(2006) Brides of year 2006

xiaobai1

Hi Vvn & all ladies

Not superitious, then good my mil and my mum got too many customs for us to fellow. Until my hubby and my head are going to explode. Don't know listen to which side.

Guess now, we can only wait for the shifu for advice. Actually, my mum said why worry about the timing. As long as it is a good day can already meh. Why so troublesome. I also found very troublesome for the day we rom, the day we enter the flat, till now gdl and actual day. Every date and timing my mil also go and ask the shifu. Think the shifu must be very rich, earning a lot of hongbaos from her. Hee Hee :p

My an chuang is on children day Oct 1st 2006. Am i right? Guess I will have a lot of kids in future. Ha Ha

Hi Vvn

Don't worry, just hint ur mil again. That you think she should give u a timing to arrive at ur mum's place and the timing to leave ur mum's place. Tell her so that u can plan the whole day event much easier. Think she should understand.
If she still didn't give u the timing, then just arrange ur own timing. You should not be upset by such a small matter.

Don't need to follow all the customs so closely,our one we fellow the old customs so closely. Until we both are going to be out of breath. Hee Hee:p Just joking. We both feel tired only.

Going to make use of the honeymoon, to recharge our batteries. Hee Hee:p

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

september

haha....mine no advise from any shifu....juz follow wat my mum and MIL hear / say from thier relative or older frenz nia one wahahaha...

an chuan huh...my mum say can be on GDL tat day or 1 day before AD but muz be an by a hao ming person...and since nw hard to really find a really hao ming person....my daddy can an for us...wahahaha....but my MIL say if an chuan on the day before too rush...shld do it on GDL tat day....haiz....so many advise...i luan....wahhaah

pinkbunny

wah hazel that's bad leh. i think you sure got case with CASE one la. or small claims court or something? or write to straits times forum?

and why do you boil water using microwave?! you don't have deng guan meh?

alamak lipstar - marnie and i come back liao loh! you only want to see marnie's photos ah? ok lor. then i don't post mine.

maybe you're lethargic over weekends cos weekdays you are very busy lor then need weekends to recouperate. i slept alot during my honeymoon (the krabi one at least) cos was so shack from work. but bluebunny was nice, he said 'you tired just sleep, never mind' :D

kaye

New updates!
They agree to change the GLASS ONLY.
Out of GOODWILL.

The issue here is I dun want a glass anymore.
My warranty is going to over in another 1 or 2 mths time. And they will not be responsible if it going to shatter again.

jklim4642

maez, though my rings are all of the same sizes, but some ring is looser when worn.. b'coz the band is not as broad as other rings... i understand.. the broadness of the ring band also determines how tight the ring is though all may be of the same size

kaye

Pinkbunny,
never mind Lipstar, I will c yr photos...
Tat Lipstar may think its a weekend, havent wake up yet...

nfllkh

Hi Charlyn,

If no timing then best, you can decide lor. if you feel uneasy then you bring your mother to the si ma lu, guan yin miao and ask the sifu there lor... then they will tell you standard time 9am... most of my friends of which some christian also did tat to pls their MIL or own mother and they all get the 8.50am, 9.15am and also 9.30am. these shifu all give the same timing around there....

Hi Diana,
Wah the hear/say very scarry leh.... i almost lost my temper when the hear say ones tell me what must buy for GDL....

So my mother put a stop to all the sangu liupo, she spend some money ask shifu and also ask the shop person abt GDL stuff.... then my mother will just use one sentence, the shifu u recommend say tat...... Wahhahaha they Shut up... Cool right...
(mummy wan sui wan sui wan wan sui.....)

cactus_79

sometimes, if no timing is giving, the whole morning may be very good.

My understanding is that the hours are in 2-hour brackets so even if the timing is 850am, 915am, 930am, it may all fall within the same 2-hour bracket. But maybe some pple just insist on having an auspicious timing, like, by the minute... so masters just give a timing loh...

AFter all, if the auspicious timing is say, 915am, whose watch should we follow? What if the marriage is in china, where there is a time difference?

I think ultimately, if the guy's side dun state a time, that's their prob. Whole morning is good loh.

smurfying

wah so much so on timing...luckily both our parents not v particular. Even our wedding date we choose ourselves n din go thru any geomancy helps. So our timing to fetch the bride, it's own self own timing. Phew!!

Eh...China has got time difference? I tot thruout the nation will follow Beijing timing, which is the same as SG?

cactus_79

I didn't know china throughout follow Beijing. :p
Then I guess no difference in timing if you follow the tong shu. But I dun see why need to follow the exact timing if it falls within the 2 hour bracket...

nfllkh

oh~ tat was because all my 3 friends timing i use as an example.... as i'm the time keeper then they tell me the auspicious time mah...
so share share here with everyone to enjoy....

apple68

When we got our rings back from fairy's inc, we showed it to his mum. His sis took our rings and was looking at my ring when the mum commented, my ring size so small. She told her daugther that she cannot wear my ring. Immediately, she put it on to prove her own mum wrong.. what can I say? By the way, my MIL insisted that my ring size should be made bigger so that after I give birth, I still can wear. I was like "huh? u mean after I give birth, I will allow myself to remain fat meh!"

maez

yep,

thicker band means ring size shd be abit bigger, thats y my wedding band is bigger size

angel hahaaha.. smurfy us! :p

apple68

Oh Pandalic.. are you looking for black strappy shoes with black bling bling?

Anyway, yesterday I was at Nine West and Hue. They have those black strappy shoes with black bling bling...

Interested party can check it out!

prinzess55

Angel ... hahaa i think the first wall is fun.. then it gets more tiring... and just cant wait to finish the whole house.. me and HB paint my parent's house before...

:p diamond i same same ring size as you...and the thing is my HB same size too!!!! "P so paiseh when we do the ring haahha

cactus_79

I see..

I heard that teochew brides cannot see daylight (ie. must leave their house early)..not sure how true this is.. anyone heard anything like this? and does anyone know the reason for this? Is it bad luck for the bride? Or bad luck for the guy's family to have the bride come too late in the morning?

september

coz teochew believe tat ling cheng is the purest hour and it is the time ware it is the cleanest lor....hmmm...my gf who is a teochew marry off (aka hubby cum fetch her) at 4 or 5 am lor....

ya...ng kar....i got so luan after all the hear / say lor....hahaha

kurera

Well said Diana...KEK KEK KEK

Anyway,Bad luck I dun know man...but actually depending on your parents or in law got ask for timing from shifu anot..if have..they will have a time...

For me, I teochew my mother dint gave any timing..so my groom arrive only at 9.30am..and I was only told groom need to reach his own house (my in law place) between 9-11am..and not later than 11am.

All these were arranged by in law side..so I just followed...and try not to FUSS over it...

Whether good or not I just do la..if not in law unhappy right? Wedding is a headache but than it's once a lifetime so follow so everyone HUA YEE LOR.

Anyway, groom come at 4-5am also doesn't mean I purest on earth le..kek kek kek

*scram*

greta

Hi Peggy,
Yah, heard that need to be off the pill for 6mths before trying for a bb. Married life is good. How about u? Is yr study over?

angeldust

hi apple - that's a gd one.. ha ha ha ha allow myself to be fat.. ke ke ke ke...

prinzess - ya 1st wall very fun.. so after 2nd and 3rd wall.. peng san.. then recharge and continue next day lor. ke ke ke ke.. :p

september

cat...tat is wat my MIL hv been telling me....

so see...how many times she hv tell me till i 'save' in my 'hard disk' liao...wahahaha

cactus_79

Thanks for sharing, gals. I'm hokkien, mother is hakka. FFIL hainanese but FMIL teochew. FMIL asked that I reach her place as early as possible.. but thankfully cos photographer can only reach at 7am, and mua only at 630am, she had to agree to us reaching her house for tea ceremony about 8plus+am. She told my mom it's some teochew belief and although my fiance is not teochew, she hopes we can follow for my "interest". But she never go on to explain.

sandsand

apples ah... its true u know... for some mysteriosu reason, women, after they give birth, their fingers tend to get bigger..

i've read about this b4 and all my friends who have given birth or whose wife has given birht all tell me the same thing..

So I purposely got a ring that doesnt fit me snugly...

tnselg

CAT, mine is same as urs lor.. my mum nt so particular abt the timing and when we told her we ask liao she is okay with it...

Think the teochew custom of fetching the bride before daybreak is no long practise liao...

nfllkh

wah teochu timing so early one.....

i tot like 6am or later
4-5am siao.... arh.... i'll be lying on the bed while the MUA do my make up, then the groom can carry me out of the room to the door and i can still sleep all the way to my new hse i'll sleep till 8am then wake up tat's like the earliest timing for me manz....

smurfying

Ng Kar the sleeping beauty huh?? kekekekeke....

But i guess all these timings r subjective n depends alot on individuals customs/beliefs. But hor really need to be so pandang anot ar? My gf had those auspicious timing, in the end going for separation lor.

nfllkh

tansy agree....

My pri sch friend, when she got married she say my horoscope will clash with her HB so i must turn up at 10.45am at the guys hse and then from there i follow to her hse... now she pending divorce... 3 yrs separation finish liao....
with no kidz lah.....

nfllkh

ok ok no more divorce and separation ok tansy....

this is meant to be happy place abt getting married stuff and abt how to stay with PIL and all the customs.

kurera

Diana, think more or less settled on hamilton leh.

tansy..you knn la..but at least I look pure mah..kek kek kek

JOanne agreed day break fetching no fashion leow maybe?

Ng Car you who ar..changed your nick or what?

ceraine

xiaobai,
Just think of it this way, ure mil doing all this for wellness of your marriage..this the belief lah..that right timing etc..wil have a blissful marriage.

for us,i am the more superstitious one, but at times, quite liberal oso. so gota depends on what issue it is. my MIL doesnt know much of tradition/custom.. Acutalli we've ask Shifu to check out GDL. But as it falls on mooncake festival (friday), hubby and me thought of postphone to sat. more convenient for everyone.
hope its okie, wont cause much harm...haha..
but come to think of it,whether the marriage is a blissful one..depends on compromise/trust etc among the couple lah. dun think all these customary stuffs play a big role.

but for AD, we are adhering strictly with the time advised.

you just take it easy, follow her instruction lor.make her happy so she would dote on you, rather than clash with her....wait u see no good days....*opps..better dun scare u*

ashlady

hi Junebride,
Though i've no idea what the "su tou" is..heh..but i was wondering, since the combing session is according to your custom & i would assume you can follow it since it'll probably be done in your own house right? heh..if your HB or PIL have no issues then shld be ok right?

jklim4642

princess, i also dunno why my finger size is big esp when i am also not big. anyhow, my FH wears size 16!!!

ribbons, no worries. most rings can be resized as long as not the whole ring is covered with diamonds. also, after giving birth, some women may not even wear their wedding bands often anymore.. not b'coz the ring does not fit.. rather, she needs to take care of the baby.. and the ring may accidentially scratched the baby.

september

no lah...cat hv alway call ng kar as ng car lor....from the past....go check the past posting lah....hohoho.....

cat, u mix her up wif sweetkar si bo?

marky

I'm a Teochew. I seek for help from the feng shui. Way geomancy. Master told me i have to leave with my bride from her house before 9am. which is to our surprise. But i guess very much still depend on the 8 character lor.... Juz follow. Wont go wrong! Hahah....

Cheers..

kurera

yah! diana..you are part of my brain!!!

kek kek kek..i tot she sweet car le..haaa..cos I ONLY rem pple I see la..never see hard to picture leh...kek kek kek..

Mark?? siang lai eh?? wau....it's been ages....finally see a man posting...ha