(2005) Brides of year 2005

hamster_gal

hi winnie,
i think it's alrite to colour now.... hair needs some time to settle down, esp if u r going to cut it as well....
i'm also going to highlight & trim my hair for PS. Any good hair salon to suggest?

hi EsGril,
it's sad to hear such things happen to your SIL.... i hope things will get better between her and her MIL
A marriage is not just between 2 persons, but also between 2 families....

panggou

Hi ESGril, oh no, if she really manage to get them to divorce, isn't it going to hurt?? esp the baby... it will be so bad for everyone. but cant the couple move to the flat the bought then try to start afresh?

panggou

hamstergal, when is your PS?

I am deciding between kimage or the one at Chinese garden mrt. the one at chinese garden mrt was opened by an ex-kimage staff. so still considering.

jade2602

Hi all Sep BTB

I had been trying very hard to follow this thread...
But it seem to be moving very fast....

You gals had been discussing the making of accessories rite? can share share with me the pic of ur making... my email [email protected]

cos i like to try to do some accessories for my WG... any advice for me?

Mehmeh,
saw ur pic of the shoes & candles... very nice...
Lucky u... can go Bangkok for wedding shopping...

Can i check with you girl... hmmm how many of u had done ur P.S.?

I am going to mine on this coming Monday...
Any suggestion for me? As in what to take note...
& where to go?

Btw, any Montage studio's Brides here? Can share share ur experience..

So sorry, i didn't have much things to contribute.

Luv
Jeannie Girl

cottoncandy

hi cheery

mine is a new standard flat, 115 sqm
my designer is Angeline. we basically went to quite a few IDs and contractor and finally settled on them after a 5 mths search. glad to say that they are very efficient and professional! no regrets getting them
i was doing research on this website loh and find the comments for them good, so we decide to drop by their place for a quote.. we signed on our 2nd meeting.. hehe..

hi wendy

yup, my baby's room is in greenish blue and master bedroom in beige and sandstone
i love colorful walls, really brightens up my day!

christmas_bride

hi ling,
keke...such a coincidence... ya, my designer is jean, my MUA is angela and my photographer is leon. i'm going tml for my app.

hi janf,
i just met up with jacky. din go to his house cos i'm alone, so i ask him to bring his photos out for me. i'm quite impressed with his portfolio and also his dedication in making the album looks nice. also find his rates quite attractive so i signed up with him.

how much u pay for the deposit? i'm still a bit concern for reliability issue when i'm paying the deposit...keke..

ai yah, u told me your AD too late... cos i told him i was introduced by you through the internet and he kept asking me about your AD cos he want to thank you personally.

leehz

I'm a Nov bride. Happen to chance upon this thread and find u gals very interesting. I'm also interested to find out more abt making accessories. Is it easy to just buy a book, materials and follow the instructions?

bei

I'm new to this thread!
Can I join in as well?

AD:16th Dec'05
Venue: Pan Pacific
BS: Golden Horse Award
AD photographer/videographer: TBA
Lovenest: Buangkok

seval

Jessie - Think not too easy unless you are good. The gals here picked up from books though but dun think I can do that.

Jeannie - I think most of us have taken PS except for a few. When is your wedding? You having yr PS soon?

J Tan - Wow, you managed to do a choker... hmm... I'm still at a loss.

zoeanne27

Hi jelly
Ok, pass the tiaras to me at next gathering..Jelly, can take pic of the flower ball to see? Me very interested...

Wah.. really envy, I dun even know how to make accessories. The corsages i DIY until gong gong liao.. hee hee...

Chinatown can buy GDL ah?? Around where ah?
Maxwell Market there or People's park? Sorry ah.. me blur blur.

Seval, Jeannie Girl AD is on 18Sept too

jellytots77

yo anne... ya lor i also duno how come my BS so fast one... anyway will be gog down nxt week man.. u update us on urs ya...

yo meh... at least u get wat u 1 man... hahaha... i think i bought the candles abt 20+ lor... ya lor my PG throw the flower then i suan him until he so paiseh.... FH... he... aiyo no much comments one lah... always said i so free do so many stuff for wedding... *faint*

cookies_gal

Time really flies by now...

I finally have some time to make a quick post here - been very tied up with work the last few days. Thankfully, I am on leave from tomorrow. Coz I doubt I will be able to come in to the forum the next few days, a big CONGRATULATIONS in advance to all the brides getting married this weekend!

My own AD is this coming Saturday, and I am also getting very excited and nervous about it. I have received countless surprises about my wedding in these last few weeks. Thankfully, my wedding preps are quite well-done and I have my FH to give me support, so I am not too stressed up.

Anyway, it's been really nice chatting with everyone here on this forum. I hope that we can all still pop by from time to time and keep in touch.

mik

Hi zoeanne,
juz went wif hubby to chinatown to do GDL 'homework' -- there's this store opposite the blue hawker complex near the small road -- selling GDL stuff and MJ sets. they have an newspaper article stating about items exchanged for GDL and the meaning of the items and also what "jia zhuang" comprises and the meanings of the items. very interesting. the uncle sooo nice, handed us the news article to copy. heehee. so hubby said go back and buy GDL items from them. other shops we visited not so helpful.

hi anne,
hope your BS can provide you nice accessories! yep, i really lurve her drama necklace but my EG is not gold.

jas_thm

Hi Cookies_gal,
excited for Ad? I cannot wait to get it over!! I am so stressed up!! Argh.. I hope nothing screws up esp in church. But for me, i have sunday to relax before dinner on monday. Congrats to you on your AD too
!!

sierra

zoeanne: that area which is selling the GDL stuff is the one behind the CK store, opposite People's Park Complex....u knw where's Chang Cheng porridge?? that stall always have a lot of ppl one....

there are a few shops selling GDL stuff, so can check out which offers a better price..

toking abt accessories, i think u gals are really hardworking....make them yourselves..more meaningful....my auntie's gonna make them for me...she just showed me a book of accessories, which had some bridal accessories design...but the book's quite ex, costs like $50+, good thing is the book is written in english...think u can try to check it out that the chinatown shop...

janf

morning christmasbride!

glad u felt comfortable & signed up wif him. hope we all BTBs will have a great time on our big day!

yes, i agreed tat he really took effort in making the albums look good. can feel lor. keke.

i paid $300 for depo. did u? if u decided later on tat u wana take VG, do go to his house to look at his videos, impressive. but go wif ur FH hor. his video is good compared to many tat we have seen. but too bad me no budget so cant.. well, lets hope i strike 4D later in the yr. <dream>

well, u cld oways msg him to tell him 04jan06 BTB rec. heehee.

ps: how much did he charge u? perhaps u cld PM me ya.

fifidoog

hey zoe,

i think in the GDL thread there's actual address and name of shops around people's park? btw, mind telling me where you got your actual day shoes? or any recommendation for cheap shoes? i just met up with my photographer last nite, aiya his shots can see my shoes one leh! HMPH! now gotta go and buy a pair of cheap one just for PS.

hey mehmeh,

any recommendations for cheap shoes for PS?

hey seval,

yah i made it. but dunno why the stupid thing curl up "kiu kiu" one leh. hahaha... so now i put it under a thick pile of magazines first to try and straighten it. hehe... you have a beading book to follow or are you doing blindly? need any help lemme know
btw are you renelik? ;)

novel

Hi cookie;s gal,

COngrats

Jasmine,

relax and stay cheerful...WE june bride must live up to our 'reputation'... beautiful jun bride. jia you &amp; enjoy the process

tou2

Congrats to those getting married this weekend. So many hur? Think next week will be very quiet in thread liao
Must come back and update us yar?

Any brides left after this week? I know Yuki is next week... anyone else?

hamster_gal

hi winnie,

my PS is next wednesday..... pray pray it wun rain that day... such a heavy downpour this morning

yesterday went wisma to buy si dian jin with my FH &amp; MIL... so shun bian booked an appt at the hair salon there for an appt this saturday....

have u decided where to go for PS?

dear99

morning gals,

chillipadi: actually i look awful in kwa, i wore once during my PS and itz soooo ugly... ;(
glad dat u hav a body dat suits kwa, cos not many ppl look nice in it. ;D

little ger: wat does CS means??

yuki_ko

Ya... totally agreed with Novel... hehehehee... must live up to our reputation... but me already "oh bah ka" liao...
291480.gif
coz too stressed... cannot sleep... any ways to destress?

Hi Tou2

only left wif me, u, babycupid, sp80 and serene... hopefully, I dun missed anyone... hehehe...

All the best to the gals getting married this weekend...
291481.gif

caitlyn

morning all.. wah really heavy downpour.. stranded at home.. need to go to school.. eeeks..
won't be coming in till next week coz gg to malaysia today.. coming back on sun..

very scary to hear abt all the MIL stuff.. hopefully my MIL will be more "dong si" coz i get along with her quite well now but if she were to really do the head pushing thing, i'll get really cheesed off... better ask my FH to warn her coz she always listen to those san gu liu po one..

hamster_gal - dun worry.. all of us will pray for u so won't rain.. it was siccessful the last time the gals did it for me.. hee.. also, good tt it rains these few days so by next wed.. now water to rain liaoz.. =)

esgril

Hi hamstergal

Thanks, I agree with you. As a DIL, sometimes we are in a difficult position dealing with our MIL.

U mentioned that you went to purchase your Si Dian Jin, is it white gold with diamonds or those traditional yellow gold set? Is it expensive? How much did you pay for yours? I'm not very sure, what the price range we should look at when selecting Si Dian Jin. It should consist of braclet, necklance, earrings and ring, rite??

My colleague's daughter got married recently and received cash of $4k to buy her Si Dian Jin, her in-laws let her select on her own.

esgril

Hi Janf

You mean Jacky does VG as well? Expensive? Can share with me his quotation?

I called Mr Low (VG) last nite, he can't confirm as he might be KL on Christmas.

To all
Anyone used Mr Low for VG before? How's his work?

apostles

HI piyo piyo and PPP,

I have sent you ladies the link already. Yep PPP, i would love to see your album. My email is [email protected]

Hi afcai, yep it really depends on individual customs. Thankfully for me only one month and i can attend my friend's wedding

cinderella2005

hi icy, hi sharlene, hi ying, hi hi everyone *waves*
wow it's june finally!
congrats to those who have their wedding already..i can't wait for mine to b over soon...pre-marital blues...

been busy with preparations...so long time never come in ... until today...

who is getting married or got married this week? share your experiences
I think i saw Mildernia with Suntec? Mildernia me too! but mine is not ballroom..is the function room...i'm one day b4 you

annesep

Hi mik mik,
Hope i can get them... wow, seem like many ppl are making their own accessories..

Will I be able to find the "Xi" candles in singapore?

Hi J Tan,
Could it be you tie it too tight? normally too tight it will curl up.. am i right?

Hi Jelly,

Will update you the pics after tomorrow (hopefully i can take a few samples back)... heheh

zoeanne27

Hi Sierra
Yeah. I know where is Chang Chen Zhou...OIC.. behind CK store.. I go n see...

Hi MilkMilk..
which store are u talking about? Is it also near the area where Sierra is saying?

Hi Jtan
I check out the GDL thread when free. Thanks
I bought my shoes at NOVO at Taka branch. There are other branch such as suntec, great world and also Paragon. but not sure if they still have the size. Heard from gals at other thread.. left size 8 and above.. But the sales gals told me that there are new stocks comin at June... But i cannot confirm this.

Cheap shoes ah.. I m not sure already.. nowadays GSS, check it out at those shops.. maybe got discount.. Paiseh... not shopping lately. My 1st GSS item is a pair from Charles n Keith...nothing more bought from any GSS shops

Hey gals
Any of your parents request from the guys side for wedding cakes? My mum request for it...So i need to see where to get such cakes and roughly how much they cost? Thanks in advance

caitlyn

EsGril - i think when selecting si dian jin.. the budget depends on ur PILs.. no standard price range i think.. as for me i chose my SDJ liaoz also.. i got white gold with diamonds.. but small ones.. hee.. so cost ard 1K, which is the budget given to me by my FPILs..

tiara1211

hi chill1padi,
very nice kwa....how much did you buy it for?
so wat will yr FH be wearing, if you wear kwa?
his suit?

I also intend to rent/buy a kwa..but my FH said he might have to wear the guy's outfit equivalent to kwa to match me..which is quite a waste of $$

blue_genie

hi hi...

feeling the excitement now...getting married this sun, status will be changing frm Miss XXX to Mrs XXX...haha

congrats to all the Jun 05 brides!

janf

hi esgril

yes, jacky does VG as well. not too sure abt his quotes but do give him a buzz at 9669 4588 to enquire. suggest u go down to his place wif ur FH to view his videos. u muz be comfortable ya. perhaps u can quote me as a 04jan06 BTB rec u to him..

tou2

Hi Yuki

I am quite stressed. Sleep also dream of wedding stuff
We have been working on songs, HM till 12 or 1am everynight
kao_dizzy.gif
Also busy with work...

Hi cinderalla, I got mixed feelings leh. Cant wait for it to be over but yet worried that I will be depressed after that - nothing to look forward liao mah... My hubby very straight forward. He cant wait for it to be over. He's only looking forward to HM

fifidoog

hey zoe,

thanks for the info. i will go and see...
wah. i think the cakes depends on dialect group? ok. i know there's one shop on mosque st near china town that sells teochew "cakes". seems to be quite famous but sorry i dunno the name.

just a poll, are your parents giving you dowry? my dad just said wanna give me something for dowry (jia zhuang). i dunno what to get. cos they wanted to get me jewellery, but i feel quite ex and not too practical. any thots?

josl

Hi Zoeanne,
for the cakes, we got the voucher kind from Bangawan solo. Mine was $13 per cake/voucher.

Hi J Tan,
My dowry comes from the jewellery pass down from my grandma and those that are bought over the yrs. Mostly gold, so think i will juz keep it and pass down again.:p

cinderella2005

congrats blue_genie on being Mrs hehe...
all preps done?

hi tougei, relax relax...wah sleep also dream of wedding stuff you must really be nervous and excited hehe... i'm more nervous than excited...
coz i got v bad temper one...i nearly ruin my own rom throwing tantrums :p but luckily my hubby is nice enough to talk nicely with me about my actions...so i'm nervous and afraid i will repeat the same mistake on the actual day *pray*
hmm...for me i won't be depress hee..* i think* yes but my friends like you, can't wait for it to be over but yet now that their wedding is over, they are looking back at it, hoping they could do it again hehe... i'm sure i wun have the same feeling though :p your ad is 1 jul right? 6 days after me...soon soon..hehe

just in case i don't pop in ..congrats in advance
291522.gif

zoeanne27

Hi Jtan
Thanks. I need to research

Hi josl.
My mum think need quite alot...Each family one box.. I need 10 over boxes to 20..i think la...
$13 per cake is too ex for us..over budget....
Sometimes dun understand leh... not baby 1st month leh.. why give cakes ah....

wtan

hi hi josl..
i was thinking of getting cakes from bengawan solo too..care to share whc cake did u choose from their range? how many boxes are u getting? my FH was telling me it happen to be mid-autumn festival &amp; many families might have at least 2 boxes of mooncakes so if we give those wedding biscults, duno how they can finish it but if cake, at least can take as breakfast..

wtan

hi hi sweet..
nice to know that u have a colorful theme concept for ur house, it will be very beautiful too, warm &amp; cosy..yap, true, will surely help to brighten up ur day..

annesep

Anyway, for wedding cakes, normally teochew does that cos to let them know you are getting married. Only for the 1st married couple, if your siblings think dun have liao.

Why not try to get the bengawan solo voucher instead of the actual thing? in that case, they can buy stuff from bengawan anytime that month. Jz a thought.