(2005) Brides of year 2005

HI ladies...

We've been looking for a BS package as well now that our venue has been confirmed. Visited Seven Heaven Bridal (this small boutique in the east where I live and work), Bridal Concept opp. Bugis Junction and White Link in Suntec. Quality of gowns are actually quite comparable. I don't think I'll be visiting anymore boutiques. The packages too run about the same price. The only concern I have is that the photography component must be of the non chee-nah type. Have found an OTR WG at Seven Heaven that i like, but perhaps will have to MTM my EG, if I take up their package. The photographs that I looked at there were only so-so. Bordering on chee-nah territory. But perhaps that was the style that appealed to the couples who were photographed.

Going to White Link and Bridal Concept today to try on some of their gowns. I'm so looking forward to that! White Link was more generous in offering more pictures than Bridal Concept. But, I only get to MTM one gown insted of 2. With Bridal Concept, both gowns are MTM. I really liked the photography styles from both these boutiques. Especially White Link!

OK... I need your help. Between Bridal Concept and White Link, which BS do you prefer?? And why? Let me know, ya?? Thanks.

Sun69,

5K is very expensive lah... I'm working in the 3k zone.

Hi sasha, congrats to you too on losing weight heee...wah you still got personal trainer ah??? heee...yup! it's good motivation for you...heee...now that my mouth is better, i v scared i'll start eating alot like b4 :P then will put on v fast again oops!

my dad was suggesting the buffet in hotel rendevous...my colleague suggested hotel phoenix...both the prices i think quite reasonable haven't check yet heee..any suggestions? heee

i ordred my rom flowers from Lutte Florist at parkmall lane, the owner is v nice...got a combination of 3 white lilies with a tinge of pink and the rest white roses and wallflowers for the side deco heee...i'm thinking will the older folks mind white roses? coz i feel white goes better with my bright pink dress leh heee...the owner suggested champagne color but it dosen't seem to go heee...in fact i bought another dress electric dark blue with shimmering material..that's why i'm confused to wear that or the pink one heee but most ppl vote for the pink one heee...in any case, what do you gers think?

Thank you for comforting me...Hope I will not turn out bah in my photos...

Hi fate,
my mua is also Miki. She put flowers in all my 5 styles. A bit like those u see from taiwan magazine. Cause she says Ben loves flowers. (For me is ok with all the flowers, cause I love flowers a lot) I think with flowers look more sweet). But some may think a bit china. My veil she put for me for the outdoor shoot is not the usual way... a bit different from the usual way.. I also dun know how to describe....The makeup is natural by looking at my photo and hairdo is quite nice. I think i will use her for my AD.
For Ben, some brides in the forum say that he is quiet.. but to me he is not that quiet..He still chit-chat with us in the car. And the poses he asked me to do quite creative. (But still dun know the photos he take nice or not...cant comment on that). Not to forget the asst who went with us... Always ready to ask me and Hb whether we want water (they prepare for us), tissue, umbrella and sweets. All these they prepared for us..I never bring a single thing with me..during the outdoor shoot. Even my Hb is also impressed with their good coordination between my coordinator, photographer and makeup artist.
Yeah, I paid for all those u mentioned.
How many the styles u wore for outdoor?? I wore 2 styles.. When I was at seletar reservoir, I wore the OTR WG... and at the punggol lalang I wore the short CS... At first I thought only can have one style at outdoor..end up they say Ben ask me to wear the short CS for outdoor also.. that is why I got insect bites because I wear short CS for outdoor shoot. Until now still red and itchy...

hi ls,

what is whitelink's package like? personally, i don't like bridal concept. work with them before. it's doesn't turn out well. hired them for ROM. but i might be an isolated case.

never tried whitelink so i cannot comment.
can share with me whitelink package. i thinking of 3k also or even lower....hehe...saving money

WOW... so many posting for a few days??..
eyes cross liao.. @.@

have u gals bought xmas present for ur FHs?
haiz.. dunno what to buy leh.. can share some ideas? =P

hi joelle, thanks for the links
at least i have a better picture hee...

too much red like don't blend with the fuschia leh heee...my pink is not so bright i think..more to bright purple...hmm..i also don't know..i try to get digi cam and show you all

Nick: icy
AD: 03/06/05
Banquet Venue: Pan Pacific
BS: Z Wedding D'sign
PS Photog: -
AD Photog: i-Werks
AD Videog: Mirage Pictures
Lovenest: Pasir Ris
Renovator: Stiles
Honeymoon: Europe

morning ladies!

hey dazed.. manage to get all d neccessary contacts bak? Poor u.. I noe hw it feels to lost a hp.. haiz... dun panic.. like wat coyote says try to look thru d website for their contacts or any receipts or invoices they gave u when u pay ur deposit..

hey lynn..
enjoy urself at bangkok! haf fun hor.. unlike us here.. slogging at wrk n panicky abt wedding.. heh..

impluse...
What happened at BC?? If you don't mind telling me the story, of course...

White Link's package is about 3988 for both gowns MTM. And 3388 with only 1 gown MTM. And then there's the trail of other stuff as well... Photographs, car, decorations, etc. MUST negotiate!! Add this, drop that... Custom-make your own package, I suppose. I would suggest you visit the Kaki Bukit branch coz all most of their gowns are kept there. I wished I had done that.

Hi impulse,
I visited many PS photographers before deciding on montage studios. Basically, I visited robin, chris ling, andrew choi and montage studios. Initially, I wanted robin to take my PS and AD ... But after seeing my fiance's buddy PS album... my fiance likes eng howe's work. so we decided to look ard again. Robin is fun to work with and he can put u at ease. I have seen kelvin's and chris ling's work.. quite nice too. Personally I prefer chris ling's work to that of kelvin's. Andrew's work is nice too but he seems a little quiet. I had a hard time deciding between Chris ling and Andrew until I stepped into montage. I fall in love with his pics instantly. Very different from the other compass photographers. One of the forum girls who was with montage took her PS in new zealand.... Eng howe was the only photographer who was willing to take their pics from another mountain... that particular pic is very very nice. Besides, eng howe is very friendly and humorous. He is always smiling. So I decided to use Robin for AD photography and Montage for PS.

hi impulse

kelvin is pretty nice, i'm sure he's veri easy to work w... but most important u must lyk his style b4 u consider him... i tink is best for u to visit him at his studio, u can chit chat w him to c whether u r comfortable w him & oso c his work at e same time...

Hello impluse41,

I'll be using Kelvin fr Chris Ling Photographer for my PS. Have only met him once briefly during our visit to the studio prior to deciding on our PS Photographer. My hubby & me had sort of decided on Kelvin after looking thru his portfolio. din actually arrange to meet him, but he just came over to say "hi" coz he saw that we were alone. We chatted for a while and the impression we get was that he's a very friendly and humble guy.... wore a smile on his face throughout our entire conversation

hi LS,

i took their ROM package with made-up, hand bouquet and some photograph as momento. for the made-up on the ROM AD...too heavy...i look so old beside my husband...was quite pissed off. too late to change...make-up for studio is ok cas under strong lighting. it's not that bad.

my hair for AD is not nice. the make-up lady keep trying to rush my job so i find, overall she did a rather bad job. for PS, still okie.

hand bouquet, i want the flowers with another ribbons. they gave me the wrong ribbon...

studio photos. they took 10 shoots for me. only one is passable. but i took 2 cas husband wanted 2. out the the 2, one, the necklace is slated to one side but overrall quite ok. the other one, husband smile was so plastic. but out of the 10, these are the best....

a little bit of regret. if i can, i wouldn't go back to them.

hi little_ger,

what is robin and montage's charges like? i wanted someone good and cheap...haha like a typical singaporean....

i saw vanity has very cheap package. what do you girls think about vanity. anybody has been there?

very cheap, $1999 with OTR WG, EG, still got photography.

hi little_ger,

$3.8k for PS...sorry my heart couldn't take it...almost heart attack....

hi LS,

i menioned that i might be an isolated case cas i have been to bridal concept thread and there are many happy brides. i think what is important is communicate and be firm. if u know that certain style suit u better, better inform the MUA and photographer. i have met bridal concept photographer. he is quite friendly. and u met sally...sally was my coorindator, quite friendly but the MUA cannot....

impulse,
i think kelvin is not too bad.. quite nice too. I din choose him eventually cos my frens who were with him felt that he isnt very consistent (no offence).

hi iggy,
the quote you have for the flower is about there. i'm keen to help u but my decor partner is not up to it. so i cant pull thru for u. hey let me check my fav florist for a quote. i think they are reasonable and give good flowers. the las bouquet they did for me was so fresh that i can easily dry it nicely. how much did u pay for your banquet? what kind of decor will they give u? cos i am getting all these as part of the banquet package. i'm thinking how u can stretch what they give u for an elegant look.

hi small sis, it's never late to start prep. One of my fren who got married in '02 took only 1 month to get everything done...of cos with a gang of good buddies to help. you are never wrong on schedule so long as both of you are happy. i've done 2 catholic weddings, if need help, let me noe.

mei, r u trying to do the ang pow box? try putting some really nice laces. use shimmering paper.

Hi Elaine77,
I'll be selecting my cards this weekend and sending it for printing early next week, actually considered late already cause I've got quite a number of overseas guest. As for favours, flowers for deco, menu I'll be choosing in Jan

HI Chill1padi

Ya... nicole told me not to do anything to my hair, no cutting, perm or color to e hair cos my hair tip is very very dry.

Hi Sun96

she having this promotion where u just pay $100 for a MTM dress if more elabo design just add $15 (abt there). The dress can be use for ROM or tea dress cos the cloth length also can make a long dress.
my package can use for ROM too (she just throw in e flowers n lending me a dress) so me thinking of getting e ROM dress from the $100 promo n can use for other occassion later on or something.. right??

Hi Jenny

hi tintin..thanks for updating..

Nick: nana
AD: 12/03/05
Banquet Venue: The Fort Canning Gallery & Foyer
Solemnization: The Fort Canning Gallery & Foyer
BS: Thomson Wedding Design
PS Photog: Thomson Broadway
AD Photog: Recommended fm BS
AD Videog: Mirage Pictures
Lovenest: Tiong Bahru
Renovator: NA
Honeymoon: TBC

Hi jelly & Zoeanne,

Im very fine out here, but just very busying working & do not have time for meet up.... The next gathering on Jan 05 u gals let me know earlier ok then i that day i dun want to work
...heehee....miss u gals leh...hoho...I'm working 2 jobs now, & my home monitor is spoilt & i need to buy one soon....so at the mean time i only can reply u gals in the morning when im in the office...

anyway, thats all for the time being ...keep in touch okie...

TT... cannot keep them in the dark leh... wear nice nice go out confirm will know.

BB... think i can juz watch BC go pick u up fr my bedroom window la... then wait n see can hear ah phui's "bargaining" voice or not... hahahaha...

Grace... i dunno abt le meridian. but i think 14th is quite a good date too.

Your Highness... *curtsy*
eh... maybe can send him a surprise bouquet of flowers at his office... hahaha... sounds fun... who says only girls can receive flowers??

Dear Joelle:

No la, cant be troll la..
hehe..
Bride will always look the prettiest on wedding day!
hehe..

Dear Cookie's Gal:

My personal trainer comes from a company that has many personal trainers, not from some gym. He is one of the 3 master trainers there. It'[s $2200 for 30 sessions and $850 for 10 sessions. I took the 30 sessions one... Going 3 times a week for the past 2 weeks, when school starts, may change to 2 times a week. I stay in Tampines, so he comes over to the Tampines gym and stadium. But on Sats, i'd go down to the NUS guildhouse gym that ties in with his company. The machines there are much beta and crowd is lesser.

7th session today. Have made progress, getting fitter and stronger. But i have a lot of fats to burn off compared to u gals mah... And i never exercise, nor control my diet, so now that i do some work, the effects more obvious. Soon i'd reach a plateau and that's when things will start to get even harder! hehe.. I've always been plump my whole life! So no choice, gotta work hard! I got no self-motivation one, need a PT to help me definitely...

Dear Cinderella:

Sorry can't help much on the international buffet thingy. Almost all hotels should have it lo, so you might wanna refer to the last few pages of my wedding info file, that has the webbies of almost all the hotels in singapore, click on a few you're interested in, then see how much their buffet lunch costs. Or u might wanna share ur budget, so the rest can help too? hehe..

Also, how wld ur guests travel to the lunch venue after ur ROM? Note the opening hours too. And if they can give you a private room or a nice corner.

Looking forward to seeing ur dresses!

Hi Chill1padi

So u din get e pearl necklace yet??
but be fast cos that is really a very nice piece n u liked pearls so dun waste yr time.

dat is also a very nice WG... mmm i dun think i saw dat e last time i was at CHC

hi jen
Thank you. I just called my FH, he already got it for me liao. Probably I will get it first, in case nicole has better suggstion, then I'll sell that piece away.

hi sasha, my rom not so formal heee i'm taking cab down with my parents...after the solemnisation, will walk down slowly to the eating place, that's why i'm looking for nearby place ... budget not sure leh..i was thinking not more than $18 for each person...?

hi all ,

was soo so tired cos of my frez wedding yesterday .... she have 7 jiemei and each got S60 dollars each ...
after an hour negotiation ..really hard time man !!!:P

was soo tired and angry ..cos my hubby`s family moved into our place for two weeks cos their new place still in renovation !! They moved early morning at 3am ..cannot you think of it ...like hell for me can`t even open i eyes today
so inconsiderate and have like a zombie !

I dunno how to tahan until then
cos all of them are nite owls

hey levynn.. not a bad idea..
but he nvr send me any flowers this year leh.. yet he got flowers from me.. haiz.. world change liao.. =P

Hi cinderella

My friend tells me the buffet at Hotel Phoenix is not bad, range is okay. With your timing you should be looking at a buffet breakfast issit?

Good choice with the white flowers, I think. The pink dress will set off white bouquet very nicely. Don't think people will find fault with white flowers. You could throw in a little pink or purple fillers, if you're worried.