(2005) Brides of year 2005

Wendy,

i bought my SDJ at chinatown.....Po Cheong...if i remember clearly...dunnno correct anot...then shop name got "cheong" one.....i spent abt $1K....gold plus white gold plated....mixture type....i have necklace, bracelet, ring n earrings....i guess i will just keep it.....then war time can take out n sell...hahaha.....i guess gold has more "return" value.....lol....

Jelly,

ur pics must have turn out nice.
if not wont top up som much....so happy for u!!

wah...u gals planning going europe?....need lots of cash......i only planning for short trip after my AD...cos i not enuff leave......any idea on short trips???
i wanna go egypt...dunno if 6 to 7 days enuff anot
...but after must see see the banquet how lah....dunno if will make a loss anot....haiz

Hi Mrs Wee,

How is ur mani/pedicure session?
Share with us your PS experience too.
I will be going down for my 2nd fit tml.
Anyone got comment on The Good Earth Nail Spa? My fren recommend me that place.

U gal so fast doing the GDL? We hv yet to discuss the Pin Jin and GDL stuff. Gotto meet-up to discuss it b4 the seventh month else will be bit late. Actually giving out cards to relatives are quite common n convenient, same for those Baby's full month.

Sigh... me even worse, maybe have to postpone my honeymoon. Both hubby and I just started new job and we hv 6 mths probabtion. Even have to take unpaid leave for wedding, so most prob hv to postphone honeymoon.

Jelly - Must show us the pic once u get back hor..
Gd that you like your pics. Think I'm the most horrible one lah, top up 5K, so stupid. Now regret already but too late... hehe

hi all.. was at meeting whole morning then went hospital to visit grandad so no chance to log in.. =)

winnie - all the best for ur fitting on sunday!!

hamster_gal - i heard abt tt story too!! hehe

amy - nah, i only wore WG for my outdoor shoot.. i assume tt's wat u're asking?? as for my EG, i wore it in the hotel where i started my shoot..

just an update.. just asked my MUA to do MU for my mother, FMIL and sister.. very chor.. add up to $630 additional.. but well, coz abt $100 each time..

dora - can't afford ur FSIL.. hers is $150 per time..

wow u all got so many photos...envy u gals...dun think my fh will allow so gotta control and not go over budget.

actually we wanted to go to france and italy initially but as the euro is getting stronger so fh said go to US will be cheaper. plus he wanted to minimise travelling time cos if we cover these 2 countries, we'll visit many places. also heard that food there is not cheap...so maybe to save cost, maybe u gals can bring some cup noodles....just in case, night time hungry still can take it for supper....hehehe

hey janice, maybe u like to check out banyan tree resorts...heard that itz very pretty in Phuket and Bintan. Otherwise, u might like to check out Maldives...we had wanted to go as well but quite expensive if we take the honeymoon package.

hey seval, cheer up...better late than never right....so maybe can count down to your HM and enjoy a good one without taking a pay cut by taking unpaid leave.

Hi Renee & gals,
I went to Roxy Bugis today. Can't do french mani & pedi cos nail too short. Did normal ones. I think the girl's name is Nicole. She is very good. Gives very good advise. They say can last for about 1 week...

hi hi janice..
thks for the reply..thks for sharing with me abt how much u spent for the SDJ..i duno how much shd be the min/max just in case MIL thinks that i m asking for too much..urs is a mixture of gold & white gold, right? a set or u self-pick (loose) to match? did u go to a few shops or ur MIL prefer to go to that shop?

hi hi sweet..
heehee..i guess we will only be near to each other on the internet..haha..wow, it's nice to have a sat for the GDL..for my case, it's a sun..but just that duno if i can get my parents to go for the vouchers bcoz of the shelf-life of the cakes..but try to get my FH to hint-hint to my MIL, seems like she prefer to have the real cakes delivered instead of giving vouchers..luckily she's ok with giving bengawan solo cakes as my FH's 3 sis all had diff xi bing for their wedding..1st sis gave mini fruit tarts, 2nd sis gave traditional teochew biscults & 3rd sis gave "cheesy stawberry loveheart mini pastries"..so if we r giving cakes, she say it's ok..pheww~ so stress if she say cannot..but luckily she's still quite understanding..i guess we really cant share the cakes (delivery to one location will have some prob, haha)..but i really appreciate ur reply..thks, sweet..u r very nice~

hi hi renee..
heehee..just thot of it only lah..happen to get a brochure from bengawan solo so was just thinking abt it lor..heehee..but i guess in order for us to "suggest", i must at least get the details ready (like doing up proposal, haha)..

Jelly

U spent so much on pix ah? Hahha, i think amongst all the Sept brides, I quite 'disciplined' only bought additional 13 pix, of of which, 7 are FOC becoz of voucher..

Ooh, i must see ur album.. Coz i want to see how the flower ball looks like in pix.. Nice anot? Then did they mention when u wld be getting the album?

Eh, I got a rather gd & cheap printer contact fr josl.. Tm I going to the printer oredi. If u need, either josl or myself can fwd to u. Same here, no time to go JB, coz i gotta distribute earlier than all u gers..

Wendy & Starmoon: I efficient ah? Can put it tt way too, rather I know I wun have time near the wedding to do so. At least have template to fill up along the way when I meet up with old frens or sms them or chat online.. Maybe meticulous is a better word, can pre-empt the possibility of tight schedule & the hassle of getting addresses during last min, esp since my guest list is rather big for the church wedding

Seval: Gdgd, now u got job mah.. Hmm, delay HM also gd yah? Then can save up to go to the place u really wanted to go

I also have to delay mine, coz my Sept 1 week break too short to go for long trip. Either go Cruise or Port Dickson.. Still thinking abt it

Hi Count,

Thanks for your information.
I will call them to check it out.

Or any brides-to-be, can anyone advise me where i can get the couple keychain which is in red colour and dressed in Kua, it was so lovely and ideal for guest.
It was advertised in Her world bridal for June - Aug 2005 issue.

hi hi mehmeh..
wowo, u r still awake..heehee..me too..i guess it's a gd practise to get things done early..but as for myself, i really cant be able to do so now..hopefully i will be able to try to start on something by the 1st week of july..

yo smile... ya lor... as long as both of u all enjoy go where also romantic one lah...

how come ur pix got 95 in 2 albums... how many pgs are there in the album... digital or full pg one... aiyo urs more worth leh... which BS are u with

yo zoe... album can only collect 1st week of Sep05 leh...

yo josl... wow okie lah... so how many addn pix did u choose

yo jnj... tat time u top up how much... actually nice or not nice i duno lah... i find it okie nia lor... not like super fantastic as urs bah... urs how many pg one...

yo seval... aiyo... no lah... spend already spend lor... dun regret... when u take the album... flip flip flip... u will find it bery nice one lor..

yo meh... album can only collect early sep05 leh... maybe after our AD... we shall organise a gathering in Oct05... all ladies bring their album to view hor... wow so nice hor... imagine... tons of album

hmm... contact is it Hi Tech or wat... can pass me... me need to settle mine also really soon... by 1st wk of Jul'05... haizzz

HI ladies,

So nice to be able to sit down and chill out a bit with the rest of you! Albeit via this thread only lah! Our PS photographs are ready for us to go through! We got the news yday. Too thrilled. So, we'll be heading downtown tomorrow to do our selection. Wish us luck!

We met up with our coordinator at GWP recently to settle some details for our banquet. It's relatively early, yes. But we are determined to keep stress to a minimum during the last 2 months leading up to our big day. Hence, we thought we'd better get at least some details ironed out sooner than the normal timeline of a month before the wedding. I was quite taken aback at the sheer number of details we need to look into! Major one being the floral decor - colours, flower combination, type of arrangement, etc. Was told that this is the part where most couples come to a halt and take a long time to reach a decision. Our plan of action: Visiting the florist on Monday to make more headway into this labyrith of wedding preparations.

Music was also another point. What kind of music do we want played? March-in pieces? Special pieces to be played during the pouring of champagne? Background music during the banquet? Piece for first dance as husband and wife? 1st dish presentation - dramatic piece or more subdued? Incidentally, what do you ladies think of "Victory" by Bond for the 1st dish presentation?? Any thoughts?? Comments? Too dramatic? Not dramatic enough? Is it a pretty common selection?

We also talked about table linen, decor for chairs, VIP table setting, etc. A whole myriad of issues to think about. I went home with a headache. Seriously. Perhaps we're being a little K.S. But, we just do not want ot be bothered with so many of these details too close to the wedding. Having to clear work before going on wedding leave will be stressful enough!

It's been awhile since i last logged into this post.

Cookies, congrats on your wedding!! Everything you described sounds really unforgettable, charming and simply *sigh!* wonderful... Thanks for sharing with us what happened on your AD. Think the bus thing is a great idea!

Ya, Seval, if I dun remember wrongly u r also from Sophia right?? NVM liao la, I agree with Jelly. U flip flip sure will find it bery nice.

Zoeanne same as me, I won t buy branded cos I also not very into these things cos hubby and I also love travelling.. Hee.. Wow, backpack leh... we also did it b4, but since this one is HM, we decided to go on our own but stay in decent places.

Starmoon, the Euro is dropping leh... Yesterday was only 2.02 to 1 SGD. I am waiting waiting waiting.. hee...

Jelly, my album is 1 digital and 1 full page. The digital album is slightly smaller.. but not the tiny one..it depends on what u take for the package.. I forgo some stuff to get this la..

Seems like no one is planning to go for HM straight after.. I am thinking if can we can jie ban tong xing...

jelly,

i top up 1.6K for the pics....i m sure urs r nice also.....not too sure how many pages leh...but total i have 52 pics n they just design for me.

starmoon,
i go phuketbintan b4....cruise also go b4 liao....wan something new....hmm....initiall tot of going maldive but ater the tsunami not too sure how is it over there.....

mehmeh,...u thinking of portdickenson ah......there nice bo?

Winnie.. heres my ps checklist :

For Bride
- wedding gown & evening gown shoes
- slippers accessories
- facial product
- mineral water with straw
- to waer strapless bra & button front shirt(to preven smudging make-up)
- go for maniucre & perdicure

For Groom
- dark coloured shoes & socks
- slippers
- shaver
- 3 diff colour of shirt

For both bride & groom
- bring casual wear
- shampoo hair on night before ps & keep it free from gel/spray
- sleep ear;y & do not drink too much water on the night before ps

gals, thanks for all the contributions on the silicon bra! will go shop around again later and decide on which one to buy.actually deciding between the thick one and the one with fabric cover - the japenese brand which hamster_gal mentioned.

boo hoo hoo....my Hm gotta delay liao...fh juz got letter rescheduling his reservist. actually his reservist is from 13 Oct and now juz received letter that it will be 3 Oct. Haiz....now our plans gotta delay liao cos if we go after wedding, sure can't make it back in time. somemore Sep will be the best time to go US cos the weather is the best. And then now got to delay...haiz, dunno whether shld wait or maybe go some other place liao.

hi janice
read in the other thread (http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/7846.html?1119348468) that it seems like maldives is not really affected much even after the tsunami. So now I'm oso thinking whether to head there for a short HM or delay my HM and head to US. how did u find phuket and bintan? u stayed in Banyan Tree? my fren says very nice and romantic.

hi mehmeh
can u oso share the printer's contacts with me? will be getting invites next month so need to start sourcing for printers as well. i got only a small guest list so dat kinda give me an excuse to keep delaying things...very bad hor...got to pull my socks up and buck up now.

Hi Tin Tin,

Ya, the key chain was from The perfect wedding,
which is Shangri-La hotel's new wedding store.
As i am not holding my wedding there, i am afraid that they might not be selling to the public, hence, i need to find more more sources where to get those lovely keychains. kee kee

Coookie's Gal,
Congrats that U had a wonderful wedding. Wah ur AD pics so fast ready, mine still waiting....
Urs issit the Romance Europe with London? U may kena the same tour manager as ours as he did told me he taking a grp to Europe in July.

Josl - Which printer you go to ah? U did inserts or hot stamping?

Starmoon - Do you know that Jasvy will provide raffles stickers if you print wif them? That's one of the reasons why I let them prt though I don't like Jason. I'm not sure if you can get the stickers from Raffles if you print with others though.

Kok Gillian - You are Sophia bride too? How much u top up? Think a lot of Sophia brides all spend a bomb one leh, haven't heard of anyone not burning pkt yet... haha

hi wendy

yaloh.. hehe.. but think my both set of parents will prefer the real cakes instead of the vouchers.. so no choice for us loh
but do agree that it is a good idea.. hehe... u r very nice too!

Wendy,

forget to reply u....the SDJ i bought is not a set one....only the necklace n bracelet is a set n i just choose a matching earring n ring to go with..

Jtan,
i went to a shop "mix n match" at people's park centre to buy swavorski crystal with my hubby today....4mm diamond crystal clear, 72 at $4....i bought 144 n the shop owner charge me $7 instead....but alot of pple there n the shop not very big as compared to the golden dragon at the other corner....but think its cheaper at mix n match....gonna start on EG earring.....

starmoon,
my hubby also got reservist but lucky its in aug.....but leave still not enuff for long HM...

phuket n bintan nice....esp if u r looking forward to relaxing urself....Banyan Tree i stay at bintan one....nice..but exy also...

i now thinking of prob 7-9 days for new zealand or sswitzerland....see how lah

Dear fellow June brides,

I've just had a GREAT wedding that kinda left me wanting more!
I'm sure all brides share the same feeling.. To all bride-to-bes these last few days of June, SAVOUR EVERY MOMENT!

Have fun!!

hi seval

so u got yr innvites liao huh....did u choose half half cos i know he last time i went, they got white colour and red colour one o we r thinking of getting red for relatives and white for frenz....dunno if anyone here did that as well. erh...the sticker is for wad huh....pardon me, abit blur blur. did u print inserts or directly on the card...me blur abt hot stamping and stuff like that so thot maybe when we go check out printers then ask them the diff lor. can share with me how much u spend for printing?

hi janice
oso heard from my fren itz exp in banyan tree...maybe discuss wif fh later to see what he thinks. i think both new zealand and switzerland is nice....but switzerland better to go during winter time so can ski and when the snow covers the alps, very nice and breathtaking view. my bro juz went there during CNY this year and i saw the pics he took....very nice. But he said that things there are not cheap, even a macdonalds meal costs SG$15! My cousin used to study in Christchurch, New Zealand and when my auntie went over to visit him, also took alot of pics and itz also very nice lor. also can go and pick fresh fruits there(cannot recall if itz strawberries or apples liao).

Today finally settle the gowns tat I gonna wear on my PS. And also bought bottoms from Giordano for casual outdoor PS.

The BS really know how to con my money (no more chance), ask me to buy my EG and a set of accessories to match my gowns. Told them will not buy the gown coz no use after AD. Accessories will try to source on my own or rent from elsewhere. The accessories link recommended by Wendy is quite good, tot of renting from them as their rental rate is reasonable.
My BS also provide mani/pedicure services but seem like their rate is bit ex and I dun wanna travel all the way to Eunos then back to CCK, very siong.
kao_dizzy.gif

Next wk having my PS, seem like not enough time for me to prepare (or I am just excited abt it... hehe)

Din managed to chat with my photographer as he has outdoor PS with a couple. However my designer suggested going to changi beach area as we wanted to have sky, sand, greenery as backdrop. Wonder if I can see aeroplanes near changi beach so can capture into my PS.
kao_babydust.gif

josl: Today went down to Kentrich.. Cost abit more than urs, coz I have 45 cards more.. But cheaper than everywhere else.

Jelly: It's at Blk 3, Pasir Panjang Rd, #10-33, Alexandra Distripark. Look for Helen..
Think Kentrich is cheaper than other places, and this place is nearer ur house than Hi-Tech is. Only catch is tt it's not very near any MRT station...
I forgot her no.. josl, u fill her in on the no. k? I let my FH gao dim this aspect, so no. is with him

starmoon: as per what i shared with jelly k?

starmoo - i just went down jasvy. can choose combination cards. the sticker is just for you to stick on the card, at the closure. I did hot stamping coz the design of Raffles cards is more suitable for hot stamping. if you do inserts, u have to tie sth and jasvy charge another 10 cents for that, u might as well do hot stamping.
I did $140 for 160 cards. very ex lah but i was too lazy to go other place.

Hello gals ,
here is the details of the printer, 200 cards for $70 i did my hotstamping here...

Kentrich Trade Press Pte Ltd
Pasir Panjang Rd #10-33 Alexandra Distripark-Blk 3 Tel : 6273 4648

hi seval
wow, very exp hor compared to Kentrich....okie, i'll check with them to see if they will give me the stickers if i go to other printers....must cut costs liao so no choice lor. btw, dun u get the cards from RH directly? thot they give us directly...btw, did u get free parking when u did yr PS there?

hi mehmeh and josl
thanks for sharing with us.

Had my ID & OD PS today. Went Sentosa & Boat Quay (near Esplanade) for my OD PS. I am so glad I chose their service, great one. Morning went GHA at 9.30am till about 4.30pm then left GHA for OD. Till nearly 9pm then reach back GHA.

One reminder for gals having their PS or AD. Using empill is the best choice. Cos helps protect skin & makeup to stay. I have very senstive skin & always after thick MU will have allergy or rashes, but today nothing happen. Luckily Miki asked me to use.

hey mikmik,
just saw the msg you left for me. thanks.
was a good day afterall... wrote a little journal in the multiply site which you can view. some mishaps but end of the day the photographer is really good so despite everything i will have at least good photos ...

hey seval,
so you gonna try the back treatment? btw, i havent seen any of your pix... if i can see can u PM me? thanks... ;)

Hi Renee,

Doesn't whitelink loan u the accessories for the PS and AD? The makeup artist from my BS lent me hers, so can keep changing different accessories for the PS.. Dun worry about your PS, it will be OK! Just remember to bring your shoes, accessories, water(with straw), tissue/blotter, make-up for touch up (just in case). That's all! And take half day leave to do mani/pedi

Hi Mrs Wee,

Glad that your PS turned out fine! you were not afected by the NDP rehearsal? i went to sentosa and to fullerton for night shots too (My PS was in May)
just went to see my album layout yesterday

Hi Pjen,

you had your PS on fri right? how was it?

Hi ALl!!

Just back frm my wedding! It was wonderful.. kinda of missed it already.. hehee.. was glad that everything went smoothly.. will share the pics once ready~

Hi, Seval. I am a Sophia bride as well, and yes, I also bust my budget.
Me am trying to plan for the details of the wedding now. When I am done, I will share with you gals.
BTW, Seval, r u going to get the complimentary bridal car that Sophia provides? Do u know if they only have 1 design? I heard that they use silk flowers and am hesitating to use an external florist instead.

Hi chewgal,
You are a catholic!!! Finally found one...not many catholics here. BTW, how ur prep for ur church wedding prep? have u sourced for a florist yet? Anyway, I will b having my church wedding with The Church of Holy Family.

Hi minssy,

I am with Whitelink.

Hi Esther,

They hv accessories for me but they said their might be bit old and MUA also provide me hers. WL asked me to buy those they r selling (new n nicer), however I think will waste of money after my AD I can't use them anymore.
I had applied 1/2 day leave and bk appt with The Good Earth Nail Spa for my mani/pedicure. Quite excited abt it as 1st time doing it.