(2005) Brides of year 2005

Catura... hehehe I have the same idea as you
kekekekkek ..... think I might try to get a tub(if my toilet is big enuff) ... more romantic yeah?

claire
i oso marrying hakka... wat trad? why must wake at 6?

icy
yaya. more $ for tour...i oso wan..i oso wan.. but cannot la.. not use to stay with them...sum more my mum say you everything oso nvr do before..everythin dunno sure get talked abt..so better stay elsewhere..

Yeah Dinah .. I have heard....Teochew has many many procedure to go thru as well.... not easy marrying into a teochew family
( no offence to the teochew)...I am a lazy person. ... dun like to follow procedure also.

Icy ... relatives are okay of cos. I guess its the kinda friends that my FH's bro bring back .... they are total strangers ... stay around till midnight and somehow you dun feel good abt them..i can always hide in the room lar... but I dun believe in making myself miserable since I am going to marry my FH... better avoid and correct this sort of thing.. I foresee impending conflicts if I stay there. Better have my own place. I am ok with my MIL ... but not having strangers in and out of the house where I live and have no control and no say.

hi Anna, For teochew, they beleive that the bride must set out before day breaks... which means you must wake up at 3 or 4 am to do your makeup and hairdo ... then wait for the groom to come etc... thats what happened to my friend lar .. depending on the day .. what is the good timing.

hi claire ... not really lah ... but then again, maybe modern times, a lot of the older traditional stuff we don't do
hehehe ...

jitpong, sorry miss out your msg. Yeah ... if the person who wore the Kua enjoys good life and you wear hers(must be pass down from family) you will enjoy good life as hers...
..Can always alter???Besides its from your aunt.. it will be unique

Catura, Claire,

Wahh you all very funny leh!! Claire, I think a tub is really GOOD idea!! I definitely want a tub too for my new house! heheh don't know when that would be though...

Hi Claire

It ok..too many posting update..something i also miss out others...can alter but it will cost about $130 - $150 since making one is $298 might as well made...hehe...but i try on her kua for few times...hopefully manage to pass some good fortune to me...kekeke...

I also born in 77...^5!!! smilezz we have another companion here...

Hi Claire

It ok..too many posting updated..sometime i also miss out others...can alter but it will cost about $130 - $150 since making one is $298 might as well made...hehe...but i try on her kua for few times...hopefully manage to pass some good fortune to me...kekeke...

I also born in 77...^5!!! smilezz we have another companion here...

So leeds got call fairy inc? How issit going?
Aiyah .. brides to be must know all these mah .. like how to make everyday life more Rrrrromantic:P ehheheh

Hi anna,
talking abt hakka, reminds me of my uncle(cousin's father) who is hakka had a affair outside, my aunt when she found out, the son already 6-7 years old.. btw my cousin by then is 20 yrs old.

jitpng - can wear her kua first thing in morning...then after tt before the ceremony change to yr own? if for superstition..solve yr dilemmna

Anne... not only hakka lar... others as well.
hehehh
hakka I heard more calculative. more cunning.... so no good
But then your FH/ my FH must be the good sheeps out of the pack of black sheeps..thats why we willing to marry them
hehehehe ....

Icy/Anna: to add to the hakka story.. I share mine. I know of this Hakka guy, (friend of mine) got married (ROM only) Wife cheated on him. Made him pay for house etc.. dinner everything set. Now the guy full of debts and no wife...

haha. tts wat my grandma say but i think any dialect oso hv lor... its how much faith you hv in yr fh...

how long hv you gals been with fh before marrying?
me 10 yrs liao...

Leeds... then note that Fairy doesnt open on Sun. Oh you will love their stuff... all very sweet ... really like the name.. very sweet sweet stuff.. irresistible.

i am totally lost after being gone fo 2.5 hrs....

i thought kua is mainly for cantonese?
my FH is a cantonese so i will be wearing kua as tea dress although i guess it doesn't matter now anymore

claire, leeds,
TUB!!! WOO very romantic! Have candles lit too.. and strawberries to snack on.. YUM!! AhAHAH! BUT hor.. make sure enough space for both of u leh.. :D

leeds,
I think to them they probably think.. VERY unlucky when we're being nice.. sure got soemthing up our sleeves! lol!

Dinah, for my story.. the hakka got cheated.
so lets relax. hehehhe

I know my bf for 6 years as common friend. got together last year. By the time we married (AD)together coming to 2 years. ..

heheh ... fates, don't tell me you are marrying into teochew family?

actually the teochews feel that for auspicious occasions like wedding, the bride should reach the groom's place by sunrise ... simply so that on her way there, she won't see anything dirty ... like a hearse or something lah

hehehe claire .. looks like this common friend thing quite common.

FH and i were also friends for about a year .. in fact when i first met him, we were both dating other people and we both put each other into that 'nope - never can happen with this person' category ... hehehe

quite funny how things turned around

Dinah! Bingo! I am marrying into a teochew family

But my FMIL is not very pantang leh...hopefully they don't ask me wake up at 3-4am... if not I really fainted...kekeke..

Woooo... Catura... caught on very fast. but tub no need so big... the squeezier .. the better

yeah ... catura... my FH knows my trick liow.. so I switch to become very poor thing kind to get my way ,... kekekeke

yes fates, i know how you feel .. hehehe ... i put my foot down too ... told my dad .. no way i am going to leave the house before sunrise ... hahahaha ...

but my mum did though, last time, when she and my dad got married, she actually went over by sunrise!

Dinah : yayay.... worse I always bicker with my FH... Imagine I even said to my friend that I will never marry this guy even if he was the last man on this earth!...retribution... never say never hehhehehe My FH turned out to be the nicest amg all my dates. When we were friends... he also going after another gal I know.. and I was with my bf (another hakka) heheheh very strange indeed...

Fate relaz....
errrr and good luck
kkekekeke

But Dinah .. you are marrying into a Hakka family .. not that bad. Your parents sure will sayang you. Problem is if your MIL are teochew... (not all though). My colleague's MIL is a teochew.. insisted on a lot of things from her (but her MIL was a mean lady to begin with). Insist must hit her head when my colleague kneel down and serve tea... etc.. wear earrings and pull her ear... My gosh .. this era also have such things.

Claire ... hehehe ... talk about retribution ... first time FH met me .. i was on my mobile phone screaming at a supplier cos i had event coming up for company and supplier making me super angry ... so i was screaming on phone ... and walking up and down and up and down ... at that time FH didn't know who i was, so he was thinking to himself that this woman is crazy ... talk until so loudly ... hahahaha ... and i used to think he very lao-tu ...hehehehe ... very not happening and so old-man, so not my type ...

sigh ... but well ... you'd never know lor .. turns out he is the best thing that has happened to me ...

me no worries abt sunrise stuff.. heehee
cantonese and hokkien.. hahaha

anyway my mum was a hokkien, so I can speak hokkien.

Clarie - that is horror story leh ... but then hor ... my parents are quite traditional on some things still though .. like during CNY, we are expected to kneel and offer the oranges to our elders while saying some nice words in teochew leh .... my poor FH has to learn to do that next time lor ....

I think it depends lah .. not really a dialect thing ... really depends on the person ... how are your fils?

Dinah ... scary rite... my heart all out for my colleague.. dunno how I survive if I was her..cos I got bad temper

Respecting elders are okay with me .. just don do all those funny things.

I guess it depends on person lor...agree with you
heheheh .. my collgeaue has a very nasty mIL .. poor thing.

My MIL quite okie... easy going and forthright.. but (a bit cunning sometimes)heheheh.. so far we are okie. u leh?

Claire ... good that you get along with your MIL ... my FMIL so far seems like an ok person ... she's very simple and quite easy going ... and sometimes a bit blur .... hehehe ... for now we get along, but we are not like super close .... we'll see how things go once i officially cross over ... hehehe

but she is very nice that much i have to say ... she's been very helpful with my getting my kebaya done up and the beaded slippers for the wedding

Hi dinah,

feel fmil cunning lor.. like dunno what she will say behind my back.. she not those will angry and scold in front of u one lor.. dunno how to describe... just feel she can be cunning lor.

hi gals.. me back fm meet... wah.. very happening this thread...

seems many gals here is 26yrs.. haha. how many yrs older is yr fh? share?

Jitpong ~ another one from 77!! :P hee....that's quite a few of us liao hor....

me pat tok 7 years...FH is Cantonese, i am a hokkein.

We have broken a record today. 3 archieved in just ONE day. My goodness.....

Yah, my friend was a teochew and i had to wake up at 3am to rush to her house to help her. Felt so tired by the end of the dinner. Can imagine how tiring it was for her. But on the bright side, cos we were so early, weather was nice for outdoor PS. heee

Just as lost with the quantity of messages as my Bridal Shop.

Jitpong,

I had visited Wedding Present and Silhouette. Quite like their things.

Dinah,

Agree with you. We got quite similar choices. Maybe you should pay jawn a visit too if we share the same ranges of Boutiques.

No worries, Gals. I guess I will spend some time and ponder over my choices.
I have more or less shortlisted to only three which include Silhouette, Jawn and Kai.

Most probably will be signing up with jawn as I really felt like a princess there. Elegant, unique and totally swept away.

Another one that offer me this feeling would be Tan Yoong, but he is way too ex.

Kai would be nice if I wanted a soft romantic gown.

Silhouette would be a closer fight with jawn, but felt more comfy with jawn gowns.

Thanks for all your help.

(Who know I may change my mind the next day.) Ha Ha Ha

ICy : High 5. Same feeling here too. My MIl always talk behind you.upfront wont say much. In addition if she wants something.. she say someone else want ...