(2003) Brides of year 2003

lynnie

Hi JL

I heard that for Tea Reception, Akaiff Manison is very romantic. As for food, Ritz Carlton is quite good. Maybe you could try them out.

lynnie

Hi smiley

Welcome aboard!

Hi sue

I had been to New Zealand a year ago. It is a very beautiful place. We self-drive from Christchurch all the way to Auckland. If you are going to visit the south part which are mainly the countryside, it will be very cold even though in summer. On the other hand, north part is warmer, especially in Auckland! Weather is quite drastic.

Hi Jan

You are right, I feel that no matter where it's a honeymoon after all, a sweet and romantic holiday for 2. Must go before the kids come into our life or else it is difficult to travel after that.

Hi vin

Shanghai is a very nice place, my boss likes to go for business trips there! He enjoys Shanghai very much!

Hi May

If you are going to Vietnam remember to buy bras!!! My friend told me that their branded bras are sooooo dirty cheap!

Hi Shook

Thanks for your kind advice. I am still looking around for bridal shops. Just visit Le Galleria not long ago.

sue

Hi Vin, u r from Segamat! That's the same place as my FH. I din mention because some people don't even know where's that so I just tell them at the end of Johor.
Glad that u r from there, do u go back often? I sort of like the slow pace of life there & everytime I'm there, I must go Nanyang for their tea & loti.

Hi May & SLK, I think some bridal boutiques are just so tactless. One of the boutique my friend went to also told her that she is too fat and she needs to lost weight before they MTM the gown for her. She was so angry that she walked out of the shop.

priviledged

Hi originz,
My appointment with the bridal shop will not be til early Novemebr, that is to do the design of the gown.

Because my FH will be overseas from Oct to mid-April, we'll be working on my gown first. Then he'll have his suit measured and made only when he comes back. Our photoshoot will be in early May. Wedding end June. Everything is very tight but cant be helped.

When's your wedding? What's your schedule like?

kk

yi jie,

jia you jia you! me also same fate as u.. sacrifice lots of time on study. And case studies very difficult! My whole team cracking our heads over it. Now i even take up tuition assignment on mon and thurs nites, so most of the night-time i am outdoors

dun worry, we will be able to "pull through"

cutie

Hi originz,

My first appointment will be on 9/9 to discuss on the design of the gowns. Tink my photoshoot will be somewhere in April.

Very excited....

Y

yi

hi kk mei,

thanks for your advice.

you too must jia you ok?

me having lessons mon, wed and fri and got to do projects or go for project meeting on tues or thurs. Sian!!!!! No time for hubby liao!

me gog for my trial makeup and choosing fotoshoot gowns next thur. really very packed leh! :p

howz things wif you? wow, leaving your job soon hor?

may

Hi Everybody,

Thank god it is Friday today. i am so tired. This week have been doing my rounds with the bridal boutiques. so tired.

Sue: really got such nasty boutiques mah...i know skinny isthe in thing now but these salespeople should be tactful, right?

Lynnie: really bra cheap in vietnam..ok...all the more must go...good to stock up...

Fiona: which dates are u looking in May? weekend or weekday....?

Jan: i think u should buy the furniture in dec, beat the deadline for the 5% gst...u know...

anyone going for Philips carnival?

F

fiona koh

Hi May,

I am having my church wedding on 24 May and dinner on 25 May. What about yours?

Oh, I also wanna ask you gals about the actual day photography. Have you booked any photographer yet? I was wondering whether BV can incl that into the package or not...must top up money lah, but dunno if they do such things...?

may

Fiona: mine is 15 May...

Church wedding very nice...wish i can have one too...but...

It is good to have a long and nice train for church march in. it makes u look great...

I cant help with actual day photographer..have not even settle my bridal package yet

sweets

I never knew there was such a hot June thread. Nice to "meet" all of you. Hope we can share more as the time draws closer

sweets

hi hi !!!
have to pop by to say that my FH and I decided to bring forward the wedding to June...so sob sob..wun be able to "hang out" with you all so often...
(((hugs)))
miss u all already
on the brighter side..about 300 more days to go

heheheh!!!

shook

Jan, Fiona, May
Hehe we have the same fate...wanna choose Mar ended in May just an alphabet difference (r to y) but it is 2 months apart

Jan
Thanks for the welcome note. My wedding should be 11th May. Y I said that because my wedding date changed from 6th to either 3rd or 10th then to 11th.
. Long story....The latest is 11th. Think should be the final one.
Glad my humble contribution helps.
U dun have to care about
that sales-coordinator who belittled u. She is so mean. Some people are like that. The first time I went to a bridal fair, I oso received sarcastic remarks. The sales-coordinator tried to hard sell their package. My bf said we wanna look around and the sales-coordinator goes...there are 300 over bridal boutiques in Singapore, go and visit everyone lar......Wat customer service is this
. Of coz chased customers away lar. U really gotto try the gowns to judge if u like the gowns of the bridal shop. Dun have to be dampened by that bad incidence. The bridal shop that I signed up with offered to let me try the gowns though I din ask for it. And there it goes.. I simply love their gowns when I browsed through them. I am going to the bridal shop to choose my ROM dress on 9th Sep around 19:00. U wanna come?
My bf n me are considering Amara, Hotel New Otani, Le Meridien and Concord. Any advice?

May
Yep yep. 1 thing done for me. Actually signed the bridal package 2 days before the ghost month
Amara ballroom has a long marching aisle. You could consider wedding gown with long train. It's gonna be very beautiful

Lynnie
Happy shopping for bridal package

There is a designer bridal sale on 31.08 to 01.09 from 11:00 to 21:00 at Four Seasons Hotel Crescent Ballroom. Entrance fee is $2 per couple/$1 per person. Check it out

whitely

hello everyone,

Just check with you whether anyone of you's BIG day is on June 22 2003?

Hi cutie,

How are you doing? I didnt visit this thread for quite some time due to the work commitment and the wedding preparation, very shang1 nao3 jing1. No i know why they said we need to starting prepare 1 year ago, hehe.....

may

Shook: Meridian was one of the place i shortlisted as well. their package really attractive and the ex sales manager was so easy to work with but he left. however, the bridal suite for meridian was realy disappointing. in the end we chose Amara and sign during their promo and i got a really good package.

u should see inter-con hotel. their package not too bad.

hmm..maybe will have long train for march in at amara but the ceiling is pretty low for amara hotel..so may end up looking short and big..so must consider all this...

cutie

Hello whitely!!!

No time no see!!! The tread is getting rather quiet...

Really? You so busy??? But I'm very free leh... Wat r u busy with??? Tot once you settle the bridal package and hotel booking, there's nothing much to do??

Worried....

F

fiona koh

Hi May,

Actually I found one photographer who quoted $1000 for actual day. But I haven't officially closed the deal yet. Just want to check with you girls if this price is reasonable...?

kiroro

Glad that this thread is active again ! ;) I have finally book my package with Silhoutte this month. And will be confirming my design next month..... Astrud ? Where are you ? Have not hear from you for a long time.
Hello to all new june brides

jan2003

Fiona: If Amara only got one ballroom then i think you may wish to skip Amara if you plan for a 25th May dinner. I think i know someone who booked them for that date. Your wedding is same date as Sue's! $1000/- don't include videography does it? Sound pretty reasonable to me though. how many rolls and how much per additional roll? think these are some questions have to look out for.

May: yah hor, i plain forgot about the 5% GST increase. Ok, got your point. will get buy in December then get them to deliver in Jan then. thanks for the reminder.
by the way, i may sign up with x-zen. called them. they refuse to throw in rom or tea dress free. sigh. i don't think i want to shop anymore. tired and work getting more stressful. Have been sick too. getting more and more short tempered. in fact, sometimes just feel like bursting out in tears. i ate alot too.
the coming months i have alot of projects on hand and deadlines to meet. getting real worried already so ......

Shook: Your wedding date if on 11th will be just one day after mine! =; Amara, Hotel New Otani, Le Meridien and Concord. From what i know, hotel new otani, the ballroom a little on the old side. Amara is new and zen, package price is also not bad. Concord my colleague just attended a wedding there, food was good, that's her comments. Le Meridien, i don't have any feedback. thanks for the invitation to visit your bridal shop but i cannot make it. i only end work officially at 6.30pm and my office is all the way in the Jurong area plus i don't end work on time most of the time. which bridal are you using? the sale at four seasons, hmmm... can go anytime right? thought of going there to buy my ROM or Tea dress. I called up X-zen, they refuse to throw in these items free.

may

Jan: u poor thing. u so stress... how much did xzen tell u their package is? Did they throw in free actual day photography? i agree it is time consuming to hunt around. i also very tired. xzen is good choice ... go ahead if you are comfortable ...go down and try the gowns and then if they make u feel good..sign then...

Always try to think positive, at the end of day...u must enjoy and have fun and look pretty.

Fiona: someone told me it around $ 800 and above for actual day photography with about 8 rolls...

F

fiona koh

Hi Jan2003

The photography service includes up to 8 rolls colour film (36 exposures), 4R prints & album or up to 252 pieces of 4R digital prints, CD Rom and album (I am quoting the email that I received from the photographer).

I also think it sounds reasonable to me

F

fiona koh

Jan, just to let you know, may colleague's package with xzen includes actual day photography

shook

Hihi May
I like the ballroom at Meridian. Very grand, especially the chandelier, sooo...many of them. However, the lobby, entrance to the hotel (from Orchard Rd), the surrounding shops (like Indian mama stores) are very run down (lor kok)
. These really put me off. But my bf likes the place.
All the bridal suites were taken up when I visited the hotel. The sales manager showed my bf n me the executive club suite which will not be offered to the wedding couples. I asked him what's the point of showing the suite which u r not going to give to me. He said the suites r the same except that there r CD player n some other equipments in the executive club suite. I am sceptical.
The sales manager who talked to us Jacky Liu claimed that he worked for many years there. umh, perhaps there are more than 1 sales manager. He is fairly nice though.
Price for Inter-co is too steep, beyond our budget.

Yep, agree the ceiling for Amara is low. But it's unique fabric lights is an attraction. Think it is still nice to have long train though the ceiling is low coz your guests's eyes follow u as you march in. So, the focus is on your back n the train. A train with crystals would be a wonder. Uhoo...

By the way, my new house is at Sengkang too

Congrats ! Was Conrad available on the date you wanted in June ?

**hugz** we'll miss u too, but do drop by when you can.

nevertheless, a big CONGRATS to you again !

your heart beating faster yet? your wedding is coming SOON ! So exciting !!

Sweets, after you've had your wedding in June next year, you must come back and tell us Oct brides all about it so that we can learn what to do / what not to do !
I'm sure we'll ALL appreciate your advice !

jan2003

hello all,

Fiona: your friend just signed up with xzen or sign up earlier. i forgot to ask about this! alamak! don't think it's included though because i didn't sign up at their show. will ask if i going to sign up. Your pacakge sound ok to me. if i got extra cash i might go for actual day photography if xzen don't throw in. if not i will make do with getting friends to take.

May: yes, must be happy. whenever i think about wedding i will smile. happy. clap clap!
very excited all of us will be getting married soon. i like good ending stories, getting married always brings smiles!

Shook: have you tried this hotel which used to be called the glass hotel. i tried their food. good. all the people who attended say good. i think their price is ok too. if you keen on meridian, make a tentative booking first. safer this way?

F

fiona koh

Hi Jan2003,

I believe that my colleague signed up in late Feb or early Mar coz her wedding is in Oct. I thot her package is not bad too, most packages don't include actual day photography right? She also did not sign up at their show, I think she just walked in. Maybe you wanna enquire with xzen?

F

fiona koh

Just curious...the bridal sale at Four Seasons...are the dresses/gowns new or worn by other brides before?

may

Shook: i dunno know about the executive suite but the bridal suite was alittle rundown. my hubby just cant stand the wardrobes they have in the room. He said it was the same wardrobes that they had when he was a kid. hee..

inside meridien looks good but outside and the hotel rooms they really look alittle rundown.

what is your budget anyway and how many tables r u looking at?

i think amara is the best from your choice - hee...that is why i also chose amara...ha...

where is your place in sengkang? i should be collecting keys soon in oct...will be a busy end year for me. hope to move into love nest before next chinese new year.

Jan: ask about the actual day photography and let me know can. u still havent tell me how much is their package now after the show. is it S$ 4500, u know if you pay with DBS credit card, u get 10% rebate.

F

fiona koh

Hi May, yes I think I will be there. But dunno whether must be there at 11am or not, I think I read somewhere that its better to go earlier if you want the good stuff? Hehe, KS...

But most probably I won't buy a WG from them, I want to look for nice EG or tea dress...

shook

Jan
10th May was the tentative date before the 11th. Keep changing the date lar

The draw backs for Amara are the banquet manager is not very flexible; price a bit over our budget; unfavorable comment on food from Amara thread in Singaporebrides forum. The other thing is my earlier tentative dates 3rd and 10th were taken. Not sure if 11th is available.
Hotel New Otani looks much much newer as compared to Meridien and Concord.
Glass hotel was the old name for Concord. The draw backs for Concord are: low ceiling, 2 big pillars in the centre of the ballroom, seat covers dun come FOC, worst among all gotta share foyer area with another ballroom and a restaurant. The biggest ballroom which can meet our capacity is right at the end of the banquet area, which means our guests have to pass through the other ballroom and the restaurant. Worried that our guests will get confused and lost.
Well, can't get the best of both world.
It is alright that u can't join me.
My bridal package is taken from White Link. they have a branch in Marina Square. I asked for free loan of ROM dress, they gave to me. U may like to go there and take a look. Look for Claudia. Tell her Shook Huay referred u. I can accompany u there if u like to. I am working at Gateway, walking distance to Marina Square.
Wonder if u read the thread for X-zen in the forum. The comments are unfavorable.

May
Yep yep, Meridien is very run down.
My budget is around $600 to $700. We are probably getting 35-38 tables.
Amara is in fact a little over our budget. Hope we can bargain for a weekday price for Sunday (11th May). One thing about Amara is that there are unfavorable comment about the food from the thread in the forum.
My new house is in Rivervale Crescent. I actually got the key in July. Will shift in after customary marriage. Which part of Sengkang is your new house?

May, Fiona
I will go to the bridal sale on Sat in the afternoon. Time yet to be confirmed with my bf.

I m going home soon. Will not access to this forum till Monday. Have a funky weekend.

shook

Hihi all
I dunno if the dresses n suit fm the bridal sale are new or old. The ad says
Designer wedding n D&D gowns fm $199
Mensuits fm $50
Bargain deals for beauty, photography,travel and more....
Bid for your $1 gown at the event on Sat...

Go check it out at www.my-marriage.com

smiley

Hi, Sorry was quite busy so didn't log in for a while.

Jan,

Don't sign up on impulse and then regret in the near future. Go to visit one or two more good and highly recommended ones like Jawn, Bridal Veil or Silhouette to compare and if you really like Xzen then confirm with them. The last time I visit them they are quite okay and nice.

Don't be discourage. I am also on the fleshy side therefore I believe the selection of the bridal designers that could come out with something flattering is very important. Stay happy, It's Ok if we are not a perfect hourglass, most important stay happy.I believe staying as a a happy bride will definitely make us glow.

By the way, Jan2003 where exactly is Glass Hotel?(Sorry a bit sua ku)

May,

when is the Philip Carnival? You have been doing your rounds with Bridal Boutique, so how was it? Actually, Amara Hotel was also one of the place I was choosing, but the date that i was looking into during then already had a tentative booking.

Lynnie,

How is your visit to Le Galleria. Think they will be having a show. right. But we couldn't wait already.

Fiona,

I think the sales is a 2nd hand off the rack sales.

All of you please have a nice weekend. Very Tired too. Think I may be falling sick too.

I guess I will be confirming my Bridal Boutique by early September too. Most probably will be signing with Jawn Happy Ever After after visiting Wedding Present and Falmingo this weekend. So far I guess I'm most impressed with their designs and services. And I should say out of those that I like, their price range is the most competitive. They are the only one that I could keep my price to below 5K with actual day photography and Bridal car decoration

may

Shook: i think u can try and negotiate for weekday price... regent is having a show this month, u can check it out...sometimes during promo the prices becomes nett or they allow u to pay weekday price for weekend package. like oriental was promoting during their show 2 months ago and they allow you to pay weekday for Friday and Sunday wedding dinner and Imperium gave nett prices. Since you have above 35 tables, u have bargaining power. Crown Prince is also having a show in Oct, i think. U better act first, go ask their package, check out their ballrooms and then wait for the promo. That was what i did for Amara.
My place is at Fernvale Link - near Jln Kayu.

Smiley: i also like Jawn after all my bridal shop rounds. Did u try their gowns designs? May sign with them... if only their shop is bigger...just find that it is alittle cramp...

Philips carnival on the 7&8 Sept. Jan, you might want to get some electrical products

jan2003

Fiona: yes, will check out xzen once i quite confirm it's them. the sale at four seasons is not new gowns/suits. it's stock from participating bridal shops who wants to clear their old stuff. last year it came out in the papers. i remembered because they showed pictures of couples in the long queue. that's why i don't think i will go that early. the gowns are not new in design but i think they are ok if we are not looking for super trendy stuff. same as you, i trying to look for tea dress or ROM dress.

May: Ok, after i check i let you know. i didn't too. i called kim to ask can throw in tea dress or rom dress but she say no, they can rent it to me at $150 per dress. so expensive, i rather buy a simple one. she said they need to alter and dry clean. i didn't bargain too. plus i don't have dbs credit card so even if i sign up, i won't get the 10% rebate.

Shook: Saw the negative comments but there were positive ones too. In fact, all hotels and bridal shops got good and bad comments because different people different experience. as long as you feel comfortable with the one you sign with, then don't think about the negative ones. easier that way, if not worry this and that, very tiring. same for your banquet venues. you have to choose one you and your hubby like. may have to compromise at times but that is what marriage is all about i guess
White Link is kind of out of my budget, will call them to check out their prices.

Smiley: Glass hotel is the current Concorde hotel. their food not bad but think you might want to have a look at Shook's comments. Yes, me on fleshy side too. Hope designer can come out with something to compliment our size and shape instead of forcing us to fit their designs. somethings i think designers forget this lah, they always feel that people should appreciate their design instead. problem i cannot even squeeze into it so they find that we did injustice to their design lah, maybe that's why they make those nasty remarks. anyway, all forgotten. like you said, we should be happy brides.

vin

How's things going on??

For those who looking for a photographer on actual day. JWN offer S$650 (if am not mistaken, else will be S$650/-) for six rolls. And additional roll will charge @ S$50/ roll.

Me envy you all ler, can move out once getting married...

sweets

hi 1027!!!!

yah, we managed to get a change with Conrad...after a lot of negotiation. Also learnt a lot about the managers there in the process of the negotiations lar, who can work, who always everything say cannot even before trying...etc. Glad that my FH managed to settle an earlier date ...hee..he was the one who insisted on it..say cannot wait liao..hehehehe
hugs....will continue to hang out here also lar...
hugs

sue

I've confirmed my actual day photographer with KC. He is a photojournalist with Today newspaper. You can visit his website at www.greymatterphotography.com He is charging $1200 for 400 photos (abt 11 rolls) and I'm paying him extra so that he can go back to M'sia with me. His package also includes a 40-page photo book. He will pick those nice photos & arrange into a story book for you, I find this very unique.

Hi Vin,
The JWN package sounds very reasonable. I've been to JWN & I like their photography. U living with in-laws or waiting for yr house to be ready? It's not a bad idea to live with in-laws if they leave u alone. My friend lives with her in-laws & they got along very well. When she got her new house in Sengkang, she was very reluctant to move out.

originz

I'm planning to have my photoshoot taken in march. Wedding end of june. But til now, my bridal shop have not contact me. so prob just wait and see.

F

fiona koh

Hi sue, I checked out www.greymatterphotography.com and it looks very nice! Did you meet up with him to view his portfolio, before you actually signed up with him?

I met with Hilarion Goh recently to view his portfolio. He took Zoe Tay's wedding photos on her actual wedding day. He uses digital camera...my FH not very keen on digital camera leh...he is charging $1000 for 8 rolls of film. We haven't decided if we wanna sign up with him or not...

sue

Hello Fiona,
Ya, I met up with him & looked through his albums & found e photo book very unusual. It's like yr wedding story book. I've also gotten a quote from Hilarion Goh but found his charges a bit steep. Moreover, I need to have separate day photography & he charges $300 if I rembr correctly. U too right? 2 diff day & yr dinner is same day as mine.

BV package does not include actual day photography but e photographers whom they work wif do actual day shoot. Maybe can get discount for actual day if u use them for studio & outdoor.

whitely

hello cutie,

Impressed by your quick reply

If i am not wrong, you have already settled your hotel booking and bridal package, right? Yup, there is no much to do if you dont need to renovate your home or you are still waiting for the new flat. For my case, i havent signed the contract with my hotel although we have already committed to them. Currently, we are doing research for home renovation because we dont intend to apply a new flat but staying with the parents. That is the reason why I am sooooo busy
Besides, i am also search for my ideal gowns designs loh....

So are you busy with your work?

priviledged

Hi Kiroro, I'm a Silhouette bride too! Hope we both will have a great experience with Sil. I wanted a strapless dress at first, but after consulting with pastor of my church and thinking about it, I think something more modest would be better. Now I've got to rethink my design expectations. Most of the gowns I tried on were spaghetti or strapless. Been looking in bridal mags for ideas.

I'm glad this thread has 'revived' a little. Where's everybody been?

sweets

hi hi...

whitely, which hotel are u signing up with ? I am with Conrad, though never seen it before though

Kiroro, how about putting a shawl etc for the ceremony ? I've seen many nice 3/4 - full sleeve gowns too..and they are so regal...
...can try www.theknot.com for ideas.

Wondering how many of us here and what dates do we have ? Want to start a list ?
okie ..
I will start -
Sweets - June 28 2003

pooh

Have not visit this thread for quite sometime.
my wedding on 15th June..Will be go to choose my gown on Nov and taking mu photos in Feb or Mar.

Now busy with my hse reno..

sweets

Hi privileged!!!
woo hoo!!! yay!! now got same day kaki!!!
our banquet will be @ Conrad.
how's preps ??? 300 more days to go!!!! woo hoo!!! counting down!!

Hi pooh !!! nice to "meet" u too

how's house reno coming ? must be nice to have a love nest hor

okie..
so the list is now

Pooh - June 15
Priviledged, Sweets - June 28

who else ???

slk

Good morning all!

Jan: Who is your coordinator in Hyatt? Heard my coordinator Georgette is leaving soon.

Vin: Don't envy us, there are always pros and cons of staying with and without in-laws. At the end of the day, it depends on your relationship with them. As long as there is mutual respect between everyone, there shouldn't be a problem

Sue: 1.2K sounds quite expensive, don't think I can afford this

May: I'm going for the Philips carnival this weekend
you?