(2003) Brides of year 2003

may

Hello girls,

Jan: my wedding 5 days after yours. Actually, we should start now. Most of the shops i spoke to says that Sept can start designing the gown alreay liao. And here we are still undecided.

I am going to check out a few other shops - Lezen Creation, Jazreel Low and Le Galleria. Actually, have you shortlist any bridal? i am trying to keep everything just under 4K if possible. u?

Which forum did you go to that says xzen show has not great response? Actually the package they offered was S$ 5K less S$ 800 with actual day photography thrown in free but only 4 rolls and they return you the neg of the photos u select. It is alirght for S$ 4200 for a one stop station. The only thing is it is not that attractive coz their non promotion package is S$ 4500 and if you use DBS credit card to pay, u get 10% rebate meaning it works out to S$ 4050. cheaper but then it is without the actual day photography and neg return. After this consideration, we decided not to sign on the spot but if we are still keen we will go back to the shop and sign. To me, the actual photography is not that crucial - i rather save the S$ 150 and get friends to take for me. But we did also notice that the response wasnt that great.

Fiona: I think if u cant gather 25 tables dont force yourself ... if not, you will have to worry about the cost of the dinner. Take your take to look around. I am sure they are lots of places that cater to 22-23 tables and it can be cosy as well. Take a look at Her World Brides this issue -quite a few interesting venues - i am so tempted to change my banquet...ha..ha..

I have signed on with Amara Hotels and i regret committing 30 tables. Our initial headcount was 280 pax...but i signed on during a promo that came in with a free table so actually we need to pay only 29 tables... i like the venue very much so was willing to commot 30 tables but now i very worry that i may not fill up all the tables. Sigh...i worry too much as usual.

slk

Hi Jan and May,

I also have to save up on house and reno. I've never thought I would sign up a 5K package. It's a long story... if I ever meet you gals, will explain

Jan,
Yup my wedding is on thurs. Cos the price diff between weekdays and weekends is too much and since we are paying for the dinner ourselves, better not spend too much. I will find out more about the GH show and keep you informed ok?

May,
Not sure about the other 2 but I think JLC is not bad. If the packages are still the same, I think they have quite a good package at $3988 I think. As for XZen, the promo package is very attractive too. And i find the people there quite friendly. However, the gowns shown to me are the very trendy type (e.g. one side longer than the other) which does not suit me.

btw, Amara is a good choice too, don't regret
my colleague has very good comments of it after she attended her friend's wedding last month

Hi Fiona,

I wish I have a church wedding too... but my in-laws are not Christians and I think they would be rather unhappy stepping into a church. So no choice but I know my parents would have been delighted if I had a church wedding

vin

HI Cherry,

My photoshoot?? Not decide yet. Might be in end of September or Early of Nov. Coz the photographers are occupied in October and November as well, just left a few days in early of November. And for end of September, there' s couple just drop the date. So, me might take that one, will it be too early coz my wedding date is on 12/01/2003???

I might book with Sheraton for my wedding banquet but yet decide.

sue

Hi SLK, my wedding's on 25 May. Same as Fiona.

Mine will be @ Conrad. One wk before that, I'll have my wedding in M'sia.

vin

Hi Sue,

Which part of Malaysia you having your wedding dinner???

And by the way, are you going to wear the same evening gown as in Singapore wedding dinner??

jan2003

Hello everyone,

May & SLK: Good, our wedding so close! The last time i date SLK!
we going beer shopping, me still looking forward to it. you can come with us! As for bridal shops. sigh. i stop shopping around already. in fact, i very useless, i only shortlisted 3, x-zen, lezen and flamingo. as i previously said, i like flamingo's gown the best but their package very expensive. $4888 if we take MTM and Montage or Chris Ling as photographer. The rest of the photographers, just a few hundreds cheaper and I don't like their style. Plus the package no car, i need one, to top up, i will blow budget big time!

Lezen just moved to mandarin hotel, they got new package, think its under $4k, you can try them. their gowns look nice from magazine. i didn't get to see their gowns when i visited them. X-zen, i like edwin's photography, something different from the rest, their gowns i didn't get to see too. sigh. there, you got my full story. budget? of course have budget. trying to cap everything including car below $4500. tough to keep it below $4k i feel if you are looking at the few you mentioned.

X-zen's package not too bad lah hor? i might just try them. i need the actual day photography. now that it's free, better than nothing. you are right lah, have to start soon. now i am getting all stress out. sigh. the forum that mention response not too good is theweddingfair.com. you might want to check it out.

I wanted to have weekday wedding too. cheaper and invite less people and spend less. but both sides parents give big objections. : ( so we got no choice too. funny it's our wedding but alot of matters we got no choice. next time if we have kids must remember this lesson.

SLK, you keep me posted on GH's show then.

jingle bell

Hi HK,

Andrew Choi charges abt $2K come with an album of 20 pcs. He will give you the photos that u have chose in CD Rom. Any additional photos is chargable.

may

Jan: xzen promo where actual photography is thrown in - it only available during the show. i think if u go back to the shop, the package at 4.5K has no actual day photography. U can check.

I will be going to see Lezen tonite. they have got a nice promo with car thrown in.

I was thinking of hiring a London Cab that was why i think the package may be can squeeze below 4K. If not,i use my own car...why do we need to spend more $$ hiring another car? I was telling hubby..worst come to worst - use our own Nissan Sunny lor..save the money...hee..

Jan, u got to insist to try the gown if not how u know whether the workmanship good or not. When i started my search, my first stop was Milan and i tried theor gowns - i dunno why - theirs very heavy. Unlike those i tried in xzen, Le Galleria etc. So gown trying impt to help u decide.

SLK: thanks for the encouragement. I passed by Amara yesterday and i was pleasently reminded again why i made the choice. Mine is on a public holiday but i managed to get a good deal - i paid weekday rate for banquet. So all the more i shldnt complain hor...
We are also paying everything ourselves..sigh...

Hello hello Oct 03 brides !!
How have you all been?
I haven't been coming to this area of the forum for a long time .... busy with reno, so always go to the reno threads. =)

It'll be Sept in just a few days, means got 13 months to go !

Oh yah, i want to ask you a question.
When you book a package at a bridal boutique, you're normally required to pay a deposit right?
What does the boutique give you in return? A receipt? Drawings ?

I only got a receipt, and i haven't been actively keeping in touch with the designer, so i have no idea what to expect. Esp since our wedding is still so far away ... what happends from now till Oct 03 ?

slk

Good morning all!

Jan: Yes, I still remember the APB shopping. Hopefully it will be a good deal. If not, got to fork out more money again! sigh! Sure, if I hear any news on the GH show, will keep you informed

May: Wow, you paid weekday price for a public holiday? That's a fantastic deal! So be contented lah ok? Don't give yourself more worries. As for the money issue, my hubby and me also headache, hopefully won't make a big loss for the banquet.. sigh! btw, I also told hubby that worse come to worst we will use our own Toyota Corolla
I think these days people don't emphasize on cars anymore, in the past people use big cars to show that the groom is well-off.

Sue: Looks like you will be busier than most of us here... having to handle 2 wedding dinners. Must do your preparations early ya
Anyway, I called Colin yesterday to confirm my photographer... I've picked Kim

jan2003

May & SLK: No actual day photography? sigh. see how lah. i actually thought of skiping actual day too. save money. worst come to worst take more pics on our honeymoon. Agree with you both. Any car will do lah. actually such a waste of money to pay for another car. London cab not cheap leh. Someone i know got them. Lezen got car thrown in? good deal then. last time i went, they were at old place, small and very cramp, there were not much gowns too. should be much better now i guess. after you go, let us know ok?

u think x-zen will let me try their gowns? the last time i went there, they didn't even suggest. sigh.

hong

i'm new here, and my wedding date is also on 11 Jan

Jan 11 bride - we happen to get married on the same day. Which church are you having your ceremony?

- Hong

may

Jan: U MUST ASK! I very thick-skinned one - i asked all to let me try their gowns. except Jawn Happy Ever After - the designers talk and talk. I was thinking of making another appt to go see them again and ask to try the gowns.
Lezen moved to Mandarin Hotel that was why they got this promo. I promoted in this website..go take a look...it looks really attractive. I tell u more after my appt with them.

I agree London Cab not cheap but then it is very comfortable esp for us brides...it is easy to get up and down.

SLK: Everyone also hope that the banquet dont lose money..aiya breakeven i very contented already...

Where are you gals planning to go for Honeymoon?
I actually have not thought about it.

jan 11 bride

Hong - at Dobby Ghaut. Nice to hear someone getting married on same day. How abt you, also in church? how's prep coming along? ;)

slk

Jan: ya May is right, you must ask! some won't offer to let you try if you don't ask. troublesome mah.... must take out and keep the gowns.

May: true, we will be very happy if we can breakeven

Honeymoon? Hmmm... before we started planning for all these, my hubby suggested this place in Greece (cannot remember the name). He said he loved the place so much when he went there last time that he told himself his honeymoon will be there. But after we started planning and realised our budget constraints... we scaled down to Australia. Now, I don't even mind skipping the honeymoon if we are drained out on our finances eventually. Hopefully my new house will be very cosy for me to just stay at home with hubby... hee!

may

SLK: great minds think alike...i also do not plan to go for honeymoon unless we really have a lot of money left over...ha...

well...we did think of going to US..probably Las Vegas...

lynnie

Hi May

My hubby and I are planning to go Europe. My favourite is Venice. So romantic!

Hi Jan

Me also "thin skin", don't dare to ask. But seems like when I went they always suggest I try their gowns. Maybe you could try sweet talk them like wah your gown very nice hor! That's how I do it.

slk

May: sounds cool, that's where i wanted to go too!! but my hubby has been there many times so LA is out. i've never even been to US before

anyway, no point going for honeymoon and coming back more broke! but i told my hubby that if we miss the honeymoon, he must make up to me when we can afford next time

Lynnie: I went to Europe last time after completing my studies in UK. If you like sceneries and churches, then Europe is the place for you. Fantastic and breathtaking sceneries
Venice is nice but I find the place quite smelly (drain water smell)

smiley

Can I join in?
I am not a May Bride, but a June one actually.

I was at the X zen show also. I guess I would have to agree that the show was quite badly done. Although, I was seated quite near, but the lightings was really bad and the gowns with its details doesn't look that impressive on the catwalk.

So far I have been to quite a few Bridal Boutiques too including Bridal Veil, Lezen Jazreel Low, Jawn, Feline, Xzen, Ted Wu and Silhouette. Maybe I will pop down to Flamingo and Wedding Present to take a look before confirming on my Bridal Boutique.

Everybody had been telling me that I am actually quite far behind so I guess all of us will have to really buck up!!!

Out of all these, actually I have shortlisted to Jawn, Silhouette and Ted Wu. However I guess Ted and Silhouette is a bit too expensive for my budget but anyway I prefer Jawn gowns and the designers. I should say their gowns are very unique and elegant and they are one of those that could meet my budget yet produce beautiful gowns.

How I wish that they would provide Bridal car as well, then it will be just perfect.
I will have to maybe just borrow my friend's (We don't own a family car yet)car for wedding rather than pay to car rental co which actually cost a bomb.

Hi May

Congrats on your winning. I realise you have been to Jawn as well, so far what do you think of them actually?

Hi Jan and Fiona,

I guess together with May we are the only few that have not confirm on our Bridal Packages. Kambades

By the way which is the Bridal shop that tie up with the GH show that you all mention in October?

Sorry I veri loh soh.

F

fiona koh

Hi Smiley, have you booked your wedding dinner yet?

I still have not had the time to go check out Kai's gowns. But i realise not many people talk about his gowns in this forum...?

flowee

cherubies

so nice 2 finali meet up with u...

elaine n ling

nice 2 c u gers ard again...

yi

the dinner went on fine...

Hello Dew!

Jolly glad to be back. This thread has been so quiet !!

Yup, reno is 90% completed. Just short of installing ceiling fans and fixing 2 small problems in the kitchen.

How's your wedding prep been so far?
Got most of your stuff ready yet?

My sis, getting married in Jan 03, just had her photoshoot.
Her advise is:
(A) practise to relax and smile naturally
(B) bring along a helper to carry things for the outdoor shoot

Her groom carried everything from water to shoes to make up for the outdoor. Himself in a suit, he almost peng san from the heat !

Also get a friend to help touch up the make up.
Her boutique's package didn't include having the beautician for the whole day. so after applying the make up in the morning, she was on her own already ...

may

SLK: Your hubby travels alot hor..what does he do? I very KPO. hee... i am the opp. i am the one whose work requires me to travel ... US..he has not gone yet so he wants to go. I was in Florida Disney land..2 years ago..ALONE...but i had such a great time..dont mind going back for honeymoon man...

Lynnie: Venice sounds romantic ..agree...dont forget to go Spain if you got budget. esp. barcelona...Mango and Zara clothes very cheap and food too.

Smiley: u at the show too. it was horrible organisation, right. I q for like 10 minutes man...i find them very messy...

I like JAWN very much...but i never try their gowns yet... did you try their gowns? But they are really good talkers... but my hubby says i should try their gowns. But their package does not include car decor.

WHat are your comments on Jazreel and Lezen?

sue

we are getting busier chatting these days.

Talk abt honeymoon, my choice will be the same as Lynnie. To go to places like Venice, Florence or Paris. But depending on budget, we might go to New Zealand instead.

Vin: My M'sia wedding will be in Johor, abt 2.5 hrs drive from S'pore therefore my FH will fetch me from S'pore to his hometown. I'll be wearing the same evening gown for my M'sia & S'pore dinner because the people attending the dinner will be different group. I know I can actually rent from a bridal boutique in M'sia but I don't want to spend extra money. Yrs in KL right? How abt yr evening gown?

SLK: Kim is a gd photographer but I didn't pick him because of the not-so pleasant experience when we met him. R u looking forward to first appt with BV just like me?

Fiona: I have a colleague who used Kai. Hers is like ala-carte package. I think $3600 for the wedding gown & evening gown. Another $1000 for make-up with TG Goh. Photography (dun know hw much) with O Studio. I must say that she looked really beautiful in her duchess satin wedding gown. Cutting was very good. Kai also made her a very stunning fuchsia evening gown.

jan2003

hello to all,

May & SLK: i like Lynnie, very 'thin skin'. pai sei lah. plus i am on the plum side, the last experience i had, out of the 4 gowns the lady let me try, i only managed to squeeze into one. was very unhappy and embarassed that's why i hesitate to ask them to let me try. i felt very upset too after that incident. maybe they didn't offer also because they don't have gowns to fit me lah.

As for the banquet. i worry too. my friend lost $6000 plus for her banquet. some people actually gave $20 per head, terrible and it was at orchard hotel. that's why i worry too. scared not only cannot breakeven but big lose like her. scared, very scared.

as for honeymoon. i want to go. definitely will goo after banquet, just a matter of where and how far and how much we want to spend. if budget, then go hong kong i also no problem. important is to spend time with hubby. if don't go, i wonder when we will ever take leave together for over a long period. envy all of you, europe, US and Australia!

Smiley: welcome to our forum, yes, think we all have to buck up. can't drag forever. have to settle on one. my friends tell me bridal packages are about the same. it's a matter of price and whether you like it or not. most of them can come up with what you what unless you are looking for very elaborate stuff like whole gown lace, beads or embriodery. then will have to look for specialist.

Fiona: Sue is right. Kai and Tan Yoong very expensive. they don't have package but ala-carte. my friend who got them spend a total of $8000 plus for everything from car, to make up to flowers. they tie up with different people to provide all the rest while they only do the gowns. so after adding up all the items, the bill was big big and big. way above my budget, that's why i drop them from my list too. unless i strike lottery but my dream of wearing Kai gown over long ago. sigh. have to face reality.

smiley

Thank you for your warm welcome to this thread.

May,

I don't really like Jazreel Low and their gowns although their packages are quite impressive. As I had a friend who got married about four years ago and to my surprise her gown is still one of the off the rack. And I also happen to realise that one of their display gown with pink emproidery was idental to the one I saw at Graceful Image???

As for Lezen, I do like some of their design and their services when I visit them around Feb or Mar when Euzart (Currently one of the designers at Jawn) was still the inhouse designer. And I should say the packages that they are offering now was more impressive than then.

Jan,

I used to have the same idea as u that almost all packages are the same and most can come out with what you want.But I realise it is not true.

Maybe I had a taste of some gowns that are nicely done and some of the bad ones, you will realise the differences in terms of fit and detailing of the gown. So must still really think about it.

Actually, the designer that i wanted to try very much would be Tan Yoong but the price is really really steep.

My husband and I had not eevn start planning for our honeymoon at all. Was thinking of leaving it last after settling everything. Anyway won't know how much we will be spending at the end of the day.

Really envy you all on all you honeymoon destination. But agree with what Jan2003, even go Hong Kong also good, Most important want to spend time together.

may

Jan: actually, most of the gowns i tried i also dont fit. They are also too small for me,i can only zip up to the waist...my upper torso too broad...
As a result, i know i must do mtm gowns rather than take the otr ones.

I really dont see why u should be embarrassed about it. Unless the shops have made u so..then u know u should not sign up with them.

Personally, i admit i not super skinny, i am just right for my weight and thank god, i have got the height...well endowed on the top so no need padding..lots of the shops have told me so..so i take it is as a compliment..hehe...

Jan, u sound like u also should take mtm package..i just feel that u should be more daring and more confident loh...

I dont agree all shops are the same. When u try the gown, you have the chance to look at their cutting and workmanship...i feel that this is an impt criteria especially when we are not skinny and we need a good cut to hide our flaws.

So much for me nagging u....

My appt with Lezen was alright. Tried some of their gowns...the package they have now very attractive less than 4k includes car. But must top up about 150-200 for embrodiery and beading work.

While the package is attractive..their gowns are soooo loh..so i considering. anyway promo till Sept 15.

kelsey

Hi Melissa,

My wedding is on the same day as yours! I haven't even booked a place yet for the dinner. Panicking. What about you?

slk

Good Morning all!

May: My hubby was from SQ previously, that's why been to many places
He is in sales now, does not travel so much lo. I used to travel quite alot for business, but not anymore (travel freeze). Used to complain so much about biz trips, now i miss it so much!

Jan: I also cannot fit into most of the gowns! There was even this one gown, the lady tried so hard to zip up for me, and the gown bearly burst! As for the honeymoon, don't envy me, like what i said, i might not even go for my honeymoon

Smiley: Welcome to the thread. I just check out with my coordinator at Hyatt. They have not confirmed their Bridal shop, but she said most likely it will be Emmanuel B. Heard the gowns are quite nice there. So perhaps Fiona, Jan and you can consider

Sue: Yes yes! I am looking forward to the first appt. But not sure when... should I call them or wait for their call?

Vin: My bro-in-law is a canadian (parents from Hong Kong and migrated there after marriage), so my sis had her wedding in Singapore, Hong Kong, and Canada!! Like Sue, she only brought her EG to HK and Canada. She even did her own makeup there!

vin

How's everything??

Jan2003: "unless i strike lottery but my dream of wearing Kai gown over long ago. sigh. have to face reality." Actually every bridal shop is the same laa.. just depent what you want and the price...
So.. cheers up. You will look good with any gown...

As For honeymoon, if got budget then go to HK or China like Shanghai, Beijing lor... Shanghai rate as one of the top 10 most romantic places.. is a nice place.. cheap as well. And you can travel around those city near shanghai..

You must ask the co-ordinator of those bridal shop that you visit. Must try their gown to see whether you like it or not or their gown suite you well or not. If you can't fit in, try to ask for a slightly bigger one lor, or don't zip up all, zip up half, at least you can still see the design..

Are you kidding?? Still got ppl gv S$20/- for ang pao meh?? Is that they did reply the RSVP claim that they were not going for the dinner??? Terrible! Just pray for breakeven laa... where you having your wedding banquet?? Think mine will lost as well. Emm... norm you all just count in whether the money you get can cover your banquet or all others things that we spend for our wedding?

Hi Sue,
My hometown also is ard 2.5 hrs or 3 hrs drive from SIngapore, mine is Segamat. Where's ur hubby from? Is all your family go in with you or you alone??? I haven't decide whether to use back the same gown or not. Want to check with them see they can gv 1 extra for M'sia dinner coz don't feel like dirty up my dress lerr..

Hi May,
What you work as? YOu travel a lotz hor..me kpo. Will your hubby complain?

YOu consider to go to USA for honeymoon?? Is that nice? Me never been to USA b4, just went to europe only. Ya... venice, paris... nice.. Spain is great, nice food, cheap clothing and shoes..

Hi Smiley,
Welcome to the thread.
Actually mine will be in June (for initial planning) but then right now we changed to Jan..

Actually is time for your to shop ard liao.. coz aft that you need to decide, planning... trial, discuss for photoshoot... never think that is still far to go...

And so far, most of the bridal shop didn't include the car.. There's one in Tanjong Pagar, which is moved from IMM to TP, they include the birdal car.

cherry

Vin - Sept will be just fine, not too early not too late.....i mean if you take your photos in Sept, you'll have plenti of time for other things and you can rest more as well. You shld book your venue fast if yours is on 12/1/03 'cos it's a sunday and quite a pop date for weddings as well.

Hong - Welcome welcome!! wow seems that 11/12 jan are popular dates in Jan03, so which bridal shop are you with and have you booked any venue yet?

jl

did you gals see the tong shu for your wedding date? me still waiting to get date for next year.... dont know still have any place to book...

Anyway, I am having Tea Reception. ANyone got any good reco?

may

Smiley: SLK and i were just talking about where we want to go for Honeymmon...it is not confirm lah....the destinations are where we dream of going. At the end of the day, it all depends if we got money to even step out of Singapore.

But last nite, i ask hubby about honeymoon again, he says US no spending power..we shld go someone where our currency is power. We dreamt of going to Vietnam and Cambodia...

Vin: I am in event management line..sometimes i got events overseas so must travel..hubby sometimes complain....but it is for good for our relationship if we are away...

SLK: wah..hubby from SQ...
i always wonder why the gowns we try are all so small. i got long body..most of them their waist line too high for me...it looks terrible..

slk

May: I am the exact opposite. My body is extremely short, and i got very long legs as compared to my body (super inproportionate) sigh!

Hey shall we all meet up one of these days

hk

Hi Jingle Bell

Do you know what is the add charge for one photos? what is the size of the photos that he is giving? Thanks

shook

I am also a May bride
new.gif
. Initially wanted to have customary wedding in Mar, but FMIL said Mar is near Cheng Ming festival. So, change to May. Fairly disappointed
coz I intend to go Europe for honeymoon during their spring season. May will be their hot summer

I had my preparation done the other way round from the majority of u. Booked bridal package but not the wedding banquet. What else, waiting for the tongsu to select the auspicious date lor. Now that the tongsu is out, still can't book wedding banquet coz it is ghost month. Quite worried initially. During ghost month my bf and me visited a few hotels and made tentative bookings.
Now considering which one to choose for our wedding.

See that u girls are talking about bridal package.
Some humble opinion here.
Choose the bridal boutique that is near to your house or working place coz u need to go for 7-8 appointments.
Choose one where the staff are friendly and nice.
For brides who hold wedding dinner and ceremony on different days, check if the bridal boutique charge extra for make-up on different day though the package says make-up for actual day n night. By the way, I got my bridal package from White Link. They dun charge extra for make-up on different days.

For brides who have not gone for their solemnization ceremony, can request the bridal boutique to loan you ROM dress (FOC) and use trial make-up on ROM day.
Hope the above contributions are useful

jan2003

hello all,

thanks for all the courage!
will try harder next time.

Smiley: yah, Tan Yoong too expensive plus I heard he re-cycles his design. i know of this case where 2 brides to be from the same office got offered the same design for MTM! The latter one of course not happy so went back and made some noise. final conclusion i not aware but think its usual lah. how to have so many designs! Their package way above $6000.

May & SLK: Yah, the shop embarass me.
they say i have to start losing weight and insisted i try when i wanted to stop after the 2nd one don't fit. that's why i don't like to try too. bad experience. she even say my photos need alot of touch up because of my bugs bunny teeth etc etc etc. in the end. i didn't go around shopping for bridal shops for a while because of this nasty experience. wonder why all these brides so thin. sometimes i wonder can i ever reach that stage? unlikely, i still happily eating away. Dont' worry lah, me welcome all the nagging! problem is i quite lousy at clothes, material etc. so good cutting or not i cannot tell one. just like my mum always say this chicken rice stall better but i just eat. i cannot tell the difference lah. they all taste about the same lor. terrible hor.
pai sei lah.

As for Lezen's gowns. Like what i said, so so only. i saw but didn't try. but in magazines like not bad.

SLK: I think should still go for honeymoon. at most a short one. my friend went phuket for his honeymoon. just a short 4 days trip to celebrate and spending quality time. whole trip less than $800 for 2 persons. quite ok. Emmanuel B? Dont' think i can wait till Oct to get my package. Like what May said, i will be taking MTM so hope to get all things done by Sep. then i got to concentrate on clearing my fiance room for reno. Man have alot things too! He got so many stuff, i wonder where got space for mine!

Vin: I no joke because i help to open the red packets. they even wrote their name on the back of the red packets. sigh. i wonder why they so not pai sei. although its the thought and presence that counts but they are all working adults, can you imagine the whole table, all pay the same rate of $20/-, that table, my friend lose big time. poor gal. i also hope just to breakeven. nowadays unlikely to earn, breakeven enough for me, not asking for more. I very excited for you. Jan 03 is just a few months away. after you do all the reno, appointments at bridal and hotel, buy furniture etc etc etc, in no time you will be bride. so happy for you i can clap!

vin

Hi Gal,

Me went for facial yesterday, very relax.. not bad.. I kena sun burn, very serious, hope by the time (photoshoot) will turn ok...

Hi Jan2003,

I saw a bride who got big unny teach, the palaroid photos, w/o touch up. She's look nice, she even open her mouth and smile, charming. Think just depends on the photographer skills..:p is definitely not your problem. So, tell the shop co-ordinator, the photographer should bring out the charm of the couple, not the couple bring out the style of the photographer..Why keep on emphasize abt touch up?? .. me very "chia" (fierce in hokkien), right?..:Þ

I haven't done anything yet. Just got a draft design of my wedding gown.. very happy..

Will go down to choose my gown on 08/09/2002 if I want to take my photo on 19/09/2002. Else wait wait till November. But my wedding is on 12/02/2003, So, should be taken in Sept, else no time to prepare liao.

Me just tentatively book with Sheraton, haven't sign up with them. Haven't reno my bf's room plus the room beside his room, as our living room. Tonne of things to do but yet complete any.

Where is your ideal wedding banquet. Which bridalshop is in your shortlist?

F

fiona koh

Hi, I'm back again. Wow, many messages have been posted since I last joined in!

Just curious, those of you who have signed up with BV...do you intend to wear the Kua or the tea dress provided by BV? I vain leh, feel like wearing both, hehe. I read that there is a shop called House of Etiquette where they rent/make kua. My friends suggested that I wear the silver one instead of the red one. But I have never seen a silver one before.

Oh, and I am thinking of a WG with a big train
but am worried that it will get very dirty during the outdoor photoshoot....

may

Hi Shook: i also initially wanted to have my banquet in Mar before the Ching Ming but it was so difficult...went to see this fortune teller and he told me that Mar next year is the worst month to get married. even worst than the ghost month...all dates are black...no red dates (meaning good ones). April no dates for us as wll coz of Ching Ming so no choice but to settle for May..sigh...

Thanks for your advice, will keep that in mind. u
are one of the few that sign up package first...but it is good...at least u settle one impt matter already...

Jan: which is the shop that u went to that embarrassed u so much...tell us...such horrid sales person...thank god no one has said such things to me before...though i have got comments like "u are not that fat...sure got otr gowns to choose one"...like real...i cannot wear otr lah...my body only unique to myself. The lady from Divine Colture was really funny...most of the bare-back gowns i try can only be zip to the waist, so she told me hubby that "u see her waist is alright...dont have to worry...is just her top"....i wasnt insulted lah...just feel that why is she telling me hubby that and not me? Anyway, me nagging again - dont because of one nasty person or shop hinder your fun in searching for the ideal gown or shop. Sometimes, u can also tell alot from a shop that allows u to try the gowns. u can gauge their patience and their attitude. Those nasty ones ...forget about it..those nice ones...can consider...

BTW, i am not that big on the top in case u all wondering...i am just not flat that is all...hee...

slk

Jan: Ya, which is the nasty shop with nasty and tactless salepeople? Must tell the whole world to avoid them!!! (hope it's not BV :p) May is right, there are so many to choose from, don't have to go back to the lousy ones.

May: hahaa! not flat is good enough.... hee!

Fiona: I have not decided. Apparently BV's kua is the traditional dragon and phoenix one. Heard it's very classy and nice. I've never thought of wearing a Kua, but after seeing the photography of some brides in the Kua, I am beginning to think I might use it
Gown with a big train? People normally use such gowns for church weddings.... for wedding dinners, might be a bit troublesome to have a long thing draggin behind (just my 2 cents worth)

Vin: Sheraton is quite nice, one of my friends took Sheraton. Location is good and it's easy to access
If I am not wrong, the table is for 12 people right?

jan2003

Vin: I don't have ideal banquet site because all along i rather do without but cannot. But I same as SLK, book Grand Hyatt and till date very happy with my choice. I thought you getting married in Jan 03? how come change to Feb 03, isn't that Chinese new year period? Me same as you, using fiance's present room. Are you going to combine the two rooms? Me got to settle bridal package then start on that. Got to clear his things first before renov. that is a big exercise itself. i only visited 3 shops after the nasty experience i had: x-zen, flamingo and lezen. Sheraton is good choice. As what SLK's said, their table sit 12. also they let you choose your menu, cards and bridal suite. heard all their suites are different. Food is by Li Bai, should be good. One point to note is the layout. It's a L-shape ballroom. So your guest at both ends cannot see each other. What happen, how come you got sunbrunt?

May: I same as you, March and April out, no dates, that's why May. It's ok lah, give us more time to get things done i guess. That's why after i settle bridal got to settle renovation. Mar and Apr cannot renovate, Feb is chinese new year, Jan i have to buy furniture so december got to do reno! The shop..... not any of those we mentioned here lah. More towards the Taiwan side.

SLK: You bet! I won't ever go back to them. But don't think want to say about them too. My office got one couple using them. Maybe that day bad day for the lady or we just have no chemistry. i not upset already so ..... forget it. going to think of happy thoughts instead.
It's ok not to be pencil thin lah. read somewhere that men usually like more flashy gals. hahahaha! console myself lah.

Shook: Welcome to our little chat corner. when is your wedding in May? thanks for all the contribution on the bridal shops. I am sure we all find it useful, especially, me, May and Fiona, we haven't got our package yet. Which venues are you looking at? Maybe we can help out.

knowing

u shld start bookin for yr banquet liao
cos i try to book mar 1st previously
bt the ballrm i wanted was taken up

originz

Hi june brides

For those of you who have booked the bridal package, when are you all starting to go down to the bridal shop to discuss details for gowns and photoshoots? Have anyone been called to go down for appointment yet? And when are you planning to take your photoshoot?

F

fiona koh

Hi SLK, I am having a church wedding, that's why thot a train will be nice

May: Wah, I didn't know that Mar is a bad month to get married! Initially wanted to have my wedding in Mar but the church said cannot solemnize weddings 40 days before Good Friday

Then April is Qing Ming...so got to do it in May lor. Actually its better this way, give me more time to prepare :p