(2006) Brides of year 2006

kaye

ya lor, I saw the fountain...wanted to book there for my ROM too..but initially not enough ppl. They need min.30pax..but I only have 22. But who knows, add until 40 pax. but too late, I had already booked with PlazaPark...else can have such a nice ambience

ooshie

hi Schnauzie
yeah The Regent also beat Pan Pac hands down for the show hosted by Flying Dutchman. As the show was organised by Wedding Entourage, it was quite nice, the activities very interactive.

hazel!
when is your ROM? then i can add in the list. I have already shortlisted Changi Museum as my ROM venue but think it might be a bit too early for the booking.

Hey Chaiyo gal,
if you going to RH to look look see see, remember to go to the KOpitiam at basement to eat all the traiditonal nonya food .... BEST IN town!! the chicken curry is the best and you must try the Goreng Pisang with Ice Cream..... *slurP*

kaye

ROM date: 2 Apr 2005
Furama: $518+++ for weekends
Plaza? U mean Swissotel or Plaza Parkroyal?
Swissotel ranges from $789 or $799 to $1K+
Plaza Parkroyal from $668 I think, but less than $700 and is NETT.

kaye

oh yes, forget to tell U..next yr, they going to increase the price again...but dunno how much.
Tot U already chose Pan Pac?

ooshie

Hi hazel,
thanks for the info .
yap i already confirmed and paid dep for pan pac. i meant the ROm package actually
coz i still looking for other options for ROM

chaiyo

Hi schnauzie,

I jus went to raffles hotel webby to check the rates. 838 and subjected to all the stupid taxes. Wah .. Ex leh ...

icyicy

Hi all, wah this forum is so active! so many postings to catch up... sorry another long note pls dun mind ;p

ooshie: u decided your rom venue yet? actually u got time dun wori. ya, i was talkg abt the ROM package from grand copthorne (altho mine was at raffles ctry club). the f & b manager at GC is a very nice guy! (he is diffe fr the banquet sales, he do restaurant sales) call him to find out more: Leon Chan 9072 2127. i can forward you the pkg he sent me, your email?

ya i got in touch with ivan fr panpac, he emailed me his pkg liao... now i'm waiting for sheraton's email, cos it's cost for tables of 12, and very near mrt, seems like a gd deal. i hope it's got no pillar...

oh ya, i oso called grand copthorne banquet sales, wah that grace so irritating! she asked me how many tables i say 30-35, she say oh, the waterfront room max is 26, grand ballroom min is 35, so i think we dun hv a suitable room for u... btw 8 june is taken up anyway... wah! even if i have 40 tabels i oso wun go there ah! so arrogant!

my bs (mr & miss) actually i dunno much, i din do any reasearch, i like their photo montage the day i walk past then signed up; i was in a rush cos i wanted to find a gown for my rom, they provided me with a beautiful one, free (part of pkg), so i signed lor... come to think of it, mayb is started by incollection, i rembr seeing this name on the paper bag. turn over rate high meh? *oops* my ad in june, they said can go first appt in oct-dec, only takes 1 mth to do mtm gown wor... ginger measuring next mth liao ah? then if i go end of yr for mine very late rite? n my package oso allows me to take off the rack, then they wil give me more fotos instd...

m hotel max is 34 tables, the other room max 32 tables, i think mine betw 30-35 tables, so not very safe...

how do u find the regent's ballroom? i'm considering it cos i read abt the theme & live performance! but the distance from mrt n high cost a bit put me off leh... 758 quite high leh, got free shuttle svc from mrt or not? ;p

hazel: ya i think westin ex; merchant court ok lor, abt 698 ($2 short of 700 ;p); i oso considering holiday inn, cos i think the deco looks nice fr the photo of their ballroom... the manageress wat name? is it pauline?... n you mentioned the 2K for the pho - the package like very very comprehensive leh, 2k only meh? which photo shop?

gini: wat made u decide on intercont har? it's at the mrt and the service seems gd, so far (from over the phone). how much is the pkg?

icyicy

sorry to be wet blanket, jus a side comment - i oso went to check out furama for rom, cos they got advertise mah ... ;p we like the relaxed lounge atmos, but we din like the smoke smell n ktv at the door, so we cross the road n stumbled upon grand copthorne, their gazebo &amp; white "marquee" was real beautiful, jus great for outdoor theme n photo shoot, the lobby lookd very grand too.. leon quoted me min 20 pax, 30+++ per pax, i tot quite gd compared to some min 30 or 50 pax, jus that they dun give the free nite like furama. here's the pkg they sent me if anyone interested: <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_zip.gif

grand copthorne rom.zip (11.8 k)</td></tr></table></center>

ooshie: if urs is not a sunday (mine was so i opt out), u can book their nice veranda room (the one with tasteful furniture), i think if min expenditure was $1k they will waive off rental fee for the room, this is if u have many pple then worthwhile lor...

lywong

this thread have gone so quiet now...

Where are the past girls who used to chat here??
Come back!! Hehe..

taregal,
I'm not very sure of the customary things too..Will hand that to the elderly to guide me when the time is near..

kaye

yalor, that's the name..U spoken to her b4?
think I go &amp; dig the magazine out...just hope my mum dun throw away.. cos think she had thrown away my style wedding magazine (Thomas Ong cover pg)...the 1 I mentioned is in Her World Brides

icyicy

hazel: the pauline i only spoke to her last weekend to email me their pkg, hvnt met her yet, ok i will ask her abt changing breakfast to lunch, jus to irritate her to "chu qi" for u ;p

wah ur mum throw away ur mag must b very "xin tong"!

ooshie

Hello Bing Bing,
yeah the Regent is really nice . Considered it before booking Pan Pac but it could only take 50 tables if i had a choice maybe i will just limit myself to 50 damn! coz i really like the settings yesterday and the ballroom looked nice. They will also give a 45 min jazz trio to play during your recpetion cool right. can choose between 2 cartons or red wine or free flow of beer. i think its quite a good deal. not sure about the food but heard summer palace not bad also . got comlimentary one night stay for friends and helpers also but liked the hordes of staff during the show hehe maybe individually i not sure but as a whole it was a good experience i dun think got bus but maybe you can speak to them lor
min requirement : 25 tables (mOn - THurs)
30 tables (fri) 35 tables ( sat , sun

monday to thrus - 758 / 828 nett
friday 868 / 938 nett
sat sun 958 / 1068/ 1188

icyicy

wah ooshie u hv more than 50 tables ah???

ya i heard abt the jazz thingie, i tot it's cool! so different from every other hotel, then i heard u cld "create your own" package... i think i'll go down take a look, then if really nice, i'll book, then charter a bus so more convenient for my guests, mine is thu mah... but 758 is high for that kind of location..

actually do u gals think it's gd to charter bus for out-of-the-way places? i tot it's one service to guests, and can make most of them come earlier, cos u control the time of the shuttle. but i dunno if anyone wld take at all, n whether they will complain very crowded or wait very long etc etc, u know ppl like to complain when things r free... so it might b a waste of money in the end?

kaye

hi Bingbing,

No choice, I left it lying on the tables, so she just throw lor. cos sort of messing up the pl.
btw, Usaid Merchant court less than $700? is it for weekend?

Frankly speaking, dun think chartered is good. cos not all would be on time. They might as well take a cab fr home. more convenient. only on time when the dinner ends.

icyicy

Hi Hazel, the gal from merchant court said 698 nett for 8 course on weekday; mine not weekend so i'm not sure, think is 728 for 9 course?

but mine is thurs mah, so Maybe some ppl will take mrt, or be in town, so mayb can help la... my FH said how abt changing to weekend inst then? mor convenient for guests. i object cos it will mean more $$ for weekend banquet, then i got to extend my gown, mua, photographer etc etc, even more money! that's y i suggest to him charter bus worse come to worse, only a few hundreds compare to a few K... but ya, end time more accurate, haha, esp o weekday ;pp

summer1979

Hi snow angel,

Huang shi fu contact no: 62917244 add: 100 Jlan Sultan Plaza #04-12

Jus pay $38 ang bao can liao

Me consult him for an hr man..he write down all the gd dates for me loh..very nice guy

CHeers,summer

ooshie

Hi Bing Bing,
my AD also THursday leh!!! hehe i save alot coz my mother say if its a wedding most likely your guests will make exception if they dun want to come because its a thursday then you shoudnt even invite them. Besides thursday is like almost end of the week liao got weekend mood mah
yeah about 55 i also think abit crazy but anyway have already drawn out our guestlist min also 50
i think the price is damn reasonable leh , considering its in town and its part of the Four Seasons group. go see lah you will be impressed (i hope!)

charter? i not very sure coz your guests may not even take the charter my opinion is that if i wear nice nice i dun want to sit bus
somemore wait if they miss the shuttle, squeeze with others or too crowded, it will spoil the mood also mah but it's really up to you ... you should noe your guests kuan better
oh yah the regent also got free montage thingy so quite good

ooshie

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Bridal Boutique</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>Banquet Theme </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zen</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Little Bali</TD><TD>Balinese </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>6/6/2003</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BingBing</TD><TD>6/3/2005</TD><TD>Raffles Cclub</TD><TD>8/6/2006</TD><TD>Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>keh huier</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>2/4/2005</TD><TD>Plaza Park Ryl</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ooshie</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>22/6/2006</TD><TD>The Wedding Present </TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gini09</TD><TD>28/6/2005</TD><TD></TD><TD>23/6/2006</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Intercontinental</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Timminbuzz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>GingerCat</TD><TD>24/9/2005</TD><TD>Furama</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsSoh</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chaiyo</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>icebubbles</TD><TD>23/3/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

ooshie

Anna!
sorry missed out your posting! i have officially cancelled my package for Andrew Choi
Decided to take overseas package the photos that are i saw are full page or collage but he will give you 17 full page and 3 collage any other things you got to negotiate with him directly!
confirmed my MUA as Freddie!

summerala

Hihi Lilic...

Glad that you are joining us....I was wondering
when will we having new friends joining us.
So where will you be having your banquet??

sel

Hey lilac, we can liaise thru email [email protected]

Tingz, sentosa beaufort is nice, romantic! but my mom not quite keen, she say our relatives sure make noise if have to travel to Sentosa.Alot of logistics issues to note, like charter a bus for them etc.

ayane

Hi Racherlle,

wow, so you have opted for an outdoor wedding? so nice
)) Its beautiful!!! we hv more constraints so am having the 'conventional' hotel wedding, hai.. we hv placed a tentative booking with marriott, but hv some reservations abt the florist they use (june florist), so still thinking about it.

erm, pardon my 'suaku'ness but where is flamingo? the address says wallich street, but i hv no idea where that is *blush*

hi magical,

welcome! yah, that is the problem with kan chiong BTBs like us, haha! went to some of the bridal shows where they had very good perks, but they only apply if the wedding is in 2005 ;(

hv you started shopping for yr BS yet?

jeanng79

Hi tanel,

No worries..! Still have time la...Me kiasu ma...always like to pre-plan everything so i can shake legs later...heheh....So which are the BS u shortlisted?

Hi Marilyn,
So which venues u have in mind?

lilic

hello.. all's not decided... only starting scouting around for venue recently... but i know some hotels (ritz, conrad and pan pac - ocean ballroom) are taken already for the date i wanted - 9 dec... its so scary that pple are starting their preparation so early... i thought of doin nothing till next year but my gf pushed me... luckily she did.. erm, i shortlisted 8 for discussion with my fiance.
mandarin
hilton
intercon
regent
fullerton
pan pac
shangri la
sheraton.

any advice? hee, you should have done your homework since you booked yours liao.

summerala

wah.... the one u choose mostly are on the higher side hor...

I dunno which is good.. but I wouldn't recommend hilton, pan pacific and sheraton....

Hilton-- Have my graduation there last time.. food is average .. but friend thinks it's below average.... and the room (can't rem if it is a ballroom) has big pillars blocking my view.

Pan Pacific.. heard that the food is not really good... but perhaps it depends on individual too...

Sheraton-- the place just looks old to me..but heard ppl sayin that their food is nice..

I have been to Shangri la to attend my ex-boss's daughter 's wedding... their whole family are doctors.. and they invite lot of doctors there.. so gave me the impression that it muz be a very "high class" place.. if not they oso lose face lar... But the food there not that amazing leh... ok la.. the place looks posh..

Mandarin- seen lot of comments that the food there is nice.. but place look bit old...

summerala

Ya u mention that the date u wan is already booked for several hotels...
wow this is so ridiculous.. can't imagine there are many ppl so gan jiong like me..

acutali me oso nv tot of booking... but think will have heart pain if i dun sign up with the place during their wedding fair...

felicity

Ooshie
Thks gal. I will go check out. I am also looking at a few other bs for now - still considering Kai.

Oh so you decided to go for overseas package? Which photographer? Wow! Must be very nice...and expensive too!

ooshie

not taking the package that you see in TWP thats a freelance photographer should be good but after much consideration is quite ex! hehe
coz FH and I love phuket alot alot and i mean alot, since we make it a point to go every year, we tawt we can take our photos there while holidaying there next yr!
managed to source for a photographer while there this yr, he will be charging around 30000 baht ( about 1.5K for everything (transportation not included)
we just hope that he is good! hehe

tanel

well, i actually shortlisted margaret brides, ritz coulture....and tats abt all tat i can remember. i am most interested in margaret brides...but so far i haven found any good nor bad comments abt the bS. I am clueless on wat to look out for, wat kind of gowns i want etc. So i think i need a BS tat gives undivided attention to me and one that would be patient with me. On tat basis, i selected those BS that go by appts only. Hows ur BS services so far? any tips on what to look out for???

danlian

Hi Summer

Thanks for the contact. By the way, what else does Huang shi fu need beside me and FH DOB? Does he need the timing and parent's DOB as well?

chaiyo

Hi Ooshie,
My BS advise me to go for first appt 8mths b4 AD so its ard sep/oct. And since next yr chinese new yr is 29/30 Jan, PS will be right after CNY!

magic_alz

hi ayane!

yeah ... i guess the bridal shows are more for late wedding planners..now is still rather early la..still slightly more than a year to go..so i'm still quite relaxed... =)

but i've already put a small deposit with Bridal Zone for my wedding package..they were on for the Style Weddings show in Feb..can't wait to go n try out the gowns! =)

What abt u?

ooshie

hi chaiyo!
so your first appointment is in sep/oct?
*sigh* mine is in august seems like so long away
coz we planning to have pics before CNY just in case the overseas one dun turn out well, we can always come back and start sourcing for local shoot
now it seems i got nothing left to do now except source for AD and videography.....boring!

lilic

hee... but think i will have heart pain for parting with the money at such an early date... by the way, you gotta be very firm with your bs... my friend signed up with them and it was disaster... my gp of friends are boycotting them at all costs... din mean to upset you so pls pardon me...

trina_wys

is anyone still in this thread?

hmm.. very very quiet leh.. but i see the rest of the threads and they're quite active..

shall we spice up this thread girls??

anyone??

chaiyo

Hi Ooshie,
Wow .. Its so nice to take overseas PS. Will they be doing mag style to ur photos??
Urs is only 4mths later n mine is at least half a yr from now. Imagine gonna wait 'patiently' for soooooo long. And had accompanied fren down to BS before and so tempted to try on gowns leh!!! Haiz .. For the moment need to keep the 'fire' down. In fact FH n i is trying to keep our pace slower cos the events seems so far away ......

ooshie

hi chaiyo!
yeah its always been something i wanted to do. mag style as in photojournalism? yeah.... hopefully he does a good job. Next few months i will be patiently waiting for tiger air to come out with another phuket promo then i will quickly snap up the tiks liao hehe
actually you can just try mah , no harm at least you will know more or less what kind of gown you want.
yeah know what you mean by keep the fire down haha but can source for like decorations/ ideas/ gowns / photographer in the meantime !

lilic

wow... wun know how to start... erm, 1st before she sign the package, they told her since is MTM, she can communicate with the designer on the WG. Reality: There was so much restriction coz designer not v skilful.. my fren wanted a high collar WG (like the Ted Wu gown which evelyn tan wore)... designer came out with a cheongsam collar... the person also not knowledgeable with the fabric.. so my fren din get her ideal gown..

lilic

2nd, they told her she can choose which photographer and MUA (all in-house).. Reality: they assign her... then told her if she is not happy, she gotta look for her own outside... make up trial is done on the PS itself... if separate session, must pay.. even if you willing to pay, they tell you the MUA is busy... so my fren's PS was pretty much ruined... she hired her own photographer and MUA for AD...

lilic

3rd, for her rom, she supposed to get a OTR gown for free.. but anyway, she went to buy her own coz those gowns they showed her "cannot make it". 4th, they also promised hand bouquet for rom. she called them to arrange for the bouquet weeks before and also the day before, they forgot abt it. when the groom went to collect from them, they told him they forgot and asked him to go ROM first, they will follow shortly. in the end, the still-not-too-bad bouquet only came mins b4 the solemnisation... quite frustrating...
finally, out of the package, my fren only took the WG and EG (both MTM) and PS... she get outside ppl to do the rest (flowers, AD photo, MUA, etc) at her own costs... i think they only refund her 400bucks... can you beat that???

anyway, i also see them around plaza sing.. esp the old man.. he likes to hard sell....

must be sharper when you bargain with them...