(2005) Brides of year 2005

wah fates, u sure know quite a bit abt electronics stuff.. haha
==
well, my AD is on wkday so didn't really hv much problem booking for venue..anyway i oso kiasu lah, booked very early. it's all bcos' of the geomancer..said that only 2 dates are good for us if we want it end of monkey year..so ended up with only wkdays, no wkends dates at all!
but we are glad in a way cos' can save abit more in banquet..hehe

Halo fates...

I've not move into my lovenest at Punggol yet. We r neighbours rite? Btw, now I'm staying in the East, got any tel no for the shop anot? Did u get the F&P from them too?Eg. Loyang point(where's the exact location huh?-Iberna Electronics)

Last time, think under Punggol thread, there alot of gals got such gd deals but too lazy to go back the thread coz so many pages already....

Oh ya, anyone going for the style weddings' GlamourBasg 2004?

I already purchase the tickets, $20 per couple

here the programme: Since I also type at another threads:
Style Weddings' GlamourBash 2004
25 April 2004 12noon to 6pm
Raffles the Plaza, Raffles Ballroom Level 4

Progamme
12pm Registration
12.30pm How to Plan the Ideal wedding By Raffles Romance
12.45pm Celebrity Bridal Catwalk By Raffles Romance featuring (quite a few BS including J&C, whitelink
1.30pm Style wedding beautiful couple contest
2pm Sumptuous Buffet by Raffles the Plaza
3.30pm Presentation on Italian-Style Weddings
4pm Style wedding' designer showcase by Apsial & Lee Hwa featuring Ted Wu, federick lee, Divine and Raffles Trailor
4.30pm Result & Prize Presentation for Beautiful Couple Contest
4.40pm Result & Prize Presentation for Guessing the winners
5pm Lucky Draw

Other activities
- wedding consultation
- Travel Seminar by SA Tours
- beauty makeover by Bobby Brown
- Flowers and Gift Showcases by Stefil;s Blooms and Crafts
- free Instant wedding pictures by little lens
- photo & video classes by canon
- wine tasting workshop by MCDS
FREE goodie bags

Dress Code: Smart Casual

no one opting to buy own pte property here?

dina/icy
stay with ils..me hope not. like will hv many conflicts.. why did you gals opt to do so?

i notice quite a few of you gals hv manage to finalise the banquet venue... but how do you do so if the tong shu for 05 is only out in june 04?
me is waiting and very curious how you gals do it??

hi claire,
at least yr mother is so supportive, cares to join in scouting for rings..and yr FH is so generous..a flashy ring.. i so envious. my hb just set up his own co so i asked him not to spend unnecessary $ on the ring for me..besides we still hv to spend on preparation on AD.

oh ya, i bought my wedding bands at fairy's costs $1,500 for both..i like their design cos' it's simple and elegant. & they provide really gd service.

hi leeds,
thk the Feline rings that cutiebear described can be found in the latest issue of Style wedding mag. u can chk it out. when feline broadcasted abt tis ring, i was tempted by it but too bad ordered my rings with Fairy's. but well no regrets, i still love my rings.

hi cutiebear,
hv received the corsages pic. very nicely done. will try it out probably next 2 wks cos now busy with scouting for BS. just went to j&c last nite, so hb said shld chk out at least 2 more to do comparison..now wondering which to go?

hi icy,

where to get the tickets for the style wedding thingy?

hi anna,
me and my FH bought an EC in the east.
although i get on well with my FILs but i still think that there will bound to have confilcts

Haha duffybuff...cos me and hubby spent quite a lot of time on the new house already. So know where to get good deals loh

Hello biba! Ya my dear we gonna be neighbours
Yes I get my F&P from Iberna Electronics. Loyang Point is at Pasir Ris to be exact. Pricing is quite okay. Better than Harvey Norman, or Best but one thing to note about buying from neighbourhood shop is you must pay full. No instalments I reckon.

Hi anna! Wah pte property ar? Maybe after stayin in my punggol flat for 5 yrs then I can buy private sia. I prefer condo...

touraco
ya agree. i insist not to stay with them fmil face black black... when fh first meet me she ask him why you choose this kind of qian jing xiao jie.. but ffil is ok with it le..

fates
ya agree. pte very ex. too ex...

hi anna,

i think FILs understand tat young couple nowadays prefer to have a world of their own so they won't insist as well.

Was busy last night & this morning...shocked at the no. of posts here. It seems that many dates in late 2005 are already been snapped up, esp for those hotels with good deals...very pressurized now coz we want Sat dates...so little time!!!

It seems that many guys are mad about fishes... I was to be dragged to the Fish fair by FH last week but lucky he was busy and cannot go. Recently my room got a Chidlid tank coz my FH says his father always fiddle his tank so set one in my room.

Hi Icy,
Hope that you will be alright soon.

Hi Icy,

I heard the cost for soon hock and groupa are abt the same .. but soon hock tends to be bigger.. so better than Groupa.(all these are consider good fish) Groupa got many kinds.. got spotted etc... i dun know which is better.. between black and red.. but I know all these fish must be steamed or else value drop.

Dinah/icy: thats nice. I will not be staying with my FIL... but in few years time.. I guess my MIL might shift over and stay with us. Meantime my FH and I wanted to be with each other for a while. Just to learn to accomodate each other first then babies and in laws.

Duffybuff... your hb is his own boss
Next time when he make it big .. he will buy you many more
Besides, I am sure your fairy inc's bands must be very nice.
Fairy has all the nice designs. Their services are really good(AGREE!!!) too bad I have no idea what I wanted and my ROM is approaching... so I prefer to buy off -the -shelf.

My mummy can be very cute at timeS
hehehheh .. you can say she is supportive.. other times you might find her intrusive and annoying... so depends how you look at it

i dun go by tong shu as my elders are not so particular wif this. They say as long as we like, any day will do. So I fixed a date which my HB & I prefer.Already fixed & they don't seem to object too.

I have the Lunar Calender for 2005 in pdf format. If you want I can send it out. I will also try to figure out how to attach the file here so it's more convenient.

Hi Claire, Dinah and Anna!

Welcome! *waves* I think our thread is one of the most happening and lively threads at SB forum now.

Hi Matthew,
Usu it's the ladies who are more concerned about weight loss before their AD. Hard to find guys who will take initiative to lose weight. So how much are you planning to lose? Or are you more interested in toning actually?

For cost of reno, it really depends on (1) your flat size (2) resale/new (3) ID or contractor (4) amount of carpentry works (5) materials used. You can really save a lot if you minimise the amount of carpentry you have. It's cheaper to buy furniture (eg wardrobe, bookshelves) instead of getting the ID to do it for you. But of course, the trade-off is that it may not be so sleek/there are odd gaps...

Hi jitpong,
Thanks... I am thinking of making my kua so that I can wear it for my PS is this year. But I also don't want to make it too soon coz I'm afraid the fitting may be wrong since I'm still losing weight. Haiz... *shang nao jin*

Hi Karen,
You must choose your exercise carefully then coz of your health condition.
Basically for weight loss, you need both cardio (aerobic) and toning type (anaerobic) exercises.

Toning exercises build/firm up muscles and the more muscles you have, the more calories you will burn when your body is at rest (ie, reduce chance of adding more fats to your body). Also, you will look slimmer coz muscles are more compact than fats. However, if you don't do the cardio (eg running/walking/swimming/cycling), you don't have an opportunity to increase your heart rate. This means that the body doesn't have a chance to use the fats in our bodies as an energy source. (The body starts to use fats as energy source only abt 30 min into a cardio workout.) This effect will last even after the workout - so you are continuing to burn fats after exercising.

In short, the weight-loss may be slow without cardio exercises coz (1) muscles are heavier than fats (2) cardio helps increase the rate at which you use those fats Also, the good thing about cardio is that your heart becomes stronger and you will build up stamina which is not achievable if you do purely toning exercises.

Hi Jellytots,
My lovenest will be in Sembawang... eh, looks like none of you are staying in the north after marriage.
Yah lor, wonder what is fascination that guys have with aquatic creatures... My hubby likes terrapins (quite obvious right?). He has 4 of them and we have even put in some thought onto how to make their new home more posh. I told my hubby that I don't mind doing a bit more housework provided he promise to take care of his terrapins when we shift to the new place. I don't mind feeding them but I don't dare to touch them, so I refuse to help him clean up...

Hi fates,
Saw that you have posted sth at the M hotel thread... My hubby and I have posted our feedback on M hotel at that thread before. Maybe you want to take a look at it?

hi anna,
well i hv no choice cos' my hb's hse is in his name so we can't apply flat..his is pte ppty. so got to stay w ils. but so far i hv no problem getting along w them so hope things will be alright when move it.

ahh! just had a slight argument w hb..sigh just dun understand..me trying to fix appt w BS on wkend, he said do it on wkdays.. cos' he wants to rest on wkends! But wkends are the only days we can afford to visit at least 2 BS! so upset.

sorry hor, complain abit here..will be fine in a while.

Hi everyone.... this thread is too hot and fast moving still hvn finish reading.... and hv already archive today already.... will catch up with u guys.... but please slow down abit lah.... me bery slow leh.... need time to digest all your post leh....

Hi claire,
Unfortunately I didnt get mine in Sydney!!
Arranged for my BS in SG before leaving last Dec..

My mum's the same! But u know.. it's a blessing to have such mums! :D at least she cares enough to bother

Hi cutiebear,
I DONT KNOW AR... arghh.. :D I got the white flowers and pink ribbons.. The flowers look messy.. YES lucky I only got 1 set to try! ahahah! Will undo it and resew again

Hi duffybuff,
Is J&C the one in opp central mall? My friend did hers there and she was full of praise for them!

hi cookiegals,
if u r taking bridal package from BS, they shld be able to throw in kua for u at no cost right?
unless u taking ala-carte not BS package..

Catura ... agree with you, its a blessing to have her guidance, I wont be so so lost.... so I tend to think in that manner whenever my mum makes me angry ... hhahhahah .... but knowing her ..at times I can make her see my point of view.. other times I give in lor
hehehhe

yah duffy,

me and my FH quarrels over the details as well such as the number of guests to invite, the venue etc...there's this point when i even tell him that we might as well don't get married.

hi cookiesgal! Ya saw your comments on M hotel. So what makes you finally decide on Raffles?

Hi jellytots...this thread moves v fast hor?! I was lost earlier too! How's everything going for you?

Hi biba & touraco!

Hi duffybuff,

Yup, BS does provide Kua FOC, but I'm toying with the idea of making one to keep for my own lah...

Don't worry abt too much abt the argument. Maybe need to give FH time to get used to it the change in lifestyle? Personally, it took me some time to get used to burning all my weekends becoz of wedding planning.

Hi icy,
Why staying with PILs permanently? btw, take care of yourself yah?

As for fish, Red Garoupa is considered better than soon hock/sea bass/marble goby. But it's not the most expensive fish available for banquet.

Oh yah, I was wondering, how come no one here is looking at Divine? I saw their gowns in this month's Female Brides and they are really really lovely!

Aiyo touraco.....both of you very fiery hor? Try not to quarrel lah.....preparation for our big day is suppose to be enjoyable and fun so take it easy ya? If it's too stressful for both of you, why not have a coordinator? Just a thought....

One question - Normally for wedding dinner, a few tables will be given to the bride's side isit? And the bride's mother get to keep the ang pao $?? How about the ang pao from the grooms' side? *blur*

you gals hv any contacts for a gd seamstress for cheongsam? any pics for samples?

cookies gal -
mtm kua very ex le.. can try house of etiquette. but must prepare to pay 5k i think...

fates -
ya usually brides side can request as many tables and keep the an pow plus can ask fro pin jing. in my case, my parents din wan pin jin and oso the ang pow fm my side say i keep so i give to ffil to offset his banquet cost...

hi girls ... sorry had to drop off for a lunch meeting.

fates - i have heard of 8 treasures tea but not soup ... heheh e... what's it like? maybe i should ask hyatt to give me something really exotic naming ... hahaha

anna - well staying with fils was really an easy decision. FH's dad passed away two years ago and fmil still tends to get a bit upset and lonely ... there is a fsil ... but eventually she will also get married and move out .. so end day fmil will still stay with us, whether or not i move in there or not ... but since they are currently living in a house in east coast, and FH is already more or less supporting the house and fmil, it didn't make financial sense to us to look for another place ... so becuase of all these reasons, am going to be moving in

Wah touraco! You and your FH are a loving quarrelling couple eh!
Don't quarrel too much....later make it a habit! Hee...

Hi anna! So good ar? Is banquet dinner normally settle by the Groom's parents side? What's the tradition or correct way? We intend to foot our own bill leh......

Hi fates,

Raffles because:
(1) We wanted something at the Marina/Suntec area coz it would be near our church. More convenient for us on the AD.

(2)It was one of the few places who can accomodate the number of tables (<25) that hubby and I are looking at. We simply don't have that many friends and relatives to invite for the banquet!

(3) We both love the look and feel of the Raffles Ballroom. It's really us! I'm also impressed by the decor that they are capable of.

You can say that, after we viewed the Raffles Ballroom, there was really no need to look at other places at all.

For wedding dinner, the tables given to the bride's side actually forms part of the "pin jing" that the groom's family gives (that's why the bride's parents gets to keep the ang paos for these tables). Correspondingly, the amount of ang pao that the groom gives your family on the Guo Da Li day is just for significance, therefore it need not be so much.

Hi claire,

WOW! Lazare diamonds are so nice!! Even a small one really really sparkles!!

Hi Catura,

You so fast ehh... Already started working on the corsage? Cutiebear said its very easy.... Let me know if you have any luck. I also not very confident of my sewing skills.

Dinah ~ alamak...my FH also has a thermometer for his fishie. He complained that due to the wet/rainy weather lately, the water is too cold for his fish. :P

haha..try not to snack too much before bed time. can be rather unhealthy. Got to wean yourselves from this snacking habit. heheee....

Icy ~ your MIL quite kia su yah? maybe she wants to have enuff time to dress up lar.....*scratches head* Give and take ok? No choice ba..

oh dear....u arh...trying to climb a tree....i bet your FH felt really bad hor..cos it was his weight that crushed you. :P

and HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!!
*hugz*

Karen ~ guess wat? I was erm..dragged to the fish show last Sat. It was really quite boring. But nevermind lar..as long as he feels happy admiring all the fishies..i can close two eyes and give in. :P

fates ~ yah..no sharksfin also good. Save the fishies!!! 8 treasures soup? like those ba bao cha? (8 treasures tea?). Wonder if it's good.

Anna ~ i'm staying with my FILs &amp; FSIL. But probably not permanantly, cos his parents actually prefers us to stay on our own. Although, i like his mom's cooking, i think moving out would be good next time else i wil be eating and eating. Plus they are cantonese, and FMIL boils very good soup. :P~~~~

Duffybuff ~ okie..u go check out TWP and see how it goes yah? my colleague like quite keen on them. She said the guy who served them (not the designer) was quite helpful and allowed her to try 5-6 gowns.

Biba ~ hello!
Nice to meet you!!

anna ... lucky you! FH and i are having to pay for everything on our own .... so we're scrimping and saving and budgeting like mad

ssmilezz

yes i know ... very horribly bad habit ... slowly lah .. one baby step at a time

what type of fish does your FH keep?

leeds,
I got nothing better to do mah.. :D I bet u have better luck than me.. NO ONE can be as ben shou ben jiao as me.. lol!

claire,
What would we do w/o out mothers right? :D

U settled BS then wat about your banquet?

Dinah, I know how you feel... same thing with me and my FH.... just now wanted to go out for dinner tonight, he said no money and must save for the wed prep, house reno and future expenditure. He commented if not nec dun always eat out.... So sad

Hi anna

I noe of a shop that MTM kua for only $298. They made those traditional kua different from House of etiquette. HOE's kua skirt do not have folded slabs on both side of the skirt which in chinese means 'bai zhi chian sun'...and at the bottom it has all those hanging thread (dunno how to describe it) called 'shui' in cantonese mean water and in turn mean $$$.

I will be living with my ILs too for few years before my new flat is ready

Hi cookies gal

Wow like that very difficult cos they are no like BS got final fitting before AD leh...guess you have to be more hardworking in maintaing your shape after the Kua being made...if not you made it but not included in your PS very sa yang leh..

Hi Queenie

Do visit The Wedding Present and Silouette, their gowns very nice.

catura:D agree.

My AD is at Sheraton on 2 Jan o5. settled already. now busy preparing for my coming ROM . On 22 May 04 (sat). One action item will be to buy wedding bands. Not settled yet. ROM gown, not settled yet. Reception after ROM, not decided yet... hehehehehh ...

hehehe ...join the club claire ... we've been on our austerity drive for a while now ... he started sometime last year because he said he had to save to buy the ring ... hehehehe

aiyah, but ok lah. i am quite happy to stay in also ... after a while, cannot decide what to eat when eating out ... at least at home, either at my place or at fils, food is quite good

anyway look on the bright side, outside food has a lot of additives .. which is not good for health ... and not good due to likely weight gains ... hehehehe ... so eat home, healthier

fates
yup its foot by groom side. lucky his father traditional type will bear the cost if loss. if sharing suggest you can talk to yr mum abt it and ask her not to request table since it will be fm her daughter's pocket anyway??? for my case my mum say dun wan to sell daughter so no pin jin..,

dinah
oh we oso scrimping le.. but only for the bs, photo, church, reno, furnishings and appliances which we hv to foot ourselves. we hv kind of wked out a scary budget...
dinah - you lucky too...staying in a house!!! nice///

smilez - you hv gd relationship with ils gd le... me not so fantastic. communication prob.

cookies - raffles? tts ex? isit?

Hi smilezz.... T.Q. for ur explaination on PS.... hee hee....

Hi Dinah... me also got alot of tables but not much as u lah.... however me budget also bery tight ur table is too xpensive for me.... me looking abt less than $750 nett one leh... so got any lobang....

Hi Mat.... aiyo guys is like that.... fishes, birds.... well lucky my FH dun like pets.... he a comic guy... like to read comics only... hee hee

Hi jitpong.... thanks for ur updates... so u making kua.... ok not "huang nian po" is modern housewife lah....

Hi Claire.... so where urs new home huh..... near to JP.... wow hope we are near near to each other so next time can meet up to discuss wedding preparation....

Hi Dinah... wow doing alot of research huh.... so remember to share some good deals with us then... hee hee

Hi fates *High 5* me also bery lost... so trying to catch up....

Wow really got lots of guys.... like fishes.... thats why ladies like majong.... rite????

Hi icy... yap u are rite... hv to wait for the AD then can proceed on.... hee hee will be going this weekend... so will update u next week for the date if i manage to get.... so remember to cross fingers for me... T.Q.
Opss... smilezz u also dun forget to cross ur toes and eys too...

Hi queeenie... everyone is lost... dun worry... really must choose one of the BS that u most comfortable with also not forgetting the best bargin out of it lah...

Hi josie... when will u be going down to Concorde... update if u got any quotes

Hi fates... so where u being to Traders can share some with me....

Hi biba... i have one but is at Jurong... if u one drop me a PM... oh after seeing the later post... think u hv alot of contacts.... so if u still need mine just tell me...

Hi cookiesgal... can i have the calendar... T.Q

Hi fates... see the amt of words I put in here u shld knw that Im catching up with u all lah.... 3

Phew... finally finish reading... I guess got miss out alot alot of things... cos I really scan through the post....

oh... me will be on leave tomorrow till monday.... I think when i back next tues will hv alot alot of things to catch up... so guys please slow down can....

Me will be celebrating my 1st yr ROM... hee hee

Clarie,
EH!! Your ROM is so close and yet everything u settled is for your AD? ahahah!

My ROM was so long ago I can hardly remember :D I had my reception by the beach
Was really romantic that I remember :D

hi anna ...

sigh .. i think the saving part is something that all of us have to go through ... hehehe

yeah ... staying in house quite good ... cos our room will be on level 3, fmil and fsil are on level 2 ... so we do get our privacy ... but can you imagine the cleaning? hehehehe

Hey all,

One morning and got so many postings. Very hard to keep up with everyone man. At last, got people staying in the East. To have occasional tiffs are very common during wedding preparations but you will learn to give and take. But most of the time, the guys will try to give in. :> Everyone will be busy this coming weeks with their wedding shows and I may just pop into a few to look see or something. Will be finalising the AD by these 2 weeks, hopefully can get one I want.

Cookie_gal,
Will be looking to reduce around 10 kg before my PS. Putting on too much weight during studies overseas though.

Keep the threads flowing.

Matthew

hi jellytots ...

enjoy your break ... not sure if we'll slow down or not ... heheheh

i'll be happy to share whatever things i find out with everyone ... that way everyone benefits ... heheheh

hotel dinner side .. hmmm ...can ask around lah, you're looking at weekday or weekend?