.

danlian

Hi Huey

You also going Gold Coast Australia for HM ar...me also looking forward to my HM to Goldcoast next week. What is nice over there beside the rides?

jklim4642

angeldust, APs more practical mah.. hehehe. i told my mum i am not wearing costume jewellery on AD. so will wear the jia zhuan she gave me and/or pin li jewellery i get from my ILs..

318, aiyoh, jewellery gives u one of course u keep la :p

munmun

Hi ffbear,

Thanks for the explanation. Now they agree on the pig..but it will be returned to my new house instead of the groom's place...but now my PIL ask why must have red wine &amp; mushrooms, scallops etc for Guo Da Li? They think that we r asking 2 much but what my mum wants is already the minimum qty liao...Think the last time they never really practise these customs and they think it's costly even though my HB said he is paying for it. Now stressed, cos this weekend got food tasting, very scared both sides parents ended up in a fight..sigh

september

elsie, huey juz came back from her HM lah....

the people are nice there....slow pace place....the bus driver will greet u n wait for old people to board and sit before driving...tat wat i saw yrs back wen i went there...nw i nt too sure...

huey, mayb u can update elsie....

maez

add to panda's point.

yellow gold is actually cheaper than white gold, yet holds its value unlike white.
so, if plating is an option, u shd get yellow gold, wear it for relatives to be happy, then AFTER that, plate it white. then spend less, get more, n the value stays! ;)

kitty_li

hey munmun,
dont' stress yourself out too much. such things are very sensitive, and apparently it's a very common occurrence.

Probably coz it's dealing with 4 other pple's expectations. generally, most pple tend to feel that their culture is the right one. Anything more is excessive or insufficient.

Sometimes I do wonder, if both sides parents end up in a "fight", how ah? I mean, how? for us...the MILs will not get along well with us as much as we would like it to be. yet, we can't run back home, coz we're married to someone else. Own parents might feel sad that this is how life has turned out for their girl.

Just a thought...hehs...

jklim4642

maez, but hor, need to plate to white gold quite often leh... coz the "yellow" colour of yellow gold will reveal easily... &amp; plating is not cheap if the jewellery has big surface areas...

kenjoc

Now my turn to ask.. hehe.. jia zhuang must also get ready by GDL ar? Or jia zhuang is for during tea ceremony.. or two different thing?
i'm confused again..

hi elsie
Hee..me don't really dare take the rides lei.A bit wasted.Went Movieworld,seaworld,Australian Outback &amp; Paradise Country.

I stayed in surfersparadise.The beach is like 5mins walk from my hotel.There's lotsa shopping &amp; food along cavill avenue,orchid avenue,surfers paradise boulevard.

Spring is ending (Average temp 15-25 degree celcius).Best if u can bring some sweaters/wind breaker,in case weather is cold.

Heard pple say must try Hog's Breath Cafe,went there &amp; their serving bery big.Btw,if u intend to get nouggets,their supermarkets don't sell them anymore.Can go to the Asian Supermarket at Dolphin Centre to buy them or go to a small chinese shop (tink own by a Hong Konger) located next to the side door of Courtyard by Marriott hotel.

Can visit these websites too...
www.bestofthegoldcoast.com.au
www.surfersparadise.com
www.hellogoldcoast.com.au
www.goldcoastguide.com.au

Enjoy your trip... &amp; don't forget to bring your bikini &amp; sun tan lotion.. kiki....

sandsand

diamond... hee... yeah lah, but if its not 1 carat, i will try to distract pple with the fact that they are diamonds.. hee..

pandalic's idea also not bad, plate to yellow gold then to white gold again.. but does it damage the gold?

must also see the design look good with yellow gold or not..

angeldust is correct too.. it may be a matter of face too, and not just the value of the gold... older pple always have this opinion that yellow gold is still more valuable..

hey girls, can ask something off topic here? anyone intending to wear those silicon kinda bras with their EG/WG? i read a story in this forum, about a girl whose husband stepped on her gown and her halter gave way... shudder..

prettibride

hehe..a silly idea here..use the money to buy gold bars..can be sold when the value goes up..then its gold ma..so will make parents happy..maybe during wedding put the gold bars on a nice tray then get your parents to pass to you..hehe...sure give them a lot of face.

ribbons, i thought of wearing it before..but worry that if long hours then i sweat, the silicon bra might jus slip off..then will be even more malu..so I'll stick to the sew on bras provided with the gowns. Wat i suggest is get your bridal to sew the bust area tighter..maybe about 1-0.5 inch more..then won't have to worry it drop off.

prettibride

jo, ya..i read from a website, jia zhuang normally goes with the return gifts from your parents after GDL. But things like jewellery set or AP from your parents can come in during tea ceremony.

I read a part about all relatives have to hide when the couple enters the groom's house for the first time..then can only come out after the bride enter their bridal room..is it true? anyone here intend to follow? Think I'll skip that..quite embarressing to ask relatives to hide.

Juz learnt that we're not allowed to remove our shoes until both side tea ceremony is over...tt means hv to wear shoes that matches your kwa also.

angeldust

gd mrg gals,

318bi - Pin Li is a term used to represent brotheral gifts from the groom's parents to give the bride's family. Pin Li jewellery is for the bride to keep. Other items are like Pin Jin, 8 sweets etc etc.. List of items I think I ever posted before in excel sheet sometime back which i also state it is not a must to have all the items. It depends on family practices.

Jo - the ans is yes. Jiazhuang is to be prepared for GDL. Actual day items are just oranges, roast pig &amp; 8 sweets for exchange etc etc etc.

ribbons - yeps.. its a matter of face value most of the time cos cash in AP, ur relatives not gonna ask u HOW MUCH is INSIDE. And it is rude to open AP lor. So to show off give jewellery lah. HA HA HA HA.. that's my personal opinion ah..

And nope. Not wearing any sillicon bra. *winks* So far for PS, din face any problems with gown falling off. Bra tape &amp; double sided tape also wun work cos when u sweat.. it will lose the "stickiness" also. HA HA HA HA HA... &amp; double sided tape.. *OUCH*

angeldust

hi ting ting,

saw ur post after i posted.

Hiding custom - the rationale behind the hiding is because the bride and the groom are the DA PAIs of the day so they come first. So the groom must come into the hse &amp; all the elders must HIDE cos they are zhang bei so since he is the MAN of the day.. he must be the "DA PAI" so zhang bei must hide. Another rationale I learnt was, xiang chong zodiac must hide and the rest no need to hide. And especially those born in the yea rof tiger must hide. I guess its up to ur family to decide whether to hide of not. HA HA HA HA..

Shoes - it is a taboo. I cant recall the reason. I remembered the website http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/ did not explain why cannot take off shoes. I guess the closest explaination will be that:

"As shoes [éž‹] “xie†sounds like harmony [å•] in mandarin and are of a pair [一åŒä¸€å¯¹] they became an important icon in chinese weddings."

blurberry

Angel~The list with my mum now
sorry Angel, have another question again, during GDL, IL will carry the PIN LI and Jeweellery to bride's side right, then bride keep the Jeweellery. Bride's mum prepare the JIA ZHUANG to groom bring back to new house?During AD, I have to wear the Jewellery from IL to serve tea ceremony. M I right?

My mum had a funny rule that roast pig on GDL leh, not for the actuall day. Don't know what kind of rule she heard from auntie.....

jklim4642

318/ribbons, i need to get the GDL stuff (oranges, pig trotters can, cakes, pin jin money, etc) for my FMIL as she is ill &amp; she is upset over FFIL's sudden death in Aug... my mum not too happy abt it.. she said, FMIL very smart, like that she does not have to pay leow....

during the time when both sides met, my FMIL said her daughter (ie, FSIL) married a caucasion, so dun hv GDL at all... my mum said FMIL very smart, said all these to avoid spending money... mum said, when a son gets married, the parents have to spend money in olden days.. almost most things are paid for by the guy's parents..

but in my case, my FH's mum does not spend a single cent at all... everything we hv to get / prepare ourselves.. if am not wrong, my FSIL spent a bomb on the pin jin jewellery for me... well, FMIL wans face so her daughter (ie FSIL) has to pay.. wat can i say?

danlian

Huey

Thanks for the info...by the way how long was ur stay there? How much do you roughly spend huh? I am thinking of changing the currency.

blurberry

Diamond~mostly ppl also have GDL lar, depend how simple you want it...nowadays really different lor, bride's parents also spend a lot when marry a daugther

You still have the PINJIN Jewellery lar!(no need your hb paid for it)

For my case too, we pay everythings, include the PINJIN...I pay the PINJIN for my mum, haha, very funny!I even asked my mum how much you return to me,she said,how much you want?hahahaha!

september

haha elsie, guess i dun nid to find out those website for u liao...

btw, gals ask u all hor....for those who did make or buy an ang bao box, wat did u do to the box nw? mine still sitting in my store room...thot of keeping...but hubby ask me kept for wat....hmmp...nw dun noe to keep or not...

sandsand

angeldust... agree with the ouch factor for the double sided tape.. hee..

hey guys, tell me how to respond to such request.. have u encountered so far, when u mean to invite a guy only, and then they reply with "my wife too?" or when u invite husband and wife, then they ask if their kids can come along, followed by "can my maid come too?" how to reply!!!!

i plan to just write the invitation out to those i plan to invite and then see who they bring.. but what to say if they ask me again..

blurberry

Ribbon~My case different with you, I invite quite close couple,she/he will reply,my bf/gf can't attend. So after that I decide only invite one, then they will reply can I bring along my bf/gf....Sometimes I quite dissapointed, I think those close friends will attend but infact not really...For those I didnt expect more, they can straight away said alright,will bring along my bf/gf...

foreverhappy

I will be wearing the silicon bra

have tried using it on PS so did not drop leh so ok lah. I can't imaging going without bra then the dress drop how omg.

Yah most likely i will write one person unless they tell me they bringing their partner.

jklim4642

318/apple.. anything at home spoils, even a cordless phone, the sister or my FH has to pay...

yesterday, my FH was asked to get a cordless phone of $100.. he so heartache okie... he does not even spend that kind of money!

cecilialim

kekeke, ok lor... still the same...

Wedny gave birth liao??? CONGRATS!!!

Diana your wedding over liao hor? so sweet your photos... so envy... i haven't get my pixs done yet... was thinking doing w/o dinner and PG... so leh-cheh

hanabiwaiwai

hi gals.. thanks for the advice on the jewellery... actually my dad dun want to "lose" face so tatz y ask me to get yellow gold...

according to my hubby's grandma, they will bring pin jin and other stuffs on GDL... then my family also prepare Jia Zhuang... but think the jewellery tat my parents buy for me i will keep myself...

will not be wearing the silicon bra... think the padding in the gown is enough...

if my friend's bf/gf/hubby/wife is someone i know, then i'll invite... if not i only invite that friend... but if they tell me they are bringing partner then have to invite lo..

angeldust

318bi - wow that's a lot of qns!!!

On AD, the PIN LI jewellery is optional for u to wear but as a mark of respect, u shld wear it back home if ur in laws give u.

Shoes - u can change when u change into ur kua. read the website to learn more.

Gold - not true that no face if u dun wear. But it is more of as a mark of respect and ur parents have more face lah. this one u gotta speak to ur parents abt it. my parents are cool with me not wearing gold. but in laws will insist so i will wear some gold during tea ceremony if I want. see how.

ribbons - usually I will reply politely - it will be nice if ur wife/partner can come along but I have yet to decide on total invite list. Will let u know when u receive my official invite ok? Or preventive measure is: ask them if they bringing partner &amp; note down in ur invite guest list then U send invite. On maid - no comments..

Diamonds - no comments to ur post.

sandsand

apple, my gown has padding too... thinking of the silocon not so much for boosting, but more of modesty.. if the gown drops, the padding goes along with it..

sigh.. some of my guest ah, i never even hear of the spouse b4 lor.. and my initial list already quite packed, so got space constraint.. do u guys think its ok if i reply "i hope you dont mind, but we have space constraints."?

september

hi cecilia, ya wendy gave birth on 3rd Oct, a baby boy!!!

ya lor mine over liao...so hv u fixed ur Big day date? me tinking of inviting u gals over one of these day after my VG pass me the AD dvd....see how ba...dun noe wen i can get yet...but u only staying upstair, gif me a call if u wan to cum down lah...

u dun wan dinner, ur PIL and parent agreeable?