(2006) Brides of year 2006

pinkbunny

girls, just wanna share what my mum emailed to me. i think it's really sweet and some of you can prob identify with it too:

You already have too much of the actual physical logistics to worry yourself crazy, forget about the spiritual pantang observations because we are already so mixed up rojak, some follow some total cheong, some Chinese, some Taoist, some Baba, some Cantonese, Teochew, Hokkien. Just trust in destiny which brought you together, and your love which will carry you through. and superstitions or beliefs are there and fixed through centuries of time, don't worry anymore to interpret it towards our favour or whether they make sense or not.

This is your wedding, you are marrying the man you love and want to spend forever with. Period. Just enjoy that thrill and excitement and romance. Anything else is care-leh-fare. People miss the bus? Don't care! The food is not nice? Don't care! The flower girls walk all over the place? Just laugh! Because, they are not the reason why there is a wedding. You and Max are. Savour that.

september

hi pauline, we also only get to noe tat some of us do party....and so far, i hv only party wif elsie and we went to MOS....i hv nt really party for quite some time so there is no regular place tat i will go...so me fine wif anyware one...

yvonne, how much is ur budget?

sdblues

Hi Suishi! ya lor.. waiting for u u know :p hee.. the lunch oso got your share, and I have to finish your share.. hehe :p next gathering my place liaoz :D but will be sometime in the next 3 months.. ~ May to June

suishi

SDL,
scare i will faint half way & got to call help....kekee.

i got to thks u.....becos of me u got a chance for second round.

oic....hope able to meet up next gathering.

xiaobai1

Hi all gals

I am working at fossil counter at Og people park. Everytime I off work around 8.45pm. Later still need to go back to the head office to submit feb report before I go down to og to report to work at 12pm. Very rush and busy. Hee Hee. Hope I can join you all at 10 mar 06. I also like that day too. Will confirm with you gals whether I am going or not by wednesday. By the way, if any one of you off work and is free to come down to og shop shop, can come to level 1 fossil counter to find me. Just tell me you are a bride from singapore forum and give me your name if you have chat with me in this thread before. Really hope to know u all. I like to have more friends.

I just get my house keys last thursday 2nd March 2006. This is the second time I went to see my new flat. Need to do a bit of renovation. Must build a kitchen cabinet,put more kitchen tiles to cover the whole kitchen wall (previous owner only do half of the wall) re - do the wiring of the whole house ( hubby likes it, I also think it will make the house looks neater), cover the holes and cracks on the wall and buy some more furniture and electrical appliances then my house should be complete. Think need to take 4 to 5 months bah. Need more time. But just in time for my marriage. Hee Hee.

I am going down to the bridal shop to choose my gown on 29th Mar 2006 and 5th of april for my studio shoot indoor and outdoor. Is it a bit too early? I have not call the bridal shop to confirm my appointment yet. Both are on the weekday. Cause my off days are on weekdays. Me is not a confirm staff, so don't dare to take 2 days unpaid leave. My hubby has to sacrifice to take half day leave for me to choose gown and 1 day for photo shoot. Lucky, hubby is very considerate, didn't grumble much.

My wedding favours has also settle liao. I have chosen a pair of chopsticks with a tag and pack in a clear plastic bag for my 230 guests. So one more matter settled

By the way, what else must I prepare? I already prepare until I confuse liao. Ha Ha... Anyone got a list of things to prepare for the customary wedding? wedding songs, xiong dis and jie meis I have not chosen yet.
Things that I have done: Wedding favours, have photographer , (no videography for both of us), wedding banquet chosen, have house, prepare things for girl to bring to guy house on actual day, wine have already, still need to prepare what huh??? me really blur liao. Ha ha ha...

And do goat milk can increase weight? Any facts to prove it? And where to get goat milk in singapore? Anyone in here knows??? Just wondering....

Take care and happy preparation

Michelle

marnie

Awwwww........Mama Pink Bunny is really sweet........

Eh...hmm...I'm not worried aobut your playing the violin...question is, are you as sexy as the quartet?!?
Kidding hor....you look very exotic....you must have mixed blood in there somewhere.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hi ladies, just a tot.. i think its basic courtesy to ask your own MUA for reco of MUA for your mum, mil, sisters, etc first before you source outside yourself.. also, i dun want to risk hiring two rivals for my AD.. kekeke..

hi bride, with your budget of S$200, you can get a lot of mua.. ask your mua to reco.. </font>

pinkbunny

marnie

ya la, my mama pinkbunny always like that one leh. always make me cry by writing this kind of thing! stress me up by being nonsensical, then telling me to relax. so double standard!!! but i love her la ;)

eh eh i didn't say anything about me playing the violin! i meant that i would just press PLAY on my mp3 player! haha. eh eh quite seksi ok! just ask my bluebunny - he's obligated to say yes :p

mixed blood? well i'm a watered down version of a bibik. very half past six one. but i'll be wearing the kebaya for my tea ceremony and it'll also be my evening gown so i guess that's a nice touch. and oh, did i tell you girls? my aunt found my late granny's keronsang!!! it's so beautiful, and it was given to her by my late grandpa, so it's wonderful that they're both kinda attending my wedding in spirit

qq77

morning all,

suishi,
great to hear that you are feeling better now.

newbbi &amp; SDL,
dun mention.
hope my cooking are still edible bah.
Thanks for coming too.
Pardon us if we were not a good host.

Nice meeting up with you all too...

marnie

Hey Pink Bunny, the kerongsang could be your "something old" in the wedding......how apt...and soo sweet....I can already picture the beauty of your wedding...

happy_bug

hey tiglet,for props, you can either call Pebbel Tan at 91477012 or Jed at 90264404. They make nice props usually used on stage, theatre and d&amp;d! For flowers, unless you intend to engage a high end florst, otherwise you can get them (either ala carte or package) frm Far East Flora. They have an intensive range and price very reasonable too! So far, i have no problems working with either of them.

Hope these contacts help!

pinkbunny

major walau. my colleague tells me that someone called while i was out so she said she gave my number for the person to call back. next thing i know my personal-not-paid-by-company-and-therefore-shouldn't-be-used-for-company-calls mobile phone rings. i really hate it. my boss is the kind who gives his handphone number out but i'm pretty sure even if he doesn't have a HP allowance, he is paid well enough to cover all the extra calls. and if it isn't about the money, how about privacy?? i get work related calls on weekends and at night some more ok? and these are not colleagues, these are externals. fed up fed up!!!

lipstar

Jean: 17th mar our dear Idyll cannot. Mon to Wed pinkbunny cannot, so Thursday 16th Mar, everyone can?

pinkbunny: I find that Ade looks like Xiao S, scared Idyll don’t know who that is, so I posted her pic.

Hazel: Ade's wedding pics are at a website. She posted her link above. For your convenience, Ade's PS

sdblues

Hey Linda!! You did a fantastic job as cook and host! hee.. maybe when stars back hor.. we have another gathering after Irene's wedding..

pinkbunny

16 march is steady bom bi bi!!!

lipstar: oh ya, ade does look a bit like xiao s! ade, can we take photos with you then we can sell the pics for a bundle? keke

mama pinkbunny is so ultra sweet yes, agree
but it's also cos she's a major shareholder in the 'how to increase pinkbunny's blood pressure' company hehe.

marnie
yeah that's my something old!!! something new would be my wedding gown (which i went for my first fitting last saturday and i forgot to tell y'all. it's so STYLO!!!!!!!! i love it!!!!!!!!!!! when i get it will show you girls photos), something borrowed i'm still stuck, but something blue should prob be my panties la haha (lipstar hear the word 'panties', very happy right?)

qq77

sdl,
hee... thanks thanks...
actually the stew chicken is the 1st time i tried to cook myself, think not very nice loh. :p

ok ok... let me know when is the next gathering.

Ling,
I didn't know about that kind of customs because I don't think my mom received anything when she became a MIL... haha. My mom asked for 20 boxes of cake. It's quite hard to distribute to all the relatives so she didn't ask for more.

tissuebox,
I haven't heard of the groom's side requiring to distribute cakes leh. Thought that only when you're marrying off a daughter, then you need to distribute cakes.

coco,
We just settled our printer - Achieve Design. Hopefully can get to see the layout by tonight and start printing the cards. The service is good. As the office is quite ulu, they sent a car to pick us up from the mrt and sent us back too. They also agreed to meet us up in the north to pass us the final products. One good thing is, they print (foc) an additional icon with our names, on our envelopes. Their price is rather competitive too compared to Jasvy and some others, though maybe tissuebox's recommendation may be slightly cheaper. One other good thing is, their choice of paper is more than some other 'cheaper' companies we've enquired.

Think we're ordering cakes from a neighbourhood shop to save trouble. Hopefully can get some discounts because my mom knows the shop owner well..hehe

Greekgal/gin,
I think you can shop around first to compare the prices a bit for your SDJ, cos I know famous shops can mark up their prices a lot. I have a lobang for one shop in Yishun, if you want the contact, PM me.

apple68

<font color="ff0000">Thanks elevn_princess, angeldust and bride on your advice for VG. A Church fren had agreed to do VG for us. In fact, she had already thought of doing VG for us, just waiting for us to ask her
I have seen her works for the church, comparable to professionals outside. But we will still give her a token to show our appreciation.</font>

auldreay

Hazel,
The best time to tell them that you won't be giving them the AP back is just before GDL. ;) They can't be angry for long cos your ILs will be coming over with the gifts soon.

I told my mum when we were discussing about pin jin. Told her we can't afford to give her one huge sum of cash plus let her keep the AP, but we will give it in form of larger monthly allowance to her. She said it's ok if we can't afford. When we get bonus or pay raise must share with her can le.

Try to reason out with your parents lor. Cos the practise on my family's side is that once daughter married out, guy side got give pin jin means daughter dunnid to give parents monthly allowance anymore. So I compromise with my mum lor, give her some pinjin for 'significance' then next time we give her monthly allowance lor, not that she needs it, but it's just like a form of filial piety?

And one thing I realise, how your parents treat your grandparents is how you will treat your parents. Which also means how we treat our parents will be how our kids will treat us. So I better be nicer to my parents like how my parents were v nice to my grandparents.

angeldust

hi apple,

u are most welcome

hi elven, ya ya.. ka ka ka ka me beri imaginative one.. as i said.. i'm quite a siao cha bor.. ke ke ke ke :p

babygera

Hi Gals i'm back from a tiring weekend after my ROM :/ hmmm great to hear that you all had a fun gathering last sat
too bad i can't make it
been so busy lately cos my ROM and AD is just 3 mths apart hence alot of things that we gotta rush haiii~

Anyway u gals were taking about Guo Da Li? hmmm how is the procedure like? and when r u gals having ure GDL? mine is 4th June

snowy_casper

Seem like i miss a great gathering

Thanks to my work lor!!... *sigh*
i work till 5pm that day leh... like normal working days.... so angry!

SDL,
thanks leh... help me finished my share too... hope u did not dirty Linda's toilet... hehehe ;p

sdblues

snowy, give boss a slap lor.. hehe
lucky Linda cooked still average size, otherwise hor I will sure stuff some of the food into your mouth.. haha.. kiddin'

suishi

sian.....the only words frm colleagues &amp; boss " yours face so white, wat happen?",keep on repeating the same answer.

i shld put the answer up on notice...keke

novia

<font color="0000ff">hi apple68, no probs! Lucky you, have a friend who WANTS to take VG for you
Really blessing in disguise that you changed your mind about hacing VG

qq77

suishi,

your face sure look real pale, that's y everyone asking you!

SDL,
heng ah, i din cook a lot, intend to cook more one leh, then my hb say better dun otherwise he will have to brinthe left over to work the next day. kekekeke...

so you finally met my hb leow hor!!! kekekekeke...

Seems like the gathering was an enjoyable one..A pity that I cant go cos of my fren's ROM..Hai~ Look forward to the next gathering then.. Cheers..

Hi JOjo &amp; Bingbing,

What i suggest on the photo montage is can paste the photos from various stages of your life with ur dad onto a hard board. Then frame it up.. It'll make up a colorful pic which tells the story of you and dad..I tink dad will def be touched by your actions..

chaiyo

Harlow ladies ...
Can email me the gathering pics as well? [email protected].

Wat time the gathering ended? So sad I cant stay for long cos i not sure abt GDL stuff as well. But at least I finished cleaning my lovenest. My hands still smell of bleach though and are super dry now *pout*

leafmemories

hi popie, can i have a peek at ur photos too? my email is [email protected]

mish, we managed to get Brother Emmanuel to solemnize for us. he sounds nice, but cos of his accent i'm a tad worried i might not understand what he is saying and accidentally refuse to marry my hubby!! hehee.

oh, and the way u decorated the chalet sounds fantastic. very tropical!

jojo,
we din try for david loh, was intending to get him last year but then after we saw him on tv.. a bit put off by his image. he looks like some 1970s ge tai singer!!

and brother emmanuel seems nice. he said he'll meet up with us one month before to go through evry detail.. thoughtful of him.
i just dunno what both our parents will think.. hah.

have u all planned your actual day schedules already? are your sisters staying over the nite before? my friends want to stay, but i dun think there's a need cos hubby can only fetch me from 11am onwards. and my home is tiny, plus i share the room with my brother. how to reject them nicely?

kaye

Lipstar,
bring yr album along leh...
if U ve gotten it...

Yafang,
I also dunno wat to say abt my dad..
I definetly will still give allowance after marriage.
anyway, maybe I will need to get scolded tonight...for raising the ping jin issue

pinkbunny

hazel
i don't know if it will help make you feel better but i have no pinjin ... i am being given away, not even sold! haha. cos of the difference in culture, it was already very embarrassing for me to tell bluebunnymama about giving angpow at tea ceremony. if got to tell her about pinjin i even more no face. so my mum said ok never mind.

about allowance, i agree with you, i will still continue giving. it's just nice for them to have some extra money, even if it's not much, it's the thought that counts
it may sound strange but everytime it's pay day, when i transfer money to them, i feel happy

lipstar

Hazel: If I get my album before 16th, I will surely bring.

Alamak! Dunno if I can make it on the 16th because I have a little operation (woman's problem lor) on that day...

Change here change there very troublesome. If I feel ok, I will go. If not ok, then I won't join you girls.

greekgal

Anyone settled your GDL stuff? Any shops to recommend? I went to Bukit Timah Plaza and Beauty World yesterday and all the shops quoted me $100-200 for the stuff for bride's side. Was really surprised to learn that the bride's family needs to spend so much. They didnt specify the price for groom's side but said it wil be cheaper than bride. I heard there are some shops at Chinatown that sell such GDL stuff. Anyone knows the addresses? Thanks in advance

greekgal

oops, another query:-
Can you ladies share the budget like for the cakes? $8 or $10? Does the groom's side need to distribute the cakes for their relatives as well?

tissuebox1

hi greekgal

if chinatown is near the CK shopping centre. din really know the exact add.

but hougang blk 10 also got.last time my cousin wedding also go there buy. my mum will be going there and buy.
she just just tell the shopowner your dialect and he will pick for you the necessary things

greekgal

Hi tissuebox
Is that the building with a hawker at level 3 or 4? hougang is too far from my place though. Btw, did your cousin spend around 100 over on bride's stuff as well? Thank you.

acy

hi peggy,

apologies for the late blessings... very caught up with work n other preps for the wedding.. anyway, hope everything went on well and that you've enjoyed the BIG day! CONGRATS!

any one's gg for a budget honeymoon? i'm looking at a short and not-so-ex one like <$1000 for 2 pax??? pls let me know. thx!