(2006) Brides of year 2006

pinkbunny

for marnie:

i selected songs based on lyrics and tune.

- this magic moment by the drifters
- sh-boom by i dunno who
- the wonder of you by elvis presley
- quando quando quando by engelbert humberdink
- something tells me i'm into something good by hermans hermits
- cheek to cheek by frank astarie
- i pledge my love to you by peaches & herb
- you to me are everything by the real thing
- my love by petula clark
- i just want to be your everything by the beegees

(you can see i'm quite an oldies person)

happy_bug

ooohhsss...nice nice..everyone seems to be getting head-ons with their planning liao hor..

Btw tiglet, give me a buzz if you need props as decor..i might hv some contacts, depending on wat you need..
are you doing to do fallen leaves on your aisle?? i think it will be so pretty!!

gs1979

tissuebox, u mean "lao ma go" issit?? its meant for paternal grandma. i b getting it cos she is still ard. b getting it from Gim Thye at sembawang rd. if u nid it, i get u the contact details cos its near my hse.

dapipi

Auldreay: Welcome welcome! Finally someone to accompany our Idyll...

Pink Bunny:Just nice, i'm looking for songs & u gave me a whole list of it. Will go download them later.
I also have this problem of inviting people in the ofc. Invite this one, din invite the other also 'pai sey', in the end squeeze a few more in. Omg, don't remind me that we have only 22 days left. I'm getting very excited about it. What's more, my sis having her ROM 4 days before me, making me twice as busy as ever.

Hazel: Please take care... U just reminded me about the flowers. I haven't ordered them at all... Later still got to meet PG & VG to pass them the photos.

Girls: I got back the soft copy for my photos. I have upload a few which is not in my album at www.aprilfool.org. Can take a look if u want.

marnie

I'm back from the 5 flat viewing - all within our budget and we have shortlisted 2 from there. The agent is going to help us ask HDB about our "special" situation (he non-citizen and employment pass only renewable in May). Going to another 5 units to view in an hour - wish me luck!

Pink Bunny, would love to hear Bond's Lullabye. Zap it to [email protected] - aiyah..you know right? always chat with you there...

Ade, yeah lor.....finally someone on the thread who's my date twin - pretty exciting leh...

Ooh....I like your photo. The last one is beautiful!

Hazel, aye...let us know how your meeting with the florist go okie? Me a very kpoh person lah.....What sort of "look" are you wanting to achieve at the reception?

auldreay

Hello...

Just came back from food tasting at the caterer's place...
Another WAR with future ILs...*FUMES*...Let me vent it here or else I will explode!!!

They were insisting on printing in the invites that dinner commences at 7.30pm. I want the invites to say dinner starts at 7pm. The place is rented and I need to give my caterer time to clear up, thus I want to start earlier. Anyway we have programs planned for guests who arrive early, so I do not see the fuss in people coming in at 7pm and dinner starts promptly at 7.30pm. If you put 7.30pm, people will come at 8pm or later, right?

Then future FIL kept saying we can't assume everyone dunnid to work on Saturday and is coming from home. Erm, dinner is only relatives who will have to come to the house for tea ceremony also lor, so those who are working confirm will take leave de ma. DUH!

And he kept complaining about the parking at FCP. Please la! His relatives only his elder son and another aunt got car lor. We specially hire a bus to ferry the rest of them to FCP from MRT lor, not enough parking??? I wanted to scream him at just now lor, if not for my father being there, I would have F**Ked him off on the spot. I was.. *HAIR ALL RAISED UP WITH STEAM COMING OUT FROM ALL THE HOLES ON MY FACE*...ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Then I kept telling him that my relatives will be at FCP early before the dinner cos we are having the tea ceremony there, so my relatives will NOT be late...and he kept saying people confirm will late de...so is he implying that his relatives are late comers??? Even my FH's bro was snickering when his dad kept saying that people sure will come late.

Then we showed them the invites for the dinner. They want to change this and change that. Might as well custom make the whole invitation card. So I told them. Then they say it is more expensive, won't have the 'invitation' look, etc etc...
Then when I told them it is more expensive to change everything to what they want, they just kept quiet. Then FH's bro asked how much are the cards. I list everything out and told them the total cost, reaction from them? SHOCK. And just now his bro passed us money and told us to just print according to what his parents want, if not there will be more trouble. I understand his brother is trying to help us, but if I give in to them now, I'm 100% sure they will climb over my head once we are married. DIE DIE ALSO WON'T GIVE IN. Even my FH dun wanna give in, thankfully.

Then he commented that I dress to skimpily. I'M NOT A NUN!!!!!!!!!
I was wearing a sleeveless collared shirt. MOE approves of me wearing this shirt to school, so why I can't I wear it out? My father almost slapped my future FIL when he said this. Could see my dad was DAMN ANGRY...I've never seen my dad angry before. No matter how we disturb him and make him angry, he will never ever get angry with us. He will just laugh it off! But just now was the 1st time in my whole life I saw my dad angry...quite scary...

Anyway, that's the summary of the war...got even more things...but I shall stop here...just wanna vent it out...ARGH!

marnie

Sayang sayang Yafang.....

We're all here to listen and give you our ears for you to have an outlet to vent...sometimes, ILs can be a pain. They think it's easy to comment and comment but they never once consider the other party's point of view...

Keep your head level, girl --> you did the good thing in not accepting the money to reprint the cards.

auldreay

Thanks Marnie

BTW, there is a Malay wedding being held at FCP today, at the location I am holding my wedding. Their deco is super!!! Very grand and well done!

Thanks for reading the long post.
I'm very glad I did not accept his money too. I hate having to abide by their 'opinions'. Thankfully my FH thinks his parents are crazy and their opinions and comments are very unnecessary. If not I'll be all alone in the battle!!

Lesson learnt: Choose a hubby that will side with you, I'm glad I did.

jojo_18bride

hi sinkor, u have mail.

Hi bing bing,
That sound good too... Very meaningful, thanks for ur great idea. Anyone out there got any other idea of what to give dadding on father's day?

marnie

K Yafang, I'm a bit blur...what's FCP?

Oooh...I figured it out liao - is it Fort Canning Park? Are you putting up tentage or using of their venues ie. Raffles House etc.?

Hey...I lucked out I suppose --> I chose a FH with ILs that will support me more than my FH...

auldreay

FCP is Fort Canning Park

We are using the Gallery as back up venue, but will be setting up tents at the Courtyard

ok, I shall change it to:
Lesson Learnt: Pick a hubby that sides with you, or ILs that sides with you more then their son :p

yummymilk

hi pat, your idea sounds good! i'm interested in your contacts. tried to pm u but yours is not activated. do they do floral deco as well? thanks much

kaye

hi marnie,
I m done with the florist within 30mins...
fast,rt?
I jux went ahead with Steffi...
but only can choose roses & another flower...dunno wat name lah..but I know I cant choose my fav hydragens.
anyway, I jux chose a blue vineyard theme...or I shld say look like vineyard theme.
then with tea lights as the floral stands...
but it will be with 3 different shades of pink roses..
Table arrangements will also be with tea light..
actually I was thinking to have a squarish higher vase with tea light or round bowl with lots of tealights...
in the end, I chose the sq type.
As for floral stand, wanted to ve S shape floral stand..but scared will knocked onto it as my ballrm is smaller.
anyway, my "theme" is all with tealights...

Yafang,
Keep cool....
ILs r like tat...
till now, I always smile only...
wont talk much...
cos I cant say anything too...its my parents who insist alot fr the wedding..
wat can I say? I know he;s frustrated...but there's nothing I can do...I had argue a few times with my father...but he insists his own way...
So, we try to accomodate him like having a roasted pig lor...
but as for the ping jin...& the no. of tables to give to him...dun think I can give in

elven_princess

angeldust,
Your post is so cute! Hee. Yah, its a GOOD idea to play during our diamond/platinum wedding anniversary (whatver). Sure will be very nostalgic!

auldreay

Hi Hazel,

My parents understand the financial constraints and stress we are facing due to the wedding. My mum even said that she is willing to pay for their tables, no problem. I know my parents are very understanding and willing to help, but sometimes I wish his dad can stand from OUR POV.

One thing that always shut his parents up is $. Everytime they want something, I just have to say how EXPENSIVE it is or how it is a waste of $, they will shut up. And I did challenge them a few times. Told them if they want a say in everything, PLEASE PAY ON YOUR OWN. Don't expect your son to pay for your 'face'.

Now his parents are demanding that we give them all the APs from their relative's side. Like that we confirm won't cover the costs of the wedding at all!! My parents are letting us keep the APs to pay off everything, then whatever balance take for honeymoon. But I'll pass some $ back to my mum if got extra.
sigh...and they say AP box very UGLY...like demanding that you want $$$...and some more, invites e printer got give free wedding AP...so how? we keep all 600 APs for ourselves??? or distribute?? sigh...

shann_neko

hi precious_moments > my lovenest is in redhill. yup, doing all e inspections etc now. going to check out reno stuff...gee... beginning of a busy period

dear amoeba > i dun have the ted wu package.. i cant remember coz im not taking the full package. think its betw 5.5-6k+ but not sure what is the exact component. you might want to make appt with them to check with them?

kaye

Yafang,
yrs totally opp fr mine...
anyway, I ve decided to jux give my parents the $$ but keep the AB on our own..
No pt we pay for the tables & let them keep the ABs...tat will be double losses...

Lipstar,
think I saw one of the brides AD in Meritius Mandarin..quite nice decor...

dapipi

Thanks Idyll. Too bad, i din include that in the album.

Yafang,
Ur PIL really very demanding. They r not marrying off their daughter, how can they keep the APs? Very unreasonable. Luckily ur parents still very understanding. Y not ask your FH to have a talk with his parents? Maybe things will turn out to be better.
For mine, both side parents very understanding. My dad din even want the APs. Just get the ping jin & the tables given by my FH.But FH insisted that they keep the APs, if not very unfair to them. My PIL also, will let us keep the APs.

auldreay

Ade, my FH gave up talking to his parents since he was in sec sch. His parents never listen to him at all. Yesterday during the food tasting, my FH was telling them that we need to start early due to time constraints on returning the place. But his dad refused to listen and insisted that we printed 7.30pm on the invites. He kept assuming that everyone will come at 8pm for the dinner and if we print 7pm, those that come on time will be waiting for 1 hour doing nothing.

His dad is the traditional type. MCP to be exact. His mum has no say at all, her opinions don't count because she is FEMALE. He always thinks he is right and when someone point out that he is not right, he will argue until you get very fed up. I've given up trying to talk to them anymore.

My FH is so fed up he says that this wedding will be the last time we see them, so we just quickly settle everything, they wanna come along or not is their problem. Everything will go ahead as we planned. So we won't be consulting them or telling them anything anymore. On GDL, just call them in the morning to go with my FH to bring the things over to my parent's place. Then AD just tell them to open the door and just drink the tea and that's it. The rest like inviting the relatives, etc my FH will do it personally.

His parents really pushed him over his limits already. I've only seen my FH angry twice, once with my puppy cos she scratched me and another with my nephew cos he bullied me. Seeing him angry with his parents is really something new. Usually he will just ignore them, but I think now he is seriously considering what his brother proposed last year, to break off all relation with his dad.

lipstar

Ade: Your pictures are very nice. In the Jap dress pic 001k, you look like the Taiwanese host Xiao S.
Even if you don't like her, hope you don't feel offended cos she is pretty.
352274.gif

Yafang: Aiyoh... ur ILs are too much man.
352275.gif
Can make your daddy so angry. (((HUGS)))

Idyll: In the torture chamber in pinkbunny's post, she mentioned "suan tian ku la". That means sour, sweet, bitter and hot.
Wah! 9.30pm then start eating! Now that's late.

Hazel: For most weddings that I know of, red wine sure got LOTS of leftover, so I won't be following the general guideline of 1 bottle for 2 tables.

Girls: The hotel coordinator called us up for food tasting between Mon to Thursday. Mr LIpstar is thinking of mentioning the complaint letter to her, sort of like mention that we came across this complaint letter. Do you think we should?

icyicy

Hi Cacphin, long time no c

my coordinator for panpac was bonnie, she left so they sent me a letter saying it's taken over by sb else; i went to meet up but that sb else is too "new" so she arranged me to meet their senior Ivan Tan, have met him twice so far, i think so far he's very good, very reasonable and knows what he is doing; he said it's still too early for me to choose stuff, he'll let me know later lei; so i hvnt done any food tasting or confirming of guests/ tables, tho he passed me a copy of ballroom floorplan for 50 tables for ref (mine is 35 to 40 tables). who's your coordinator? if u wanna change maybe u can try to call or email them to request?

icyicy

hi Gals!

wow it was a great gathering yterday! it's my first gathering wif the gals n i'm glad i was there, it's so nice to finally meet up, n there's so many things to talk abt time really went very fast! thanks to the organisers for making it happen! look forward to the next gathering!

phy_o

Hey ladies,

Yesterday gathering was great! Ginger, thanx for organising! How's your tok with YC? Got your photos? Must tok when your PG is not around, else they will push you to him and then back to sq 1.

I learnt so much abt gua da li stuff. Hey Asura, if our in-laws give our parents the tables, then ang pow wise how? Do your in-laws take those that their relatives give or what?

I think that's also one of my concern.

Any ideas?

sinkor

Hi ladies!

yes! ytd really enjoy the gathering! oh ya, phy, i saw our photo in the mulitply but i cant download so can u send the pic to me? [email protected]

as for the tables thingy, example, if in-laws give your parents 10 tables, the ang pows from that particular 10 tables all should go to your parents....

jacquise

Hi Pandalic,

U got lobangs for my mum & MIL, sis for MU? I initially tot MU 4 the dinner will do, but my mum wants for day also. I was thinking I can also get my studio freelance MUA to bring along her colleague to help n we pay them additionally. Just want check if anyone has any contacts? Thanks.

jeanng79

Hazel,

If ur wine is bought from Parker's, u can always return your leftovers after wedding. For my case, me ordered abt 1.5 bottles for every table cos will pai seh if not enough..

So are we still meeting on 17th?

cima_yv

Yvonne here. me MIA for very long loh.. this thread so busy leh.. me just had Lasik surgery to correct my eye sight (now almost back to perfect eye sight loh
)...

Need some advises. Have not select gown n arrange photoshoot, roughly when should i select gown n take photoshoot?

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi me too! I need to help my MIL find a MUA for herself. Budget's less than $200... got such lobang?</font>

kaye

I so sian...another quarrel of the customary issues...
jux dun understand...y cant keep the wedding things simple...
both parents dun want to talk to each other...
his side said nothing to talk jux follow watever things we want.....my side wants so much things...
N keeps asking this &amp; tat
N now during the GDL, my dad dun want to take leave...
So sian..
Now, I m inside the rm...leaving my dad keeps talking non-stop so loudly..
saying I not filliel..impatient &amp; rude...
dun follow rules...
etc...

really dun understand him....
y cant jux keep it as simple as possible..
jux take nice PS...
N hold the banquet..jux for show..
then all the things r jux hassle to me

Ade,
I also want to c yr pic.
pls send to [email protected]

Jean,
think we meeting on Thurs?

jacquise

Btw, I got some INSTANT LIFT ampoules for sale @ $8 each. My MUA is selling hers for $25 so I went to source and found a box of 10 going for $80. Anyone wants to share pls PM me. Thanks.

pinkbunny

yafang
aiyoh ... why your ILs like that? sayang sayang ok? relax... it's supposed to be a happy affair. just try to compromise...

lipstar
alamak what's with xiao S's photo?

about wine: we are getting 24 bottles, red and white half half, for 22 tables. my guests quite the drinking sort. but it's all we want to bring so not enough, please go to the nearest 7-eleven and buy keke. bluebunny says in canada guests pay for the wine if they want more than the hosts provide. good idea...

marnie
the song! cannot send!!!!!!

pinkbunny

hazel
suan le... my parents also big time nonsense today. finally they delivered invites to extended family. but dad called me and said 'i'm in popular now, buying envelopes for your wedding card ok?'.

i was so shocked. where got postcard put in envelope one? he said 'cos we are traditional mah, cannot just give postcard'. alamak. always when i ask for opinion nobody want to say anything. then when confirm and final product ok already then everybody got little things to add.

so i asked him 'so they're coming? rsvp?' and he said 'pai say to ask straight away if they're coming mah. cannot today give card, today ask for RSVP...'. precisely why i asked them to give it out 3 weeks ago!!!!

marnie

Pink Bunny, yeah...lah..I saw your email..so disappointed leh....
Just kidding lah...Hmm....how ah?

Jean, me on for Thursday 16th! Um, so where ah? Not shiok lah on thursday - that means cannot stay out too late...Hmmm.....

Hazel, don't think too much about it. I also went through that kind of drama a week ago when I told my mom to prepare the invites - she said something like "...where malays got RSVPs.." and stuff...aiye...I told her straight, I'm not inviting any Tom Dick and Harry to the wedding. People who don't mean anything to me and who surely don't give a damn about me. Until today, the invites are on the coffee table in the living room. *sigh* So, the invites and the RSVPs are the last thing I am worried about.

Wahhh Lipstar, for a moment there, I thought you posted a picture of me...

Yippeee - I just finished downloading "Girl, you'll be a woman soon".....it'll be a hoot to include that in the wedding reception...

kaye

pinkbunny,
finally finished talking N my FH jux left my hse..

mine is better..ask me to give the cards...but cant cfm if they r coming...
alamak...now asking us to get car for GDL...
who's driving???? none of us has driving license except for my mum who didnt drive for more than 2 decades...

I so sian over the wedding...
its already nt the type of wedding tat I want..now its adding more burden to the wedding procedures..

My dad keeps asking how many tables r they having...
*sigh...I still haven say tat I wont be giving them the ABs...for banquet..else really double losses..I rather give them more money for ping jin.
*sigh...its equal to my own $$$..

janf

can try stella (MUA) 90062966. she does simple hairdo+makeup (min 2pax per venue). had her for my mum &amp; sis..

pinkbunny

hazel
poor thing... are you the only/eldest daughter? maybe that's why your folks are so kanchiong? i'm the eldest and that's why they kalang kabut, dunno what to do all the time! haha.

marnie
how la, lullabye. or you invite me to your wedding, i'll play it for you from my mp3 player la? haha.