(2005) Brides of year 2005

dolphin48

winnie, your hubby is Taiwanese ah? my cousin also taiwanese leh but i never hear him say about such thing...... ha ha.... then i pierced so many holes in my ear liao... oops! anyway, i don't really believe that by having your head pressed, u will listen to MIL lor.... but it's the act that i don't like cos it's humiliating esp when your friends saw it... and so i told myself that since she's not giving me due respect and face, i shan't return her the favor so it will be WWIII henceforth if it does happen lah.... my mum knew my temper well - it's a very short fuse and she always tell me to lun if can but i feel if no basic respect is given, why bother to give in. I don't owe her a living anyway.

courtesance

hey one way to overcome this press head things rite is to stand during the tea ceremony i tink this press head thing is considered gentle liao
the other time my sis got married her MIL use the hair pin to poke her head oki she nearly cried leh i was soo pissed when i heard it i feel like smacking her so i told my FH that no way will i kneel in front of any elders just in case hahaha

panggou

daphne, my FIL is taiwanese, my hubby is singaporean. but all his taiwanese relatives are coming. they have all migrated to all over the world, but all coming to one spot on our wedding, expect a big row cos everyone has their own opinion :p just hope they will not give my MIL silly ideas.

if pierce on our own is different, but if pierce cos of wedding for hubby, then it will become like this loh hehehe.

i dont liek the "press head" thing, it is humiliating i AGREE totally!! in front of our friends...

my mum always tell me must lun too hehee, my dad too, cos i am only daughter, all these years, i have became quite yim chim. so they worry i may have problem getting along with my IL. to my parents, my character is too headstrong liao.

intially i promised my hubby years ago to stay with his parents cos he is only son, but 2 years ago, when i went to canada with his family for his graduation, i decided that's it, i will break this promise, we have a row about this, cos i cannot tahan too many things, sigh, from sisters to his house to the dogs even :p

so in the end we compromise to live near. for this i am very apologetic to my parents, cos they are in JE which is so far away. but i explained to my parenst that if i dont want to stay with my IL , the least is to stay near them. my dad always complain that i move too far liao. my mum intially cannot understand why i cannot stay with them in a semi D house, but after she seen the house, she supported my decision :p cos it looks like er a forest .... you can still see my hubby's tricycle which he played with when he was 3 yrs old in the garden :p then when you walk through the car park area, you have to beware that mango or rambutan will drop on your head, and you have to beware of dogs poo on the floor everywere, from garden to kitchen . ops sorry complain again and cant write, cos feel like vomitting when i write this :p

his dog was not like that, but it passed away in 2001 at the age of 15 yrs old, now there are 3 dogs in the house belong to his 2 sisters and all of them are not well toilet trained YUCKS!!

hhehehe, sorry grumble and grumble again.

tratties

hi everyone!! its been a long time since coming back here.. have been pretty caught up with the preps and my work..

Hi Princess - could you kindly update my details :

AD Videographer : Fabian Lim

Hope everyone is enjoying the wedding preps... See ya soon..

panggou

wah sherylannlee, your sister got poked by the MIL??? this is really even more unacceptable leh. make people want to cry to think about this.

courtesance

hi winnie,
yucks your IL house sounds terrible leh pai seh i very upfront hehee the tricycle takes the cake loh meuseum arh? hehehe..
but yah i agree loh i tink give and take will be to stay near but not with them and oso cannot give them keys. safer.

courtesance

yah winnie i was soo upset leh but she dun dare to tell us until like yrs later but even then when she say it she oso eyes red red loh so i swear i will never ever knee infront of any elders i dun wan to take this kind of humiliation or torture. anyways my mum very cute she said if die die have to knee for watever reason she say to knee half way in case anyone try to press my head or something i can use my killer 4 inch heels to storm the person's feet hehehe..

panggou

hehhee, i give my keys to my IL and parents, cos at the end of the day, they are considered nice. just that i guess different people different culture. so far, all of them did not come unannounced. just that once my FIL went up to our house when we were not around to change a light bulb for us, though a bit uncomfortable, but i know it is a goodwill.

panggou

sherylannlee, i think your sister must be very upset and she does not want to upset your family by sharing this unhappy matter with all of you. must have gone through a lot of unhappiness on her side, on her own.

courtesance

O okie then yah i guess if at the end of the day u tink that they are nice ppl then i guess that is still fine. for me i wont give my IL keys not cos they are not nice but more of i just dun like the idea of ppl coming unannounced. playing safe then sorry hehee..
yah for my sis's side yah she had a lot of unhappiness loh and prolly oso that she dun wan to create a scene or anything bah

dolphin48

talk about kneeling..... i can't siam leh cos my FH feels that must respect so must kneel..... but i will avoid kneeling in front of her lor...... but i'm gonna do something bad..... i'm going to ask my VG to cut off as much as possible on the tea ceremony at his side esp if i have to kneel.... don't wanna remind myself of this in future..... and it will be chopped off for the morning highlights.... i don't care cos i'm paying for it anyway and nothing is from her.

sigh....don't know why haven't become DIL but talk about FMIL, we all hot liao leh...... i think it's natural u don't feel close or will love your MIL as compared to your own mum cos afterall, u are brought up by your mum and so the bond is there of cos.... unless you are not close to your own mum in the first place lah.... i'm very very close to my mummy one..... so i do feel sad each time i think of how far i'm gonna be after married.... so i'll definitely stay at my mum's place during weekends and as often as i can.... and i intend to get a place somewhere central to both sides (whether FH agrees or not) in another 2 - 3 years so now must piah hard to earn more $$.

dolphin48

sherylannlee, so did your sis really become scared of her MIL or is the myth true in anyway? hmm... if you gals out there got any ideas to counter the pressing head thingy, please share share....

courtesance

yah i agree loh daphne it is harder for DILs to be close to FILs loh i tink. But i feel that so long as we accord them the due respect it is enough on our part already loh.

courtesance

the press head thing is DEFINITELY a myth cos after that incident my sis hated her to the core so their r/s is downhill from day one. so no loh.. i tink their world wars started from their wedding day till now 5 and 1/2 yrs later

dolphin48

ha ha.... sometimes i think such people who believes in this myth and act on it got no brains... if the MILs didn't do such acts, she won't have a DIL that hated her so much rite? the purpose of the myth is to have a DIL that listen to her but end up in the opposite way so what's the point rite? Create unhappiness only.... don't understand these people's mind....

p2me1a

Iggy! welcome back!

May Brides Gathering

pst
jolene
mei79
i_bless_u
iggy

anyone else huh???

i_bless_u, haven't seen your pix yet, but they sound great from everyone's comments hahaha... will go see during lunch...

we just saw our AD pix yesterday... not very pleased with them leh - also dunno why hahaha... perhaps my expectations too high after seeing our nice pre-wedding shots hahaha... hopefully wld be better when the photographer puts them into the book collage...

jolene, miss me so soon? hahahaha...

pst

wedmar05

Hi tougei,
Your beer is not free flow??? Just to share, for my wedding, my guest drank a lot of hard liquour and red wine. They consumed 72 bottles of red wed and 12 bottles of hard liquour, and my beer and soft drinks etc r free flow.. BTW, we have 37 tables..

piggersorous

long time no chat.. paisehs, been real busy at work.. tink it will take me a long long while before i finish reading all tat u gers hv posted..
Hope work will b less busy after June is over.. chat wif u gers again. take gd care yar. cheerios

mik

Hi Anne,

sure sure! *excited*

no worries about photogenic. it's a wedding album, not a magazine coverspread.
impt is the photographer about to capture the feeligns both of you have for each other and crystallize it into an image.
personally, i think that would be the essence of the wedding album.

you can check with your BS whether they can provide you with drama accessories. my frnd had a gold bustier EG and her BS made a set of very drama accessories for her to wear. it's a choker necklace in copper, with gold crystals and there are drapes of copper over her shoulders speckled with more crystals. very victorian & drama. i really fell in lurve with her drama necklace.
if your BS can't made for you, maybe you want to try muchas or chryster?

say, if you can find a drama necklace, maybe you wanna try drama chandelier earrings? in antique copper with bronze/gold crystals?

panggou

Daphne, i think i cannot siam too, unless the gown is too heavy for me to kneel down hmm, can consider.

but ask the vg to chop everything like very weird leh cos this is sort of a "sure have" scene.

Sherylanlee, does your sister need to stay with her MIL?

zoeanne27

wow.. been reading but dun know what to post.

Hi jelly
Ur PS over eh... Got use my tiara anot?
Maybe no right? Anyway, keep it with u 1st.. get it back when i need lor..

Hi meh
thats is a great buy.. like ur shoes...and the candles..

Does anyone know which shop at chinatown selling those GDL stuffs? thanks

esgril

This press head thingy during tea ceremony dun belongs only to cantonese people. My sister-in-law received this treatment from her mother-in-law during her tea ceremony and they are not cantonese.

She said that after she served tea to her in-laws, her mother-in-law (MIL) asked her to bend her head down and use something to poke it into her hair, definitely not into the head or else, she would be dead by now.

It was unexpected, hence she was appalled by the action. Even her jie meis/gd friends was so angry for her and felt that it was humiliating for the bride.

Her mother-in-law did it in front of so many relatives. It is believed that the DIL listen to the MIL when she marries into the family. MIL can control the DIL, in chinese 'ya ze'.

Well, I dun really think it works. My sister-in-law & her MIL are now at loggerheads. She refused to stay with her in-laws after her wedding. She continues to stay with her own parents & her husband stays with his parents.

Even now after they have a baby boy, now 7 mths. The couple dun stay together, both stayed at their own parent's place.

She seldoms bring her baby to her in-law's place. They are so mad with her for keeping them away from their grandson. Her husband will usually visit the baby 3 to 4 times a week.

So much unhappiness in her marriage with her husband and her in-laws after her wedding.

Till today, she hated her MIL for what she had done.

ying11

Hows the prep so far? My wedding is on this coming Sunday. Pretty excited. Didn't really come in these few days as I just joined a new company and I am pretty busy.

Well, will be working till this Friday and that leaves me only Sat to sort everything out. Hehehheee...

Hi Seesee,
Finally, congrats that everything is over. Must be very enjoyable for you. Dont worry about yr MIL part. Look towards the future.

Hi Tou and BabyCupid,
I do not have any internet access at home. I will try to get hold of one and send you gals the files. Can leave yoru email address down? I have my speech and my table arrangement file..

panggou

EsGrill, your SIL means your bro wife? of your hubby sister?

but if the couple stays apart, will it strain their relationship?

amylim

Sounds scary leh.... Spoke to my mum who is a cantonese about this and she said such traditions existed 30 - 40 years ago (In fact, she's one of the victim), definitely won't happen in this modern day era... I don't think my MIL will do this to me coz she's more ang moh style, not traditional type...

aloe79

Hi Jolene,

U are right.. i_bless_u photograher are good..
Hope to c yours soon once ur hubby is more free to upload.. keke...

Hi I_bless_u,
How u do your poster? I like it...:)

dolphin48

precisely i don't understand why still got such actions.... don't they know that it will only create unhappiness and that the DILs nowadays are not as submissive as before... sigh.... i wonder how they feel if they know that their own daughter is given this treatment.

jellytots77

yo meh... so how's ur trip... enjoy bo... yap i saw the flower ball in Chatuchap also.. the paper one... i suspect they glue it on the ball lor... i got take and look look too.. actually wanted to do someting like tat one... but seem like the ball is too small hor.. tats why lah... if paste hor... need to get a bigger ball man....

so where did u get ur shoes... i nbr manage to find any wedding shoes there leh... wow the candle so cheap hur... sob sob... tat time i bought in SG... quite ex leh... sob sob sob...

hmm... ur flower ball got use man... for indoor nia... wow my photographer anyhow throw it on the flower...i so xin tong man... hope the pix turn out nicely lor...

yo anne... me also suppose to choose pix this thur... but postpone to nxt thur liao... tell us how much extra did u spend hor... kekeke

yo zoe... hahaha... nbr get to use the tira leh... cos the MUA accessories are bery nice man... okie... i keep it and pass back to u on nxt gathering lor...

hmm... chinatown... the market there alot of shops selling lor...

hamster_gal

this is all so scary to hear...
hmmm.... i will be wearing WG during the tea ceremony and it comes with a can-can skirt....
think it's quite difficult to kneel with a can-can skirt underneath rite? maybe this can become a legitimate excuse

tou2

Hi ying11

Ohhh... this sunday is your big day
I'm excited for you. please send it to [email protected] Thanks a million!!!

I have just booked my airtickets for honeymoon in Sweden and Norway. Now stressed over the hotels and itinerary
I am feeling panicky over my wedding - 2 weeks away. One one hand, I wished I have more time to prepare, on the other, I cant wait to get it over with hehehee...

annesep

Thank Mik Mik for all the info. Will check with BS/MUA on the drama accessories. Hope iam as lucky as ur friend. the description sounded lovely... only i have that too... heheh..

Hi Jelly,

Wah, your BS fast leh... i took 2 weeks ago, this week then choose... aiya... my BS slow leh..

Harlow Zoeanne

U yupz, similar to urs eh? Just the front strap is uniform width...

Harlow Jelly

Trip is gd! But too hot for my FH's liking.. He melted! but he silly also, coz he brought shirt tt is not sweat absorbent, in the end look so miserable

I got my shoes at MBK's In Zeen on the 3rd floor. There were many shoes & shoe shops there.. So many at 199B! If I hadn't already have so many pairs of shoes at home & no more storage space, I wld have bought manymany pairs. So control lor, only bought 3 pairs.. Heehee

How much did u pay for ur candles?? If u think abt it, divide my 'overheads' of the accomodation & air fare, my stuff may not be exactly tt cheap also..

Ur PG throw the flower ah? Alamak.. Ur FH liked it??

panggou

hamstergal, that is a good idea on how to avoid :p

ladies, if my PS is on 29th June, is it too early to color my hair on 15th June?? suaku hehe cos i hardly color my hair, always black hehe.

chill1padi

In case some of you are interested to get your own tradtional kwa locallly, you may try this place
Hong Wan Jade
No 24 Smith Street
I just bought one this morning.
291304.jpg

chill1padi

hi deardear

It was my dream to wear a kwa for my wedding... Intend to wear it for my tea ceremony.

This is brand new OTR, happen it fits me nicely. They do MTM too. This is the traditional one with button, and all the "hgeng heng" significants on it like, "the descendants ribbon" infront, "eight prosperity" gathers at the side, "wealth" etc

iggy17

hi jo, pst,

me back to work tmr, just finish unpacking and distributing the souveniors
dunno when upload my HM pics...haven't got AD pics yet too...

i_bless_u,
wld love to see yr pics but my yahoo acc got problem..perhaps u can email me at [email protected] is my co acc, hopefully it wont bounce back got i think my mailbox oredi burst! being away for 2.5 weeks...

fifidoog

hey janice/WW,

i finally finished my first crystal choker necklace. of course miss pink made it in pink!
lemme go home and take photo of it then i'll upload to show you guys ok? hey you guys wanna exchange photocopies of your respective books? i'm gonna be going to peace centre to print my inserts so i can make copies of the book for you guys if you want. black/white or color? lemme know hor.

annesep

WAH!! cant wait to see the picture of your choker. must be real sweet cos in pink. how do you gals do it? by wire or nylon thread?

wtan

hi hi mehmeh...
thks for sharing the photos of the shoe, APB & the candles..the candles are very very nice...it's very unique....i saw something with a xi character candle at a friend's wedding & got to know that they bought it at $80 each..urs is a diff design but it's alot nicer..it must have been a good offer for u..niceee...

esgril

Hi Winnie

SIL is Sister-in-law (my husband's younger sister)

Precisely the couple's relationship is not working out.

She stays at her mum's place & her husband stays with his parents. Her MIL suggested that she move in and stay with them but she refused. She told her MIL that she can't get along with anyone and can't stay with other people except her own family members.

When her husband's parents and his grandmother wants to see their grandson, they have to go to her mother's house personally.

Her mother-in-law is quite mad with her and told her off. She even threatened to get her son to divorce her if she continues with such behaviour.

(FYI, they got married in Dec 03, that means married for 1.5 yrs old but actually they did their ROM 4 yrs back. Bought their own flat but rented out the whole flat.)

wtan

hi hi sweet..
thks for sharing with us the photos..my FSIL's house is based on warm color theme, so they have green, orange, yellow, blue & red, it's very warm & cosy...plus the colors add up to match the whole entire place very nicely..so it's always very bright & cheerful...so i guess it's gd that u can have a few colors theme too...heehee..