(2005) Brides of year 2005

Morning girls!

Thanks so much for all your advice and I absolutely AGREED with all of you here saying that seeing too much BS will only make myself CONFUSED!

princessweds13,

So far I been to Divine Couture,Ted Wu,Dang Bridal,Whitelink and Bridal Wardrobe.I had shorlist Dang and Bridal Wardrobe...tmr gng dwn to Camellia and sat is Silhouette. I had make appt with them liao....just to do a final shortlist...enough of trying gown....start to get lazy & confused!...

sharlene: prefer the name of dan dan..agree with tougei that tom sounds like human leh, a bit weird for a chinchilla.

rosalind: think there'r more new stuffs compared to the previous issue e.g. more banquet venues and florists introduced and MUA's contacts. overall rating is gd. me now waiting for the other mags to come and buy then to see

gd morning gals!

jamie
like virgo says, it all depends on how rich the FH or his family is (and how much you are earning). if they can afford it, traditional custom is for the guy's side to pay.

for my case, we share the cost of most things, but not 50/50. the engagement ring for me, definitely he paid. other than that, (reno and wedding), we just pay whatever we can, and he usually ends up paying more than me. I think my ratio is around 2/3, 1/3. He's not too fussed about who pays. Usually, whoever happens to have more $$ in bank account will pay! heehee.....

but i do think that it is something to discuss with your FH. not just for the wedding expenses, but for future joint expenses like utilities, food etc. if left unsaid...potential for unhappiness later.

ger
thanks for the updates. altho i think i won't be able to attend the wedding shows. anyone knows if ted wu's show is the same as the one he did at the fullerton show?

Her world brides is out? Must quickly buy!

Ming & Highness,

Yes Her World Brides is out i bought it yesterday this issues have gt many wedding shows,flowers & etc...heard that Style Wedding & forgot about the other magazine both coming out by this wk as well.

I only go for selective one where my BS is having a show i will go and take a look at their latest gown and take pics of it for reference u see & Marriot's show i will be going to view their wedding decor & smell the scent cause i am getting the same vendor that they have for the venue decor & scenting svc.

Rosalind & tou,
It is just the taking photos there, and some special arrangement of some special birds fly/love bird/scenary which only can be done for u if you pay for the service. :p

Still considering cos like what rokko said, it is quite pricy.

Janey,
Here is the website to the zoo/birdpark PS.
http://www.zoo.com.sg/wedding/photowithbirds.htm

sharlene: ooops paiseh... yah i think we all blur liao... thot it was first fitting... hehee.. i like mickey also... sound v cute lor

rosalind: eh i also thought the mag nothing v much leh... i finish the whole mag in one nite liao... boohoohooo.... mebbe becos i was looking for more gown designs but dun have so many lor, like what blue genie says, got more on banquet venues and florists, etc...

tou: really? hehee i go and see when i get home tonite cos mag at home... i think im going for bustier so cannot haf low back lor... but definitely duchess satin for me ;p u leh u leh?? what r u going for??

tou: r u referring to the gown with some roses at the back of it? i only saw this for Irene's Creation at the first few pg...this one rite? if yes, then i wld say its very nice, gd choice =)

Hi Stars,

I heard tat Thailand hv alot of hm deco item tat look likes those frm Molecule...best thgs is cheaper...resort style...wow, then u dun nd to go other resort liao next times...everyday living in ur own resort...kekeke

ya, I hv sign up with Amara on June...kekeke...very kan cheong...

Not yet, but will be going down to GHA on Nov with 1 of my gf...she can help me ask 4 more perks & give me some opinion...after bargaining for all the perks...will get my hb to go down & pay... :P

Hi Sweet,

I am half canto half teochew...but i like kua...kekeke...remind me of HK drama show...i heard tat Kua is the most comfortable clothes tat we wear on our AD...WG & EG stick onto our skin..making us feel very warm...

Hi Jovia,

Normally our BS package will come with a tea dress, WG & EG...

Hi Dearie,

How is ur budget like ? My photographer (CF Tien) is only $680...Some other bride oso engage Sam Photo & Yew Kwang...u can read our previous thread to get their contact...

Hi Gina,

GHA std for Golden Horse Awards...they are famous for their MTM WG & EG....they hv 2 branch...1 over at Tampines & 1 at Yishun...u must really ctrl loh if u dun wan to spend more than $5K...but if all ur picture turn out very nice...how ?

Gina, I thk ur MUA will put alot of hair spray on ur hair...so no matter how strong the wind is...ur hair will not be messy...kekeke...

Teach u gals a tip...frm my frenz who is MUA...inorder to wash away all the chemicals on our hair...wash our hair with conditioner 1st (ard 1-2 times) b4 u use shampoo...then ur hair will b smooth...if u use shampoo 1st...u will hv 2 wash a few round...

O Virgo_Jenn,
U always have good planning..
gonna buy the her world brides later..
I think the style wedding show is at amara rite?
keke.. goin wedding show seem so fun.. we gals should go together if got chance, keke..

blur, still around?
u should go for those wedding shows.. good for your wedding preparation...

Hi Tare,
Me also be wearing kua too..Dun think i will look nice in a CS too..Hee hee..heard my friend say that if we wearing a kua, we will need to go find a pair of shoes to match n not wear those normal shoes we usually will wear...

Hi gina,
Think i only be meeting Jon next weekend coz this weekends i be busy...not sure if i am signing up wif him yet as $1K is a little pricey..n do i reali need so many photos (500 or 400)on my AD? Gals, wat do u all think? Do u think 500 or more photos r too much n do we reali need that much? Coz if i dun need that much, wonder whether can i negotiate with Jon regarding the price if i wan lesser photos.. Sigh!!

Hi Dearie
When is your AD n have u confirmed yr venus, BS etc..

Sgn,

my AD is on 22nd Jan... How much I am willing to pay? Somewhere around 1k or below or something?

Dazed,
I have not seen captured moments. I am busy with hse for the moment so didn;t have much time to take a look around

Matt

Vigo_Jenn & Highness

today must go n chx out the brides maz =) think its a good idea to attend (selective ones) if we are looking for gowns ...(more for reference) ...

Hi Tare,
Thailand is reali much cheaper than deco items in Spore..managed to get some items..Hee hee :P As my hb and i like thiland alot and hope that our hm will be able to give us some sense of cosyness and feel a little like a resort when we r at hm by playing with lightings n decorative items..Hee hee juz hope that we are able to achieve that mood and feel.. :P

But still want to go away for holidays and resorts..hahaha still will want my hb to bring me to nice places..

Hi hi.

yap, think Style have more gowns designs while Female and HW have more articles.

Rokko, that day Rosalind tried on this bustier with strings criss-crossed at the back. Very classy, hor Rosalind?

I'm going for DS too but I am fretting over the back of the gown. Want something "pong" but dunno if it will look weird if front is DS then suddenly got organza springing out from the back hehe...

icy, I read in one of the featured articles in the SBO home - on the zoo and birdpark packages. They have one where they release butterflies after your solemnisation. Think that's very nice leh. Can you arrange for that too? But your photographer must be very quick to capture that scene lar.

genie, yes, that's the gown. Very nice rite? but heard that this type of design will cause the gown to be very heavy.

Hi gers!

I'm also a Jan 05 bride.. My AD is on 1st Jan 2005... Currently sourcing for AD photographer.. whh is so hard to get... esp wif a budget like mine.. I won't b having any wedding dinner.. Juz a church wedding wif lunch buffet.. heh...

Had taken my PS areadi.. but yet to get back album.. haiz.. spent quite a boom on d albums.. a bit heart pain...

but anyway.. hope everything turns out well..

Cheerios,
Celtricia

yo gals... hmm... yap our gathering cfm... but hor venue still hvn decided....

aiya jnj... pai sei i forget tat on the 17/09 i on leave leh... so wont be able to go with u lor... so sorry... we will meet there lor...

so gals any suggestion... me think of PS cos thought of gog to Spotlight to see the flowers 1st.... wat u gals think...

tou: yap, very nice. izzit? din know leh but i guess if u like it, then see whether ur bs got this kind of gown and request to try on. then u can have a feel on it to see whether its heavy and u've any difficulties walking anot..

Hi Tou2
155986.gif

I ask my friends liao... but she couldn't think of much... mainly the beaches... tot u were saying that u can pay abit extra and go places like Tioman too? I think KL got nicer building like the pyramid shopping centre and another one wif a river cutting across the shopping mall...

Pasir Gudang also has gotten a stretch of kampong style restaurants... quite unique for taking photos and not too far from Singapore...

Actually, wat do u prefer? Modern Building, Nostagic structures or nature?
155987.gif

And ya lor... think cannot have low back will choose low back wif criss-cross lor... coz look nicer than plain bustier. My coordinator also told me sometimes, low back looks nice from the back but due the 'support' problem... the front dun look very nice... so thinking to prevent those stepping incident from happening to me... I will take bustier wif criss-cross back.. since I have shortlisted an EG wif low back and halter neck... so quite okie lah..

Sharlene... I share the same view as blue genie... I prefer dan_dan too... sound more personal too...

For some idea...My first dog that is called arnold.. the 2nd dog is called bear bear and my cat is called Mau Mau... not very innovative hor... but easier to call mah...
155988.gif

Hi Gals...

Remembered the WG that Rokko tried @ SL? I was thinking of changing the back of my gown to something like that...

The front would be bustier... organza but sewed to make it looked like alot of layers... hmmm... not too sure if u noe wat I'm talking abt... but if u remember how my light blue EG looks like... something like that...

Back would be V, and wif criss cross ribbons all the way... wif the ruffles below lor...

Nice? Any suggestions?

Let's update each other which one u all going may be we can meet up as well. Me going for Orchard Hotel (9/9/04;6.30pm)& Marriot (17 Oct 04) Wedding Show.

Any of u going ?

Hi Judy

Omigod, you went to and will be going to many bridal shops! At least you're able to shortlist from the 5 shops you went to and hopefully you'll be able to make your decision after Sat.

I went to: Divine Couture, Ted Wu, Silhouette and Tan Yoong. I was already quite confused with 4 and had trouble deciding between Ted Wu and Tan Yoong! Hahha - THat's me - I'm quite indecisive sometimes

BTW, I went to this shop called Nu Ren Xiang (Lady Xiang) at Centrepoint yesterday. They have really pretty cheongsams. But quite pricey

Jelly,

so sorrie i cant join u all cos will be having lessons on fridays...think maybe must wait until my semester break in end nov then can meet up wif u all...

Will be getting the mag later... can't wait...

Anyway, Hayashi... u have selected yr gowns already? What design and cut did u go for?

Gathering for Sep2005 Brides-to-be in Sep’04

Date : 17/09/04
Venue : TBC
Time : 7pm

Confirm Attendants :

1. Jellytots
2. Audrey
3. Piggerous
4. Jnj
5. Smilemelody
6. Josie
7. Cu2nite

Not Confirm Attendants :

1. Zoeanne

welcome gers... maybe you would like to share with us who is your BS n AD venue ;)

Smiley, I brought mine at Tangs, brand is Flaunts.

celtricia, how much more is your photo topup? Remember to show us your photos ok?

haahaa yeah boy, maybe in my dreams! but I don't think so lah, cos not necessary...

managed to talk to my mum about dropping Sheratons. So most probably will settle with Carlton

Ming,

Orchard Hotel is Whitelink nt sure for Marriot yet cause the details are only ready nearer to the date but nw can register name through phone first. Its indicated in the Her World Brides and several other shows on for other hotel.

Keep me posted when u all are keenin any of them after reading the magazine.

Hi SerLi

Lucky u... think at least yr elders quite reasonable lor... can discuss one... So shld be quite okie to do away wif the unnecessary...

I happen to know some of the other gals in another thread.... and they are getting married this mth... so kan jeong for them... dunno if we will be like them hor? so scary leh... better get whatever we can do before that... otherwise, like them now... all so busie till got acne... not mei mei already mah...
156004.gif

hope so lor...

aiyo, me don't dare to think so far leh....u no need to worry lah...u have almost settled everything, not like me and it's only 9 months away...kekeke

Hi Janice and Josie

I am blur. Whose real name is Josephine and whose is Suling? Haha.. If not wrong , Janice is Suling and Josie is Josephine?? Both pretty girls...

Janice, thanks for the MUA contact

I still cannot confirm my attendance but keep me updated and see if i can attend la .. Pai seh.

hallo, i'm opening a joint account with my fiance, so we are sharing the cost for everything. but for the chinese dinner with relatives, my FIL is paying for it

anyone has any feedback on Tan Yoong gowns? is he expensive? am going to visit his shop later

Yo Yo gals!!!!!!!!!!!

Long time no c, u guys must have miss me alot?? Well, i have been really busy wif my work... went to batam resort last wkend for a getaway. My FH birthday is tomolo and have been busy getting him present for past few days..

Ming, Highness, her world brides mag thought it was out long time ago?? the red colour cover one right???

Virgo_Jenn, keep me update too on the BS shows. I m interested as well.

Alan, well, i must say u r quite "sweet" to join in this forumn cos not many guys will want to "meddle" wif "gals" stuff. hmm.. urs AD is end of this year? congrats then! do show us some photos when u finished ur PS ok??

Ming, highness, so which BS show willu be going? hmm.. seems like the mag is the latest one.. think i better go and get one soon tonight!!

my friend got a tan yoong gown...heard that they're not that friendly. but above all, her gown split on the wedding day. poor workmanship. and my friend is super super skinny...definitely not due to her putting on weight. and family were very unhappy, cos bad omen / not auspicious...

so i have been advised not to go to tan yoong...but of course, this is just one person's experience. no offence to any tan yoong brides out there!

hey dazed...
u mean fame bridal? hee.. i got it from them leh.. they say i got so many nice pics.. should do into mag style so they ask me to add more pics into it lor.. so add up ard 2k plus lor.. heh.. where got so cheap 250 have meh?

okie okie !!!

Will add you tonite pigger !

hahaha zoeanne .. ya ya me josephine lah !
kekeke ..pretty huh ...wow flying in the air now