(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi everyone!! *waves*

Hope everyone had a good weekend break.

Duffybuff ~ me still waiting for your pics. hehee....did u forget abt me? :D Have u decided which BS to visit?

Alvin ~ Glad to know you settled your BS already! At least your FW knows what she wants yah? it makes the decision making process so much easier.

Terrapin ~ alamak..poor cookies Gal!! Hope her computer is revived soon and can join us again.

jellytots ~ thanks !! I received your PM. I bet u had a good shopping trip yah? Bought anything? hehehee

jitpong ~ so you'll be making a new KUA to wear?
yah, since u can share with your sis & cousin, it's quite worth it to make one. :P hee..really value for money hor..

The rest of you guys..... ~ helloooo!!!

wow .. this thread is super active

icy .. thanks for the quote .. personally we are abit confused .. dunno where to go .. AD is planned in Oct 2005 .. tentative dates first ... kekeke .. all these are giving headaches .. so will be doing it slowly ... ;p

cookies gal .. me and my gf happens to walk past BC in marina sq .. so quite curious .. we went down to BC in bugis to see their gown .. in the end .. we went down to YC and see see look look ... kekeke .. YC having their bridal show this weekend .. shall go c c look look first before making any decisions .. guess ultimately, it's the service that matters mostlei ..

Hey all,

The Her World Brdial magazine shows tons of bridal shows coming up real soon. I agree with nanshee it's service and also convenice that matter most becos u really have to be comfortable. No point quarreling with your weddding co-orsinator.

The IT show was damn crowded but prices wise quite alright only and I reckon can get it cheaper elsewhere though. Was enjoying myself at the Food Fair instead man.

There are 4 GHA brides/bridgegroom over here. Great to see more guys joining the thread as I do believe nowadays hubbies are also interested to participate in the co-ordination of the wedding right?

Matthew

Hi Everybody!!

Glad to find a thread that is so active...lots of advice I can read. I've been officially engaged since Aug 2002 when we bought the wedding rings. But my FH did further studies and so we drag..... Finally we have just decided not to put things off anymore and now I'm looking for a banquet venue for late 2005.

Anyone going to the Rasa Sentosa show this coming Sat? I'm working and cannot go but I have signed up for the Regent one on 28th March. It will be the first show I will be going to...what should I look out for?

Icy, it will be great if you can send me some of your quotes. [email protected] (For 1, 3, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14) Then I can have some sort of comparison when I go down to the shows. Thanks in advance!

Hi fates... received your quotes.... T.Q.

Yap agree with Matthew that the Her World Mag have alot of bride show out there....

Me will be going to the Grand Plaza Parkroyal Hotel Bridal Show on 27 Mar 2004.... so anybody going... but according to them the banquet package for yr 2005 is not out yet.... so have to wait

Hi smilezzz.... yap its sales mah... so bought some clothes and shoes also.... @@ the bridal fair got what nice gowns mah....

Hi ssmilezz

hehe..it is really value for money...furthermore for 'li shi' (meaning auspicious)...those who borrow it from me to wear will have to give me 'ang pow'...so still can earn back some of the cost....hahaha...very keng...

Hi all ,

I will be going to New park hotel wedding show this coming sat .

Hi fates ,
We are from the GHA yishun . My coordinator is Dephane and make up artist is Helen .
What about yours ? you took up your package from them too ? I got my package for 3388 for MTM wedding and evening growns

Hi all ,

I will be going to New park hotel wedding show this coming sat .

Hi fates ,
We are from the GHA yishun . My coordinator is Dephane and make up artist is Helen .
What about yours ? you took up your package from them too ? I got my package for 3388 for MTM wedding and evening growns

My, we are fast!! A new achieve every 2 days.

Hi nanshee,
I will add u to the table as well.

Hi Karen,
I am not going to Rasa Sentosa cos I heard the food not so nice. I actually list one whole stuff to look out for in venue. Think u can compare the quotes first before u go there.

I will email you the quotes, you should be able to receive them in an hour time.

Hi jitpong,
how much u are renting ur relatives?? heehee

Oh Ya,
I been to Hyatt Bridal show last saturday.. it is disappointing.

hi maiden n karen,

i am also planning to hv my AD in 2005. dun think u r too slow unless u r planning to hv something v elaborate. if u r planning to hv a dinner, maybe can start scouting around for restaurant or hotel venues first. cos heard from some others that it is always better to book 1 yr in advance so that u can get ur preferred dates.

i hv booked my bridal package. hv not done anything else yet. but am quite confident that i hv enough time for everything. looking at brochures n scouting for ideas in the mean time.

Hi there!

nearly missed this new thread. I am planning for my AD to be in Dec 05 too. And have not really done anything yet. It's all abt research and feedback from everyone at this point!

But as i am not having a dinner, i'm not too worried abt the dinner venues!

hey, there's many of us at the 2005 wedding preparation thread. Join us yah?

Hi icy

Not renting out with a specific rental rates lah...hehe..not that 'gain lui'...it up to them to give me the ang pow if they would like to borrow...they may dun even give me...but for 'li shi li shi' of cos hope they will give lah...

Anyone interested in Mandarin Singapore as their banquet venue..the package is not too bad too...dunno if their is a bridal show coming up but can just call the co-ordinator for an appt.

Hey icy

Can forward me the quote for Conrad and hotel intercontinental.

Hey Everyone all there

Just an info

If you are interested with the promotional package with Pan Pac...they are fully booked till Jun 2005. So if your AD fall within this period maybe you can drop it out of your list.

Hello, i am having my AD in 2005 too!! not yet confirmed if June or Dec. may i know is the tong shu out for all of you to choose the auspicious date yet??

did anyone of you get the dates from fortune teller? is birthdate sufficient or we need tong shu too?

my new house is in SengKang, now undergoing renovation.

I am a GHA bride, now looking for AD venue. a very big concern here, should we wait for bridal show to book when there is more perks (but risk not getting the ideal date) or should we get ideal date and forgo the perks given during bridal show?

Hi jitpong.... yap interested on the Mandarin... can share some details....

Yap aware that Pan Pac if fully book till Jun 2005... but have hear feedbacks that the services and food is not good.... although the package is attractive....

Hi winnie, me too looking at those two mths (school holidays). my mil has a fren who knows this kindda stuff. so mil will pass me the suitable dates and then i can prepare myself for the booking of venue and barang barang. Think need ur birthday (both lunar and wat do u call english birthday?? solar??) also ur time of birth. Not sure how to go about using Tong shu

And to ladies in this thread, my flat is still undergoing reno in BP area. i have not booked any bridal package and currently looking for banquet venue. Think in march n april got many bridal show, but pity close to my exam dates so dun tink will be attending any. wat abt u ladies?

Hi Karen,

I will be going to Rasa Sentosa's show this coming Saturday. I just signed up this morning.
This will be my first wedding show. Just go there for fun and look at the BS.

I read from somewhere that Meritus Mandarin got lots of bookings already. I did not check with them though.

Helo josie! My coordinator is Amy, and she is from Tampines. Good also cos' nearer to my place
How about Matthew?

I just called up Pan Pac and yes most of the weekends are booked. Is the Ocean ballroom nice? Any pillars?

Yup jellytots, me going to the Grand Plaza bridal show on the 27th too. I heard the food there is nice so wanna check them out.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD> ROM</TD><TD> AD</TD><TD> Venue</TD><TD> BS</TD><TD> PS</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alvinanna</TD><TD> 3 Sep 98</TD><TD>6 Mar 05</TD><TD>Conrad Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies_gal</TD><TD> 10 Jan 04</TD><TD> 18 Jun 05</TD><TD> Raffles Hotel</TD><TD> Bridal Concept</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD> 9 Mar 04 </TD><TD> 19 Jan 05</TD><TD> ROM - china club AD - Conrad hotel</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fates</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icy </TD><TD>30 Nov 04 </TD><TD>3 Jun 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Z Wedding D'sign</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD> 20 Mar 03 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Paris de Brides </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jitpong</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>19 Feb 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>josie</TD><TD>1 Oct 03 </TD><TD> 1 Oct 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew </TD><TD> 31 May 04 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Noble House </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nanshee</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Oct 2005</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ssmilezz </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> end of Dec 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz_galaxy </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </td></tr></table>

Me too, planning to have my wedding 1st Q of 2005. Have not settle on a specific date yet. Now scouting for venue. Due to tight budget, not much choices available. So far, have been to Apollo &amp; Concorde to look at their actual day setup. The rest of the hotels are definitly out and will be looking at restuarant too. Hope to settle the venue 1st before looking at the bridal package.

Have been staying at my love nest for abt an yr liao :P.

Hi fates.... *High 5*.... but I heard that the quotes for 2005 is not out yet leh.... so sad.... maybe we should @@ each other there then... so u also still haven decided your AD huh....

Hi Icy,

Thanks for the quotes. I've cleared my account. Pls try and send me the rest. Alt email add [email protected] (this one has more space for mails like these).

Been to Mandarin (mertius) a few times in the past(years ago for school functions)and did not like the gold gold cheena feeling of the ballroom. The food was not good either...not sure whether they have improved under a new management.

Just got the quote for Beaufort, slightly prefer them to Rasa but keeping Rasa open as an option. That's why I not disappointed that I not going this sat.

I am going to Pan Pac this wednesday, can update u all.

Hi jellytots,
Pan Pac food is by Hai Tian Lou. so not too bad, just that the promotion menu not so attractive. I already made a tentative booking with them. But cant remember is ocean ballroom or pacific ballroom.

Hi fates,
think no pillars for ocean ballroom.

Hi Karen,
mail u already, i dunno if I had miss out any, sicne raffles plaza is the only one which bounced back.

Hi jellytots!
I talked to one of the coordinators, she told me just add $30/table to the 2004 price leh
Still quite affordable eh? Sure I can see you there! So now we'll go to the show and bargain for more stuffs! heheheh....

Yo Icy,
Yaloh no confirmed dates yet....will go to the geomancer one of this nights. I thinking of 12/03 next year but so far I know, Grand Corpthorne and PanPac are booked liao!

So what happen to the rest? ssmilezz you there? starz?

Hi fates,

I will be going for Grand Plaza show too. I will be having my banquet in the ballroom. My only worry is that someone can also have a banquet in the restaurant on the same day as my banquet. My guests might go to the wrong place, plus it is so much cheaper to hold in the restaurant. And also the quality of the food dunno how.

Mine will be in Jan 2005. I think I got the quotes for 2004 and I think it's ok. There's no mention from my co-ordinator that I have to wait for the 2005 quotes.

My friends told me if I book early, I pay the price for the current year in some hotels.

Heard that Grand Plaza going to renovate their old looking ballroom in April.

Grand Copthorne has a few ballrooms leh... The biggest one need minimum of 45 tables for weekend. I recently attended a wedding at Grand Copthorne with only 45 tables and the ballroom looks very empty. Service not bad, food is good.

Wow.. you people are really fast...

I just started to scout for banquet in Feb and my wedding in Jan 05, slightly less than a year...

After looking at wedding gowns designs from Europe and America, I dun really like the gown designs here.

Grand Plaza having perks like one table free for every 20 tables during their show. So basically, 1 table free for every booking cos minimum is 25, and max is 30 tables. Dunno what other perks they are going to give... Anyone any ideas?

Hi chatterbox, you are fast too... I have yet to get the keys for my love nest...

4 years ago, I have a friend who had a wonderful wedding at Orchard hotel and she prepared that for 2 years. I thought I wanted to do the same, but I didn't cos pursuing a paper overseas... At that time, Orchard hotel was one of the few hotels with a banquet team. Now they are going downhill... So I think dun book too early. One year is norm. Orchard hotel's price is lower now than a few years ago!!! I thought inflation is up, not down....

hi winnie,

i got this tong shu which my dad bought from some chinese book stores. its for dates up till 2010. n there is instructions in the front of the book that teaches u how to use the tong shu. but everything is in CHINESE. and the fonts are quite small. haha. had a hard time reading it. me not at home now. can give u the title later when i get home??

Hi Karen... can I have the quotes for Beaufort... T.Q... will drop u a PM then....

Hi icy... so u will be down this Wed to Pan Pac huh... did u book the promo package with them the $668 nett one... hear that the Ocean Ballroom ceiling is low.... u can check it out on Wed when u down... so updates us on your status when u back then....

Hi Ung... *High 5* too.... so we can date each other on the coming Grand Plaza Parkroyal show then.... I heard that the food is nice... so dun worry... much....

Hi Icy,
Think I still did not get the Hotel Intercon one only. Thanks for your help!

Hi Jellytots,
Waiting for your PM! Ehhh..BTW is there a PM function in this forum...doesn't look like there is leh...or izit I blurr??

Was interested in Grand Plaza Parkroyal at first, the pics in the wedding mags look nice but FH says he's been there before and he does not like it. Maybe he knows what I have in mind and he feels it will not be what I hope for. I was quite open-minded and even suggested Le Meridien (some ppl say inside quite grand) but he cannot accept that the outside quite 'sleazy'.

Just got the new issue of Female Brides. Flipped thru it already and think not as informative as Her World's or Style Wed's. No other new shows in it other than Z-Wedding D'sign @ Traders on 25th April.

popie u booked ur bridal package? from which bridal shop? care to share ur package? i have not started looking at bridal package. seems like so many shop to choose from and all the stuff that comes wif it.

Hi Sweet ~ welcome to the thread.
How's your wedding preparation coming along? Perhaps you can add your details and let Icy update into our info table.

Icy ~ i see u have been very busy updating the info yah?
Ma fan ni le...heheee

Karen ~ Hey, saw that u bought Female Brides. So nothing much to see? Can i save my $7 bucks? :P

Fates ~ *waves* me here me here...just reading abt all of you guys busy preparation for the dinner venue.

Eh, we really have quite a no of GHA brides/grooms here. hehee....

noticed most of you have moved into your own home!
That's fast ~ at least you can focus your time and effort on your wedding preparation.

Besides using a tong shu, have you thought abt visiting a geomancer? My colleague went to one to get her dates and she seems quite pleased with his service.

hi connie,

yes, i hv booked my bridal package from Seletar Broadway. my package consists of 2 MTM gowns, day n nite, 2 suits for FH. indoor/outdoor photo shoots, bridal car and flowers.

well, i din really hv the chance to scout around b4 i signed the package. in fact it was my FH who saw it first at SB's bridal show at suntec. he liked the price n service, then took me down to suntec to see for myself. hee. as i was quite comfortable with their service then, and found the price to b quite reasonable, i cfm my booking with them.

but i hvnt started using their svs yet. so dun hv any personal experience to speak of. you might wan to join the SB thread. there are a couple of SB brides who has used their services. they would b able to give u more accurate advises.

Fates,
Me and fiancee are under Stansiel. So far find him quite good and frinedly, very designer character. Looks like everyone is interesting to go for bridal show.

May head down to the Grand Plaza and Plaza Park Royal one too. May have a change of plans and try Orchid Country CLub as the place is simply beautiful and within budget though a bit far. Anyone is choosing there though??

Keep the thread flowing.

Matthew

Hi yellow,
could you tell me exactly which one you want? I afraid it might bust your email account.

Hi Fates,
urs is a weekend right? I think better start looking around, call and ask.. think still have other hotels.

Hi jellytots,
Ya, I heard abt the low ceiling but seemed like some people like teh exclusive area of the reception area as compared to the pacific ballroom lobby which face the road outside. I have to compremise with fh. Pacific Menu at least $850 and Ocean just $668 so we see if we can change the menu a bit so that we can still be below $800 per table at ocean ballroom.

Hi Sweet,
seemed like quite a few people wedding at oct 2005. heehee

hi ssmilezz,
No problem, easier for me too. rather than I keep asking the same question over and over again.

Hello gals thanks for the advice on the tong shu, tihnk i will hurry my uncle this weekend. my MIL has assumed a date!! and broadcasted!! argh so i better be quick to overturn if i need to!

my experience with GHA is quite ok, ROM was handled by them this Feb. designer is stansiel.

I head orchard hotel is going downhill. actually i am quite interested in Pan Pac OB promottion, else if i look at other hotels, have to take weekday liao. cos i dont want to spend too much on it.

hey ladies here,

Nice &amp; gd to start a thread for those whose AD on Dec 2005! Me also decided to hold my customary on late Dec 2005. Have booked PanPac for dinner. BS yet to. May consider Irene's Creation.

Now,I'm in the midst of engaging an ID
for my reno at Punggol21!

Anyone already pick their date tentatively or din intentionally pick the date from tongshu?

hi icy,
thanks for updating the info chart. realised that my AD is the earliest in yr 05..oh btw, can u give me yr email so that i can send u the pics?

hi ssmilezz,
of cos' did not forget u..can give me yr email?

as for BS, we've booked appt with J&amp;C bridal tomw for 1st visit. will find out what they offer..cos' realised that their gowns are pretty extraordinary so decide to chk them out.

meanwhile, i'm oso chking out ala-carte, that is meeting up separately with make-up artist, photographer &amp; designer for gown..will work out if this is better or gng for package at BS is better..so tat's y more work to do..

Female brides has lots of pics of gowns but they are the usual advertizers and this year, somehow most of the gowns look the same. lace...lace...&amp; lace, bustier gown with gathers to the side instead of centre/back, &amp; bustier gowns with see-through backs. These are basically what are 'in vogue' now, they are copied here, copied there, so we see the same everywhere. If you want ideas of beautiful gowns, try borrow Martha Stewart Weddings from the library...it's free! (TP branch always have the lastest available but I always end up buying my own copy after that coz the stuff are so beautiful!)

I want to ask if it is too early to book any bridal packages now if my AD is targeted to be late 2005. I still need time to slim down (lots more time in fact!). Will booking one early save money...like they charge you this year price?

hi matthew,
Orchid country club has a very grand &amp; big ballroom..i fall in love with their ballroom when i attended an event there 2 yrs ago..but well, the only minus pt is the location..not very convenient for guests..

hmm, not sure i still hv time to go for the show..cos' we'll definitely take another few wks to decide on which to take after gng for show in april..so by then will be May...oh no thk it'll betoo late..
moreover me is one kind tat get stress up easily so better dun wait till the last min...hahah that's why so KS booked my banquet 2 mths bk...unbelievable!

hi karen, ya agree w u...the gowns tis yr are all lace &amp; more lace..well wat to do cos' they said it's the in-thing for tis year..but i definitely can't take lace cos thk will make look real fat!

well, if u getting ROM this yr then u might as well look for a BS to make use of their free ROM package..but of cos' if u r not the kind who change yr mind easily then it's always good to chk out 1st.. no harm.
well as for me, kinda of regret that didn't take rom package from BS as i hv to spend $ looking for dress, make-up ..etc..which amount to ard $300-400.. (but of cos this is my view..it's up to u

Hi sweet.... welcome...

Hi Karen... hv try sending u a PM but cannot... pls check....

Hi Smilezz.... think dun waste the $$ to buy the bridal Mag.... I hv bought the Her World one ... nothing much... but have alot of bridal show...

Wooow got so many of us going to the Grandplaza parkroyal show.... good.... can discuss after the show on 27 Mar then....

Hi duffybuff.... dub forget to email me ur photos too.....cheers.... oh going for your 1st appointment with J&amp;C... I have friend whos gown also from there.... bery nice.... so share with us when u back from ur 1st appointment then...

Hi Jellytots

Yap i went to thread on Pan Pac and found that most of the pple who called up to enquire about the promotional package has negative feedback on the service of the co-ordinator. Seem like pple are grabbing up their package and hence they did not even bother to service them..but i thk there is still some good ones out there.

Hi Ung

I just have appt with Mandarin and they have available slot for me on my AD. Have made a tentative booking, if we can't find any other suitable offer for us, may be making a deposit ove the weekend.

Hi Karen

Can share where to buy the Martha Stewart Wedding Mag. I do agree with you that their ballroom is very cheena esp Mandarin Court but i thk belvedese is more modern.But I really like the suite and the package they offer, furthermore, planning to wear a cheongsum as my EG so i thk Mandarin is just rite for me. What i like most of Mandarin is that they have exclusive reception area for each of the ballroom so guests will not go to the wrong one.

Hi fates

From the pan pac thread, some brides commented that the Ocean Ballroom is not nice, but still you need to drop by to take a look, maybe you will like it cos different pple have different taste.

Hi duffybuff

The address is as follows:

Hong Wan
No 27 Smith Street, Tel:62233662
It is just opp the stretch of street hawker.
They have a manequin wearing a Kua in their display window and they sell most jade..so dun mistaken that you went to the wrong shop. Also dun be shaken off like i do upon seeing the display kua when my mum 1st bring me there, it look so old and ugly so different from what my aunt made there years ago. The display been there for 10 of years hence, the old look. Request to take a look at those newly made by the bride-to-be, it is very nice.

Hi Icy
Recd your quotes. Thanks.

Hi jitpong.... oh so u wear cheongsam for EG and Kua for Teadress.... so chnese chinese style huh... I have saw a beautiful cheongsam on her world mag on the Mar issue....

Me also luv cheongsam but found that must have nice and sexy fig in order to look nice on it...