(2006) Brides of year 2006

preci0usm0ments

apart from auspicious date, i think ppl dun wanna have it near the festive seasons loh.. so early dec more popular?

summerala, those places that allows 25 tables usually have lower ceiling leh
PP not bad la.. almost everything i wan, except the lightings

lilic, regent your first choice? how's their BR har??

blurblur, u have any ideal place? better start fast ah.. dec hot month..

ooshie

Hello Gals,
Post Labour Days Blues huh? why no posting and updates ? hehe

just went for my grandmother's birthday and 40th wedding anniversary at Dragon Gate ( not close to them)
exactly like a wedding leh ,and she changed like 3 times , haha more kua zhang than a bride hehe we found it so farnie. But my advise to anyone intending to have their dinner their ... biG nONO. the staff are like my grandma's age and moreever service sUX.

lilic

hello.. think 9 dec 06 is quite auspicious.. but i having it not bcoz of that... it will be our 8th anniversary then... so i die die want that date...

summerala/lilacblur, i looking at regent, shangri-la and fullerton... regent is ok except for the reception area... not exclusive - gotta share with hotel guests...

preci0usm0ments

see see look look, shortlist afew first, when you have date then you know where to call already
sigh..no choice la, got to b KS..else all my affordable targets taken liao

summerala

Poor Blur Blur... cannot settle on ur wedding date yet... the tong shu will be out end of the yr issit?? then u gotta wait very long leh... if drag too long... even those cheaper hotel mght be booked leh.. why dun u just book a place with a date u like... and when tong shu come out .. change the date... And if u cannot change the date, your PIL oso cannot force u since u oledi made payment.. Im sure they won't get angry with you for such a minor thing leh... It's ur weddin, dun you wan to get married in ur anniverary or watever date that is more meaningful to u?

Hi Lilic.. do u intend to sign up for ur banquet durin the hotel's fair or immediately after u made up ur mind?? guess u will definitely enjoy more perks if u wait... but if u wan a popular date.. u better grab fast..

zenith

hi gals!
can join this thread? i've changed frm a nov 06 bride to jun 06 to may 06. now finally confirm is may bride.

lilic

hi summerala, the hotels i eyeing all no fair liao... either they not holding or over liao.. unless i already made up my mind, i wun go for the perks.. coz i checked - after bargaining, the perks you get is more or less the same... also, the longer you wait, the higher the prices leh...

lilacblur, regent br is ok. got 2 pillar at the side - but unless you cramped to the max, there will not be blockage of view from guests' seating.. they also got more themes to choose from than some other hotels...

eh, mine not high-end lah.. check out a few others but somehow din like the places... so its matter of preference... prices between the 3 hotels dun vary much... depending on wat you take lah... also, i having my holy matrimony just before the dinner so the hotel must be able to cater for that...

chaiyo

Hi Ooshie,
Me indeed suffering from post monday blues ... Manage to 'recover' abit in the afternoon ... Wow. Ur ah ma very havoc hor. At her age still got mood to change so many outfits. She booked the whole restaurant izzit? Maybe during her wedding time didnt hav proper dinner so she make it so grand tis time. I celebrated Mother's Day yday, to avoid the crowd. My fav dish (cereal prawns) is killing my throat today. Making me more moody.

preci0usm0ments

huh? regent very much price difference from shang and fullerton leh.. i hope regent will turn out fine.. already very tired from my weekend hunt
now just wanna get it over and done with (no wonder my hubby keep saying this line) :p

ccteott

lilic ah, i join you for venue search.. 25 tables really very tough to find leh.. somemore budget only 700+
pek chek.. got such hotels high ceiling, long march in yet can 25 tables & less than 800?? wanna give up liao

Hi lilacblur,

If you do lunch at Marriott, min is 15 tables and its only like $500 plus per table and for every 10 table the 11th is at $10.
Maybe you would like to check them out
I think their dinner menus are not too pricy also and best is that the food is good

ccteott

Lilic,

You know how I got them to agree? I went to see all the grand aunts and told them lunch was good coz after church I will get a bus to bring them to the hotel and have lunch and tea ceremony. So its almost a one stop shop. Then evening can go home to rest. Not so tiring. If not have to go to church for mass, my house for tea ceremeony, then go home and change and then go for dinner, its very tiring for the old folks. The old folks loved the idea. So my mum couldnt say anything after... kekeke

preci0usm0ments

tintin, but if customary and lunch together, very rush rite? we thought of having lunch.. but then will b super rush if we having customary in the morning..

camiberry

Hi summer,

we are doing solemnization & wedding lunch on the same day so no need to prepare for ROM.. phew! hehe...

Btw, i attended fren's wedding dinner at Hyatt last sat, portion quite big & food quite nice but a little salty. anyhow, i take it easy already... dun wanna get too stress out by the preparation.

How was your gown fitting on Sat?

snowy_casper

hello everyone,

I got a big problem getting a auspicious date for wedding.
Can pls advise me where i can get the date?

Thank you so much.

lilic

i know... i also one-stop shop... i already bring the service into the ballroom... and my tea ceremony will also be in hotel... but the old folks prefer dinner than lunch leh... also coz some ppl gotta work...

qq77

snowy_casper,
i went to one geomancer in Sembawang.
charges S$180.00.
very detailed. calculate not only the couple's ba zhi, he calculates parents' one also.

ccteott

I'm not too sure about what you do during customary coz I dont think I have one. Its church in the morning and lunch and then everybody go home and sleep
kekeke...

The wedding is on a Saturday and most people work on 5day week nowadays. Actually my FH and I believe if they really want to come for the wedding, if they have to work, they will make arrangement to come. We dont really want people to come for the sake of coming and then can't wait to go after the meal. They should me happy to celebrate this joyous occassion with us. We dont want them to feel obliged or anything. If that's the case then its ok we understand... You dont have to come...

I know that really pissed some of the "seniors" off. They complain that the both of us have eaten too much potatoes overseas dont respect traditions and stuff but we've come to this conclusion. Be it whatever you do, you will never be able to make everyone happy coz they will all have their own opinions on how things should be done... So why not at least me ourselves happy since we are the ones paying for it and its our wedding anyways... :p

I'm terrible arnt I?

janna

Hi all! I'm also a April'06 bride-to-be. Mind if I join in this thread? =)

I've got my date from my geomancer and it is on the 29th April 06 which is simply great cos it falls on a Saturday and followed by sunday and Monday's a PH! soo happy when i got my date! hees.

lilic

no lah.. i share the same sentiments... watever you do, you cannot please everyone... agreed totally...

but my FH and i dun mind giving in to some of our family members' requests since it wouldnt hurt our decision. both our extended families are very closely knit... so guess thats why... hee...

our parents never the traditional ones... so already saved a lot of hassle... this small request, give in lah...

hee.. and hor, by giving in to them, everyone happy.. then my pocket also happy... coz my relatives will give better ang-pows for dinner... heee....

akoyo

Hi all, wow haven't been to this thread for quite a while. I am still trying to source for a suitable venue for my banquet thou. Currently still waiting for the apr 06-aug 06 package from Merchant Court. They will only release next month. =(

Hi Racherlle,
so have you signed with beaufort ?

tanel

hello janna welcome!
Congrats on settng the date, now you can move on to searching for your venue, gown, photographer etc.

Whoa 29 IS a good date! I am having my wedding part 2 also on 29 apr 06. Part 2 because me going to msia to hold a dinner there for my FH's relatives. We picked the date because of the long weekend too! :p clever pple we are!

So how's your wedding preparations been?

ccteott

Yeah I know what you mean... we tried to give in as much as we could but we drew a line somewhere. Actually our plan was to have Church and then reception after and tea ceremony in church grounds itself and then call it a day but that has alot of opposition so have to give in to them...

lilic

never mind lah.. just think of it as an extension of celebration lah... and more fun... hahaha

me dun mind dinner.. told our parents that having dinner will mean no cake cutting, no yum-sheng and that i will only be in my WG throughout the dinner... only want 1 march-in.. rather use time to mingle.. my future mother-in-law was upset coz she said later pp think that she ill-treated me... supposedly the no. of EG is proportionate to your wealth.. in the end, between lunch and no EG, she chooses no EG... hahaha... anyway, my WG will have detachable trains... on for the service and off after dinner march in.. hee... my dream only.. havent source BS yet... hee

ccteott

Ha ha we in the same boat. I wanted to just be in one gown coz I can't be borthered to change I I dont see myself ever wearing the gowns again then my granny was saying "you mean they so poor untill cannot afford to buy you another dress meh?"

My BS is very good... I will get detachable trains too and after the wedding they will cut everything off transform it and I keep the gown as a party dress so I can wear for parties! kekeke

summerala

I think it's a good idea to have lunch buffet too... at least u can spend ur whole evening with your husband ..... But I guess the older generation always think the other way round... As for ppl like me... hope to break even from my Ang Pao collected, have no choice but to have my banquet at night... as price for lunch is abt the same as dinner... and most ppl always tot that it's very cheap and end up giving less ang Pao...

Hey Lilic..
thinks it realli silly to think that no of EG = wealth... (hee no offence)
BTW.. ur AD is so faraway and u oledi have an idea how ur EG's like.. wow dat's fast..Im still lookin for my dream gown

lilic

hey tin tin, you mean you actually can keep the wedding gown... must tell me more... i would love that... costly? pm me your package?

hey summerala, but this is true for the asian cultures... see tin tin's grandma's comments... for westerners, it used to be that only the rich can have white gowns...

in any case, my dream WG must have long train for my church service... hee... i have been faithfully clipping designs which i fancy.. so that i can tell my future designer what i want... in any case, if the designer cannot do wat i want - i wun sign up... hahaha... but thats a problem to think of later...

haha, just got a call from my FMIL and FH - FMIL asked me to go with her to tailor make sarong kerbaya on pretext that its a present for me... they are peranakans... by the way... told my FH to reject her... damn ex.. give me the money better... hope he is successful...

hahah, i think her intention is for me to use it as tea dress... hahah... in short, she just wants me to have another dress other than my WG...

moonlight00

haloz gers!
mind mi joining in?!!
Juz decided for my AD to be 8 May'06 but hvnt start sourcing for hotels yet leh...
Realli hope the hotels i've shortlisted still hv this day available...else will b shattered if i gona change this date due to hotels' availability ;p

magic_alz

hi bride-to-b6!
the small BR is 418+++ wkdays /448+++ wkends
big one is 448+++ wkdays/598+++ wkends
standard package la..if u want to know more can just call them up to arrange appt. i think its not bad...if u're on tight budget, why not go take a look there?

what u workin as? just take the planning proces as relaxing process la..i also very stressed out at work.can never finish doing work..finish already, tons more work come in..argh!

haha..me too! i love eating..dunno why the more stressed i am, the fatter i get..maybe coz i just keep stuffing myself...cannot already la...must start to watch diet already..but also lazy to exercise...sigh..so unhealthy..

wah 2.8K quite good ley..mine is 12 dollars short of 3K..=) no wonder u're so tired..planning for house warming...never mind, after its over can get a good rest first before goin full steam ahead!

teaching very tiring la...maybe if u're really interested u can just keep applying..but to teach chinese u need to have studied chinese in NUS i think..

hi zen, moonlight n akoyo! =)

preci0usm0ments

huh? no. of EG = how wealthy? then i think more and more poorer wedding couples hehe nowadays only 1 EG to change into leh

anyway, i'm back from Regent, the BR is okie, but bridal suite abit disappointing leh
can't bargain for more perks.. she keeps saying everything is in the package

i think between Hyatt, Pan Pac, Regent, Rasa, Marriot, Hilton.. most likely will choose Pan Pac already.. no other place that i can think of
unless hubby strike lottery

asura

Hi Ooshie,

Our Wedding is in the 5th Lunar Month...
No worries, it is a very good month, as Master said..

Never heard of any weddings during 7th month but other than that... there seem to be weddings whole year round. Guess depends on whether you pantang or not. For me, I really be safe than sorry. If not too troublesome, would rather pick good dates/timings/etc.

Wah.. your grandma win liao... Me still thinking whether i wanna change 3 outfits or not.. a bit sian to keep changing.. and miss out my food...

Hi Chaiyo,

Buy some star fruit to eat and star fruit juice to sip. works for me..

Me got celebrated Mother's Day with my grandma on Sun and going to celebrate my FH's mom on the coming Sat.. busy busy busy..

So did any of you went for a short weekend trip anywhere? Poor me, stayed in Singapore to study...

ooshie

hi Gals,
chaiyo, yeah she booked the restaurant but i think its the smaller side got like 20 plus tables abit too extravagant lah .... we tawt it was farnie but what to do ...its her choice mah ....
yeah asura.... she win liao man ... my mum was teling me if my grandma can chnage three outfits i can do better haha
sure got no time to eat one lah thats why the hotel will give you free supper mah haha we will be so busy changing, yum senging in ...where got time to change.
lucky for me my FMIL will be having wedding dinner at 4 seasons this sunday so i can spend the whole sunday with my mum so dun have to feel bad about not spending with one of them only
will be picking the timings i think maybe later this yr when the tong shu is out or something. actually i got the timing liaoz but for the wrong date hiaks coz the geomancer only give me timing for 17th June which i wanted but now since change date have to go ask again.

racherlle

hi akoyo!

nope have not gone down to place my deposit yet.. juz placed a tentative booking w the wedding planner already..
nw pretty bz w my new home... guess will go down in June/July to confirm the venue...

hi moonlight!
welcome to the thread
wat venues are u looking at??

marnie

Hi girls! I'm also back. Been ill on and off. Just too tired for anything else - burnt out at work lah....*sigh*

Since my last post, Meraj and I are actually considering to change our reception from lunch to dinner as April is too hot a month to subject our guests to a marquee on a terrace. At least if it was in the evening, it's cooler. What do you girls think?

Janna: HELLO! *waves* Welcome welcome! How are your preps coming along?

Tanel: Who did you get for your photographer? AD or PS or both? I'm still going around talking to photographers. Which BS did you engage finally? I still haven't paid a deposit for the malay bridal shop cos' I want to pay deposit and discuss with my PS photographer first on the concept for the photo session.

Jean: Since you've pretty much confirmed a lot of things, what have you left to do? I feel like the more stuff I have done, the more paranoid I become that I have left out something...*hahahahah*

janf

hi both

me having some prob over the chosen date over the long wkend.. headache.. till i get some confirmation then update u all.. stressed..

me having PS in july..

marilyntay

Hi girls, I'm back too. Since my past posting, nothing has been done. *sign*. Facing some problem with my future in-laws. They wanted to pick the reception venue for us. They are very traditional parents and expect us to listen to them. But we don't like the venue at all. Because of that, everything is being held up. Will be meeting them tomorrow night again. Hope that we can a good talk with them and they can at least hear us out. I am quite frustated with the whole thing and my poor FH was caught in the middle. Hope that everything will be sorted out soon. Then, I can start to move my gear...

Marnie: I think that it's better to change it to dinner too. Just look at the recent weather. It's so hot. I'm hiding myself indoor...

Janna: Welcome.