(2005) Brides of year 2005

decimal

good morning vela, ger
293733.gif

little_a

vela,
yesterday just requested for minimal changes to the WG.. EG and CS not done yet.. EG fitting 2nd week of July
CS waiting for dang to call..

i will be taking my PS on 25 Jul ..

blue_genie

hello!

cinderella: i have a checklist of what the co-ordinators have to do for the night. do u want me to email u? if yes, leave ur addy here. i will send to u shortly.

basically, what vivian mentioned is almost the duties for the co-ordinators have to take care for night.

yuki: thks. it will soon be ur turn, enjoy! (^_^)

novel: sad to hear that ur PM figurine is stolen. for me, 2 baskets that i borrowed from one of my gal friend for the rose petals shower for my march in are missing...dunno how to explain to my friend, guess the kids saw the baskets pretty therefore took home *sobs*

yuki_ko

Hi Evonne

I juz saw yr AD pics on Multiply... they are absolutely lovely... very well taken... who's yr photographer? U & yr hubby are very compatible looking... all the best to the many years ahead...

Thanks for sharing yr pics...

Hi Genie

Ya lor... kinda scary now... keep thinking wat's missing... oops... did I miss out something... Few days before when I tried to use one of my guest book signatory pen then I realise the ink has dried up already... luckily realised earlier... otherwise, so embrassing... guests wanna sign on guest book but no ink... hopefully, everything else go smoothly...

chanol

Halo gals, Its Fri so I guess the thread will go slow today...

Caitlyn, thanks for sharing the fotos..very nice boxes n wrist corsage. Now I know the size of the flowers u bought... =)

watashi, yeah yeah..hope tat I'm really recharged when I report work on my 1st day..haha.. My MTM was completed alr. Sorry, I can't share wif u the silicon bra cos my gowns dun required them...

halo winnie, yeap I'm finally in here again...do enjoy ur PS next wk.. =P

jellytots77

yo ger/vela... tks.... okie i will see how... u all so wonderfully... *muaks* *muaks*

anyway ladies... i do my photo selection liao... spent a bomb... kekeke

panggou

Hi gals, yeap the rain just goes on and on....

looking foward to sat and sunday!!

lots of activities!!

chanol, oh yours completed?? so fast!! when is your first day of work?

Daphne, ohh is it becos it is outdoor venue?

tou2

Hi gals.

Thanks for sending me your emcee scripts. Really appreciate it

I am still very very busy with work leh. Have to die die settle the seating arrangements by Sunday. I'll be going for final fitting tomolo, facial, hair colour, collect Mum's gowns... very very busy day :0

Yar, very scary. Very worried that I missed something important out. Haven even done the thank you speech yet. Luckily one of my other Jie meis stepped in to be emcee. It's really this times when you see the true colours of friends - how much they are willing to stand out for you.

Hi Evonne, I think I saw an email from Multiply but got no time to see
Will look at your mei mei pics tonight
Thanks for sharing.

jellytots77

WOW WOW WOW... one day nbr come in so many post... jelly read until blur...

yo anne... care to share the contact of wine with me and wat is the price range like...

yo jnj... yap my AD might be over already... then relax and gog for my HM... then see u all gog to get married... hahaha...

yo zoe... ya lor... cos my MIL said dun1 7th mth mah... then hor... if is 8yue i bery rush... haizzzz... then bo bian is nxt mth liao... so gog to print my cards in SG lor... food tasting on the 23/07 liao... u leh

hahahaha... no blame u lah... maybe organise one in Jul lor... but must tell me earlier hor... cos i busy liao... wonder how JOSL... wedding coming liao...

yo meh... i will be choosing hi-tech... cos no time to bring them into JB and hv to settle them 1st/2nd wk of Jul'05... sob sob

yo smile... got any recommendation of wine... maybe can all order in bulk to get a better rate...

yo cher... welcome welcome... finally see u here... hahahaha... lamp... think all standard bery obit one lor...

yo ladies... went for my photo selection yday... spent $2.5k extra for my pix... sob sob... now super broke

cottoncandy

hi wendy

my GDL on 17th Sep
1 day before yours
where are your parents' place? if not too far, probably we can pool our purchases together...

cookies_gal

I’m back from my wedding!

It was simply beautiful and worth all the hard work and time that my husband and I put in to prepare for it. Even till today, I am still replaying it in my head and savoring all my memories of this special day.
kao_love.gif

When we both woke up to a wet Saturday morning (it was drizzling at my place up north and pouring & thundering at his place in the east), we were both definitely feeling apprehensive. But thank God – that was all the rain we had last Saturday! Traffic up and down the SLE/CTE was smooth that Saturday morning so we spent much less time on the road than we had catered for. This gave us some extra time to take more photos with our families. My own relatives were very supportive that day – quite a number of them were at my parents’ place by 7.30am just to see the groom come at about 8am to fetch me to his parents place!

The tea ceremonies in the morning took faster than we expected so there were lots of time in-between for our helpers and us to grab a bite and rest. We used Four Seasons for the mini-buffet lunch at my mum’s place. The caterer was slightly late but the food was delicious and the portions extremely generous.

Something else to share, I hired a bus from Bus Plus to ferry my jiemeis, xiongdis, photographer & videographer around in the morning. The feedback we got was that it was a very comfortable and unique experience. This way, our xiongdis didn’t have to tire themselves out driving. It’s quite cool too as the bus would display the word “WEDDING” on its LCD display board. As it was a 17-seater, we used the bus to fetch some of my relatives who don’t drive to church after the tea ceremony. I was quite touched by my relatives’ enthusiasm in attending all of aspects of my wedding – even the church service – even though they are non-believers. Felt so loved by everyone that day.

Now the most significant part of the day - the Holy Matrimony.

Talking about this, I’m really glad we opted for a full service. The turnout was tremendous – there were about 400 guests – and a large number of them turned up just to be witnesses to our marriage. St Andrew’s has 25 rows of pews and when I arrived at the doorstep, I saw all 25 rows filled with guests. My pageboy looked so solemn and focused on carrying the ring pillow properly that it was such an adorable sight. Anyhow, words simply cannot describe the feelings in me as I marched in holding my father’s arm to the sound of Pachelbel’s Canon in D.

I must say that the church ladies really did a fantastic job with the flowers. All our guests, especially the elderly folk, loved the red & white theme I picked for church that day. For the flower stands, they used roses, carnations, orchids and eustomas. For the pews, roses and carnations were used. Our church bulletin covers had red roses with baby’s breath on them. I had also requested Lavish Dine Catering to use a red and white theme for fresh flower arrangements for the reception table and tea reception – they used roses and gladiolas in their arrangements. For my hand bouquet, it was a cascade arrangement with red roses and white lilies. To soften the look slightly, I gave my flowergirls 2 stalks of pink gerberas each to carry in lieu of flower baskets. Hehe…come to think of it, even the pastors conducting the ceremony and children’s choir who sang in our service were wearing red and white.

For the tea reception, we had feedback that the food was delicious and that there the portions were more than sufficient. Only downside was that the caterer started setting up late – at about 1pm instead of 12noon as promised so they were still not completely ready when the service ended at about 3pm. Hubby and I give their laksa, swedish meatballs and satay the thumbs up! Being the foodies that we are, hubby and I sat down to eat at about 4pm when most of the guests had left. I think it helped that both of us continually kept our stomachs full the whole day, because I didn’t feel faint at all that day.

By the time we left church and went back to the suite, I just had sufficient time to remove my make-up and wash my hair before the MUA came. I strongly recommend brides to go down to the reception to mingle with your guests. For myself, I managed to take pics with my relatives and my parents’ guests as well as chat with my friends who came early.

The banquet was a success – with gorgeous décor, great food (we served cod fish which tasted wonderful even when it was re-heated for our supper), and impeccable service. It was everything that we expected of a wedding at Raffles and more. We even manage to get a relatively early start at 8.25pm and the banquet ended at about 10.45pm. Thankfully, my husband’s colleagues let him off that night – he only had to drink ¼ glass of beer. Also, we were quite glad that our alcohol estimate was spot on (when we signed up, we didn’t even bother negotiating for corkage waiver!). The only additional charge we had for alcohol was for 1 glass of stout, we didn’t even exceed the 30L barrel of beer and 23 bottles of house wine that we got as part of our package.

Looking back, I must say I am a really blessed bride to have had such a lovely wedding. All through the last 1.5 years of wedding prep, my husband was always beside me, working together with me to create this beautiful and special day. In addition, I didn’t have any major disagreements with my own parents over wedding issues even though they are non-believers. They even gave us a wonderful present that day – my parents gave us all the ang paos they received for their share of the banquet tables!

Now, I am just so looking forward to my honeymoon. When we return, our photos and video should be ready, and I will throw a party at our lovenest for all my helpers.

cookies_gal

velazo

You must be wondering how come I'm still here in S'pore.

Well, my HM package with SA got cancelled coz they couldn't form a group. Hubby and I quite disappointed with the way they handled it.

Anyhow, I was scrambling around looking for alternatives when they called to inform me that the tour was cancelled. Luckily, Chan Bros has a confirmed 15+1D tour to Europe departing early Jul. So we quickly went to settle the tour over the weekend (about 2 weeks before my AD!) Luckily, we weren't so busy with wedding preps then. *phew*

jelly
Thanks for recommending me Michelle. Went to do my nails at PINC on Friday. Like her work!

cookies_gal

I’m back from my wedding!

It was simply beautiful and worth all the hard work and time that my husband and I put in to prepare for it. Even till today, I am still replaying it in my head and savoring all my memories of this special day.
kao_love.gif

When we both woke up to a wet Saturday morning (it was drizzling at my place up north and pouring & thundering at his place in the east), we were both definitely feeling apprehensive. But thank God – that was all the rain we had last Saturday! Traffic up and down the SLE/CTE was smooth that Saturday morning so we spent much less time on the road than we had catered for. This gave us some extra time to take more photos with our families. My own relatives were very supportive that day – quite a number of them were at my parents’ place by 7.30am just to see the groom come at about 8am to fetch me to his parents place!

The tea ceremonies in the morning took faster than we expected so there were lots of time in-between for our helpers and us to grab a bite and rest. We used Four Seasons for the mini-buffet lunch at my mum’s place. The caterer was slightly late but the food was delicious and the portions extremely generous.

Something else to share, I hired a bus from Bus Plus to ferry my jiemeis, xiongdis, photographer & videographer around in the morning. The feedback we got was that it was a very comfortable and unique experience. This way, our xiongdis didn’t have to tire themselves out driving. It’s quite cool too as the bus would display the word “WEDDING” on its LCD display board. As it was a 17-seater, we used the bus to fetch some of my relatives who don’t drive to church after the tea ceremony. I was quite touched by my relatives’ enthusiasm in attending all of aspects of my wedding – even the church service – even though they are non-believers. Felt so loved by everyone that day.

Now the most significant part of the day - the Holy Matrimony.

Talking about this, I’m really glad we opted for a full service. The turnout was tremendous – there were about 400 guests – and a large number of them turned up just to be witnesses to our marriage. St Andrew’s has 25 rows of pews and when I arrived at the doorstep, I saw all 25 rows filled with guests. My pageboy looked so solemn and focused on carrying the ring pillow properly that it was such an adorable sight. Anyhow, words simply cannot describe the feelings in me as I marched in holding my father’s arm to the sound of Pachelbel’s Canon in D.

I must say that the church ladies really did a fantastic job with the flowers. All our guests, especially the elderly folk, loved the red & white theme I picked for church that day. For the flower stands, they used roses, carnations, orchids and eustomas. For the pews, roses and carnations were used. Our church bulletin covers had red roses with baby’s breath on them. I had also requested Lavish Dine Catering to use a red and white theme for fresh flower arrangements for the reception table and tea reception – they used roses and gladiolas in their arrangements. For my hand bouquet, it was a cascade arrangement with red roses and white lilies. To soften the look slightly, I gave my flowergirls 2 stalks of pink gerberas each to carry in lieu of flower baskets. Hehe…come to think of it, even the pastors conducting the ceremony and children’s choir who sang in our service were wearing red and white.

For the tea reception, we had feedback that the food was delicious and that there the portions were more than sufficient. Only downside was that the caterer started setting up late – at about 1pm instead of 12noon as promised so they were still not completely ready when the service ended at about 3pm. Hubby and I give their laksa, swedish meatballs and satay the thumbs up! Being the foodies that we are, hubby and I sat down to eat at about 4pm when most of the guests had left. I think it helped that both of us continually kept our stomachs full the whole day, because I didn’t feel faint at all that day.

By the time we left church and went back to the suite, I just had sufficient time to remove my make-up and wash my hair before the MUA came. I strongly recommend brides to go down to the reception to mingle with your guests. For myself, I managed to take pics with my relatives and my parents’ guests as well as chat with my friends who came early.

The banquet was a success – with gorgeous décor, great food (we served cod fish which tasted wonderful even when it was re-heated for our supper), and impeccable service. It was everything that we expected of a wedding at Raffles and more. We even manage to get a relatively early start at 8.25pm and the banquet ended at about 10.45pm. Thankfully, my husband’s colleagues let him off that night – he only had to drink ¼ glass of beer. Also, we were quite glad that our alcohol estimate was spot on (when we signed up, we didn’t even bother negotiating for corkage waiver!). The only additional charge we had for alcohol was for 1 glass of stout, we didn’t even exceed the 30L barrel of beer and 23 bottles of house wine that we got as part of our package.

For music, we used Jonathan Cain’s Bridal March for the 1st march-in and Come What May (Ewan McGregor & Nicole Kidman) for the 2nd march-in/Champange Pouring. For the photo-montage, we used Steven Chapman’s I Will Be Here & This Is The Day by Scott Wesley Brown. Our guests were served their first dish accompanied by the piece Summon The Heroes (1996 Atlanta Olympic Theme Song) – I selected it partly as a tribute to the heroes that night, the waiters and waitresses.

Looking back, I must say I am a really blessed bride to have had such a lovely wedding. All through the last 1.5 years of wedding prep, my husband was always beside me, working together with me to create this beautiful and special day. In addition, I didn’t have any major disagreements with my own parents over wedding issues even though they are non-believers. They even gave us a wonderful present that day – my parents gave us all the ang paos they received for their share of the banquet tables!

Now, I am just so looking forward to my honeymoon. When we return, our photos and video should be ready, and I will throw a party at our lovenest for all my helpers.

cookies_gal

To the June Brides getting married this weekend,

Congratulations and have a blissful marriage!

Last min tips:
- designate someone to pack up all your belongings and guard them for you till the end of the dinner (eg, maybe the reception IC to pack up all your guestbook/pens/decorative stuff etc)
- be prepared to make last minute changes to your seating arrangements. For myself, our final draft came out only on the night before the banquet. Even on the day itself, we had some minor changes made! Also, CALL CALL CALL. You never know, there will be last minute back-outs. We actually didn't have to use our reserve table because we contacted all our guests again in the last 3 days to our wedding.
- drink sufficient water the whole day. You'll be surprised at how dehydrated you can get. Bad because: (1) it makes your lips crack & (2) bustier gowns will tend to slip down coz of dehydration.

cute_miffy

Hihi, can i chip in something? If you have UOB credit card, during GSS, you can tailor made shirts at $89 or so at CYC @ raffles hotel...... cannot remember what are the terms & conditions tho.......

wtan

hi hi josl..
pie-say for the confusion, if urs is with the gold foil (matt/glossy), then it's the hot-stamping, ur printing is on the cards or inserts? u collected ur cards already? wow, that's fast..

hi hi mikmik..
yap, so whc one r u gg for ur invites? have u printed ur cards?

hi hi mehmeh..
wau, it's very gd that u already had the mailing address sorted out, i hvnt even started drawing up any tentative guest list...u r very efficient leh..

hi hi jelly..
wow, how many pic did u pay for the extras? how long did it take u to choose the photos? i guess they must be very nice & u r tempted to choose almost everything, right?

wtan

hi hi josl..
pie-say for the confusion, if urs is with the gold foil (matt/glossy), then it's the hot-stamping, ur printing is on the cards or inserts? u collected ur cards already? wow, that's fast..

hi hi mikmik..
yap, so whc one r u gg for ur invites? have u printed ur cards?

hi hi mehmeh..
wau, it's very gd that u already had the mailing address sorted out, i hvnt even started drawing up any tentative guest list...u r very efficient leh..

hi hi jelly..
wow, how many pic did u pay for the extras? how long did it take u to choose the photos? i guess they must be very nice & u r tempted to choose almost everything, right?

vela

decimal, so sweet of u, tho I missed it in the morning but it cheer up my afternn

touraco, u got cutie msg also har..

ger, progressing well, wish u smooth preps

jelly, Wow, wOw, oops, u another icy har..kekekekekeke

cookiegal, Congrats!!! My AD morn was raining too but it stopped when my hb set off
floor still wet when we depart from my maiden place so I hold my gown high high..kekekekek..all my aunt's family came at 7.30a.m. too, my hb was shock to see so many ppl..hehehehe..

Chim ar..yours really into details...did your AD pix captured all the details? I have over 1000 pix and I guessed yours must have 2000 over photos! hehehe...can understand your excitment, can't forget my lovely AD too
. Velazo at the stage of showing pix and video every week end to family/relatives and frens....kekekekeke..having a BBQ party at my place tmrw too. After I came back to office, so busy showing pix and video to colgs..they still as excited tho AD over 1 mth liao.....we yak and yak on AD and HM, time passes so fast lately in the office.

oh dear, sad to hear that your trip is cancelled, anyway now it is very hot in Europe liao. My counterpart in Europe say they rather stay in the office to enjoy the aircon, 37 degree lei...no joke!!! oops, u going in July?...let's hope the weather will get cooler

cookies_gal

Hi ger,

Thanks! How's your preps coming along?

Hi vela,
We're going to preview our AD pics this evening...dunno how many photos we took that day. Think should be a lot, kekeke...

Yah, going in July. Think I will come back very tanned!

courtesance

hi nana,
sure i am fine if u wan to pop by to see my reno, can ask my neighbour as well. theirs was featured in sunday times a few weeks the buddhabar design? our concepts are very diff mine is reallie very minimalist type hehehe.. loads of glass and open space so u can compare and see which u prefer. hope they are useful to your reno ideas. if u like my concept i can intro my designer to u. he is reallie good esp if u are a fussy person i m. hehhee.. can haggle for free things and pricing oso.

wtan

hi hi yen..
actually it's quite a gd idea for u to give the vouchers too, just in case we cant have time to deliver it out in a day to our relatives then there might be a issue as the cake can only store for 4 days in the fridge..think got to check it out with parents again...thks!

hi hi sweet..
nice to know that ur GDL is on 17th sept..i m staying at bedok & FH is at tampines..but now we r thinking if we can deliver the cakes out within the day of the GDL, just in case we cant, the cakes will have to be at my place for another day & the shelflife will be affected when we send it over to our relatives' place..let me check it out on this again..since yen suggested that she will be gg with the cards, whc allows my relatives to collect the cakes as & when they like, might need to check if this is gd...i come back to u again..cheers~

hi hi renee..
yap, it's better not to drink so much water the night b4 due to water rentention whc will coz eye bags..

starmoon

hi mehmeh

u very hard working leh...must take care kaez. only 2+ months to go liao....wow, kinda scary hor...tick tock tick tock....guess i must buck up and start to get ready all these liao...otherwise, last min sure galang gabo

hi smiley
we r planning to go right after our wedding to States for 2-3 weeks...going F&E....itinerary not plan yet...my boss will help me
how abt u? r u going for HM?

choc_cowgirl

hi JJ, I cannot remember whether the weddings were on sat or sun, but definitely on weekends. the four seasons one was a western 4 or 5 course kinda dinner so no problems with that one. The ritz one, I think that the dessert buffet replaced the dessert course of the chinese banquet. Don't remember many pple leaving before that. After cutting their real wedding cake, the emcee announced that the guests can get slices of the cake at the dessert buffet at the end of the dinner - maybe that is why the guests stayed back. At the end of dinner, the emcee announces that they can start on the dessert buffet! Then the guests queue up at the dessert buffet and return to their seats to eat the desserts.

Also the dessert buffet table was at the cocktail area, so guests going to the toilets could see the desserts and the tempting sight may entice them to stay on!

You may wanna cut 1 or 2 courses off the usual dinner if you are worried that it would end late? Negotiate with the hotel to see if it can reduce the price of the dessert buffet? Hope this helps.

smileysmiley

yes, I am going for honeymoon the weekend following the wedding date to Italy and paris for 23 days. We are also going on F & E, itinery, I plan... Just looking and seeing who else is planning to visit Italy then we can share the information. Hee..

wtan

hi hi gillian..
wow, i soo envy u, gg to italy & paris for 23 days, it's soo romantic...so long somemore..i m very sure u will enjoy it~~ so nicee...

zoeanne27

Hi Gilian

Can I know roughly how much is the cost? I have done any research yet... A few places in mind
1) Rome
2) Austria and Switzerland
3) New zealand and plus few days at Australia
4) Germany..
5) Eygpt.

Maybe also for 23 days to 1 month.. checking if I should F&E, backpack or just join a tour...Any idea the cost?

yen2

hi wendy,
my sis and I had a hard time trying my parents to give the cards.... think parents would still prefer to give cakes but the lifespan of the cakes are simply too short and we got a master to choose the GDL day and there's hardly any good dates on Sat... so in the end, my parents agreed ... luckily i still got the support of my sis .. she got to support me since she's getting married next yr.. hehehe...

Hi PPP,

I bought my resale flat @ $293K. How abt you?
i will only move in Oct,cos i will be getting my keys only in August, as it is lunar seventh mth, hence my renovation will only start in Sep.

So horus's flat also in depot road ?

smileysmiley

Hahaha... no la, actually we love travelling so scrimp and save also must try to make it there.

I can tell you what I know:
Hotel stay anywhere in Italy is Euros 100 per room per night, for something quite decent, not 4 or 5 stars.

Well, I will be visting Rome, Assisi, Venice, Naples, Florence,Vatican City and Paris. For this, our budget is SGD12,000.

We are going on on our own and still have not bought the train tix. However, we r sure that we can get around easily as I have got some collegues in Italy and France that I can call should I be lost. BTW, my boss is French.

What is it you want to know more? I have bought return flight tix at SGD1040 each, which happens to be the cheapest to Rome that I found.

Let me know what I can tell u, okies?

wtan

hi hi yen..
nice to hear from u...heehee..wow, i guess it's very nice that ur parents managed to agree to it, it's nice to have ur sis to back u up..gd for u..i m not sure if my dad is fine, initially he even wanted my FH to deliver the cakes to my relatives across the causeway..my PIL was like "huh?! why soo troublesome, still must take leave to hand-deliver the cakes?" i m keeping my finger crossed... : P

jellytots77

yo ger... got nice one also got not nice one lor... but quite happy with tat liao...

yo cookie... no mention... ya i think michelle is good... wow u hv a wonderful day ya... btw care to share how much did u pay for the bus svc... i need to cater bus for my FH side relatives lor...

yo vela dear... no lah... she spent $3.3k or $3.1k leh me only $2.5k leh... i bery control liao hor... inital was $2.8k nego until $2.5k wor...

jellytots77

yo josl... no lah... i top up not alot compare to some of them here leh... u leh... top up how much...

yo anne... i hv 2 big album lor... so total in these 2 albums i hv 74 pixs lor...

yo smile... wow jelly only afford to go Aus nia...

yo zoe... think if u 1 2 go europe... excluding buying branded stuff... think need abt $16k for 2 leh...

smileysmiley

Jelly, where u go wun matter, I am sure. Most importantly is that u r blissfully married to the man u chose what... hahahaha...
Me also, top up 2k + for photos...
Get a total of 95 pix in 2 albums...
I guess everyone is like this.. go there say dun wnat then when choose then know its extremely tough..

decimal

cookies... wow, so happy for you
enjoy your HM!

jelly... time for you to do some work now, quick go upload the pics for us to see ley... :p

vela... I got nothing to say so just do some pong pong dance lor... haha....

gals, have a nice weekend!

zoeanne27

hi Gilian
Thanks.. so envy u..

aiya xian.. so much $$... we are thinking of backpacking.. the normal way me n hubby did..But so far, have not backpack till europe there lor..not sure abt the cost. Nvm.. i check it out.. if too ex, then go to NZ already..then depend after dinner how liao lor..

Hi jelly
Me no buy branded one la..not fancy.. partly no $$ also.. hee hee...rather use the $$ to eat n go tour lor...

Wah, u choose ur pixs liao..then can show us? hee hee...

cottoncandy

hi wendy

wow! we stayed opp end of the the island..me stays in bt batok area haha.. so we cant try to combine our purchases liao.. yaloh, i was also worried that the cakes cant be delivery within 1 day.. that's why we chose a sat for GDL..any unfinished delivery can be continued on the next day, sun