(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi zoeanne, wendy,Anne

I think it depends on the kind of cake u want, like if walnut/butter the small ones are cheaper. The cakes are bought by my MIL haha, so she paid for it. MIL got the pandan cake. My parents wanted 20 vouchers.

There is cheaper vouchers but i think its like 'wedding cakes' vouchers so better to get cakes then vouchers that they can choose. It depends on wat u want.

On the voucher itself,it comes in a card with the words "Our wedding".

Hi Josl
So good. We gonna pay everything ourselves. All GDL things etc...Thats why keep the budget small..

Most likely get the $5 one...or $5 voucher. I am still thinking, got cheaper than $5 anot.. :P But afraid my mum would say give voucher cannot compare to the real thing..

Thanks, maybe i check it out with Bengawan Solo..or some other neighbourhood store..

wow, i never heard of cakes so cheap. The cheapest so far i see is $8 but that was few years ago. Even now Bangawan solo oni got the $10 voucher(Cheapest so far).

Hi Zoeanne,
Only the GDL things my MIL pay for it the wedding banquet we are gg to pay loh. But i think it comes to abt maybe 700+ or so.

My GDL things consist of things like dried scallops, mushrms, wine, abalone, oranges, long feng candles , my parents will take half and return.

cinderella: u too. all of us will become "Mrs" after this mth..hehe

tougei: no stress no stress...try to relax urself...u still have time...

Hi Josl
wah...So many things ah...Hee Hee...I think still got pig trotters etc etc.....gonna faintz..

U still consider good liao.
We are gonna pay for EVERYTHING manz.....sob sob..

Hows your preparation ah? Ur wedding very soon...

yo zoe... so go ard chinatwn to shop GDL stuff hur.. then update me... wow bian... come to think of tat... my ILs 1 do hv GDL b4 7th mth... so mean end of Jul05 i will do my GDL... hahaha... but hvn got anything yet so far... think also duno wat to get... sianzzzzzz

hmm... cakes is a must leh... i know cakes, pig trotter, oranges, liquor... is a MUST for GDL leh... then the lamp is also a MUST wor...

hmm... think $5 budget is bery tight leh... i thought bengawan solo is u buy voucher on the specific cake... like say marble cake price is already $6 or $8 leh... think u need to budget more or wat.... i dun think they sell in $$ voucher form ba... u better call and check it out... anyway think cakes are not cheap leh...

aiyo u only need 20 boxes... i need abt 40 leh... btw do remember tat if ur mum request fm the groom side... during GDL... ur mum need to rtn some cakes back one leh... so u must get more and not juz nice hor...

yo jtan... when u gog for PS hur... tat time meh mention junction 8 leh... u 1 2 give it a try... tell me more too... i may 1 2 get another pair juz in case wor...

ya lor i also like teochew cake... but think they are more ex than those normal cakes man... haizzz... u getting the teochew 1...

yo josl... wow ur gold pass and pass and pass... hmm... ya lor... yellow gold also duno wat to use... luck i told my mum 1 want white 1... will get a necklace and barclet or earring lor... haizzzz....

wow GDL stuff ur MIL already spend abt $700... gosh... does tat include the jewel for u or wat... how come so ex...

hey jelly,

ok thanks. i'll check it out.
no lah i'm not getting any cakes. no need to do GDL either cos both sides parents don't really care much lor. my parents not asking for anything. MIL also dont feel the need to give anything. so thank goodness, easy for us. how high you need your heels? i'll let you know if i see anything nice.

hey josl,

orh. seems like most pple getting jewellery for jia zhuang also hor. dunno what to get now. i was thinking of getting a piano... hehe...

Hi Jelly
still must return to groom side ah.. ?? Wah.. then more than 20 boxes liao lor..( 20 is my own calculation, mum have not tell me the numbers yet)

Return for what??hahaha... Its not the guy side who pay for it leh.. Its me n my hubby pay leh.. return to groom side, meaning me lugi lor.. i eat all meh?? hahahaha ( headache la)- I know its a traditional rules to follow la.. but xianz...

$5 budget very tight ah?... Me last resort is to get from Bangawan liao.. Intend to get all cakes from JB.. saw a shop there sell those rectangulars pieces of cakes..( is it teochew cakes) maybe i do some research 1st..Since I still need to be there often..( jelly must be thinking zoeanne crazy liao.. everything run to JB .. hee hee)

Ya lor, i also heard got pig trotters, oranges n wine, candles, lamps, basin, potty etc etc....???? I update u when i done my research at Chinatown

hi janf,

i took up both his photography and videography cos i dont want to go searching again..keke... i also like the way he edit the highlights to be shown during the banquet cos he will make it quite comical and fun.

Hi Esgril,
he quoted $880 for VG from his wedsite. but this price is neg.

Hi deardear
Thanks for the compliment. I choose kwa to CS because of my in-laws. I thought they will be pleased to have their first daughter-in-law in kwa serving the tea.

Also the old folks were saying to wear a brand new kwa, and my cousins have their own kwa too. So decided to get one instead of renting.
And my FH was jokingly saying I can wear the same kwa in our 50years wedding anniversary, it'll be meaningful. But anyway, this kind of thing can pass on to the next generation.

hi Irene

Thanks. I paid $318 for this kwa. I think my FH will be wearing his suit, not too sure about PS!

Hi cinderalla

I am also very quick-tempered, very easily Mang Zhang but I got over my moods quite fast. Your hubby sounds like a really patient and even tempered guy and very sayang you right?
My hubby also - hardly see him angry one. Maybe opposites really attract as we need someone to "balance" us
But don't worry, I think you will be too happy and too busy to be concerned over small details on your AD.

Hi genie

I will try lar
By the way, you got your pictures loaded yet? Can show?? I especially want to see your accessories heheh...

hi tougei

just collected back my album and cd. haven't u/l them yet, bz over the wed preps. perhaps will u/l and see u once my wedding is over, can? sollie leh...

btw, u r using sharon's accessories for AD rite? I collected mine from her already...

Jo,
Let me know when u r free to meet me up so that I can return e barang barang that i borrowed from u. Unless u can wait till our gathering, which is dunno when :P

hi Zoeanne and Jelly,
Me dun need pig trotters but on AD got suckling pig.My cakes vouchers are given earlier than GDL, coz my parents gave the cakes together with the invites. But on GDL still need to have cakes x2,mostly everything x2 and return half.

GDL abt $700, i estimate one, coz cakes abt $250, abalone $200 also, wine $100 and the rest loh. MIL gave me a $1600 voucher from Poh Heng, then i go choose loh.

Me juz went to collect my album and portrait today liao hee.Went myself, carry till my hands ache.

Hi J Tan

Piano seems interesting, can pass on also hee

hey josl,

wah u collected already... nice. just met up with PG yesterday. he said outdoor locations only two! aiya, i go and recce like 1000 places. now dunno how to choose. HPMH! dunno what to do abt the dowry. ... dunno if i really want the piano either. ...

hi caitlyn,

thanks for the reassurance
if rain then i'll ask my photographer to bring me to somewhere with nice fountains

hi esgril,

i bought my set at Lee Hwa (Wisma). It's a purple gold set. Si Dian Jin includes only the necklace, bracelet and 1 pair of earrings, ring not included but if u wan still cna buy

my MIL is very nice to give me a budget of $5000 but in the end my set after discount due to GSS is $3000 plus.
my mom is more traditional and wanted me to get gold but i told her it's outdated. In the end my MIL advised me to get purple gold, at least in chinese is Zi Jin, not Bai Jin (sounds like money given during funeral wake)

now is really a good time to buy cos of the GSS and can use credit card to get further discount

Hi J Tan,
Dun wanna wait till last min then collect album mah. Hanging my portait in my own house at the moment.:P
Oni 2 outdoor, how u gg to which places, think it depends on the timing also, dun expect to take pixs till 10pm wat.

Hmm.. ask for watch? I got one fr my dad 4 ROM hee.

hi blue genie, hee yah...in fact aft rom, being called Mrs liao hee

hi tougei, yup you're right...he gets angry at times during his worse moods...but never shouts at me...v patient unlike me...hahaha i agree totally...opposites attract :P hopefully lor...

hi all, i'm back.. no rest but back to office to clear mails and do my reports...
very tiring trip... did not shop at KL much too... but bought shoes..
quite quiet these few days... seems like most of us settled their gowns..and some having PS soon...
realise i having same PS day as Daphne...hahaha... we have the same AD as well as PS...so qiao...
we shall have another gathering for everyone to show off their PS pics if possible...
difficult to send here and there...
the in-law thing... i read it but somehow its unavoidable..some elders still have the old traditional thinking...
wonder how is highness mum... she did not login too...

hey josl,

yah! watch is a great idea too! saw in some thread pple get nice dress watches... i'm thinking frank muller... no lah kidding... you think print money meh.. hehehe... but great idea.

hey you think i can ask for A DOG? then my hubby cant say dont want dog in the house. hehe... i want a bull terrier...

Hi hamster_gal

You are a lucky girl, such generous mother-in-law. I dun think my MIL will be that generous, if my set is a few hundred dollars considered lucky liao.

hi zoeanne

You can try this place....saw it in another thread sometime ago and I noted it down for my reference, Gin Thye Cake Maker
(specialises in Teochew pastries)
423, Sembawang Road Singapore 758392
Tel : 62571566/ 67583742

"Its sort of like those shop houses. Its near to Chong Pang there, opposite direction of Chong Pang, and building beside them are the famous Chong Pang nasi lemak.

I had called them yesterday to check on the price all that, the price for 10pc cakes is $6.50 per box. If you want to buy one box to try, have to call in advance to let them know so that they can reserve for you, cos I think at sembawang there is their bakery, and they have another branch at bt batok.

I think mostly I will order from them. Cos their service is good and the people there are very friendly. When you see that the shop are those old old type and may think that their cakes wont looks too good, but its not. Their cakes are actually nicer than some of those neighbourhood cake shops. Other than cakes, they also have other type of xi bing for different dialect group. And they will lend you the basket for guo da li if you order cakes from them. And the aunty will tell you what to get for different dialect."

This is what I saw in the thread that they posted. Maybe you'll like to call them to confirm on pricing. I'm thinking of going there to get if my MIL doesn't have any shop in mind. Cos she asked me how many boxes my mom needs so i'm assuming that she'll get it bah. Another place that someone recommended in this forum is http://www.chozconfectionery.com/wedding.html
perhaps u can check it out as well.

EsGril, u still got a few hundred dollars for pin jin? I don't even hear a single cent .....the whole wedding affair / costs are shared by my FH and myself and with the help of my own mum only lor..... dunno like this is good or not.... good as in i don't owe her anything but bad as in i still feel like a stranger and esp when i'm supposed to stay with FMIL....

Hi J Tan,
Haha, Frank Muller crazy hrs..thats a bomb enuff for ur wedding liao. I now aiming for Chopard Happy sport !!
Hmm..dog not that nice lah, dowry is something u want to keep hopefully to pass down .

daphne, maybe your fmil dun have such traditions? or maybe when the date is nearer,she might be asking u...
my friend who got married last Sat, she also received nothing from her mil, no si dian jin... even pin jin she did not give...
i guess not everyone follows such traditions or customs.
since u have plans to have your own house... meanwhile juz try to accommodate...
also difficult for your fh if you 2 cannot get along..

josl,

hahaha... chopard! you have great (expensive) taste! i don't even know how much a frank muller costs... hehe...

hey dont have that song you posted. sorry. what else needs to be done? i'm going 4 seasons for food tasting tom. ... yum yum!

hi jo,
Am returning the tealight holders x15, ribbons, candles.

I have no plans to go town these few days lei :P
If u happen to be around areaa from outram or redhill westwards, let me know, I will go and meet u...

sigh....actually the thought of having to stay wtih ILs is very depressing leh.....
berry, as for pin jin and tables, initially my FMIL not very happy when my FH told her what my mum expects cos it's quite different from how it is when her own daughter gets married. But i told my FH that this cannot be used as comparison as different family has different expectations.
It's quite hard for us to get close i guess cos my FH himself doesn't like to involve his mum in a lot of things... even for our own wedding preparations, besides informing her the venue and date, she is not aware of what is happening. I did tell my FH that we should involve her but he is just plain stubborn and to him, more opinions mean more issues and headaches.... now, i'm the one caught in between.

OH MY, exactly daphne...

I'm facing the same situation. I waited for almost one year for my MIL to compile her guest list & give me an estimate no. of tables she need so that we can start sourcing for venue. My hubby kept siding her, saying leave it to her to compile. For 1 year??? I just can't understand some SONs, just side their mother.Everything also let them have their way.

Recently, I've been hinting to my SIL abt the SiDianJin & Pin Jin thingy. She kept saying not selling daughter, dun need to take so much $, just a 'small token will do'. Even the rest of the procedures, make it as simple as possible, dun need to follow tradition.

I think she doesn't want me to get anything better than her coz' her in-laws dun have $$. So did not give her much for her wedding,her MIL gave $288 as pin jin and her mum took only $8 & return the rest.

The banquet were paid off using the ang baos collected that nite & the extra $$ she kept them.
She did not even give any tables to her mother.

So I know my MIL definitely will not pay for the dinner, as for si dian jin, pin jin & no. of tables, I'll leave it to my mom to ask from her. Coz' my MIL is not poor, just stingy with outsiders.

i will be busy these few days. will get back to u all after my wedding...

Have a nice weekend...and once again... stay happy and beautiful JUNE bride

EsGril, for my case a bit different i guess... i know my mum will not ask for much cos to her, as long as the basics are covered like GDL and pin jin as token is given then ok liao.... but for myself, i just don't really feel welcomed that's all.... maybe it's still early to my AD... anyway i just feel weird with the whole family, so different from my own.... and i'm wondering if i can adjust to that and this is what's making me start to feel depressed....

Hi J Tan,
Chopard aint that ex its abt 5k+, frank muller cost $10K-20k my dear. Hubby got watch craze recently, so i also go see my fav watches hee...

Its ok i will try to find that song some how.
Havent tried western for wedding but it shld be great. Juz pen down wat u dun like abt the food, presentation, taste...etc

So many messages today! Was at hospital with FH, coz he had to do operation.. Did up my pew decorations.. Heehee, time more or less well spent

JTan: Cheap shoes for PS? If u dun intend to expose them in any shots, then can get cheap ones fr OG or this place opp Lion City hotel.. Off-hand cant't recall name of the building. Lotsa shoe shops there. Chinatown maybe? Have the platform thingy to give more comfort for high heels.. What's the heel height u're looking at?

Outdoor PS only 2 locations? Then u better find 2 with many 'sub-locations' within

Jelly: It's okie lah, hope the pix with it will turn out gd lor.. Can use to decorate ur house/room if not tt badly damaged..

josl: My food tasting on 22 Jun, next Wed, so i do suppose they wld discuss these stuff. My elder sis who is married is coming along & FH's eldest aunt also, so let them 'fight' it out lah!

Starmoon: Does Gin Thye Cake Maker bake those round pound cakes (butter, marble, chocolate etc)too?? Who shd be paying for this?

to all: Is it a must for parents to give jia zhuang? I dun think it's appropriate for me to ask my parents, but then if they dun, also seem abit paiseh.. Ooops! Touchy issue

Hi meh meh,
mine had a little paper with all the dishes and u can comment on them, after the whole dinner the chef shld come and tok to u,on how u find the food, presentation. But if u wanna change food/presentation shld ask the coordiator.

hi jtan
the shop opp lion city that meh meh mentioned is called city plaza...yah, many shoe shops there and can get it cheap. juz alight at paya lebar mrt station and itz within walking distance. my ps oso only 2 locations (max. 3 i think if still got time) and we haven thot abt where to go yet...prob will ask photographer to suggest. haf u thot abt where u wanna go? we will def include a beach in one of the location but not many choices here in SG...prob only can think of 4 (sentosa, east coast, changi and west coast??) not sure if west coast haf one though cos i live in the east all my life so abit sua ku....kekeke

hi mehmeh
i oso dunno but i think they do...y dun u give them a call to check. sorry to hear abt your fh...hope he's ok. I think normally shld be FH's side pay cos thatz wad my sis' MIL did oso...she got the cakes for my mom and my parents will distribute it cos the guy side no nid to distribute cake to relatives and those cakes r meant for distant relatives that u r not inviting to your banquet. but my MIL said i oso must give my aunties aka gugu (from my dad's side) although they r attending our banquet so i oso dunno but if MIL ok to give them den maybe will juz go according to her wish lor.

as for jia zhuang...i think nowadays will depend on individuals bah....i oso not too sure but my parents did gave my sis when she got married. i heard from my mom as for pin jin, datz is for her to buy the jia zhuang for me so she says if FH's side give abit, den she can only buy abit and if they give more, den can buy more. but oso dunno whether she's correct anot cos i thot ping jin is like a token to them and normally they will return part of it to FH's side cos not selling daughter mah. did i get u confuse? me oso dunno wad i'm talking abt liao *blur blur*

Harlow josl & starmoon

Thx for the info!!! Now I'm more mentally prepared. Dun want to be blur blur, esp since the ones getting married is FH & myself..

yo fifi... i looking for abt 31/2" one lor... cos FH quite tall wor... anyway why dun u custom made one... my colg show me her PS pix where she wear short WG hor... her shoes nice nice leh... custom @ $120 a pair @ Lepoard lor...

yo zoe... aiyo... the rtn is for face value lor... cos if ur mum take all... means tat she is like selling her daughter lah... u know last time ppl 1 face mah... so take already must rtn some back leh... hmm... u can rtn 2 boxes lor... aiyo... juz imagine u eat less 2 meals lor... if not wait ur ILs side.... think ur parents... wat wat wat lah...

hmm... go JB is a good idea lah... but wat kind of cakes u intend to buy 1st... those normal cream cake in pcs or those like tau sau bian one... if getting those cream one how to buy fm JB cos u need to get it 7early 6early fm the shop and start to distribute them within a day leh... cos cream cake cant keep long and need to be fridged wat... unless u get the other type... one day b4 go JB collect then give out nxt day lor...

but those tau sau kind one rite... not many ppl fancy leh... cos my colg tat time give us hor... no one eat leh... only i love it nia... kekeke

okie u update me on ur Chinatown trip ya... :p

yo josl... oh thought GDL is the day u give out ur cakes mah... me too... will do GDL b4 7th mth then sent invites to relative during 7th mth... if not too rush to hold everything till 8 yue... anyway my mum not patang with tat... juz dun tell my ILs side will do liao... :p

wow get album and frame hur... then can flip flip to see wor... nice nice hor... u good leh 1 person carry so many things hur.... bery heavy one leh... but u drive rite...

yo star... the one u call is those normal small cakes rite... not teochew one isit... btw i also duno wat is teochew style one leh... :p

yap yap choz is nice... i try tat b4... cos my colg baby 1st mth most of them get the cake fm there... their rice bery bery nice... yum yum yum

yo meh... so is ur FH okie... send regards to him ya... hope so it will turn out nice nice... not damage lah... still can use wor...

Hi Anne,
yep yep. me not artistic at all so not making any.

yep, saw them featured in a copy of HW brides/female brides b4 but really ex! think the shop's name is anthropology or smthng along that line...
i bought mine from HK -- very much cheaper! half the price of SG.

Hi zoeanne,
think that's the same stall -- there are several stalls along that row which sells GDL stuff.
the very first stall is the one with the nice uncle.

yep, my mum also requested cakes but she was ok with cake vouchers so i'm thinking of getting either bengawan solo or prima deli. both shops have 10% disc for orders above a certain amt. if i recall correctly, bengawan solo vouchers are valid for one year. you can choose to make a purchase of any cake you wish. price from $6.9 (marble cake, etc) to $30 (for the kueh lapis).

Hi JTan,
a positive ansewr to your poll: my mum is preparing some jewellery for my jia zhuang. i told her i leave it up to her to decide. she knows my tastes.

Hi mehmeh,
hope your hubby recover fast!

hi cheery

definately! since contractor more or less will just follow accordingly to what you wanted ie you have to come up with the design yourself.. ID will come with beter ideas and do much more space planning

before i engage intra, i ever approach contractors before..for the same stuff, they quote me around $28k, but the materials that they used are also of a cheaper quality

hi jelly

u got it wrong liao...those are just what i quoted from the person who posted it in another thread (datz y i put in the quotation marks)...that person called...not i call...i just copied his/her posting into my notes so that i can refer to when we wanna get those stuff mah....cos i very absent minded and sometimes cannot find back the posting cos can't remember where i seen it so i jotted it down lor. sorry if i confused u....btw, where is this Lepoard ah? me interested leh...might want to do another pair.

hey gals

know anyone or any shop that does good french mani & pedi cos the last time I did, the girl not good wan...my white colour one not yet dry, she applied the top coat liao....den can see the white streak on the top coat...so i tell her and then she not happy and said got another customer liao....so dunno which is good? anyone knows of good ones perhaps somewhere in town or east?