(2003) Brides of year 2003

lynnie

hi flowee

I will definately check out the bridal shop that you suggested. BTW what is a sb card?

hi allan

I have not get my dates yet, but my colleague introduce me to her "shifu" who is a Cantonese. I am also Cantonese, anybody here is cantonese?

lynnie

Seems like some of us has PIL problems. My PIL also got lots of comments but like SLK I also just agree and let my hubby to explain to them. But overall my PIL are quite nice and my hubby is the second son therefore usually my elder BIL is more stressed!

Hi Jan2003

I like Flamingo's gowns too but I don't like their prices! Too expensive for my budget.

vin

Will you all still working aft married?? Think should not be a problem with PIL if no much time to see each other...

Wish ourselves good luck and happy then...

may

Lynnie: Jawn Happy Ever After is located at Meridien Orchard and their package is under 4K. Look under their thread for more information.

How come you all got problems with PIL? Basically, after we told each other parents we are getting hitch in May and where the banquet is. No one has said anything yet? strange... i asked my parents what they expect coz i am the first to be married off. But so far, no unreasonable requests yet. His side never even say anything yet. Our parents have not met since our ROM a year and half ago. Is it normal? Plus, he is the only son. Hmm..maybe the problems will stay surfacing later...

Jan: i going to Sydney and it is really cold this time....sigh....first Japan was super hot now Sydney super cold.

Will definitely update your gals with Xzen's promo but i think the price range will be higher than 4K.

putise baby

Hi Flowee,

Yup, it's me, Lynn. I finally got my flat (P21) and my wedding date... and i just realised that you are using Living Elements (which i am seriously considering) to renovate your place... can you pls share on what you think of their design/quotation/workmanship/reliability? i am not dealing with Jenna (who is the boss rite?) but Pierre.. so not sure if he's just as reliable...

jan2003

Vin, you same as me. i moving in their house which they are currently staying. got to renovate room. i only got one room to renovate, no living room. you combining both rooms to become one?

Lynnie, yah agree. like her gown but her price much more expensive. sigh.

May, i almost in same shoe as you. our parents didn't talk about it after our news to get married. no news from both sides. my parents don't even want to discuss so i just leave it be lor. tired of trying to get them to meet when they don't want to meet. better still this way. i just do what i feel needs to be done. doing away with all the traditional stuff. simple and cheaper i guess.

lynnie

May,
Thanks for your info. As for meeting of both parents I think it is normal nowadays that they don't meet each other often. My PIL also seldom meet my mother and I also can't stand the ultra politeness they show each other it makes my skin crawl! But seems like my MIL is eager for us to get married since I first show her! Always ask this ask that! Lots of comments!

flowee

hi lynnie

u can check out the link 4 more details on the sb card...
http://www.singaporebrides.com/membership_card/

putise

how do u koe i am usin living elements as my id???
living elements quotations is 'comprehensive' as their quotations includes plumbing works n electrical...
we r impressed @ the speed they produce the drawings (1 wk after we meet up with jenna)... plus with full perspective...
we like jenna's proposals ( there's 2 proposal 1 is done b4 we collect our keys n the 2nd 1 is after we collected our keys n is seriousli considerin them )...

dun worri pierre is a nice guy but nt sure abt his design sense though...
he is our 'site supervisor' 4 my reno works( tats how we get 2 koe him better )...

nothin is perfect when it comes 2 reno issues eg: alignment of tiles bound 2 hv misaligment due 2 the material used or workmanship
gonna speak up n ask them 2 retify the 'faults'...

btw how do u find their quotations n workmanship???
hv u been 2 any show hse done by pierre b4???

perhaps u can drop by my place ( @ sk )when its all done 2 judge their design n workmanship...

putise baby

Hi Flowee,

oh, i did a search on Living Elements on this website and found a thread on them and saw your posting that you are using them...so...

yup, i've oredi got a first quote from Pierre, but he happily burst my budget which i give him of $30k (his proposal was $43k!!) and i nearly fell off my chair... but upon examination realised that he quoted me furniture (sofa + dining) and lights. anyway, i find his design quite good. and oredi told him to cut down to fit my budget.

i just went down to see some of their showflats yesterday. but mostly done by jenna, 'coz he only join Living elements not too long and he's more a on-site supervisor and does not do much sales... i find their workmanship quite ok... but not sure if the flats he bring us are the better ones...

also i find pierre a bit blur and a bit slow in expressing himself... my FH complains he's not v professional (guess it 'coz he's not much of a salesman)... but i find him quite honest... like i can trust him with the reno... hmmm so i dun noe leh...

when's ur flat gonna be ready?? pierre did mentioned that he's supervising some SK flats reno now... also can you let me take a look at ur quotation?

many thanks

mei

have been quite sometime since I dropped in... been SO...OOOO bz and now getting sick...

kk mei
sori never wave to u last sat.. went home very late and your lights off oredi.. so u sleeping how to wave?? we try this sat ok?

flowee
at last u had started on your reno! Cant wait to c ur flat!

cherubies
I'm oso a WP bride! I'd finished my 1st design session oredi n will be going down to confirm and take measurements dis sat. Patrick is reali a nice person to work wif...
whr u holdin your dner??

lynnie

Hi putise baby and flowee

I am quite interested in your topic on renovation. I am currently doing my flat too. What type of flooring are you doing?

flowee

lynnie

mi usin white ceramic 4 my livin n dinin...
gifu color tiles 4 my kitchen n toilets...
epoxy paint 4 my store rm n laminated floorin 4 my bedrm...

urself???

mei jie

hugz miss miss u ard u koe...

u mentioned u hv been buz n sick...
gonna take care...

yah reno works had started since earli aug...
wet works r done oredi...
hackin of walls also...
this sat will b doin up the air cond n meetin my id 2 chose lightin n furniture...

putise

when u called them up u asked 4 jenna or anyone will do???
i asked 4 jenna but when my gf ( i gave her jenna contact ) she got pierre instead...

jenna's works r published in the deco mag...
did u c it???

we mentioned 2 jenna our budget is within 25k 2 30k...
in the end we r spendin 36k on reno... ( burst our budget 2 :p )

btw urs is a std or premium unit in p21???
wat r the items u r askin 4 within the 30k???
wats the style pierre proposed???
material used 4 ur floorin???
any walk in wardrobe???
custom made furniture???

my flat will b done by end of sept...

i can tell jenna n pierre tat u r my frenz c if they can cut dn the prices 4 u...
we negotiated with jenna over the prices b4 we signed up with them...

Y

yi

hi lynnie,

yap, both my wedding and evening gowns are mtm. love them alot!

my wedding dinner wld be at merchant court.

u? decide on anything liao?

hi gers,

wow, the topic on reno is hot again huh?
not much to contribute on that coz my love nest was done in Jan this year liao!

hi flowee,

your house progressing well huh?

may

Lynnie: me too. I also feel very uncomfortable when both sides parents meet. a little too polite.

I am quite lucky MIL so far no comments but his sisters....lots...

Anyway, how do you gals feel about the bridal table? I used to think that i dont want my parents to sit on the bride VIP table and then they have to look over to see me on the other groom VIP table. My intial thought was to put all parents on one table and we sit with them then all the other siblings sit the other VIP table. What u think?

Y

yi

hi peng,

sorry for replying only today coz i took off yesterday for my projects.

wow, you really spend alot on your fotos leh! i think i wun bear to spend tat much! already asked mike to control me liao!
anyway, i'm not photogenic so wld probably dun look good in the photos, so no worries! hehehe

mike and i agreed to a year of twosome 1st b4 planning for kids and we have agreed on 2 kids too. he likes 2 gals while i wld prefer a boy and a gal each!
what abt u?

btw, mike and i wld be at love nest from today till sun so you might want to drop by. just let us koe!

howz things with you recently?

vin

Me also think of put both side parents sit with us. The siblings sit with others close relative. No point sitting together but got nothing to talk or just being polite.

peng

Hi Yi,

It's ok...must be very busy with your project. Work Hard!!

me planning to have 1 kid enough...nowadays kid are not like the time that we are. Need a lot of energy and time for them.
A boy and gal good...
I really love to see ur love nest, still scatching my head what does a zen style house look like, asked my hubby, he also don't know.

But izit convenient?
Would we disturb both of u?

flowee

gd mornin yi

yesterdaz drop by my love nest...
the wet works all done oredi but cant c purposli coz with the help of torch light onli...
the false ceiling r up also n so r the lightin pts...
the bedrm walls hacked n make space 4 the new walls...
will b meetin air cond man n my id in the afternn 4 lightin n furniture selection...

putise baby

Hi Flowee,

I called Living Elements based on one of the flats i saw on magazines. din noe who to ask for, anyway, pierre answered the phone and originally he wanted to let me meet jenna, but she cannot make it for our appt last min, so we met pierre instead.

my flat is a standard 5 rm. so need to do flooring etc.

For my $30k budget, i wanted:
Style: Minimalistic - mainly white, with glass
Flooring: Homogenous tiles for whole flat
Hacking: Wall bet dinning & kitchen to do sliding glass door, Master bedrm & another rm into 1 big rm.
kitchen cabinets
Platform bed
Walk-in wardrobe
leave last rm empty, and only do up 1 bathrm

pierre also quote me for sofa, dining table, lights for whole house.

i told him to cut his $43k proposal down to $35k. he's supposed to give me his new proposal today, let you know more when i get it.

Flowee, can you tell pierre you my fren??
i can also mention to him (can you tell me which block your flat is at??) when he call me today, hopefully can get discount, even not, its good to let them know potential customer waiting to see ur completed flat, then they will do better job....

thanks so muchie

& lynnie, if you are interested in living elements, better to ask to speak to jenna, the boss. let me know if you need their no.

cherubies

hi mei,
glad to know a WP bride here!

i'm not having a dinner, but my wedding will be at Chijmes.

wow, your design is done! i'm still having thots abt my gown design as i'm really big sized. my 1st design session will be in Oct/Nov.

Which photographer did u choose?

my first impression is that patrick is very fierce. but on my second trip [after i signed up with them], he is actually very nice guy...

Y

yi

hi flowee,

got kakis here with the same id company huh?
real glad to koe tat your love nest is progressing smoothly.

must invite me over once itz ready hah?

howz work today? hope you not tat stressed up liao!

btw, yesterday went taka with hubby to search for his shoes for wedding. saw a pair like gal's shoes with platform. me joked and asked him to buy! ;p

slk

Hi May,

I am also putting both my parents and in-laws on one table together with my hubby and myself. My siblings and hubby's siblings will sit with the relatives.

You travelling again.... take care ya.

Hi Jan,

GH didn't advertise in Her World Brides this time round? Could it be they are preparing for their bridal show in Oct. That's why skip this round.

Hi Lynnie,

Yup, good way to handle in-laws is our way
Always let our hubby do the talking... hee!
Actually most in-laws these days are ok lah, it's just that they tend to have different views as they were from a different generation mah.

Hi Vin,

Yup, will still be working. Must keep the income coming in... single income quite tough leh.

lynnie

halo putise baby and flowee

I am doing my house already finishing next month. My reno is about $33k which include:

Granite flooring for living/dining
parquet flooring for bedrooms
vanity top for master bathroom
false ceiling + lights
hacking of walls
bar counter
kitchen cabinet
walk in wardrobe
wardrobe for 1 bedroom
jaccuzi
shoe cabinet
display shelf
stainless steel piping
etc....

List is too long, cannot remember all.

As for the wedding have not confirm anything yet. Still considering..........

flowee

gd afternn yi

putise is still in the mist of gettin her id...
she might nt use the same id also mah...
c if the other id impressed her better or nt lor... :p

reno works progessin well...
make sure u drop by my love nest when its done hor...

work still as stress up...
went home on the dote yesterdaz coz cant stand stayin back late again...
still rushin 4 drawings 2 b out by this afternn...
2nite still hv 2 attend personal make up class...
dun koe abt 2 go or nt???

mike lookin ard 4 weddin shoe mah???
thot he has one oredi???
tat one nt suitable mah???
u veri noti ask him 2 get those platform shoes...
like ger ger like tat... :p

u hv a great lunch...

cherubies n mei

u gers hv kaki 2 discuss over bridal oredi...
gd 4 u gers...

putise

43k includin sofa, dinin table, lightin consider ok pricin oredi...
when i added up my reno quotes with the other items eg: air cond, sink, taps, lightin, etc...
its ard 50k...

flowee

lynnie

my reno works also on goin...
completion is also next mth...

mine is 36k which includes:
ceramic floorin 4 living n dining
homo tiles 4 kitchen n bathrm
laminated flrin 4 all bedrm
black slate 4 foyer area
solid surface with vanity top over 4 masterbed rm toilet
walk in wardrobe
tv console
glass partition @ foyer area
kitchen cabinets
hackin dn of walls between master n bedrm 2
shoe cabinet
false ceilin n lightin pts
changin of copper pipin
etc

btw which id r u with???

mi also no date 4 my weddin yet...

jan2003

hello all,

Vin, agree with SLK lah, i will still be working. single income, tough. plus i still need to support my parents after marriage so will need the money. also, if got own money, can buy things i like with less nagging.

SLK, don't know about GH and their show. No news to date. wonder who they will be using. i may turn up to see how they do their decor. you interested?

All : i want to do the same too. ie placed both our parents on same table but then i realised, grandparents leh? if i add both sides plus ourselves, not enough to sit. total will exceed 10. any suggestions?

kk

yi jie,

yah, the reno talk has started once again. hahaha.. but i have been missing out on the forum lately, so pretty lost, so cannot share.. kekekee...

flowee jie,

u sound so excited about reno!! hahaa..

so how about dropping by tomorrow or sun? u can sms me anytime lor.

mei jie,

of course we try again this sat :p
yah lor, we slept pretty early last sat. i think i doze off on the sofa while reading lecture notes and my hubby ask me go and sleep.. kekekee...

mei

hi cherubies
I chose Andrew Tay from The Edge. He's veri friendly and fun and his prices veri reasonable.. can negotiate one..

Hey I got the same sentiments as u! Patrick looks fierce but actually he's so soft spoken!

For your gown designs, try n look for magazines and cut out the styles tt u like. If not, u can actually go around bridal shops n try on their gowns to c which one fits u best. Of cos, dun tell them u signed up wif WP oredi! Say u stil looking aroun....

My WG is a bustier wif embroidery on duchess satin. EG is a toga design in red thai silk.

Me oso trying to lose weight .. arms a bit flabby wil not look good on bustier!

So urs wil be a church wedding.. so romantic...
hi flowee
ya I'm stil a bit sick... everyone seems sick nowadays cos the virus is spreading... I'm stil busy cos got a lot of assignments coming up... u oso take care hor...

flowee

kk mei

2molo mornin time mi headin 2 my love nest coz air cond man comin over 2 install air cond...
c if got time 2 drop by or nt...

mei jie

muz b buz with work, studies n weddin preparations...
gonna take care hor...

vin

Included the grandparents, is just nice for one VIP table.

Of coz must work aft married as well laa.. else what shall we do then?? Stay at home??? NO WAY!!!

Ya, agreed with May, can buy the things we like w/o nagging.. kekek...

Y

yi

hi peng,

yap, itz real tough to struggle btw work and studies!

luckily, i have an understanding and caring hubby who will pick me up after class and willing to do the hsewk when i'm busy with my studies and projects.

you are welcome to visit my love nest. just let mike know when you popping over but we wun be ard until abt 6pm tomoro coz having lesson.

Sian hor, having lesson on sat and sun when itz supposed to be my rest days!

putise baby

Hi Flowee,

Just told pierre that we know each other... he sounds like he dun believe, say how come so coincidental :p... he's going to fax me my new quotation now...$38k..

btw, i'm going to see Kawai & Essential Elements tom... but not v keen on both of them. I heard some bad comments abt kawai and essential elements is basically a freelance designer, so he charges design fees and we must negotiate with contractor directly one...

sorrie for asking so many questions on reno.
and who is it who is having church wedding?? me too leh!!!

jan 11 bride

I'm a Jan 11 bride. Heard that Jan 12 is very popular, so won't fight with others. So how's prep, dear gals? For me, now headache over caterers? Dunno which to choose. Any tried and tested ones?

Y

yi

hi flowee,

i disturb mike only lah, oso dun wan him to buy those gal gal shoes!

no lah,his renoma one can but think of getting a new pair for wedding mah!

you not gog for your makeup liao?
dun like that ok, you paid liao leh!
only few lesson left rite?

think your house very soon will complete liao, judging from the progress it gog!

me sian got lesson on sat and sun leh!
gog back to love nest after lesson today though then hubby drive me to school tomoro and sun lor!
he poor thing, got to do housewk alone this weekend again!!!!

cherry

Hi Jan 11 bride,

i'm a jan 17 bride....one week after yours....for me preps is still slow, except for comfirming whatever's suppose to confirm now, nothing has been done so far, my photoshoot's in Nov so now still very free...hehehe....what abt you?? which bridal shop are you with and where will be your dinner?

wah!! you so fast look for caterers already?? i thought we can leave it till Nov/Dec then decide...are you catering for church reception or for lunch at home/PIL's??

flowee

yi

poor mike kana disturb by u...
mi juz wonderin how come mike need a new pair of shoe mah...
thot pan tang or wat coz weddin muz wear new stuff...

er did i mentioned abt nt headin 4 my personal make up lesson???
no lah coz hv 2 work late hor 2 go 2nite???

i agree think my hse reno completin veri soon oredi liao...

poor ger hvin classes 2molo n sun...
mike will b all alone lor... :p

jan 11 bride

Hi Cherry,

my photoshoot is Oct so everything is moving quite fast. Yes, looking for caterers now bcos the church reception is 450 ppl, therefore will require a bulk of the budget. So need to research carefully. Since I'm planning on a good meal at the reception, I'm still considering whether to hold dinner. How abt yours?

lynnie

hi flowee

I actually went to the exhibition and they always design a draft for free and if we like it then we sign up. Therefore I took several design from a few design companies and apply to my own. Later I found a contractor to do my design, that way cheaper mah! BTW I also got solid surface but it's for the kitchen cabinet top, for the vanity top I use culture marble.

flowee

putise

since u aint keen on kawai nor essential elements dun 'waste' ur trip n time on them...
beside living element, white space n human space which others hv u visited???

slk

Hi Jan,

I think the GH show is in Sept or Oct. That is what I recall. Will let you know... perhaps we can go together

Both my sides no grandparents.... thus never thought about it. Actually I think if you want, GH probably can arrange a bigger table for the VIP table. Talk to your coordinator?

Have a great weekend girls!

vin

I'll be Jan 03 bride too. But nothing have been done up. Any advised???

Hv decide on my bridal shop and wedding banquet but yet sign up with the danquet manager.

kk

yi jie,

having lesson on sun???

Today at love nest. Going to try out another dessert. Gingko + pearl barley.

elaine

So is this tuesday's gathering confirm? Those interested plse rely here 10s!

Dun worry, "we wouldn't eat you"
dun be afraid...everyone is friendly

omveganyogi

hi all brides,

I am new here and like to say a big hello and introduce myself to everyone.

Me getting ceremony on next yr june and rom on this yr oct and sign up package with thomson wedding and design at thomson rd and house is on the way.....

I had been quite laid back for a while for wedding stuff esp the dinner part, lot of opinion are confusing me ....some monetary issues but getting a little excited now when most of the problems are being solved.

Glad to know there is such a gd website and pop in frequent to get some gd advice from u girls!!

Om shanti
Omveganyogi

cherubies

hi mei,
please take care ya...
hope u recover soon...

oh andrew tay...mine is imagegarden...
mine design is still in the works [ie in my head]..

i need to call patrick in two months time for design session...i'm looking at a bustier too...do u have a long train? me want a long train so that it will be super elegant and grand...

hee hee. me have very fat arms and so super flabby.. think one way is to lose weight and tone...but how? no idea too...

hi flowee,

how's the expected turnout for tues?

hi elaine,
will be going..
mus show me your rom pix...

hi omveganyogi,
welcome! one of my frens also signed up with thomson wedding design...

agree this is a great website and it's here i found my boutique and photographer...

omveganyogi

hi cherubies!

Thanks for the warm welcome here....great to know that u girls here had some gathering and i think is great fun, will join u girls next time ^o^

seeya

lynnie

Hope I can join you gals on Tuesday but due to ongoing renovation and busy schedule I cannot make it this time. I really hope to meet all of you, is it possible to make it on a weekend next time? :p

Hi Omveganyogi
Welcome!!!!!! Hope you enjoy chit chatting here. I am new here too but very glad that everyone is so friendly and nice. I think you will feel very much at ease around here.

flowee

gd mornin gers...

cherubies

so far onli elaine, yi n u confirmed on the outing...
no other replies oredi...
haz cant make it coz she has lesson on tue nite...
as 4 flyn sms her but no reply yet...
will try 2 contact her again...

omveganyogi

welcome aboard...

lynnie

hope u r able 2 join us next time round...
fyi we had high tea on sat b4...

Y

yi

hi flowee,

enjoy your trip to night safari huh?
envy, me study both days!

glad you have settled yet another thing huh?

hi kk mei,

yeah lor, study on sat and sun till 5pm. Hiaz!
luckily, itz over!

today, got lesson again!

hi omveganyogi,

welcome to this thread!